Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,204 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 16 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #101

Feb 152007

(reported on)

Taurus

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Ford Taurus customer has a concern about recall on coil spring from 99-01*

- 999999, DC, USA

problem #100

Feb 152006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,785 miles
- the contact stated that the 2002 Ford Taurus' front coil spring fractured, puncturing the driver's side tire. The contact got into the vehicle and heard a loud bang, and the noise was coming from the tire, and noticedthe tire was flat. The contact S tried to change the tire, but was unable to because the coil spring was stuck in the tire. The contact called the dealership, and they informed that there was recall 04V332000 for suspension: Front: Spring: Coil springs. Updated 10/26/07

- East Palestines, OH, USA

problem #99

Feb 122007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,550 miles
On February 12, 2007 I was pulling out of my driveway at 1:15 pm when I heard a loud burst and immediately my left front tire deflated. Upon removal of the tire I notice that the spring had busted and was the cause of the punctured tire. I was very lucky that this happen in the driveway, then on the freeway I had my 1 year old daughter in the car at the time. I was told by some friends that Ford had did some recalls on this issue on the Taurus. After contacting the dealership they informed me that my car was not under the recall. After talking to the customer service number they provided me with I found out that the recall on earlier model Ford Taurus had the same problem. Its an issue that needs to be addressed immediately before someone gets seriously injured. If the 1999-2001 Ford Taurus were recalled for the exact same issue, there is no reason why my 2002 Ford Taurus should not have been recalled. The repairs from this are going to total $1000. The car was towed to an independent mechanic and he is replacing both front struts and spring assemblies, front tires, mounts, and balancing the front end.

- Newport, MI, USA

problem #98

Feb 032007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,725 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that she noticed that the driver side front tire was flat, and the coil spring was stuck in the tire of the 2002 Ford Taurus with 64725 failure mileage. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic, and they confirmed that the coil spring broke into pieces, and one piece ruptured the tire. The current mileage was 64728.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #97

Feb 012007

(reported on)

Taurus

  • miles
2002 Ford Taurus customer wants info about springs breaking and puncturing tires*

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #96

Jan 022007

Taurus 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
On January 2, 2007, I was backing out of my apt parking space and my driver's side tire blew out after only backing out no more than one foot. My tire was less than one year old. I went to get a new tire as it could not be fixed. I went to put the new tire on when I realized the coil spring had been broken off and that was what punctured my tire. I could not put the new tire on because of the now broken coil spring. Luckily I was able to drive my car with the spare on as the spare was not high enough to be punctured by the pointed edge of the broken spring. I am unemployed so I had to search for the cheapest ways to fix this. I found a new tire at belle for $68.90 and I got the spring and sway bar link replaced for $398.91. Before getting my car fixed, I did some online research and discovered that there was a recall on Ford Taurus' between 1999-2001 for the coil springs. I also discovered that many people with 2002 Taurus' were having the same problem with their coil springs. I am now very discouraged about the safety of my car. I certainly don't want to cause an accident that may cause injury to myself or someone else. If this were to happen on a freeway, my life would be in danger. I hope that the coil springs are recalled so that I can get the remaining coil springs replaced and then I could feel safer when I am driving. I wholeheartedly believe that the 2002's should be added to the list of Taurus recalls. This happened as I was backing out of my parking spot not while I was driving. This indicates that it is a coil spring failure and no fault of my own. These coil springs are going to continue to fail and possibly endanger lives. I would greatly appreciate a response to this submission. Thank you sincerely. Robert schramek.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #95

Aug 082006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,890 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact stated that while going into the garage, he noticed a flat tire on the 2002 Ford Taurus with 49890 mileage failure. The contact took the tire off to repair it and noticed the coil spring was broken. The vehicle had to be towed to be repaired. The tire was replaced. There was a recall on the 2000 and 2001 vehicles for the same coil spring reason. The current mileage was 61000.. the consumer was requesting reimbursement, however his claim was denied, because there was no recall on the 2002 model. Updated 03/07/07.

- Andover, MN, USA

problem #94

Jan 302007

Taurus

  • miles
A few days ago I got into my 2002 Ford Taurus and heard a twanging sound, not knowing what it was, I started the car, put it in reverse and my front drivers side tire went completely flat, what had happened is that the spring had broke, punctured my tire, and when I went in reverse, ripped a six inch hole in my tire. I had the car towed to the Ford dealership for repair. The original estimate for this repair was $390. Then yesterday, they called me to tell me that the back two springs were broken as well. This seems odd to me that three of four springs should all be broken at the same time, and pose a very serious safety hazard. If I had been driving down the highway and three springs had broke, I could be in very critical condition. The total of the repairs to replace all four springs came to about $550. Plus the cost of the tire under warranty which was about 12 dollars for the service charge.

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #93

Jan 192007

Taurus

  • miles
Driving down neighborhood street at about 15 M.P.H when left side coil spring broke. Had to be towed to repair shop for new coil spring and strut assembly.

- Pottsville, PA, USA

problem #92

Jan 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Ford Taurus with left coil spring broke. A recall was issued but not on the year the consumer owned.** the ball joints were replaced because they were loose and worn. The wheel cylinders were replaced due to them leaking.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #91

Jan 272007

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was parked at the airport for one week while I traveled. When I returned the front driver side tire was flat. When we removed the tire to change it we saw a puncture on the inner side, followed by a circular gash. We noticed the suspension spring had broken and was projecting into the tire area.

- Macomb, IL, USA

problem #90

Jan 212007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 63,100 miles
2002 Ford Taurus, 63 thous miles. Broken front passenger side coil spring. When it broke it cut up the tire witch was new less than two months ago. I had to have both front springs replaced, and buy a new tire. And pay for towing service. All out of pocket.

- Mt Pleasant, MI, USA

problem #89

Jan 242007

Taurus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
Left front coil spring snapped puncturing the tire. Called Ford and they said there was nothing they could do as there was no warranty or recall. I had checked on-line only to discover that the 1999-2001 Taurus had been recalled for the very same problem. Like many others I was fortunate that I was not traveling on the freeway. I had just come from work and it happened as I pulled down my driveway. Will it take a death before Ford extends it's recall to cover 2002 vehicles? I had my vehicle repaired by my local mechanic (not Ford related) they replaced the part with a new product by martin. I decided I did not want them to repair my car with the same piece of crap part.

- Hamburg, MI, USA

problem #88

Jan 072007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
My wife owns a 2002 Ford Taurus sedan (4-door). The car has 30,000 mi. The car has had control arms and ball joints already replaced on it and this time (January 7, 2007), backing out of our garage, the right front coil spring snapped and seized the car from rolling. The spring broke in the way the the 99-01 Taurus coil spring recall states. The spring pinned against the right front tire and had to be fixed in place as to not cause more damage to the vehicle. I did the work myself and replaced it with a Napa front coil spring assembly because I don't trust the Ford replacement part. I feel that a coil spring on a 2002 Ford Taurus with 30,000 mi should not fail and should not even come close to failing. It is quite obvious that the issue is more than just a 99-01 issue. Even though this happend backing out of the garage (which is hard to believe in itself), I have worried that the other one could break on the street or highway and cause serious injury to my wife and baby.

- Clarence Center, NY, USA

problem #87

Jan 032007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
TL *- the contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. While driving in reverse the coil spring broke and punctured the driver's side front tire. The failure speed was approximately 1-2 mph. The contact replaced the tire, but did not keep the punctured tire. The contact stated that the jack snapped as the vehicle was being lifted. The contact has had the vehicle repaired, and has the repair invoices. Updated 03/15/07.

- Rouses Point, NY, USA

problem #86

Jan 222007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
- the contact stated that while backing his 2002 Ford Taurus out of his driveway the passenger side front tire went flat without any warning. In the process of changing the tire the contact noticed that a piece of the front coil spring was on the ground. The vehicle was not drivable, and had to be towed. The consumer received full reimbursement. Updated 03/19/07.

- Great Bearing, MA, USA

problem #85

Jan 232007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
Front driver side coil spring on my 2002 Ford Taurus ses snapped while I was turning the wheel to back out of a parking space. Took out my tire and strut. I was lucky that I was not on the hwy at the time!!! repair bill, $600!!!

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #84

Jan 152007

Taurus

  • miles
Left front spring snapped while traveling 70 mph. Breakage caused strut to be bent. Both spring and strut had to be replaced.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

problem #83

Jan 142007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,743 miles
On my 2002 Ford Taurus the left front coil spring broke which in turn ruined the left front tire, luckily my wife was just starting the car when this happened or it could have been a lot worse. The cost of repairs is over $600. I called Ford, which was pointless, they are not covering 2002 model years. The Ford rep stated that they have my compliant on file and if there ever is a recall to keep my receipts and I would be reimbursed. In my 30 plus years of driving I have never had a coil spring break and through my research this is the exact same problem that was recalled on all 1999 thru 2001 model year Taurus. What does it take for NHTSA to see that this issue still exists and Ford needs to handle these. Hopefully my tax dollars are not going to waste and NHTSA will force Ford to step to the plate and handle these before someone really gets injured.

- Canton, OH, USA

problem #82

Jan 052007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,888 miles
My 2002 Ford Taurus had its front driver side coil spring break and slice the front tire open. This resulted in $1200 in damage (coil springs, struts, front linkage, and tire).

- Solon, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?