Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,973 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #73

Sep 122014

Taurus

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the front passenger side coil spring fractured. In addition, the contact discovered that the coil spring punctured through the front passenger side tire. The contact stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 04V332000 (suspension) but the dealer refused to perform the remedy on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Elgin, IL, USA

problem #72

May 312012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the driver was driving 45 mph when the front driver's coil spring fractured. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the coil spring was repaired. An authorized dealer was then notified and stated that the vehicle was no longer covered under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs). The manufacturer offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 105,000...updated 09-19-12 updated 09/20/2012

- 3 Glenmore Circle, NY, USA

problem #71

Sep 122009

Taurus

  • 80,000 miles
2001 Ford Taurus wagon with 80,000 miles while driving on route 80 I heard a loud banging sound in the front end - the left front coil spring broke. Luckily the protective guards installed last year prevented the tire from blowing up.

- Mine Hill, NJ, USA

problem #70

Apr 282008

Taurus

  • 56,754 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had both front coil springs covered under Ford recall but also had left and right rear coil spring fractures not covered under recall. Rear coils replaced and installed for $415.13. There should be a recall on the rear coil springs as well...

- Van Wert, OH, USA

problem #69

Mar 312009

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,356 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 5 mph and turning left out of the driveway, the front passenger side coil spring failed and punctured the passenger side tire. The manufacturer had not yet been notified. The current and failure mileages were less than 151,356. Updated 12/08/09. Updated 12/10/09.

- New Hampton, IA, USA

problem #68

Dec 232008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving at any speed, the contact hears banging noises coming from the front and rear of the vehicle. The failure caused improper suspension issues in the vehicle. He took the vehicle to his local shop and the mechanic stated that both the front and rear coil springs failed. The dealer has not confirmed or denied whether the vehicle was previously repaired according to NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs). The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 75,000. Updated 02/24/09. Updated 02/24/09.

- Auburn, NH, USA

problem #67

Jan 302008

Taurus

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. The vehicle failed inspection due to fractured front coil springs. The dealer stated that the rear coil springs also needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the front coil springs according to the recall; however, the rear coil springs were not included. The recall number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 69,000.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #66

Apr 172007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,830 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 30 mph, the contact heard a loud noise and the front end of the vehicle dropped. The vehicle was taken to an auto garage and they stated that both front driver and passenger side coil springs failed. The vehicle was repaired and the coils and struts were replaced. The manufacturer stated that they will not reimburse her because the repair was not performed by an authorized Ford dealer. The failure mileage was 63,830 and current mileage is 63,956. Updated 09/16/08. Updated 09/18/08

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #65

Apr 082008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 153,900 miles
I received a recall notice from Ford Motor Company on 4/7/08 that my 2001 Ford Taurus was being recalled to have front anti-corrosion shields installed on the front springs. On 4/8/08 the lt front spring rusted through and punctured the left front tire. Had I been driving at the time I would have been pulled into oncoming traffic. I contacted Ford customer service and was told sorry the car was out of warranty by 3900 miles even though it was a recall problem. I tried to explain that 4/7/08 was the first notice I received and was told that they had been trying to recall the car since 2004 but had been sending the notices to the previous owner. I purchased the car in 2006. It did not matter that was the first notice I had received. I was told that it was my fault because I had purchased a used vehicle. I was also told they were not responsible because Illinois was slow to update their database for Ford. I am now responsible for a $900 repair bill. Had they contacted me in a timely manner, the shields would have been installed in 2006. I was also told that any prudent consumer looks for any recalls on that vehicle on the corporate web site before purchasing the vehicle. This was a safety issue and Ford took no responsibility for it. They had a design flaw and are taking no responsibility for it.

- Wenona, LA, USA

problem #64

Mar 032008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 20 mph, the front coil spring failed and made a loud banging noise. The coil spring punctured the front passenger side tire. In 2002, Ford placed a protective cover over the coil spring. The cover was removed when the struts were replaced in 2007. The vehicle will be towed to the dealer. NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension: Front:springs:coil springs) was referenced. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 92,000.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #63

Oct 062007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Taurus - left and right rear coil springs - broken. Repaired October 2007. Cost including the replacement of left and right rear struts $965.87.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #62

Dec 122007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Broken rear springs on 2001 Ford Taurus cost over 500 to replace. Front springs defective also and caused flat tire. Springs in front replaced at Ford cost. I was not reimbursed for tire.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #61

Jan 062008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,575 miles
Heard a bang heading off an off ramp and car shot into guard rail with drivers side of car breaking headlight, bumper, bending hood, fender and door and various scratches along side of car. Had car towed to dealer where purchased upon investigation both front coil springs were broken and front tires were shredded. As repairs were being made I found there was a Ford recall on the front coil springs for the fractures an shredding of tires. Never received recall notice. The Ford Motor Company, after repairs were made, don't want to reimburse repairs made because the repairs weren't made through them and refuse to pay the body damage.

- Rome, NY, USA

problem #60

Dec 272007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
Dealer found all four springs broken after car was grinding on rear tire. Dealer is replacing front ones per recall but I feel rear springs are also prone to failure and Ford should issue a recall. Car suffered tire damage to right rear wheel.

- Bluffton, IN, USA

problem #59

Oct 202007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brought in my 2001 Ford Taurus for a front end shake and was informed by the mechanic that all 4 coil springs were broken!

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #58

Aug 292007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,900 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. When the contact took her vehicle to the dealer to have the tires rotated and balanced, she was informed that the front and rear coil springs were broken. The dealer replaced the front coil springs at no charge, but would not replace the rear coil springs. The cost to repair the rear coil springs is $185.64 plus the $59.99 alignment. The purchase date was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 79,900. The consumer stated feels Ford should reimburse all consumers for rear coils springs and alignment. Updated 09/18/07

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #57

Jun 062006

Taurus

  • miles
The front left coil spring on my 2001 Taurus broke in June 2006. Today August 28, 2007 the left rear coil spring on my 2001 Ford Taurus was noted that it was broken by my regular mechanic. Fortunately nobody was in the vehicle or that it did not cause injury but this could be a major problem and by the looks of the number of other complaints this is a very common problem.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #56

Aug 062007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,995 miles
Driving along a smooth road, car was jolted with a loud bang. I discovered the front passenger side coil spring fractured, leaving part of its base in the strut mount. Second coil spring to fail on this car. Passenger rear also failed, one year ago.

- Pittsburgh , PA, USA

problem #55

Jul 252007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Taurus. While driving 50 mph, the front and rear coil springs fractured. The service shop replaced the rear springs in the latter part of 2006. The contact stated that the failure sounded as if a stone had struck the undercarriage of the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 100,000. The consumer stated the front and rear coil springs broke in a relatively short period time. The front coil springs in the front didn't just break in one place, but in two places. The front strut mount was also punctured and had to be replaced. Updated 08/16/07.

- Gilboa, NY, USA

problem #54

Feb 232007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I had a catastrophic failure of the coil springs on the 2001 Ford Taurus, and had to replace the front coil springs at my expense. Later, I found out about safety recall 04V332000, and presented the bill to the local Ford garage for reimbursement of the price of the parts. The district Ford recall representative refused my claim and would not give a reason other than the work was not done at a Ford garage. What were the options. The spring destroyed the tire and I could have crashed under other conditions.

- Sunbury, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?