Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
31 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
26 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Ranger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #33

Jul 122010


  • 159,000 miles


Was in a traffic accident yesterday in which a car ran a light and hit me almost head on. I was driving a 2001 Ford Ranger XLT. I was stopped waiting for the green light arrow to go. When the arrow changed I proceeded to turn. 1/2 into my turn I was hit at a speed of about 50 mph. Problem was my airbag did not deploy.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #32

Feb 102009


  • 69,000 miles
I was involved in a high speed collision in my 2001 Ford Ranger 4X4 pickup on the morning of Tuesday, February 10, 2009. I was driving along a county road at 55 M.P.H. when a 2003 Ford Ranger suddenly made a left turn in front of me. I had the right of way as the other vehicle was stopped at a stop sign before deciding to turn. I could not avoid the other vehicle and struck its driver side door traveling approximately 50 - 55 M.P.H. with the front end of my vehicle. My airbag did not deploy, and I sustained severe whiplash, seatbelt bruising, bruised shins from hitting the bottom of the dashboard, , as well as torn muscles in my neck on either side of my larynx. On August 1, 2008, I went to the Ford dealership in my town to have a recall repair performed on the airbag in my truck. Were the crash even more serious, the failure of the airbag could have resulted in more severe or even fatal injuries. As of now, I have many months and possibly years of physical therapy ahead of me. I am very concerned and disappointed that the airbags did not deploy in a high speed front end crash as they were designed to do. I believe my injuries would be much less severe had they deployed.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #31

Jan 082009

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Ranger. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle slid on a patch of snow. The rear wheels lost traction and the vehicle flipped over twice before crashing into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle struck a tree. The driver suffered bruised ribs on the left side and a stiff neck. The passenger sustained major bruises everywhere including her back, legs, and wrists. She also sustained a severe bump on her back and minor cuts. The vehicle was towed and is currently parked in the contact's driveway. The vehicle has not yet been inspected by a mechanic or dealer. The contact is assuming that the vehicle is destroyed. He will wait until the spring to check the frame on the vehicle; however, he believes that the passenger should not have sustained that much bruising and injuries. The contact also believes that there is a defect with the passenger side seat belt. During the crash, the seat belt did not tighten up, which allowed the passenger's body to jerk around and become bruised. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 82,000. Updated 02/05/09 updated 02/09/09.

- Sanford, ME, USA

problem #30

Jul 062007

Ranger 6-cyl

  • 88,841 miles


Consumer stated air bags did not work when she was involved in an accident. Consumer bought the car used and wants to know why they don't tell customers why other people trade there vehicles in.. updated 01/09/08. Updated 12/12/07 the consumer and her son were injured in the accident.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #29

Feb 282006

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 55mph in normal conditions, the vehicle crashed and neither air bag deployed. The vehicle impacted another vehicle from behind and the front end of the contact's vehicle sustained damage. As a result, the contact's head crashed into the windshield and major facial lacerations were received although, the contact was wearing a seat belt. The police were present and a report was filed at the scene. After inspection, the vehicle will be repaired by the insurance company.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 102005

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact stated that 2001 Ford Ranger crashed while driving at 40 mph. Upon impact, the front/ side air bags did not deploy. The contact stated that damage was caused to the front end of the vehicle. The contact sustained injuries. The vehicle was totaled. Ford M has not been called. T a police report was taken. Also, pictures are available to view.

- Albuguerque, NM, USA

problem #27

Oct 022005

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,900 miles


The contact stated that someone was driving this vehicle and had an accident. The seat belt on the driver's side did not hold the contact back, and hit the steering wheel. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy until after driver hit steering wheel. He said the fuel safety cut off switch did not work because he could start the vehicle without hitting the circuit breaker. The contact was going about 35 mph, slid into a car at a green light. Dealer and manufacturer have not been contacted yet. The contact was injured. The police came and a report was taken. Vehicle was totaled. Updated 11/29/2005 - the seat belt did not properly restrain the consumer resulting in multiple breast contusions. The air bag deployed after the consumer's head had already hit the steering wheel.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #26

Jun 012003

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
Seat belt retractor failed on the consumers 2003 Ford Explorer. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and they said this happened all the time. The consumer was involved in a car accident and the air bags did not deploy at 40 mph. The consumer had to manually place the seat belt back into its position it did not retract. The dealer informed the consumer the springs were weak and they would fail again if replaced.

- Weber Falls, OK, USA

problem #25

Dec 212004

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,600 miles
My truck was involved in a rear end impact with a semi and neither air bag deployed.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #24

Apr 072003

Ranger 6-cyl

  • miles
Consumer was involved in an accident where the seat belts did not hold and the air bags did not deploy. The consumer lost control of the vehicle skidded across the road and struck another vehicle. The consumer stated the seat belts were recalled by Ford which may have played a factor in the seat belts not restraining him. (lawyer albert pino on behalf of consumer).

- Lakemoor, IL, USA

problem #23

Nov 012003

Ranger 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles


I was driving in the off road area of oceano dunes and went off a sand dune head first about 15 feet. The entire front end is smashed, I hit the steering wheel so hard it is bent. Neither the air bag nor the seat belt worked. I had taken the truck in for repair five different times because the air bag light would stay on for long periods of time. They said they had repaired it the last time but obviously they hadn't. I have called repeatedly since the accident, they keep promising to return my call but I get no response from them. First they wouldn't believe there was anything wrong and now they refuse to accept responsibility for the failure of their safety equipment to work. I wonder if any one is interested in a class action suit.

- Oceano, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 152003

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
While driving at 35 mph consumer lost control of the vehicle and collided with a utility pole. Upon impact, air bags did not deploy. Consumer was not sure whether he was wearing a seat belt or not. Consumer sustained facial injuries, and was rendered unconscious. Police did arrive on the scene, but no one was cited.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 192003


  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,400 miles
While driving 15 mph vehicle went over a bump and the front air bags inadvertently deployed. Driver and front passenger sustained minor abrasions to the facial area. Dealer could not determine the cause of the problem.

- Conover, NC, USA

problem #20

Mar 312003

Ranger 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
Traveling approx 68 mph I swurved to avoid going off I jerked the stirring wheel to my rt then back to my left I stepped on my brakes with a hard and consistant presssure, causing my front breaks lockup, which resulted in me losing control of my truck it !!spinning out of control I went only to come to rest after a frontal impact of approximately 55 to 60 mrh as well as a rear impact speed at this point unknown. Besides my front breaks locking up, neither my driver or passenger side air bags deployed.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 202003


  • miles
While driving 30 mph on highway vehicle hit a tree, and both frontal air bags did not deploy.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 232003


  • miles
While driving at 55 mph loss control of the vehicle, rolled over and crashed. Upon impact, neither of the air bag deployed. Dealer notified.

- Chalmette, LA, USA

problem #17

Jul 072003

(reported on)


  • 40,000 miles
While driving at 60 mph vehicle was in a frontal collision, but none of the air bag deployed upon impact.

- Port Royal, VA, USA

problem #16

May 082003


  • miles
The consumer was involved in an accident, and the air bags failed to deploy.

- Woodville, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 222002

Ranger 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Air bags did not deploy after hitting a pole at 45 to 50 mph.

- 704 747, NC, USA

problem #14

Nov 112002


  • miles
While traveling at 45 to 50 mph. The consumer states' he lost control and hit a metal pole. None of the vehicles airbags deployed.

- Cherryville, NC, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?