Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Print this page

7.8

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,526 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford Mustang electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford Mustang Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 072016

Mustang

  • 12,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

One week ago, or first week novemeber 2016, I had no ac at all. Gone, only the fans operated, and since I live in South Florida I was very uncomfortable. I called Ford pompano where I got bought the car and the service person said he was familiar with my problem as many other model 2015 Ford Mustang had the same problem - no

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 022016

Mustang

  • 8,300 miles
2015 Mustang 2.3 L ecoboost, when at ideal for more then 5 - 10 min. It starts smoking white smoke from the tail pipes, the longer it sits the heavier the smoke gets. Steering : sometimes when turning left the steering wheel doesn't return to center, I have to pull the steering wheel, as if it is stuck. Transmission feels like it shifts hard sometimes and sometimes it does not. Passenger airbag : when someone is riding with me the airbag turns off. Driver side seat: Has cooled seats. Doesn't work all the time, states it is on, but not feeling anything cool. Contacted Ford and they will not do much about it. Except tell me to bring it to the shop.

- Rison, AR, USA

problem #10

Mar 152016

Mustang

  • 12,000 miles
My engine has randomly shut off three separate times now. I have about 12,000 miles on mt 2015 Mustang GT w/pp manual transmission. The first time I was parked and it was idling, my friend and I both witnessed the idle dip, then 3-5 seconds later the engine shut off. The second time (was much more dangerous) I was changing lanes because of a car fast approaching from behind, I downshifted from 3rd to 2nd gear (30-40mph), let out the clutch smoothly, pressed the accelerator and the car did nothing, I looked down and the RPM was at 0 and "press clutch to start" was displayed on the gauge cluster screen. I quickly depressed clutch and restarted engine and took off to avoid an accident. The third time happened today 3/15/2016 I was again at idle and the engine just shut down without me touching anything, it again displayed "press clutch to start". I've read in forums that many people are having this issue intermittently, this could be a serious safety issue that can have deadly consequences. Please address this issue correctly rather than sending everyone home with the "we didn't find any issue" go-to response. Hopefully people don't have to get injured, or god forbid die, before this issue is taken seriously.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #9

Sep 102015

Mustang

  • 6,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The push button ignition switch is located directly under the radio control buttons. The ignition button will shut the car off while in gear and in motion. This happened while I was in a parking lot, going about 5 mph. My husband accidently pushed the ignition button instead of the radio control button and shut the car off. Ford has no solution to this hazardous design flaw, and told me they can't re-engineer the vehicle to eliminate the risk of a serious accident.

- Mount Dora, FL, USA

problem #8

Mar 112015

Mustang 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,171 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Mustang. While attempting to accelerate from an idle position, the vehicle failed to shift from first gear and stalled. Also, the instrument panel failed to illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on two separate occasions. The dealer stated that the shifting issue was a normal occurrence and that a dimmer switch needed to be replaced for the instrument panel. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,171. The consumer stated the transmission would not shift out of first gear. It happened intermittently when the accelerator pedal was put to the floor and the engine revved. When the accelerator pedal was released the vehicle would shift proper;Y. normal shifting was around 6,200- 6,500 RPM. Updated 10/26/15

- Hunington Beach , CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 012015

Mustang

  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford Mustang GT. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the windshield wiper and turning signal flasher became inoperable intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,200.

- Stockertown , PA, USA

problem #6

May 012015

Mustang

  • 1,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the owner of a 2015 Mustang GT with cooled seat option. When I purchased the car new in November of 2014 and tried the cooled seats they worked well during those cold late fall days for the handful of times I used it. After it got cold during winter and spring I did not use the cooled seat feature again until approximately May 1, 2015. At this time the lower seat cooler would cool the seat but the upper seat cooler would not cool the seat for any amount of time. In fact quite the opposite occurred. With the seat cooling set to maximum of 3 bars the lower cooler would get the seat cold but the upper seat cooler would actually warm the seat up. Several tests confirmed this happening for both seats, driver and passenger. Due to the design of the thermoelectric device buried and enclosed in the seat back, the back side of each seat back would actually warm as well to levels very hot to touch after as short of time of 5 minutes of use. It appears that many other 2015 Mustang owners with this option are experiencing the same issues. Also 2015 Ford F150 owners who have the same design ted cooling device are experiencing this as well. I have contacted Ford customer service and registered my complaint but no fix is out there currently from Ford this is obviously a faulty design. Its equivalent would be putting a room air conditioner inside a room and expecting it to cool the air. On top of that with prolonged usage the material on the back of the seat where the ted vents its waste heat gets hotter and hotter and could pose a fire risk with prolonged usage in the vehicle. Currently we have no information whether or not Ford is either aware or even has any intention of addressing this issue I do not use my cooled seats function currently because it only works on the bottoms and heats us the upper seat while in use. The upper seat will actually be cooler if left off.

- Du Quoin, IL, USA

problem #5

Jan 302015

Mustang

  • 4,500 miles
I emailed the following to Ford on 2/9/2015 with no response to date from them hello, I don't know who to contact or how to get my point to the right person, I am hoping you will make someone take notice. I rented a 2015 Mustang while on vacation in January. I was driving on the highway when my knee hit the keys ( rental cars always have the extra keys and info tag making it bulky anyway ). the keys turned the ignition to accessory and the vehicle shut off in the middle of the highway in traffic at 70 mph. After the news reports of the other ignition recall that I have seen on abc and my first response training, I stayed calm and was able to get the vehicle off the road without incident. I would just like to make sure Ford knows about this and something is done before anyone gets hurt. I notified the rental company of the issue. Please investigate this issue and let me know that you have at least read my message. I would just like to make sure noone gets hurt and the issue is at least duplicated and investigated. Thank you.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #4

Apr 092015

Mustang 4-cyl

  • 9,345 miles
I was on the interstate traveling South with cruise control on. I went over a bump that I usually go over when headed in that direction and the driver door all of a sudden opened/unlocked itself. It was locked or else the dashboard would of indicated that my transmission was not in park before setting off on my trip.

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #3

Mar 162015

Mustang

  • 4,200 miles
Upon approaching a red light with the clutch pedal pressed down, and manual trans in neutral the engine died. Also had "run power on" on the dash. Bumped the start button and it started right up. Description of electrical issues: Temps outside were mid 80's. (car was still cold engine wise and I had the A/C on full blast when it died.) dash board information/touch screen readout said it was 70 degrees outside while temps were in the mid 80's. and as I was driving, (city traffic) I would shift at or around 2500 RPM. When I pressed in the clutch to shift the RPM's would jump about 1000 RPM's until I let the clutch out. This occurred about three or four times out of ten to fifteen shifts. About 3 miles up the road I pulled over, shut the car off and opened the door to turn off the stereo and touch screen. Cranked it up and right away the outside temp reading was the actual 85 degrees. No more revs on shift and ran fine all the way home for the next 15 miles. Reporting this due to multiple issues of this being reported by other 2015 Mustang owners on social media and Mustang related websites.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #2

Dec 192014

Mustang 8-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
First occurrence (mid December 2014): I was coming up to a red light and the turn was slightly uphill. I approach the light and drop the car into neutral (clutch was fully engaged continuously at this point) and while braking, as I approached the red light to make a right turn my car's rpms just drop completely to 0. it didn't even try to catch idle. This was about 1.5 months ago. I figured that it might be something with the tune I'm running so I called up bama and had them send me a fresh tune after explaining what had happened. Also, not sure if this helps or is relevant information but I had been driving on the highway for about 40 min before that and did a pull on the highway 2 min before the car died. Second occurrence (2/25/2015): Today while driving to work in the morning I was switching lanes and as I merged into the lane I engage the clutch fully and was braking to adjust to the speed of the vehicle in front of me and was preparing to downshift into gear, but before I could downshift the rpms keep dropping and go past normal idle and drop to 0 again without even trying to catch idle again. So I quickly start it back up again and it drove fine after that. This can become a safety issue if not taken seriously. More and more Mustang owners are experiencing this problem and I had to switch dealerships because the dealership where I bought the car from refuses to work on my car since it is lowered. Ford racing offers lowering springs for the vehicle which is a Ford part. If someone was to have these springs installed and the car was lowered with Ford parts does that mean the dealership will refuse to work on it if it doesn't fit on their lifts then as well? I have reported other issues as well which Ford has claimed to be normal just because it is occurring on other vehicles as well. The csm at Ford Motor Company has been a huge help so thank you for that.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #1

Nov 122014

Mustang

  • 300 miles
Purchased brand new Ford Mustang GT premium 5.0 automatic from local Ford dealer. On first test drive, did not notice problem. Car sat a few days prior to me leaving for an approximate 750 mile return drive home from va to tn. I had the car heater on - the heater seats on - no modifications done to the car - 2 days later out on road noticed a "strong odor" ( more specifically like "model airplane glue odor ). I was getting dizzy, sleepy, and very nauseated. Pulled over rested. Drove car with windows down, heater on as it was cold. Odor persisted and "sick feeling" continued entire drive home. Coordinating with Ford service center and bbbautoline - took the car in for sub total of 5 visits to have odor evaluated. 6th visit with "expert Ford" field tech with some sort of "device" to measure smells ( I assume ) - when I went to pick up the car - I asked for work order and a copy of expert's report. Wrote to sales manager requesting these reports. I have been denied access to these reports (kind of odd" 6th visit and only now they refuse to issue") bbbautoline has now made date for arbitration. Told to bring car in for evaluation by arbitrator - have supporting documents as to why.numerous articles addressing toxic odors - multiple sensitivity disorder.S I'm not a scientist or an engineer. Just a 61 yr old man wanting to enjoy his $44K Mustang - can't have to drive with windows down and heater full up, still feel light headed and nausea. Any suggestions appreciated.

- Mount Juliet, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?