Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,996 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Ford Taurus wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #6

Nov 102008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 142,392 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In June 2008 I started my regular yearly maintenance schedule of my 1998 Ford Taurus wagon. I had my oil change & rotated/balanced my tires. In October 2008 I had two tires replaced (all of my service was done @ a Ford dealership in my city) and a multi-point inspection for my vehicle inspection. The mechanic advised me that my car needed rear shocks, as the outer casing was rotted! left inner tie rod was loose & front brakes were worn. I went in on Oct 23, 2008 and had all of the work done!,$417.45 for front brakes, resurfaced front rotors; replaced front inner tie rod. Then on 11/10/08 I went in to have my vehicle inspected and was advised that it failed, the rocker panels were rotted out! I made an appt for 11/19/08 to find out how much it would cost to fix this & learned that the rocker panels were not available from Ford & that I needed to fabricate new ones! my car, which had 142,555 miles on it, which I thought to be in perfect condition, did not pass inspection because of sub-frame rot! this vehicle has only been serviced by Ford dealerships, who had just pocketed $621.45 of my money to perform work on a car that they refused to inspect! in searching for estimates to repair this damage I learned that all Taurus' rusted in the same place! under the rocker panel covers, right where mine was rotted. I was told by every company to junk my car! I called Ford to express my concerns and was only told "your car is no longer under warranty". I just learned today about recalls on Ford vehicles due to subframe rot! my car is still sitting in my driveway. I have been unable to fix it and have not junked it yet because I am so saddened that it was never fixed by Ford. I have every receipt for all the work performed on my car and would like my car to be included in the updated recalls on Ford vehicles! thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rochester, NH, USA

problem #5

May 182008

Taurus

  • 127,582 miles
I bought 4 new tires at sears on 10/31/06.and I had a flat tire so I put air in the tire when I was done I could hear the air leaking out of the valve stem I could see the cracks in the stems and replaced it on 5/18/08 and a month later the same thing I replaced another valve stem on 06/16/08. Now I will have to replace the two front tires valve stems.

- Crest Hill, IL, USA

problem #4

Sep 022001

Taurus

  • miles
Complete separation of tread from tire. Tire remained inflated and I was able to pull safely to the side of the road. (tiresize: P205/65R15)

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #3

Jun 282001

Taurus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 6-28-01 I was on I-75 going North. My tire unraveled on me. My husband and a state trooper put on a spare. My husband had my tires rotated 2 months before. I have had 3 flats and tire replacements on my car. I called Ford motor customer relations. Nick (800-392-3673) told me Ford has nothing to do with general tires. He transferred me to general tires (800-847-3349). Eileen at general took the complaint and gave me a file #38421. I agreed to go to belle tire to have the tire inspected. Eileen called belle tire. I took the tire to belle tire on 7-2-01. Darrell at belle tire (313-271-9400) called general tire. Jill at general told him a file should not have ever been made on my complaint and I should just take the tire back to where I got it. She was very abrupt and rude. I left.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #2

Nov 011999

Taurus

  • miles
When brakes were applied vehicle and steering wheel/column would vibrate moderately to violently. Dealership looked into this defect and replaced front rotors/ tires, and brakes. Please provide any additional information/attachments.

- Florence, MS, USA

problem #1

Oct 181999

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Rear brakes worn out and rotors needed turning causing noise, also all tires needed replacement.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?