2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,477 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Taurus steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Taurus Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Nov 232011

Taurus

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the steering wheel seized, making the vehicle difficult to steer. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer, but the manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 114,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 022011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 30,782 miles
While driving home Sunday evening on 10/02/20011, steering assist failed and felt like it might lock up. Drove the rest of the way home with partial steering assist. Brought the car to the Ford dealer the next morning. They said the steering gear failed. Cost to repair $985 plus tax.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #7

Sep 012011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The power steering has apparently went out in the car. It is difficult to turn left, usually at low speeds, but recently it is also failing at higher speeds. Just bought the car last year, warranty just ran out at 34,000 miles. Dealer assumes no responsibility.

- Van Buren, AR, USA

problem #6

Jul 172011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that the steering failed while attempting a right turn. The contact had to use extreme force to complete the turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnosis that located the failure at the rack and pinion. The dealer replaced the gear steering kit. The manufacturer was contacted and a complaint was filed. The failure and current mileage was 36,500. Updated 09/02/11 also, the dealer replaced the power steering rack. Updated 09/14/11

- Florissant , MO, USA

problem #5

Jul 122011

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 15,298 miles
Failed steering. Repair required complete replacement of the power steering rack assembly.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #4

Jun 192011

Taurus

  • 46,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus. The contact stated that in the attempt to making a turn, the steering wheel would lock; making it difficult for the contact to straighten the vehicle or turn the steering wheel in the other direction. The dealer diagnosis indicated that the steering gear box needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified, but did not assist the contact with the failure. The failure mileage was 46,500. The current mileage was 47,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #3

Feb 242011

Taurus

  • 62,556 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While attempting to back into a parking space, I was unable to steer the vehicle. I had help driving it to my local service station, thinking perhaps the power steering had gone out. After inspecting the vehicle, I was advised to have it towed to my Ford dealer in tupelo, ms where the determined that the rack and pinion assembly had gone out. With less than 63 miles, a repair job of just under $ 1100. What if it had happened driving at 60 mph? updated 03/10/11

- Van Vleet, MS, USA

problem #2

Aug 152010

Taurus 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus. After starting the vehicle the contact noticed that the steering wheel would not turn to the left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the steering gear was replaced. There were no prior warnings of the failure. The current and failure mileages were 39,000. Updated 11/16/10 updated 11/23/10

- Waupun, WI, USA

problem #1

Jun 062010

Taurus 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus. While driving approximately 5 mph the steering wheel became very stiff then it would not turn at all. The vehicle was shut off and upon restart the steering wheel functioned normally; however, it became difficult to turn at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that it was a known failure but he would have to pay for the repair cost. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who replaced the power steering gear. The failure had not recurred. The failure mileage was 41,000 and the current mileage was 42,814. Updated 8/24/10 the repair shop replaced the rack and pinion. Updated 08/26/10

- Gladwin, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?