Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Most people need a car that shifts gears & coil springs that don't shred tires. The Taurus fails in that respect.

The 2003 Ford Taurus has major issues with the transmission failing. Typically the 2003 Taurus transmission failure costs $2,000 to fix by about 90k-100k miles. Not good.

Adding insult to injury, the 1999-2003 Taurus also has a huge problem with coil springs breaking which can puncture or even shred tires while driving.

The US government spent THREE YEARS (2008-2011) investigating the 2002-2003 Taurus coil springs. Although Taurus/Sable from earlier years were recalled, ultimately the NHTSA did not force a recall. They determined that because there had been no deaths & very few bad crashes & injuries, the broken coil springs defect was no big deal & not a safety defect. Tell that to all the owners who had close calls...

1.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Ford Taurus lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jan 102015

Taurus

  • 1,024,083 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car was driving down the street and stopped. When I pressed to accel the transmission did'nt pull over 15 feet and stopped pulling. It was the torque converter that had gon out. And then I get a letter in the mail about other recalls but not on the transmissions. I worked for Ford for 27 years as an engineer and built transmissions under recalls. I have no idea about these paople! but the 2004 has that recall.

- Fayetteville, TN, USA

problem #24

Aug 032016

Taurus

  • 168,357 miles
My car had caught on fire and the police officer and the firemen said it was a electric fire. My car was sitting in front of my apartment building at 8:30 P.M. and that between 3 and 4 a.M. a car that caught on fire and I was not even driving it was just sitting there park.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #23

Feb 292016

Taurus

  • 212,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact was being signaled by other drivers that the rear brake lights were illuminated all the time until the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and the mechanic notified the contact of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact also stated that there was a recall issued in 2004 for the same type of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 212,000. Updated 05/10/16

- Cohoes, NY, USA

problem #22

Dec 222015

Taurus

  • 2 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving 6am today both my headlights turned off while driving. They turned back on 5 second later but that is the second time it has happened within the last 30 days. Also dashboard lights turned off and on random times for the last year even this morning but different time then headlight issue.

- Cheswick, PA, USA

problem #21

Jan 102010

Taurus

  • 167 miles
I having so much trouble issues on this car I want refund money for this was $1,900 refund back to me...updated 11/13/15

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #20

Jan 102009

Taurus

  • 167,777 miles
I have an issues.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #19

Jul 022011

Taurus

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the date above and then again on Feb,2015 the transaxle quit working, it would not go anywhere. Had it rollbacked to my house both times at a cost of $50 per tow. The cost to repair and or replace the transaxle was :2011: $1,400; 2015: $1,700. The car at the 2nd. Rework/exchange (the trans shop replaced rather than rebuild mine) had only 125,000 miles. It is my understanding the transaxles in these generation Ford tauruses were prone to transaxle failure, as were the Ford Windstar as both vehicles used the same transaxle. Upon studying up on these problems it seems Ford Motor Co. Recalled the Windstar and called it a bad torque converter causing the problems. Why did they not recall the tauruses also, answer: Amount of vehicles produced of each model and their feet were not "held to the fire" by ya'll and our gov.. now to get to the lighting problem: The most safety hazardous item which has been installed on vehicles in the last 15-20 years is those damned "plastic lensed headlights" that within 3 years will "fog over" to the extent they do not produce enough light to be usefull at night. Oh they say you can clean them, of which I have tried on my Taurus, to not much avail. I believe the auto manufacturers should be ordered thru a recall from you to replace them at no cost to us owners. If you will check, you will see a replacement of those "wunderfull" invention, known as bullcrap, lens will set an owner of the vehicles around $500 to $700 per pair installed. And must be adjusted by a dealers only equipment. I my self do not believe in todays world 125,000 - 129,000 miles is a lot. If the truth were known the "yellowed out" headlights have been the cause of a lot of nite time accidents. Do your job and go after them and make them replace with new transaxles and torque converters and at the same time make them replace the yellowed out headlight lenses.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 042011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
On the above date the transaxle in this car quit working. The torque converter broke a gear. It is my understanding this is prevalent in the 2003 Ford Taurus and the 2003 Windstar vans. Ford recalled the Windstar but not the Taurus'. I had it, the transaxle, rebuilt and put only 3000 to 3200 miles from the date of this repair. About 5 weeks ago the same thing happened. It is my understanding this is a prevalent problem with these vehicles. Now in regards to the lighting, the manufacturers should take the responsibility of replacing those damned "yellowed" out headlight lens on just about 99% of the cars that have them. This should be a major recall due to the hazard they can cause while driving at night. We the american people cannot afford the cost to replace this dangerous unsafe features on almost all vehicles produced by all auto manufacturers since the 90's.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #17

Nov 222014

Taurus

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the brake lights failed to illuminate and the transmission would not shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop who replaced the brake light switch and the wire assembly. The vehicle was repaired. The contact was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 04V106000 (exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 128,000.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #16

Oct 102014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 68,892 miles
Vehicle exhibits failure state as detailed in Ford recall 04S12. Vehicle has failed in the same manner multiple times in the past, however cannot document what exact days the vehicle has failed in such a manner. The stop light switch/wiring has failed in the closed position once, in the open position twice, including today, and the vehicle's VIN was never entered as part of recall 04S12.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 192014

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 96,976 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I woke up on 7/19/14 to find my 2003 Ford tauruses battery dead. This seemed strange since the battery was new and the alternator was in great shape. Not sure why my battery was dead, I jumped the car and drove somewhere. When I parked my car, I noticed the brake lights continued to illuminate after shutting the engine off. I tried tapping on the brakes, but the brake lights continued to illuminate. I researched the issue and found a Ford recall (04S12) for 2003 Ford Taurus that said brake lights would stay on all the time. The recall covered the replacement of a brake light switch. The Ford dealership said that my VIN did not qualify under the recall. I had the dealership replace the switch anyways at my cost. The replacement brake light switch fixed the issue. The recall needs to be expanded to cover my VIN.

- Addison, TX, USA

problem #14

May 012013

Taurus

  • 120,000 miles
My battery discharge light came on then the ABS light, the brake light and others. I have taken it to a repair shop and neither he nor I can find the battery drain. The computer doesn't show anything. At times if its raining the wipers go as does the heat or air blower. I have also noticed the transmission not shifting correctly. My main concern is the engine stopping or the brakes not working and I have had my wipers not work in a rain storm. Any advice?

- Baltimore, OH, USA

problem #13

Oct 222013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
There is a recall on my car, but my VIN was never entered and notice was ever sent out to recall the vehicle.I had problems with insurance because of the VIN, maybe the VIN should be [xxx]. Ford randall reed and reynolds Ford in Oklahoma city refused to do the recall repair. The Ford customer service rep confirmed my car came from the plant that had the recall and that there was never a repair/notice because the VIN hadn't been entered. They gave another phone number, but that number only speaks to dealerships. My car will not shift out of park. My mechanic is [xxx]at midas on nw 23rd phone: [xxx]Ford has been giving him the run-around, but he is trying to resolve the issue of my VIN not being reported. The recall went out in April 2004 the campaign # 04V106000. This defect can cause a crash. Recall id # 41871 - exterior lighting:brake lights:switch hide details recall date: Mar 02, 2004 model affected: 2003 Ford Taurus summary: Certain passenger vehicles are being recalled to correct a problem with a malfunctioning stop lamp switch and/or associated wiring. This malfunctioning could render the stop lamps inoperable or cause them to stay on all the time. This could cause confusion to a following driver, which could lead to a crash. Consequences: In addition, if the switch and/or associated wiring fail in the open position, the brake lights will not actuate and the driver will not be able to shift the vehicle out of "park" if they fail in the closed position, the brake lights will remain on, which will not allow the speed control to be activated. This could also cause the battery to discharge. Remedy: Dealers will remove the stop lamp switch and associated wiring assembly and install a newly designed stop lamp switch and wire assembly. Owner notification is expected to begin on April 5, 2004. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6),

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #12

Oct 222013

Taurus

  • 100,000 miles
There is a recall on my car, but my VIN was never entered. Therefore a notice was never sent out to recall the vehicle. Ford randall reed and reynolds Ford in Oklahoma city refused to do the recall repair. The Ford customer service rep confirmed my car came from the plant that had the recall and that there was never a repair/notice because the VIN hadn't been entered. They gave another phone number, but that number only speaks to dealerships. My car will not shift out of park. My mechanic is [xxx]at midas on nw 23rd phone: [xxx] Ford has been giving him the run-around, but he is trying to resolve the issue of my VIN not being reported. The recall went out in April 2004T he campaign # 04V106000. This defect can cause a crash. Recall id # 41871 - exterior lighting:brake lights:switch hide details recall date: Mar 02, 2004 model affected: 2003 Ford Taurus summary: Certain passenger vehicles are being recalled to correct a problem with a malfunctioning stop lamp switch and/or associated wiring. This malfunctioning could render the stop lamps inoperable or cause them to stay on all the time. This could cause confusion to a following driver, which could lead to a crash. Consequences: In addition, if the switch and/or associated wiring fail in the open position, the brake lights will not actuate and the driver will not be able to shift the vehicle out of "park" if they fail in the closed position, the brake lights will remain on, which will not allow the speed control to be activated. This could also cause the battery to discharge. Remedy: Dealers will remove the stop lamp switch and associated wiring assembly and install a newly designed stop lamp switch and wire assembly. Owner notification is expected to begin on April 5, 2004.. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #11

Aug 272013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while parked, she attempted to shift the gear into reverse but she was unable to move the gear shifter out of park. The contact was able to place the vehicle in reverse after applying excessive force to the brake pedal. Additionally, the contact noticed the tail lights illuminated while the vehicle was shut off. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 04V106000 (exterior lighting) that could have been related to the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The interior gauge lights have gone out. Some remain on but it is very hard to see the speed, gasoline level, etc. Due to the blown lights. This presents a hazard when driving as you cannot see the instrument cluster.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #9

May 312011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 105,497 miles
Ford Taurus 2003 ses, engine 3.0L car was purchased on May 28, 2011. Left side electrical along with components of the turn signal snap back when attempting to use this safety feature made for vehicles. On 06/15/2011 the front right brakes of the vehicle went out and required the vehicle to be towed to a local repair shop. During the drive home which was from a distance of about 20 miles I experienced uncontrollable steering and almost lost control of the vehicle. The replaced brake caliper bolt came loose and was lost along the highway. On 07/19/2011 after the vehicle was towed back to the repair shop the A/C compressor had failed again along with the transmission as the transmission was slipping roughly during normal driving conditions. The vehicle was towed and was blowing hot, brakes grinding, transmission flare shifting 2-3 shift. Repair shop stated slipping at 30mph and stated rebuilt transmission. During a week period around 07/22/2011 the brakes were grinding again and the lower ball joints were installed. Transmission slipping around 30mph and ac was still blowing hot. Transmission was rebuilt during this time frame due to flare shift 2-3 shift. Vehicle was towed back to the shop each time. 08/17/2011 check engine light on, transmission does not shift, grinding noise when accelerate and brake, A/C blows hot. On 08/31/2011 the transmission would not shift, stated need to replace all electronics in transmission, one or more solenoids are defect. 09/12/2011 odometer 112377 out O. on 09/20/2012 mil 140,768. Balanced 55 series and above rear right wheels balanced parts for flat with plug. Vehicle was inspected for power steering fluid and it was normal. The vehicle jumps when put in reverse and into gear and seems to want to stay on cruise control. I will post further comments to my complaint as there is not enough space for facts.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 272012

Taurus

  • 83,118 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that after turning off the vehicle the brake and the exterior light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 83,118.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #7

Aug 102010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Power windows will not roll up or down, mirrors do not work, inside lights are out. Ford replaced GEM module a couple of years before for the same problem costing me money at that time. When the windows would not roll up or down, Ford would replace fuse and in a few minutes the fuse would blow, again and again they did this and now they are not interested in fixing the problems since the vehicle is older and not under warranty and they claim fixing it would cost more than the vehicle is worth. I have a very good vehicle and would like to use the windows and mirrors and especially the lights inside and I feel this is definitely a safety hazard to me since I travel alone a lot each year. I have contacted Ford and they repeatly state that they do not have any recalls and are not aware of such problems. I even sent them websites from people who are having these problems with the windows. All you have to do is goggle: Taurus window problems and there are numerous owners with this problem. Hope you can help with this matter as Ford is not listening to us.....

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #6

Sep 012011

Taurus

  • miles
2003 Ford Taurus. Consumer writes in regards to a road hazard concerning plastic lens the consumer stated the plastic headlight lenses turn yellow, not allowing light to be radiated through them.

- Bristol, VA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?