Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Most people need a car where the coil springs don't puncture or shred tires while driving. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 1999-2003 Ford Taurus has a huge problem with coil springs breaking, which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,211 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Taurus suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 122008


  • 67,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. In approximately December of 2007, the contact had to replace the front driver's side tire and spring. On June 12, 2008, he took the vehicle to a repair shop for routine maintenance and was informed that both rear springs failed. The cost for both failures was over $1,000. The manufacturer was notified and stated that the recall did not include the 2002 Ford Taurus. The vehicle was out of warranty and was not taken to a Ford dealer for repair. The dealer would not provide any assistance. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- West Decatur, PA, USA

problem #21

Mar 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
Broken rear nearside spring caused flat tire on highway as broken end of spring wore through sidewall. Repair pending.

- Dedham, MA, USA

problem #20

Feb 262008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,999 miles
Left rear strut spring broke while driving and blew tire.

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #19

Jan 282008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,925 miles


1-28-08 incident date I am filing this letter against Ford Corp because I feel that they are responsible for the repair of our 2002 Ford Taurus. This is the second time in a year that we have had a broken spring problem the first time it was the front spring - Ford paid about 80% under a recall program. Car mileage about 48,000. One year latter the rear spring about 55,000 miles. Called starkey Ford in york Maine they said there was no program for rear springs. Called Ford Corp basically told same thing, then told car would have to be repaired by Ford dealer or they would not be responsible for repairs at all. I had vehicle towed (140.00) inspected and was recommended by Ford to replace both springs and struts total cost appx $590. I said go ahead with repair, and I would file claim with Ford Corp customer service. My second call to Ford Corp, Jan 30, 2008. Spoke with sherri, after conversation, was told Ford would pay for one broken spring only- I told her it is recommended you always change spring in pairs. She then called steve at starkey Ford and he told her the same thing, that Ford recommends the changing of both springs. I feel Ford Corp is responsible, because there is a history of defective springs both front and rear of which our car has had both happen in 1 year. The issue regarding because of cold climate, and salt corrosion...Ford is not the only vehicle driven in cold climates but they have this problem. When the springs break they cut the sidewall of the tire. If it has not happened yet, some day there will be an accident causing serious injury or death to someone driving at a high speed. We have been lucky-both times, the spring broke in a driveway. I think it is time for who ever is responsible to take a closer look at safety issues regarding the Ford Taurus.

- Wells, ME, USA

problem #18

Jan 072008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,817 miles
I have had a 2002 Ford Taurus for 2 years. 54,000 miles on it and maintained quite well. On Jan. 6, 2008, I had just driven back from a 3 1/2 hour drive into toronto and back. Had no issues with the vehicle. When I went out later in the day and back my car out of the driveway, I noticed a rubbing sound in the rear driver's side wheel well area. I had the vehicle towed to the dealer where vehicle was purchased and found out that the rear driver's side spring coil was broken. According to the Consumer Affairs website, this is an ongoing problem and the 2001 Taurus was recalled for the same issue but not the 2002. Due to the large number of complaints, this really needs to be looked into as it is quite common. I had the spring replaced along with the tire for a cost of $459. I was lucky that this did not happen while I was driving 70 miles an hour into Canada and back again.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #17

Oct 162007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the rear suspension spring snapped. As a result, a jagged metal rod rubbed against the rear driver side tire and caused it to blow out. The vehicle was not being driven when the rear suspension snapped. The vehicle is currently being inspected. The current and failure mileages were 55,000. Updated 12/12/07

- Columbus Grove, OH, USA

problem #16

Sep 152007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,985 miles


While driving passenger side rear spring broke in strut also damaging tire. Vehicle has 50,981 miles. Have an appoint on 9/18/2007 to replace both rear struts & alignment done.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 252007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,795 miles
2002 Ford Taurus wagon, rear suspension coil spring broke while sitting in driveway. Wow, thank god we were not driving with the kids in the car.

- Waterloo, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 192007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,719 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. He noticed that driver side front coil spring was broken. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the they found that the rear coil springs were also broken. The dealer replaced the coil springs, struts and struts bearing. The manufacturer would not reimburse for the cost of the coil springs. The current mileage 95,600 and the failure mileage was 94,719. Updated 02-01-08 the consumer stated the cost of repair was at tune of $1,246. Updated 02/01/08

- Greensburg, PA, USA

problem #13

Oct 042006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Taurus. The contact heard a loud noise while pulling out of a driveway. The vehicle dropped to the ground and was towed to a local mechanic. The cause of failure was diagnosed as the front coil spring. The vehicle was repaired. On July 6, 2007, while pulling out of a driveway, the rear coil spring failed. The vehicle has not been repaired. The engine size, purchase date, and a valid VIN were unknown. The current mileage is 52,000 and failure mileage was 47,000.

- Greenwich, NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 212007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles


2002 Ford Taurus front and rear springs and struts were defective. Driver's side rear spring failed, causing a blow out.

- Hamburg, MI, USA

problem #11

Jun 032007

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,110 miles
Rear spring broke damaging tire.

- West Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #10

Dec 282006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,368 miles
We have a 2002 Ford Taurus with aprox 45,000 miles. As my family was getting ready to enter the car we heard a loud "boom". the back end of the car seemed to be a bit lower than usual. As we tried to drive it out of the driveway there was a large amount of rubbing so we parked the car and called our local dealership. Today the mechanic let us know that the rear coil springs and struts are broken. This is a family car that is driven locally and has only a little over 45,000 miles on it. I see no reason for this failure whatsoever. This is the 3rd Ford vehicle between our family and my parents family that has had this happen with springs, struts and/or suspension bar. Fortunately all three times it happened before we were out on the highway. Ford is well aware of the problem. My father worked for Ford for 40 years and I can tell you the faulty parts are or were coming right out of monroe, Michigan. They know this yet keep using the parts. You would think after the recall on models up to 2001 that they would correct the problem but they have not. Is it going to take a death and lawsuit to keep Ford from brushing this under the carpet? there are complaints all over the internet from people with 2002 models and up having the coils and springs failing on both the front and rear of their vehicles. I truly hope that Ford will be forced to correct this problem once and for all. It is a truly dangerous situation. I fear for my safety and my children's safety.

- Clyde, OH, USA

problem #9

Dec 262006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
I was driving my car, a 2002 Ford Taurus sedan a few miles from home when the rear passenger-side started bouncing. About 30 sec later I had a blow-out on the rear passenger-side tire. Luckily I was only going about 30 miles an hour. Normally this car is used on the highway for a long daily commute, so I got lucky. When I took the tire in, a 1/4 inch groove was cut in the interior side wall from a broken spring. When I examined the spring it was not rusted at all. This is clearly a defect in the metal that Ford should repair for free. They should replace all the springs before a serious accident happens.

- Wexford, PA, USA

problem #8

May 312006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,594 miles
I have a 2002 Taurus with the coil spring problem. The owner before had the front springs replaced, yet I also had the rear end ones snap! not only did it snap but it also bent the struts on the rear end. They had a safety recall on the 1998-2001 and in 2003 they came out with stronger springs...but what about the 2002 Taurus? I have been calling them for a week now and they will not stand behind their cars. I have googled it and pulled hundreds of postings with people having this happen. I think its wrong that they are not standing behind the cars. I hope you can help the Taurus owners with this before this kills someone.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Nov 102006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
Purchased a 2002 used Ford Taurus vehicle with 21,000 miles from my local Ford dealership in 2003. Vehicle now has 51,000 miles. Spring broke last week in front left wheel, blowing out tire. No accident, but had to have car towed. Mechanic also found second broken spring in rear of vehicle. Contacted local Ford garage, found that there had been recall for same problems, model years 1999 to 2001. My car not included in the recall. Have E-mailed Ford customer service three times, with no resolve to my problem. Have repair bill for new tire, towing and four spring replacements. Have all four springs removed from my car. From you website, have the recall information which identifies the exact same problem my car had, just wrong model year. Recall extends warranty on these springs to 150,000 miles and offered replacements. I am looking for reimbursement of my vehicle repairs. I feel there is no legitimate reason why two springs should break on a vehicle with no abuse or in no accidents. This problem could have resulted in serious injury or even fatality to my family.

- Keyser, WV, USA

problem #6

Aug 082006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
1.) left rear coil spring broke in two places. Vehicle only has 46,000 miles, is less than 5 years old, has always been garage kept, has never towed and rarely has passengers in the back seat. I thought I had something loose moving around in my trunk. I emptied everything out of the trunk and still had a noise in the rear of the vehicle. I crawled underneath the vehicle and saw the broken spring. 2.) I called the dealer to find out what it would cost to replace the spring. A serviceman at the dealership suggested that it would be best to replace both springs, struts and upper mounts. I was quoted a price of $603 parts & labor plus $82.90 for a 4 wheel alignment. 3.) I checked with a wear master shop I've used for repairs for years and was able to get the suggested repairs done for $677.67 tax included. These are with quality moog & monroe products that have a lifetime warranty. Repairs were made and I do have the old parts. After researching this on the internet I see the NHTSA has a defects investigation (NHTSA action EA06002) for rear springs on these vehicles.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #5

Jun 292006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
I bought my 2002 Taurus sel DOHC in March of 2005 with 19,000 miles on it from autofair Ford in manchester, nh. I live in a salty area in the winter, but I clean the underside of my car often. It is my daily driver and the car now has 41,000 miles on it, all highway. About 2 weeks ago, I was driving down the road, going around a corner at about 35 mph when my car made a loud snap noise from the drivers side rear wheel. I pulled over and examined the car, and everything seemed to be alright. The rear end was slightly sagging, but Taurus' are known to have low back ends.. I figured I can over a stick at a funny angle or something. About a week later, last Thursday, the car made the noise again, this time it sounded like the whole car made the noise, and I could feel it in the steering wheel. I pulled the car over again, got out, and the camber on both of the rear wheels was on the toes (the top was bent in), and the rear end was so low I couldn't fit a finger in between the top of the fender and the wheel. I drove 1 mile home, jacked the passenger side rear wheel up, and when I took the wheel off to my surrprise the spring was all rusted and it had snapped. The jagged edge was literally centimeters from my tire, thank god it did not happen on the highway or it may have punctured the tire and caused a blowout. I could have been seriously injured. I put the wheel back on, took the drivers side rear wheel off, and again the spring was snapped in two. This side, at the snap the jagged edge next to the tire was rusted, so this spring must have been the first to snap. I was driving with a broken spring which nearly punctured my rear tire for over a week. Both rear springs broke, they were clearly defective and they must be recalled. What is it going to take, a rear spring on a Taurus to snap on the highway, cause a blowout, and kill somebody? actions needs to be taken in order to prevent this from happening.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #4

Feb 272006

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,450 miles
There was a squeaking, metallic up and down kind of a noise coming from the back of the car. Turned out the rear, passenger side spring popped up into the back of the car.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 302005

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Rear spring broke on Ford Taurus 02 at 44,000 in 7/04. Vehicle was in for recall for something else and was told it was broke. In 11/05 front spring broke and slashed front drivers side tire as I was backing out of driveway. I was fortunate because I would have been on the expressway going 65 mph, 5 minutes later. No recalls on this year, however, many other years have been recalled up to 01 for the same faulty coil springs. We can't get Ford or dealership to reimburse us for the damage and costs we have incurred. We have spent over $500 on just the springs and labor alone, not to mention the replacement costs of the snow tire that was on the vehicle that got slashed. It is a constant joke around our area with all the mechanics, one even has a coil spring hanging on his wall to demonstrate the malfunction of Ford parts. The service stations have had constant calls for towing of 02 Taurus. There has been a recall for previous years. Ford has not changed these faulty parts and should be required to pay the consumer back. There needs to be a recall for 02's and every other year they have used these faulty springs. A death should not occur to make them see the error of their ways. Please help pursue this matter for us.

- Mount Morris, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?