Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Mustang seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Nov 302015

Mustang

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was in a car wreck recently and my 2014 Ford Mustang was totaled and my airbags did not go off. I could have been seriously injured concidering what happened with my car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rego Park, NY, USA

problem #39

Dec 012015

Mustang

  • miles
An unreasonable amount of time has passed since the notice of the takata airbag recall (15S21). I feel unsafe driving my Mustang knowing that possible shrapnel can strike me in the event the air bag is deployed, possibly causing injury or death! I do wish that Ford would stop waiting for a full inventory of replacements parts and start replacing what they can as parts become available. This is a serious issue which I feel Ford is not treating very seriously. They are doing nothing to make their customers safe in the meantime.

- Calgary, Alberta, Canada T3m1g, MT, USA

problem #38

May 272015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hypoluxo, FL, USA

problem #37

May 282015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #36

Jul 142015

Mustang

  • miles
Takata recall: TL* the contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 152015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact the air bag light illuminated. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 1/20/16 ln updated 02/05/16 updated 02/16/16

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #34

Jul 152015

Mustang

  • miles
I received a letter detailing "safety recall notice 15S21 / NHTSA recall 15V-319" in July 2015. The letter stated that I would be receiving another letter/notice, when parts are available to fix the problem. To date 11/13/15 I have received nothing from Ford and have called fmc na several times, with no results. This is B.S and may prevent me from purchasing another Ford product. I guess that someone has to be injured and then sue Ford before they decide to do anything about this issue.

- Annapolis,, MD, USA

problem #33

Nov 062015

Mustang

  • 5,400 miles
Ford dealer will not trade car in for 2016 Ford Mustang because of the air bag recall parts.. the dealer says that the car is $5000 to $6000 off of the wholesale price because of the recall..he also stated that he has 50. Or more car in the back that he cant sale due to the safety recall.. why do I have to suffer this because of Ford recall."?" I have to drive a car with 5500 miles on it that could kill me and cant trade up to get a safe car

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 272015

Mustang

  • miles
On July 27, 2015, we received a recall notice from Ford Motor Company that our vehicle has a recall regarding the front driver side airbag which could rupture and lead to serious injury or death. It states we will get a letter when the replacement parts are available. We have been waiting for several months and have called the dealer several times to find out why they are not fixing this in a timely fashion. We called on 7-28-15, 10-3-15 and 11-4-15 as well as E-mailed the corporate office to try and get answers. We don't feel safe driving our car and want them to buy it back at what we owe on it since they are not working at getting it fixed in a timely manner.

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #31

May 042015

Mustang

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #30

May 282015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mount Sinai, NY, USA

problem #29

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #28

Jan 012015

Mustang

  • miles
The car contains a defective takata air bag, for which a recall has been issued. Several months ago I received a letter from Ford stating the airbag must be replaced. I contacted the Ford dealer where I purchased the car, and they told me they had no idea when the airbag could be replaced. I asked if they would give me a special deal in trading up to a 2015 Mustang that doesn't have the airbag problem. They said no. I also contacted Ford hq who indicated I basically have two options at this time: Not driving the car (which has only 3100 miles on it) or drive it at the risk of being killed if the air bag explodes. Do I have any other recourse?

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #27

Jul 272015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Powhatan, VA, USA

problem #26

Jul 242015

Mustang

  • 16,000 miles
Ford won't do anything about this! I want a rental till my car is fixed (2014 Ford Mustang on airbag recall.) they said no. I bought this brand new! they say drive it. It's like having a hand grenade in my car. It could go off any time. Ford sent me a recall letter in July 2015 saying serious injury or death. I want this resolved! I don't have the money for a rental car or new car! why won't Ford give me a rental or fix the airbag! they are just brushing my aside!

- Earle, AR, USA

problem #25

Oct 052015

Mustang

  • miles
The parts are still not available according to my local Ford dealer sheehy Ford 10601 midlothian trnpk richmond va (877) 615-8301. I am concerned about driving my car if there is a chance the air bag will rupture and cause injury or death according to the recall information. Why can't there be a temporary fix to prevent injury (removal of air bag) or an offer to pay for rental car until parts are available? I feel that my life is at risk driving my car due to the risk of air bag rupture as specifically described in the letter. I rely on this car to get me to and from work and use it to Transport my grandchildren. What can be done to resolve my risk until the parts can be replaced.

- Moseley, VA, USA

problem #24

Jul 012015

Mustang

  • miles
John hoffman received a notice dated July 2015 that a defect with the air bag could cause serious injury, including death. He took his vehicle to the dealer but was told that the parts are not available. He does not want to drive the vehicle if it poses serious risk to his safety. If he wants to trade in his car or demand a refund, how does he go about doing so" court"

- Northampton, MA, USA

problem #23

Jul 022015

Mustang

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Mustang. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V319000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Littleton, NH, USA

problem #22

Sep 292015

Mustang

  • miles
My vehicle is part of the takata recall. Ford is unable to give me a date certain to correct this life threatening safety issue. I attempted to trade the Mustang and was given a trade in cost far below fair market value, thus suffering from diminished value. In addition neither the dealer where the car was purchased or Ford Motor Company was willing to offer me any compensation to offset the diminished value or offer me a replacement vehicle to use until the safety issue is resolved. Takata is no making 1 million repair kits per month. There currently are over 34 million vehicles effected by this recall and several million more are about to be announced. So this monetary and safety issue can potentially continue for years.

- Estero, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?