Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,696 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Taurus X drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Taurus X:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Taurus X Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jul 152016

Taurus X

  • 165,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

W driving at all different speeds the transmission will jump. The little wrench light will come on the code is P0715. Tss sensor. The rpms will go up once this happens and the light is on, at this point there is no power and I was almost hit by a truck while all my family was in car. If I stop and turn the car off the light will reset its self. This is a very dangerous thing. My whole family could have been killed. Ford knows this is a very common thing in this transmission. It should be recalled before someone gets killed

- Horse Cave, KY, USA

problem #24

Jul 052016

Taurus X

  • 110,000 miles
While at a stop sign or traffic light withmy foot on the brake the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. I have almost been thrown into traffic due to the independent accelerated. After this happening sevral times and phone calls to the dealer and then taking the car into the dealer.the Ford dealer stated they have seen this alot and the problem was in the throddel body. However, I had to still pay $700 to have their known problem fixed. Car mileage 113,000.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #23

Apr 072016

Taurus X

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus X. while driving at any speed, all of the warning lights illuminated and the acceleration failed. When the battery was disconnected and reconnected, the failure went away for approximately two months. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was an issue with the transmission sensors. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 153,000.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #22

Jul 162013

Taurus X

  • 60,808 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Problem 1, paint peeling off hood and rough metal under problem 2, transmission began failing while under warrenty, dealership could not get any codes to show problem this, has continued to present. Was notifed this week by dealer that transmission needs replaced, but because every time you turn off the car the codes reset. Ford Motor Company and the dealer do not want to assist in the repairs of over $4500. Bought extended warranty to 75,000 miles and problem first documented on there forms was at 60,000 miles. While driving the car would down shift and jerk. Happened several time and each time took to dealer they could not find a problem. On several occasions the car would not go in reverse but after turning car off and restarting it would.

- Bethalto, IL, USA

problem #21

Jan 292016

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Ongoing transmission upshift problems. Upon leaving the driveway first thing, or soon after coming to a stop and trying to accelerate again the transmission at times refuses to up shift then slams into gear at high RPM. Dealer/other mechanics have not been able to duplicate although there are 2 tsb on these 6F50 transmissions. Worse in colder months and somewhat random. Besides the cumulative damage this is doing we are worried that the transmission may fail entirely at the exact wrong time (waiting to turn left in an intersection, waiting to enter highway etc) resulting in serious injury. Researching online, this is a common problem for this transmission type ( see www.fordtaurus.net/forums/viewtopic.php?F=30&T=15703&start=80 ) and especially the 2008 Taurus X model year. The 2008 Ford Taurus X was a design refresh of the Ford freestyle, which was later dropped by Ford in 2009. Since there are fewer models on the road there are fewer datapoints--but it is a common problems amongst the owners (again please see the link). A common thread online is that any repairs at the dealer are not effective (PCM reflash tsb 08-26-13; tss, oss sensor replacement tsb 07-21-11 ) and the only fix is a $6000 transmission replacement upon total mechanical failure. Clearly, there is a engineering design flaw that is a safety issue in a critical component--the power train. Please investigate. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #20

Dec 082015

Taurus X

  • 64,000 miles
There is an intermittent problem with the transmission that has happened about 4-5 times in the past 14 months. When pulling onto a road from a stationary position (like from a driveway or gas station), the transmission had a horrible grinding sound, the vehicle would jerk around for a couple seconds and the gas pedal would not work. It felt as if there were rocks in the transmission. Then, after several seconds, it would be back to normal. I tried taking it to the pegues hurst dealership but since they could not duplicate the issue, even though the vehicle is still under warranty, they say they could not do anything about it. The Taurus X has about 64,000 miles on it currently. It most recently happened on about December 7th 2015. If this happens again while pulling into traffic, it could easily cause an accident since the vehicle loses power for several seconds.

- Diana, TX, USA

problem #19

May 052012

Taurus X

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the past 2-3 year, when attempting to turn the steering wheel left or right, vehicle looses power steering. Took the car into Ford dealership, while under warranty, and was repeatedly told by service tech, mechanic did not notice a problem. Vehicle shudders when backing up and struggles to shift gears when accelerating on highway. ABS brake system kicks in for no apparent reason when driving. Grinding noise coming from rear wheel on drivers side when driving the vehicle. Took car to mechanic and was told no power steering, need ball bearing replacement and need new/ rebuilt transmission. Completely disgusted as the car is only 7 years old. Why cant similarly situated owners of the Ford Taurus-X seem to get the NHTSA to take any real action on our behalf? I'm confused. Please help!!!

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #18

Nov 012013

Taurus X

  • 160,000 miles
We bought our Taurus X used in 2013. Drove around fine for a month or two, would notice that occasionally it would buck as it shifted from 2-3 or 3-4; then would drive 'funny' until the car was shut off and then started back up; the speedometer would fluctuate and when accelerating the speedometer would drop even as we were increasing speed. If using cruise control on the highway it would go exceedingly fast as a result. This happened off and on for most of a year, we would just shut the car off and turn it back on and would be good to go. Could not recreate it, but would happen at least once a week. Last fall, the transmission finally cooked as a result. Now the car will only drive in reverse and 1st, when it shifts into 2nd, it loses power like the gear won't fully engage. Almost got smacked at a red light when this first occurred, since I was halfway through the intersection and lost power. Mechanic drained and flushed the tranny, he said the fluid was cooked. He tried an additive, but it was ineffective. Needs a new tranny. Been sitting since then, a replacement tranny with labor is at least 5K, and the car is only worth about that in perfect condition.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #17

Sep 292014

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
This vehicle was shifting incorrectly on a busy hwy...from second to third. And slammed into gear eventually, extremely hard causing me to jerk the vehicle to the side. Took it to the dealer they supposedly fixed it. Doing the same thing took it back and they will not fix it because it will not throw a code. I got online and found several blogs about having the same issues and not throwing a code. It does all of this totally random. Several people have brought up the fact of being on a major hwy or interstate and this being extremely dangerous to them or their family. Someone will get hurt, this is an ongoing problem that dealers won't fix. Same transmission is used in several Chrysler and they are having the same troubles. This is very dangerous and the dealers, warranty company, and Ford keep playing the blame game and passing the buck. This can be as big as the toyato's that kept accelerating and killed a bunch of people.

- Enterprise, KS, USA

problem #16

Oct 122014

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2008 Ford Taurus X, it jerks intermittently, but there is never a specific speed - it jerks at take off, at low speeds, high speeds, there were 2 incidents and it was just for a moment that the vehicle seemed to have lost power no brake, no gas, no steering and I almost went out into traffic ( I was coming out of a parking lot). I called the dealer I bought it from because I thought it was the brakes and took it in they checked the brakes and found nothing wrong. The second "loss" of power was again in a parking lot at an incline I started rolling back and a couple of jerks the vehicle regained power, the check engine light would never come one, as the jerking kept happening and the 2 incidents of loss of power, I took it to a Ford dealer and they said they will charge me $100 but if the check engine light is has not on, they will not find anything because the computer records mishaps and will indicate a record by lighting up. Then my transmission clutch fell apart and had to have that replaced on 9/22/14. I thought that must have been the issue with the jerking but was going out of town yesterday 10/12/14 and accelerated to pass an 18 wheeler and my vehicle jerked really hard and continue a couple more times after that. I had to drive 65mph on a 75 mph, and not accelerate to much to fast.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #15

Aug 152014

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 94,095 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When U put the car in reverse or in drive it hesitates to move and it jerks.

- Philadelphia , PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 202013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
(my wife) driving vehicle on highway, car violently jerked (jumped) and then dropped in speed dramatically. Coasted off interstate onto exit and waited for wrench light to go off and then made it home (car would not accelerate over 20mph). We called about having it checked but was informed that they needed to have the wrench light on in order to read anything on it. It has happened a few other times and most recent as today (7/29/14) with the car not wanting to accelerate. Prior to this, my son felt the jerk and thought a tire blew. It will not accelerate so you want to hit gas pedal more and it will suddenly jump (accident waiting to happen). This is obviously an issue with all the complaints I have read. I hope this issue is taken care of quickly before a horrific accident happens. God bless.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #13

Jan 022013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 33,500 miles
Transmission failed (over-rev'ed and then would not function) and required immediate replacement. Due to being on the road, had to have replaced by a national transmission company. The replacement transmission is now exhibiting the same systems with the vehicle at 45,000 miles. Ford would not honor or reimburse for the $3,500 in repairs.

- Germantown, TN, USA

problem #12

Nov 142013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Less than 80K miles, the car's transmission acts like it lost first gear. The dealership now tells me that this less than 5 year old car needs a completely new transmission at a cost of $5,000. I understand through online forums that this problem is fairly common. Unbelievable that Ford isn't doing anything about this.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #11

Jul 172013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 101,560 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Taurus X. the contact stated while at a stop sign the vehicle would not accelerate. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing where the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 101,560.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #10

Dec 142011

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 48,147 miles
The transmission in my Ford started to "slip" at 48,000 miles. Nearly caused a serious accident as I needed to accelerate but the transmission just "stuck" - stepped on gas and nothing happened. Very dangerous situations with these transmission in the Ford. Three more times after that I had similar situation. Tried to pull out into traffic and there was no first or second gear. Third time the transmission just stopped operating in the middle of the road - no ability to move at all. Ford, even while the car was under warranty, would not fix the issue. Continued to say it was a "code issue." Until the warranty expired, then it became a transmission issue. Very unsafe. Very concerning.

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #9

Feb 112013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Backing out of driveway- I noticed that steering column was not locked prior to inserting key. Inserted key, turned to start and no response from ignition. Kept turning steering column and decided to engage transmission from park to drive several times. I returned to park-ing the car and removed the key. Initially, steering column was not locked, then I turned the steering wheel several times and then the column locked. Turned the key and the ignition hesitated- the dials were jumping. After several seconds the engine turned over and dials went to normal. I commenced to back out of driveway- the engine RPM jumped, far more then what I was applying acceleration for and the transmission was hesitant ( clunking was audible). The vehicle reversed too rapidly and I applied quite a bit of brake to stop- I shifted to drive and again I could hear the transmission. The car hesitated to go forward ( transmission was clunking), jerking forward and slowing down and the engine RPM was erratic. I pulled to the side and placed car in neutral; waited a minute which during this time, the vehicle RPM went to normal. Ok, I placed gear in drive and vehicle responded normally. Have had several instances of some of the above described events happening since original occurrence. At this moment, steering column is not locked with the key removed and when turning car to start the ignition is just turning over.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #8

Dec 032010

Taurus X

  • 18,811 miles
Harsh transmission engagement and loss of power with higher RPM and a max speed of about 20 mph- replaced speed sensors tss & oss. Same problem occurred again 11,518 miles later replacing the same parts which Ford or dealer would not cover at a cost of $593. Tsb 07-21-11 replacing with parts aa5Z-7H103 and aa5Z-7M101 on both occasions of failure. Had to limp home both times for many miles. Wife now refuses to drive car. I can't believe Ford doesn't stand behind a problem like this when it has a tsb and a multitude of the same reported problem.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #7

Dec 032010

Taurus X

  • 18,811 miles
Harsh transmission engagement and loss of power with higher RPM and a max speed of about 20 mph- replaced speed sensors tss & oss. Same problem occurred again 11,518 miles later replacing the same parts which Ford or dealer would not cover at a cost of $593. Tsb 07-21-11 replacing with parts aa5Z-7H103 and aa5Z-7M101 on both occasions of failure. Had to limp home both times for many miles. Wife now refuses to drive car. I can't believe Ford doesn't stand behind a problem like this when it has a tsb and a multitude of the same reported problem.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #6

Feb 012013

Taurus X 6-cyl

  • 38,475 miles
Car has a tendancy to drift right or left while traveling. More pronunced drift while stopping. Excessive tire wear. Dealer inspection indicates gears in gear box are loose and gear box needs replacing and vehicle needs alignment. Second set of front tires are worn down to wear bar after only 13,000 miles. Cost for gear box replacement and four wheel alignment is $900. Dealer stated no recalls or service bulletins for steering/gear problem.

- Saline3, MI, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?