Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 10 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #221

Mar 022008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While backing out of the driveway at 5 mph, the contact heard a thumping and a grinding noise. She initially thought she had a flat tire, but later learned that the coil spring failed and punctured the front passenger side tire. The mechanic stated that the coil spring, and possibly the struts and tire needed to be replaced. There were no warnings prior to the failure. The current and failure mileages were 59,000.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #220

Mar 022008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,430 miles
Front driver's side coil snapped (fractured). Strut needs to be replaced with the coil.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #219

Feb 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Front right coil spring broke while car was parked. When the spring broke it punctured the right front tire. When backing out of the parking spot, the spring tore the sidewall off of the tire. Aaa replaced the tire with the emegency spare, without checking for any problems, and the spare was consequently ruined. The part was replaced and is unavailable. I can supply a copy of the repair sheet from Goodyear automotive.

- Lockport, NY, USA

problem #218

Feb 252008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,097 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 2/25/08, just over two months since front coil spring broke, the rear coil spring broke on passenger side of 2002 Ford Taurus at 51,097 miles while driving down the driveway. Both rear coil springs were replaced.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #217

Dec 112007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,653 miles
2002 Ford Taurus front passenger coil spring broke and punctured tire which immediately deflated and caused car to lean to the right. This happened while backing out of the garage and had to be towed to the dealer. Both front coil springs were replaced. At 48,650 miles. To be continued...on 2/25/08 rear coil spring broke (see second complaint).

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #216

Feb 242008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,902 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle slowed down and the front end shook. The vehicle drove into a ditch and was towed to a repair shop. The front passenger side coil spring failed and punctured the tire. The driver was wearing a seat belt, but struck her head and sustained whiplash. NHTSA campaign id number 04V332000 (suspension:front:springs:coil springs) for the 1999-2001 Taurus was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 108,902. Updated 3/25/08

- Connersville , IN, USA

problem #215

Feb 242008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While backing out of the driveway at 2 mph, the vehicle failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that the spring, plates, and tires on both sides needed to be repaired at the cost of $668.81. The failure and current mileages were 42,000. Updated 07/09/08 updated

- Cheekwoaga, NY, USA

problem #214

Feb 172008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,797 miles
I drive a 2002 Ford Taurus with about 79,000 miles. While backing the car out of a parking spot in my driveway the vehicle made some odd noises and was not backing up. It felt as if something was under the car preventing it from moving or like it was stuck in the snow of the parking spot (it was February). I got out of the car and looked at the wheels to find that the front driver-side tire was flat and damaged. Aaa mechanics came to change the tire. The bottom piece of the coil spring fell out from underneath the car while it was jacked up. It was then discovered that the coil spring had punctured the tire and severely damaged the inside sidewall of the tire. I was told (and my research confirmed) that this is a common problem with these types of vehicles. I am glad this did not happen while driving at highway speed while traveling as I was planning to do later that afternoon! the dealer had stated (to my disappointment) that despite a recall being issued for vehicles from 1999 to 2001 with the same problem, they could not offer me anything to fix the problem with my vehicle. The repair cost me $519 to replace the two front coil springs, two new front tires, left front sway bar link (which broke when the spring snapped) and associated labor. I am holding on to all receipts in hopes that Ford will issue a recall and fix any defective vehicles.

- Derby, NY, USA

problem #213

Jan 062008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,195 miles
Our 2002 SE Ford Taurus while sitting perfectly still suffered a front left coil spring failure. It punctured the tire, which subsequently led to it being towed and the replacing of the left front tire and the left front coil spring, we replaced the right front coil spring as a precautionary measure. We still have the tire, but we didn't think to request the broken coil spring. We do have pictures showing the coil spring embedded in the tire. When we contacted Ford, we found out that only certain VIN numbers for the 2002 Taurus coil springs were under recall. Our VIN number was not under recall. We sent a letter appealing the decision and received a form letter denying the request with no mention of the potentially dangerous defect. In our investigation we found that there are numerous 2002 coil spring failures that aren't under recall. Just a note, our 1993 Taurus needed a boot to protect the coil spring. We were surprised that this issue still hadn't been resolved.

- Mccomb, OH, USA

problem #212

Feb 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
Left front coil spring broke and punctured tire.

- Dekalb Junction, NY, USA

problem #211

Jan 282008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,925 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1-28-08 incident date I am filing this letter against Ford Corp because I feel that they are responsible for the repair of our 2002 Ford Taurus. This is the second time in a year that we have had a broken spring problem the first time it was the front spring - Ford paid about 80% under a recall program. Car mileage about 48,000. One year latter the rear spring about 55,000 miles. Called starkey Ford in york Maine they said there was no program for rear springs. Called Ford Corp basically told same thing, then told car would have to be repaired by Ford dealer or they would not be responsible for repairs at all. I had vehicle towed (140.00) inspected and was recommended by Ford to replace both springs and struts total cost appx $590. I said go ahead with repair, and I would file claim with Ford Corp customer service. My second call to Ford Corp, Jan 30, 2008. Spoke with sherri, after conversation, was told Ford would pay for one broken spring only- I told her it is recommended you always change spring in pairs. She then called steve at starkey Ford and he told her the same thing, that Ford recommends the changing of both springs. I feel Ford Corp is responsible, because there is a history of defective springs both front and rear of which our car has had both happen in 1 year. The issue regarding because of cold climate, and salt corrosion...Ford is not the only vehicle driven in cold climates but they have this problem. When the springs break they cut the sidewall of the tire. If it has not happened yet, some day there will be an accident causing serious injury or death to someone driving at a high speed. We have been lucky-both times, the spring broke in a driveway. I think it is time for who ever is responsible to take a closer look at safety issues regarding the Ford Taurus.

- Wells, ME, USA

problem #210

Jan 252006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,473 miles
2002 Ford Taurus left front coil snapped, wrapped around the strut assembly, broke the sway bar link and punctured the left front tire getting embedded in the tire so as to make the wheel immovable. Fortunately the car was stopped at the time, however, a moment later and I'm certain someone (my husband) would have been seriously injured or perhaps several people might have been injured or even killed. He couldn't free the tire from the coil and had to call for a tow. It couldn't be towed; so they sent for a flat bed to Transport it to the repair shop. I went to the Ford dealership with the busted parts after we had everything replace both right and left coils and strut assemblies and sway bar links and left front tire. I was told by the dealership that there was a similar problem with the 1999, 2000, and 2001 ; that there had been a recall. I was told that they put a protective shield on the vehicles which prevented the coil from puncturing the tire. However, the recall did not extend to the 2002 Taurus. Perhaps Ford motors should rethink this matter and consider putting a shield on the 2002's also. Don't wait for someone to be injured or killed before taking steps to correct this problem. I retained the old parts, I have taken pictures of them and will be sending the coil and sway bar link to Ford motors. I will keep the struts and tire in the event they would like to inspect them. However they are heavy and bulky and will be rather difficult to send, but I will send them upon Ford's request.

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #209

Dec 182007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Ford Taurus front coil spring failure. Consumer stated that when the coil spring broke her transmission dropped to the ground and caused her to lose control of the vehicle. Damage is the same as recall. Consumers vehicle is not included.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #208

Jan 212008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving in reverse at approximately 3 mph, the contact heard a popping sound. He noticed that the front coil springs punctured the front driver side tire. The dealer stated that he needed to replace the front springs and front tires. They also recommended that the passenger side springs be replaced before a failure occurs. The estimated repair cost is $640.27. The vehicle is currently at the Ford dealer being repaired. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The failure and current mileages were 78,000. Updated 4/2/08 updated 04/02/08

- Saunderstown , RI, USA

problem #207

Jan 232008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,690 miles
My front coil spring broke as I was driving home from work in my 2002 Ford Taurus. I did not hit anything. The coil spring fracture damaged my front end struts and links, cut up my left tire and damaged my left front end axel boot. I had to pay $1000 to get everything fixed. I contacted the Ford dealer and one of the national number service people who claimed that model and make year of the Ford Taurus is not covered under the long-standing recall that they've had for other Ford Taurus' in recent years. My serviceman at the autoshop that ended up repairing it said this is a known problem among Ford Taurus' and couldn't believe the dealer did nothing to compensate me.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #206

Jan 222008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I have a 2002 Ford Taurus. On the evening of Jan. 22, 2008 my wife was leaving work when she heard a loud thump, the front of the vehicle fell downward. She was unable to steer, move forward or reverse. Having to move the vehicle, we had it towed to a near by auto repair station where it was than inspected. Needing the vehicle asap, the technician called that night to inform us that the drivers front coil spring broke in half and that it was wedge into the wheel. After further inspection he found that the pass front coil spring was also cracked. Needing the vehicle, I had them do the repairs which included coil springs, struts, damaged sway bar links, and bearings for a total $ $810.84. When I picked the vehicle up I was told by the tech that the rear springs are also cracked and should be replaced asap. I was told by the local dealer that there was a recall on this matter but only on the 2001. Why not the 2002 and what corrections were made? it doesn't seem right that the exact same issue still occurs on the 2002 vehicle. I did contact Ford customer service for help paying for these repairs, but was told they could not help me. Thank god my wife was not driving on the highway when the spring broke and wedged in the wheel.

- Adrian, MI, USA

problem #205

Dec 232007

Taurus

  • 64,070 miles
2002 Ford Taurus with failed coil springs. Consumer states that their vehicle is not included in the recall and it should be. Coil spring failure caused damage to both front tires that was beyond repair.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #204

May 212006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,820 miles
Coming out of a shopping mall onto highway I broke the left front spring and blew out the tire.

- Ebensburg, PA, USA

problem #203

Dec 182007

Taurus

  • miles
2002 Ford Taurus with a faulty front spring. Consumer states that the front spring broke causing the tire to blow. Consumer was informed by the dealer that the problem is common on those vehicles and that a recall had been issued through the 2001 models.

- Montgomery, MI, USA

problem #202

Dec 152007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,397 miles
On Dec 15,2007 pulling out of my garage the spring assembly broke on my 2002 Ford Taurus. Need to replace spring assembly strut and sway bar. Contact Ford after the repair, they did have a problem with the springs on Taurus, but not my vehicle. I was lucky that I was not going any faster when this happened.

- New Park, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?