If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,498 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Taurus electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #17

Jan 302013

Taurus

  • 106,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On the morning of January 30, 2013; I was driving to work approximately at 8 am and noticed my car became difficult to stop. It appeared to be accelerating when I was not touching the gas and had to apply excessive force on the brake to allow the car to stop. Immediately upon releasing the brake pedal the car would quickly accelerate to 15-20 mph. This continued on and off for my entire 15 mile commute to the office. Stepping heavily on the gas pedal seemed to stop the problem (seemed as if the pedal was stuck down). Placing the car into neutral was the only sure way to stop the acceleration. On January 31, 2013; the same problem occurred again. However, this time it happened at higher speeds. I was driving at 65 mph without having to touch the gas as if the cruise control was set to 65. However, the cruise was off. Again...heavily pressing the gas pedal stopped the acceleration. Again, placing the car into neutral was the only sure way to stop the problem. Both mornings were foggy/rainy and very humid. The problem is intermittent, but I believe Ford needs to immediately correct this issue with recalls as a person who is less comfortable driving or just not very calm could definitely have an accident if they panic.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #16

May 312012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
This is the 3rd time this has happened to me- and each experience is as frightening as the last. I was driving approximately 15 miles an hour and the engine revved and the car sped up without my pressing the gas- I did not have my foot on the gas pedal. I reached the light, put the car in park, at which time the engine accelerated higher and higher. I turned the car off and when I turned it back on the engine continued to rev higher and higher. After turning it off again, I decided it would be ok to make it through the intersection, at which point the car sped up to 45 mph without my pressing the gas at all- in fact, I had to press the brake pedal several times to try and slow down and avoid hitting another vehicle in front of me. I finally had to pull over and turn the car off for several minutes before turning it back on- and then it was fine. It is terrifying to feel such loss of control and feel like I could not slow down. Please recall this issue- it is a danger to anyone on the road.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #15

Feb 072012

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 56,103 miles
While pulling into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and jumped over a raised curb, smashing into the wall of the U.S. post office in depere, wi. The airbags deployed and there was $2100 in damage to the vehicle. The damage has since been repaired. On March 13th 2012, I was notified by a friend that there was a probe into the Ford Taurus having this issue. I have notified Ford Motor Company and the vehicle is currently at broadway Ford in green bay, wi awaiting an answer as to what caused the sudden acceleration.

- Depere, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I first notice that the cruise control had stop working after that a little while later I would be driving along and the car would pick up speed on its own I would press the brake but that wouldn't slow it down so I hit the gas petal and finally the speed would drop. I feel so unsafe what if this is to happen on a rainy or icy day I could hurt myself or someone else what can I do that's not going to be costly?

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #13

Feb 182010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My car accelerated starting at 30 mph and kept climbing. I got it stopped with much effort in the middle of the road. When I restarted it, the engine raced uncontrollably. It was checked by my boyfriend (a auto service manager for 20 years) and found the cruise cable was loose but holding the accelerator. He disconnected the cable to the side and drove it ok. Then the cable slide back into place and it did it again. It you check the chat rooms you will find that many people have had the same problem!!!. the cost of repair has kept me from getting it repaired and the dealers refuse to even goodwill repair it, knowing that it was a common problem. I am afraid to drive the car, but it is the only vehicle I have.

- South Padre Island, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 122011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
On several occasions, vehicle was trying to surge forward while at a stop sign. Engine was revving very high; had to press down really hard on the brakes to prevent vehicle from surging forward. Took it to Ford dealer (bankston Ford, fort worth tx) who said that the 'diagnosis of cruise control not working and purchase of a new cruise control cable.'. I paid $190' to the repair, but it still seems to occur sporadically.

- Upper Arlington, OH, USA

problem #11

Feb 022012

Taurus

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car would speed up by itself from fault of throttle control assembly, alternator had to be replaced, windshield wiper hose assembly, the ac compressor had to be completely replaced, accumulator or receiver drier had to be replaced, as well as replacement of the compressor drive belt, evaporator orifice belt, serpentine belt tensioner, idler pulley, belt tensioner, on another recent occasion, the Ford was idling high and when driving, would speed up to around 4000 to 4500 rpms, on its own replacement of gasket all spark plugs, valve assembly, and another kit 11794 to counter the revving engine and throttle.. also the power steering was off in the car, and it could not maintain an alignment, as you drove the steering wheel would jerk and shake. Odd noises emanating from the left and right rear of the car resembling a wheel bearing also will probably result in further repairs. The work was done at mileage 85462. Today it is 102K and the Ford keeps up with its seeming reputation of being "found on road dead"... or "fix or repair daily". today completed by a Ford dealer and a military shop, the torque converter is broken. The car will start and rev, but when placed in drive or reverse it will not engage and remains in place.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
I attempted to start my car, the engine will not turn over, there is a clicking noise under the dash, and all the interior, exterior and dash lights flash.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 272011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 132,400 miles
Stopped at light, car started to rev RPM's. could not hold on brakes enough to stop moving. Went through red light around two cars as speed reached about 70mph. Both feet on brakes, could smell them burning, got to side of road and slammed into park and turned car off. Wow, the scariest thing I have ever experienced. If there was heavy traffic someone would have been killed, no doubt in my mind.happened on thruway two weeks earlier, only lasted a minute, thought the mat was stuck, it was not. Called Ford and they could not help as there is no recall. Took it to Ford dealer, they disconnect crusie cable. Don't know if this was really the problem, just got it back. I am very fearful to drive it, because you never know when it will do it again. Please someone make Ford wake up about this problem before someone is killed. I wouldn't feel right trading it in, for fear of someone else getting killed.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

May 092011

Taurus

  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2005 Ford Taurus. Whenever there is moderate to heavy rainfall, water leaks into the passenger side under the dash, soaking the floor and the blower motor will not work. While driving the windshield fogs over and I cannot get the blower to turn on, causing visibility issues while driving on the road. This is happening to a lot of people, this should be investigated and a recall issued.

- St. Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 152011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that after experiencing a problem with the windshield wipers, she realized that smoke was being emitted from under the wipers. In addition, all of the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel and the contact experienced a difficult time trying to stop the vehicle. After stopping the vehicle, the engine exploded and the vehicle engulfed into flames. The fire department appeared on the scene, but no injuries were reported. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 85,000. Updated 08/31/11 the consumer stated the windshield wipers began acting a erratic a week prior. Prior to the fire, the gas and brake pedal became hard and the engine light illuminated. Updated 09/12/11

- Lyndeborough, NH, USA

problem #6

May 132011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
While driving down an interstate at approximately 65 mph, the electrical system in my 2005 Ford Taurus shut off. All of the gauges went dead. The car did not stall, but I slowly started decelerating the car. Five seconds later, the system suddenly restarted like nothing had happened. I called the local Ford dealer where the car was purchased and they stated that if they can't reproduce the incident, there's nothing they can do about it. The car has approximately 102,000 miles on it.

- West Chazy, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 012011

Taurus

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Ford Taurus. Upon starting the vehicle the contact began to smell a burning odor and noticed smoke underneath the dashboard. The vehicle was shut off. The contact opened the hood and observed that everything under the hood was on fire. The police and fire department appeared on the scene to extinguish the fire. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent repair shop where they were in the process of diagnosing the failure. The failure and current mileage was 107,000.

- Hope, RI, USA

problem #4

Jan 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 76,758 miles
I was driving off a heavy traveled roadway, turning a exit ramp suddenly my 2005 Taurus wagon suddenly accelerated without me placing my foot on the gas pedal. I had to slow the car down, putting it in neutral, hopping the car would stop. I nearly ran into the car in front of me and the car stopped. In discussing this with several family members in the family, they too experienced the same thing with the car quickly accelerating on its own. Several weeks ago I attended a seminar in atlantic city, it began to snow and I traveled approximately 50 miles home in the ice and snow. I am surely glad that the car did not accelerate on its own at that time. A very serious safety feature. Someone could have been killed. Updated 11/01/11

- Glassboro, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 162008

Taurus

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the instrument panel indicators constantly flash. In addition, the speedometer and tachometer work intermittently, and the vehicle starts intermittently. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle and they stated that the computer needed to be replaced. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 45,000.

- Monticello, NY, USA

problem #2

Sep 292008

Taurus

  • 130,000 miles
An electrical fire started in the dashboard to the left of the steering wheel in my 2005 Ford Taurus car on Monday September 29, 2008 at 6:30am. Within 5 minutes of smelling the smoke my entire car burned to the ground. I complained to Ford about this happening and they were not willing to do anything. They do not stand behind their vehicles at all. The worst part is that I still have 12 months of payments on the car and they still want their money. Ford vehicles are so out of favor with the public that the insurance company is only offering me $8000 for the car and I paid $30,000 in 2005 for it. This leaves me with insufficient funds to buy another 2005 full size sedan. Ford has indicated that I did not miss any recalls. I am not sure if there are others out there with similar complaints...

- Georgetown, 00, USA

problem #1

May 152008

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Taurus. Whenever the contact attempts to use the cigarette lighter, she can hear the fuses popping under the dashboard of the vehicle. The contact did not notice any difference in the vehicle prior to the failure. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The current mileage was 61,405 and failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 09/10/08. Updated 09/11/08,

- Coal City, WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?