Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,243 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Taurus electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Taurus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Taurus Owner Comments

problem #7

Jun 022016


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Ford Taurus. While driving 30 mph, all the electrical systems failed. The contact had to coast the vehicle to the side of the road, wait ten minutes, and resume driving. In addition, while driving and depressing the brake pedal, the brakes failed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Mccomb, MS, USA

problem #6

Mar 082016

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Taurus. While driving 75 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was pulled over, placed in park, and restarted on the initial attempt. The failure recurred after approximately seven miles. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 21,000. On May 16, 2016 after driving a very short distance, the vehicle stalled again without any type of warning. It started immediately after the consumer put the vehicle in park. The consumer had no power brakes or power steering. However, the turn signals and horn worked. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. However, they were unable to find the problem. Updated 06/08/16. Status update 07/06/16. Updated 08/04/16.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #5

Nov 162015


  • 86,250 miles
My 2012 Ford Taurus sho was brought into jones West Ford in reno, Nevada. It was at jones West for a power steering recall. While on the interstate back home the adaptive cruise control, faulted and caused a warning to appear, as well as a collision avoidance fault. At the dealership in fallon, the service advisor informed me that the acc module was faulty and needed to be replaced. Fallon completed the work but on a quality assurance ride to ensure the module was working correctly, the technicians found that the vehicle was making steering inputs without the driver turning the steering wheel. The technicians returned to the dealer to diagnose what had caused the steering inputs. They traced the problem back to the ABS control module and pump, and ordered a brand new one. They ordered the ABS module around the 23rd of November 2015, but due to stocking problems the part did not arrive until around the 24th of December. I was not offered a rental vehicle by the dealership, an apology from Ford for the inconvenience. After the dealership finally received the part and installed it, the technicians ran into a problem with the PCM accepting the new module, a new problem arose; the instrument panel cluster would operate normally for a time and then the lights would dim, and then completely turn off. When the vehicle was hooked up to the obdii system, it even shut the diagnostic equipment down as well. The technicians at fallon auto mall realized they did not know how to fix the problem and called a field office technician in denver for advice. He advised the technicians and service manager to check a few different components on the vehicle but, as of today the vehicle is still not drivable and the technicians still do not understand what is happening with the vehicle and even mentioned that the acc module is still not working properly.

- Fallon, NV, USA

problem #4

Nov 112015


  • miles


The controls for my heating and cooling system failed. The center console with the radio and climate controls are inoperable however, the heat is stuck on 90 degrees full blower. I delivered vehicle to Ford autonation for service. Ford advises that the front control interface module (fcim) on my vehicle was bad and that the part was on national backorder. I requested the blower be disconnected in order to make the interior cabin of the vehicle tolerable. Ford advised that would do this, but there was no resultant change in the interior of the compartment. While driving my vehicle, in order to deal with the extreme amount of heat pouring into the vehicle, I have to drive with the sunroof open and the windows down to draft heat from the vehicle. Adverse driving condition include: Steering wheel heating up (it's not a heated steering wheel), the smell of melting plastic, extreme heat in the footbox or floorboard of the car making it difficult to keep my feet in their normal position close to the brake, extreme heat on my face causing my skin to breakout, overheating glovebox, extreme physical discomfort due to high heat in the interior of the vehicle, and driving with the sunroof and windows open in the rain while driving on the interstate. The failure of this part has created a safety issue and the lack of availability of the part causes me great concern. The junkyard dealer indicated that he has had "a run on this part" and that supports my impression that demand for this part is unreasonably high. I have not yet had the opportunity to fully research Ford's obligations to me and the other drivers on the road as it pertains to vehicle safety, but I will be looking into Ford's obligations to me as a consumer and under the federal law while I await your response. I have requested assistance in resolving this matter and they have not yet offered any solutions.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #3

Sep 202014


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Taurus sel. The contact stated that the radio became inoperable. Additionally, the heater setting could not be adjusted on the driver┐ side and there was no air blowing through the passenger's side vents. The air conditioner and window defrosters had also failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the circuit board and an unknown sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #2

Sep 042013

Taurus 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
The keyless start/stop button is obscured by the steering wheel and can be inadvertently touched while keeping attention to road and traffic.the button in our car is extremely sensitive and does not require a deliberate push to turn the engine off. While driving I was trying to adjust the air discharge vent control, that is located directly above the start/stop button.when I pressed down on the vent control my hand slipped and the heel of my hand must have contacted the start/stop button. I was unaware the engine was off until I realized the car was slowing and I had no power. No power steering and no turn signals to let traffic know I needed to move over.fortunately, I was able to coast to the shoulder of the road. Had I have been 50 ft. Further, there would have been no shoulder to move onto. I had no idea what had caused this event until a few days later.while traveling on I-90 in a 3 lane area at 65 mph, in the center lane, my husband inadvertently hit the start/stop button while trying to turn on the radio.there is only a 3 1/2 inch gap, center to center of these two buttons.he was not aware he had turned off the engine until he realized the car was slowing down.please realize ti takes more than a few seconds to gather your thoughts, to figure out how to recover from this. Again, you have no power steering, no power brakes, no turn signals. He turned on the emergency flashers and managed to get us into the right lane and then off the highway. All the time the car is slowing more and more, and you have semi trucks in your lane and the adjacent right lane.we took the vehicle to the Ford dealer where purchased, the service manager test drove it and could duplicate all our concerns and more. #338992. We asked Ford Motor Co. To repurchase, they refused, and have made no offer to do any repair. Why would a car be designed that you can so easily stop the engine?

- Allyn, WA, USA

problem #1

Mar 242012


  • 1,450 miles
03/24/2012. 1st failure mileage approx.1,450: Driving on I-95S at approx. 70 mph, raining condition, wipers in use, headlights on. Suddenly the instrument panel lights went dark, wipers stopped in the middle of windshield, engine cut off. Was able to steer car from middle lane to road side and braked. Put car in park, lights still out, engine would not start. In less a minute, on the middle instrument gauge a green lighted message displayed: "power accessories..." for a very short time. Then car restarted. Ford services could not find any problem or error code. 08/04/2012. 2nd failure mileage approx. 5,360: Nice hot day of summer. After stopping at a travel center parking lot, drove about 25 yards in the parking lot at approx. 10 mph, the instrument panel lights went out and the engine cut off. Car would not start in "neutral" but started in "park" position right away. Ford services could not find any problem or error code. In both incidents, the passenger was accessing the "multi-media console" for radio station or gps.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?