Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,796 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Jul 012016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The dealership sent me a letter in July 2016 but still has not repaired the faulty airbag

- Live Oak, FL, USA

problem #71

May 162016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. I have had my driver's side airbag replaced three times and now there is a recall on the passenger side airbag. I got the notice in May 2016 and now in December 2016 I still can't get Ford to replace the airbag under the recall. It is a recall, for goodness sake and anyone driving with me could be killed by the passenger airbag...how long must I wait"???"

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #70

Nov 032016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V384000 (air bags) and 15V319000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available and parts distribution disconnect respectively.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #69

Sep 012014

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to dealership refusal to repair recall notice 14V-802 & 15V-319 due to previous airbag deployment during vehicle accident. The consumer stated his daughter was involved in a rear end collision in September 2014. When the air bag deployed, some type of debris emitted from the air bags and literally burned and gouged his daughter's right ar, up to her elbow. The air bag was not replaced at the auto body, because heard about the recall. The air bag was stuffed back into its housing and taped shut, but the seat belt was locked in one position due to the air bag deployment.

- Blythewood, SC, USA

problem #68

Sep 012016

Mustang

  • miles
2005 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair passenger side airbag recall notice.

- West Linn, OR, USA

problem #67

Aug 242015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Westfield, IN, USA

problem #66

Aug 232016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #65

Nov 102015

Mustang

  • miles
I recieved a recall notice in the mail denoting defective airbags have been installed in my car.

- Malvern, AR, USA

problem #64

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V384000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Oakland, TN, USA

problem #63

Jul 042016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #62

Jul 252016

Mustang

  • 101,433 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 and 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact stated the air bag warning light was illuminated. The approximate failure mileage was 101,433. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #61

Jul 152015

Mustang 8-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable period for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect. Updated 08/30/16 the consumer stated the vehicle has been sitting in the garage for over a year. Updated 09/06/16.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #60

Dec 182015

Mustang

  • 100,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V384000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Arleta, CA, USA

problem #59

Jul 052016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V319000 (air bags) and 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Los Lunas, NM, USA

problem #58

Mar 252015

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 18,686 miles
Takata recall. On 3/25/15 I had my driver side air bag replaced per Ford recall 14B09. Then in July of 2015 I got a letter from Ford stating that the airbag had to be replaced again and was still under recall. The number of this recall is 15S21 and Ford would send me a letter when parts were available. In February of 2016 I still had not heard from Ford so I called my dealer and they told me parts were not available. At the same time I emailed Ford and the reply was to wait for parts to be available. Finally on 5/25/16 I emailed Ford again trying to find out if parts were available and I was told that I would be notified in the "very near future" about the availability of parts. As of today 6/30/16 I still have not heard about the parts being available. It has been since March 2015 that I have been driving around with a possible defective airbag in my Mustang. Apparently the replacement airbag they put in on 3/25/15 may also be defective per Ford. My wife and I drive this vehicle and I don't know if it is safe to drive. I actually asked Ford if the vehicle was safe to drive and they did not really answer that question. I live in an area of high heat in phoenix and I am wondering if our lives are in danger driving this vehicle. Apparently my vehicle is on the priority two list for getting the airbag replaced whatever that means. Is there any way to speed this up? thank you.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #57

Dec 052015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #56

May 092016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution disconnect.

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #55

Jun 012016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver side air bag inflator recall notice. The consumer stated it has been nearly a year, since he received the first recall.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #54

Dec 072015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #53

Jul 142014

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V802000 (air bags). The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to two different dealers. The contact was informed that the manufacturer declined the recall remedy even though the VIN was included due to insufficient funds. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Louisville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?