Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,387 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

May 022016

Mustang 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair driver airbag inflator recall notice. Consumer has another vehicle correspondence in artemis.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #49

Jun 022015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Middle Village, NY, USA

problem #48

Apr 012016

Mustang

  • miles
Letter from congresswoman comstock on behalf of constituent re 2008 Ford Mustang. The consumer was informed the parts were not available for the air bag recall.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #47

Jul 202015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tullahoma, TN, USA

problem #46

Apr 152016

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was invalid. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #45

Jan 132016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was not yet available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part was unavailable.

- Longview, WA, USA

problem #44

Sep 152015

Mustang

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" I am a concerned parent of two teenagers that are driving cars effected by the airbag recall. I received a letter for my sons Ford Mustang in September 2015, and for my daughters 2009 Honda CR-V March 2016. I have contacted the manufacturer Ford and Honda, and have not been given any information about when parts will be available. I feel that there is a lack of information being provided by the manufacturer, as well as specific information being provided by the NHTSA. I live in a designated high risk area, and would like to know what my options are for keeping my children safe from being killed by a malfunctioning airbag deployment.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #43

Jul 202015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- New Port Beach, CA, USA

problem #42

Jul 092015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall called Ford cutomer service center and Ford dealer many many times!!! always got runaround!!! many excuses!!! working on it since July 2015!!! recall NHTSA 15V-319 girl died from this 4-7-2016 please help me !!! sceard to drive car.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #41

Aug 102015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall: Received recall letter in August 2015, called bayshore Ford in pennsville, NJ, told no parts are available and not to worry the car is safe to drive. Still not received any update; called three separate Ford dealerships on 3/28/2016: One in vineland, NJ said parts might be in 3rd quarter 2016 at the earliest one in freehold, NJ said the dealerships will be notified when parts become available, but no time frame given. Bayshore Ford in pennsville, NJ (the original selling dealership) simply says they have no idea when parts will be in and has no other information on any interim repairs that can be done in the meantime.

- Pennsville, NJ, USA

problem #40

Apr 082016

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 102015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #38

Apr 072016

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. I received notice of recall on my Ford Mustang 9 to 12 months ago. The dealer tells me they don't have the part to replace the airbag. My husband and son both had the same recall on their Dodge cars and the vehicles were repaired immediately many months ago. In the mean time, I'm still waiting for parts for my car and praying I'm not in a car accident. I have great concern for my safety and the safety of my grandchildren, who frequently travel in my car. It seems absolutely wrong that my life seems to be a no concern to Ford. This "part issue" needs to be resolved. I was told not to contact the dealer again until I hear from Ford that the part is available. Please note that I'm entering todays date in "when did this happen" as a date is required to move on to next. This has been going on for months.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #37

Jul 022015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata air bag has been recalled. We were told this would be remedied by fall of 2015, and when we ask the dealership when the airbag will be replaced we are told they have no idea and not to worry, that the car is still safe to drive. Safety recall notice 15S21/NHTSA recall 15V-319. We are concerned that the car is not safe and would like to know when the air bag will in fact be replaced.

- Goshen, OH, USA

problem #36

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. I received notification in July 2015 that my vehicle was part of the takata recall. It is now 8 months later and Ford still does not have a fix. I'm concerned that my car is not safe to drive and Ford is not taking this seriously,

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

problem #35

Mar 212016

Mustang

  • 39,000 miles
Takata recall. I was notified by Ford around June of 2015 about the possibility of a defective airbag inflator on the driver's side. It is almost April 2016, and as of today, Ford has no idea when service parts will be made available for the repair. This car is driven every day and I am disappointed at the lack of speed that takata and Ford seem to be placing on this recall.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #34

Jul 112015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Longview, WA, USA

problem #33

Feb 012016

Mustang 6-cyl

  • miles
2008 Ford Mustang. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair airbag recall notice.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
July 2015 received recall notice. Waited patiently for 6 months without followup letter. Contacted ryan Ford in late January about repair. Told part not available. Contacted appel Ford in early February about repair. Same response that part not available. With all of the new airbag recalls will I ever get mine done?

- Bellville, TX, USA

problem #31

May 282015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/07/16

- East Liverpool, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?