Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
55,879 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 9 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #57

Dec 202005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,664 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re: 2001 Ford Taurus...my rear coil spring on the passenger side popped through my tire causing a flat. I had to get a new spring, strut, strut mount and tire. This was the second time such an event happened. The first one was in May 05 on the front driver side which did cause me to hit a median on the highway. I had to replace a control arm, strut, strut mount, tire and spring coils. I called Ford directly in that case and think there should be a recall on the rear spring coils as well as the front. I feel very unsafe in this vehicle.

- Saint Charles, MO, USA

problem #56

Dec 282005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
1- left rear (driver side) coil spring broke. Vehicle was under no load except for the driver in the car, trunk and rear seat were empty. 2- the rear coil spring just broke and damaged the inner sidewall of the corresponding tire. The tire did not deflate. 3- both rear coils were replaced ($ 457.34) and the tire was replaced as well ($ 76.99). The failed rear coil is not available as, at that time, I was not aware that there was a preliminary investigation by the NHTSA into coil spring failures in 2001 Ford Taurus vehicles.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #55

Dec 152005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
On December 15th, I pulled out of my driveway at about 5 mph and heard a clunking noise from the rear of the car. I got out and checked the rear tires and found that they were still inflated. I pulled out to leave my driveway and heard a loud screeching noise as I drove away. I drove back into my driveway and found that the left rear tire was flat. I replaced the tire with the doughnut and was able to drive the car. Assuming that the problem was a punctured tire, I took the tire to a local place for a tire repair. They reported that the tread had separated from the tire, but didn't know why. They replaced the tire and as my wife drove away, she heard the screeching noise and after investigation, the shop found that the rear spring had fallen down and gouged the tire, causing the tread separation. The car has been taken to the dealer for replacement of the rear springs, at my cost. What I don't understand is why Ford is taking care of the front spring issue but isn't taking care of the rear spring issue when the cause of the rear spring issues is fully known and understood. Ford needs to recall and replace the rear springs before people are killed due to their obvious negligence.

- Metamora, IL, USA

problem #54

Dec 072005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact states there is recall NHTSA campaign 04V332000 concerning the front coil springs; the vehicle was repaired by the previous owner according to the recall. Now, the contact has the same problem, which was affecting the rear coils springs. It was repaired at the contact's expense. The consumer had to purchase a new starter updated 01/11/06.

- Odgensburg, NY, USA

problem #53

Dec 192005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2001 Ford Taurus ses with 55000 miles on it. In April, 2005 the front coil spring recall was done on this car. Today, the right rear coil spring broke at about 30 mph, cut the inside of the tire and punctured it. Ford dealer states that they can't do anything for me as there is no recall on that part. They were very happy to take $600 to fix the spring and shock as well as do the same on the left side, since that would probably break tomorrow. Plus, even though Ford clearly has under-specified these springs, I even get to pay for a new tire! last Ford product I buy.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #52

Dec 092005

Taurus

  • miles
Left rear coil spring fracture.

- N. Providence, RI, USA

problem #51

Oct 052005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 32,745 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both rear coil spring broke on consumers 2001 Ford Taurus. ** answer required*** the starter also failed prematurely.

- Eastlake, OH, USA

problem #50

Sep 202005

Taurus

  • miles
Left rear tire went flat. Purchased two new tires and asked the mech. What could cause the grove on inside tire wall. He said to check for piece of metal stuck. When I returned home, all I could find was a semi loose mud flap. Then I looked up and noticed the spring was not sitting on the metal plate of strut. It was the exact spot that the grove was cut into the tire. Called Ford dealer and asked about it. They notified me of the recall on the front struts but said none had been issued for the rear. (they look the same!!). Oct 18, I paid to have new springs put on the rear of car. Returned car today 19th, as now it is making loud thumping noise from rear on every bump in the road. Their mechanic took test drive with me and confirmed. They are working on it now. Is this how they are funding the recall on the front ones"? can you tell I am disgusted with Ford Motor Company"

- Newport, PA, USA

problem #49

Oct 072005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
The contact stated on October 7, 2005 a coil spring on the passenger's rear suspension broke and went through the tire, it ruined the tire. The contact spoke with the dealer. They would replace the coil springs at contact's expense. There was no warning prior to this happening. This happened on normal road conditions. Updated 11/30/2005 -

- Cuba City, WI, USA

problem #48

Oct 062005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,370 miles
2001 Ford Taurus. The contact stated the right rear coil spring broke and blew out the tire. The vehicle was taken to the dealership, and they replaced the spring and tire at the consumers expense. The consumer called Ford and they stated the vehicle was not under recall. This happened on October 6, 2005. The consumer was able to put the spare tire on the vehicle and drove it to a Ford dealership for repairs. Updated 11/16/05.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #47

Oct 112005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,853 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Ford Taurus. The consumer stated that there was a recall on the front coil springs. Upon inspection the dealership found that the rear springs were also broken. The contact had the rear springs replaced at his expense. Ford stated that they were looking into the rear spring problem and the consumer has not heard back from them. The springs were replaced on October 11, 2005. (11/21/05)

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #46

Sep 012005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
Broken rear coil spring, 2001 Ford Taurus make me 132, I had to pay for replacement! just last month.

- Eighty Four, PA, USA

problem #45

Oct 032005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
Car was taken to mechanic for routine tire rotation. The car had been making a clunking noise in the rear since we purchased it but Ford dealers were unable to diagnose/correct it. When tires were rotated, mechanic noticed oil leaking from strut and investigated; found rear coil spring fractured.

- Urbandale, IA, USA

problem #44

May 022005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
In may of 2005 the rear coil springs of my 2001 Ford Taurus both broke and the left coil spring punctured my tire causing a rapid loss of air. The coil springs on the front of my vehicle broke in June of 2004 (and now have protective shields due to the recall in August of 2004). All four coil springs on my vehicle have been replaced. My vehicle is now registered in Virginia but had over 75000 miles put on it in Pennsylvania- I believe that if my vehicle had not been registered in Pennsylvania at the time of the front spring recall I would not have known about the recall. The Ford dealership in my area was reluctant to place the recall protective shields on the front of my Taurus.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #43

May 102005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact had taken the vehicle to dealer for a regular oil change on May 10, 2005. The mechanic told him that the rear coil spring broke. The contact was not aware that it happened. He figured that it happened sometime between February and May. There is an on going investigation for this issue by the NHTSA, PE05054. The contact knew that there has been NHTSA recall 04V332000 for front coil spring. He wanted to find out as to why there was no recall for the rear coil springs. Updated 11/16/05.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #42

Feb 152005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Ford Taurus. The vehicle had a broken rear coil spring. The consumer contacted the manufacturer and left a message in which they hadn't returned the call. The consumer's vehicle was serviced at mccrackin Ford. The vehicle only had 14000 miles on it when the rear coil spring broke. The consumer had not experienced any accidents. The consumer wanted her money back for the service that was performed on the vehicle.

- Verona, PA, USA

problem #41

Jul 262005

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I see from an associated press article dated today that the Ford Taurus is being investigated by the NHTSA due to rear coil spring failures. I own a 2001 Taurus on which I recently paid several hundred dollars to have the passenger-side rear coil spring replaced, due to failure (or imminent failure). While I was having some other non-related service work done, the Ford dealer noticed during their inspection that the spring was at or near the point of failing. They told me it required replacement, or else it could result in a tire puncture- so of course I had the repair completed. At the place I am typing this, I don't have the bill for the work done with me- so the incident date I'm entering below is approximate. I do have the bill for the work which will show the correct date. Please keep me updated on the outcome of your investigation. Thank you.

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #40

Jul 042004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The caller received recall on the front springs, but he was having a problem with the rear springs. The caller said the rear spring failed, and it put a groove in the passenger rear tire. The caller found it before the tire blew out. The caller replaced both rear springs at his own expense with another brand. Dealer said they would not replace the rear springs for free. Manufacturer has not responded to the caller on the rear springs. The sway bar bushings were replaced three times, the rear bushings were replaced twice. Updated 01/19/06.

- Reelsville, IN, USA

problem #39

Jun 162004

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
In June 2004 I heard a noise in the rear of the car. I immediately took the car in for repair. My mechanic told me that a rear spring had broken and torn a hole in one of my rear tires. The tire was not repairable. I had both rear springs replaced, a new tire installed, and the vehicle still made a noise. I then took it to the Ford dealership, who replaced the left rear strut assembly. I reported the incident to Ford (twice) after the front spring recall. They refused to pay for the repair.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #38

Apr 082005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,600 miles
2001 Ford Taurus rear coil spring broke and Ford would not replace them for us. Three weeks later the front springs broke and Ford did replace and repair the front springs. Rear repair out of pocket costs was $647.64.

- Sunbury, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?