Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
86,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Windstar brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #104

Jan 202010

Windstar

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2001 Ford Windstar in for the recall, and still my ABS light and brake light are on. I researched online that many people are still having the same problem.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #103

Feb 202010

Windstar

  • 158,300 miles
2001 Ford Windstar- ABS /traction control lights on in dash. Lights have been on and off for the past 2 years, we took the van in for the recall about a month ago and yesterday the ABS/traction control lights are on and stay on now so thy are disabled.

- Mcconnellsburg, PA, USA

problem #102

Aug 152009

Windstar

  • 48,000 miles
Ford Windstar brake and ABS brake lights on. Light stay on almost all time, it come off eventually and turn on without any warning or reason. Unit has been taken to dealer couple times, first visit they did not found anything wrong with it, las week I took again to dealer and they said that the ABS module is bad and need to be replaced.

- Monclova, Mexico, 00, USA

problem #101

Jul 142007

Windstar

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

ABS/ brake light comes on while driving. The manual said that if this happens you should go to a garage immediately. I went they said it was nothing to worry about and said I could ignore it. I took it to Ford and I was told it happens a lot because the ABS computer does that when it gets hot and if they put a new one on it may do the same thing. I have been driving that way ever since and not it is January and it is very cold the problem is still happening. The brakes still work but you just don't have ABS. I think if you paid for a car that has ABS as a safety feature it should be fixed the right way. I didn't replace the unit because they said it could still happen.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #100

Dec 272009

Windstar

  • 71,985 miles
My wife's 2001 Ford Windstar brake, ABS and trac off (traction control) lights would come on a few minutes after she would drive the car. This was more prevalent during warmer weather than in the late fall or winter. Basically something was malfunctioning which caused the ABS braking and traction control system from working. I had recently brought her Windstar to rye Ford for a brake switch recall (probably related to this) and had this problem looked at. Let me say that I purchased this vehicle for her and my family for the safety features that were now failing. The diagnosis was a bad ABS module and a hydraulic valve. The cost for the parts from Ford were $700 for the ca control, $1,000 for the valve asy modulator and $385 for the 166cmf (not sure what that is). Labor came to $385 for a total of $2,110 dollars! in doing research I found this problem to be pretty common for the Windstar. It has been documented by other Ford Windstar owners one of which has researched and figured out the cause of this malfunction. Please go to:www.fordwindstarrecall.info/ and go to problem #2.. basically the module malfunctions because a metal plate expands when it warms up (which explains why this problem occurs during the warmer months) and touches the circuitry. There are pictures and evidence of this malfunction on the site. I believe Ford is well aware of this issue and has ignored it because it is a big money maker for them. The part cost must be a huge profit for them which is why they ignore this issue. In addition many people I am sure purchased this vehicle as I did for the safety features of the ABS and traction control. When Ford puts out a vehicle with knowingly inferior parts that would compromise the operation and ultimately the safety to the driver and passengers then Ford should be made to correct this situation at their expense and not at the expense of their customers.

- Elmsford, NY, USA

problem #99

Jan 182010

Windstar

  • 150,000 miles
2001 Ford Windstar beginning in summer of 2009, ABS and brake light sometimes lit on dashboard. Dashboard controls either stopped working, going on and off and controls such as RPM, gas ind, speedometer either not working or going back and forth rapidly. The RPM indicator pin actually snapped off. Now it is stuck and doesn't move at all. Drivers side window stopped working, replaced motor. Had Ford dealer replace switch as indicated in recall 09S09 in November 2009. Thought problem was fixed.as of Jan 18, 2010, ABS and brake lights come on after engine has warmed up. Before I was notified of the recall I had full brake service on front and rear brakes in October 2009. Also, not sure if related or not, I turned the car off at a red light and attempted tp restart it to turn off lights and the alternator died, had to replace.

- Nazareth, PA, USA

problem #98

Dec 212009

Windstar

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the warning brake light and the check engine lights illuminated intermittently. The dealer replaced the coil which caused the failure. The dealer inform him after replacing the coil that there was also a problem with the ABS link and the heat. The failure mileage w's 73,000. Updated 02/1710 the ABS activated on its own. The dealer replaced the wheel speed sensor. Updated 02/19/10.

- Nags Head, NC, USA

problem #97

May 202007

Windstar

  • miles
I had notice the problem with my ABS on and brake light comes a few times. I was uncertain of why Ford recall 09S09. Then started to question why my ABS light on and suddenly getting the recall done my brake light on steady. This is how I came across this recall about the entire problem with Ford mini van. My last Windstar also had the problem with the ABS light on. I called East court Ford in Canada and they reporting the problem was their before doing the recall which has nothing to do with the recall. Thanks for all assistance general public knowledge. Andrew nelson

- Brampton On , 00, USA

problem #96

Nov 092009

Windstar

  • 95,048 miles
Regarding defect information report, Ford recall 09S09, 49 cfr part 573, October 9, 2009, from the auto safety office, Ford Motor Company, to the associate administrator for safety assurance NHTSA. "service procedure" states "on Windstar with a leaking switch the repair will also involve inspection and repair, if necessary, of the ABS module connector. Repairs will be completed at no charge to owners." My 2001 Windstar was diagnosed with a faulty ABS module connector on 11/09 and needs to be replaced. The service manager at my local Ford dealer refuses to investigate this problem and states he has no knowledge of this potential complication as a result of the leaking switch. ABS module connector has not been replaced.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #95

Jul 282009

Windstar

  • 105,879 miles
ABS and brake light come on intermittently while driving down the road, cruise control stopped working just before Ford recall. Nothing done about these problems.

- San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

problem #94

May 012007

Windstar

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased a 2001 Windstar. After owning the pre-owned minivan for a few short months we started noticing that the ABS, brake, and trac control lights would come one after we started driving. Additionally when the lights are on we do not have ABS braking or traction control available. I believe the ABS braking system does not work as designed. It seems to happen less frequently during the winter about 60% of the time driving the vehicle. During the other 8 or 9 months the lights are on about 99% of the time. I believe that the website www.fordwindstarrecall.info in problem 2 accurately describes the problem I am having. I believe Ford should recall this vehicle to fix this problem. Thank you.

- Annville, PA, USA

problem #93

Mar 012008

Windstar

  • 110,000 miles
Around March of 2008 the brake warning light and the ABS warning light started coming on intermittently then about 2 months later they came on permanently and have not gone out. The antilock brakes do not work any more. A Ford dealer diagnosed the problems as being a bad ABS control module and a leaking speed control deactivation switch. Symptoms are as follows. Loss of brake fluid leaking brake deactivation switch brake light on dashboard trouble indicator brake light (red) dashboard trouble indicator ABS brake light (yellow) speedometer shows 1/2 vehicle speed cruise control will not activate Ford trouble code C1185 and others an on line search using key words 2000 Ford Windstar speedometer problems or 2001 Ford Windstar ABS problems has found more descriptions of this failure then I could count. This web site "www.fordwindstarrecall.info/? list 12 symptoms of the problem, I have 8 of them. They also make a reference to the NHTSA concerning this problem. NHTSA id #636312, March 01 2002 related investigations tying the leaking speed control deactivation switch and the failed ABS control module www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/cars/problems/defect/results.cfm?action_number=EA08021&searchtype=quicksearch&summary=true NHTSA action number : EA08021 www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/cars/problems/defect/results.cfm"action_number=PE08035&searchtype=quicksearch&summary=true NHTSA action number : PE08035.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #92

Aug 152009

Windstar

  • 109,000 miles
ABS and emergency brake light comes on at the same time while driving in the summer time. It doesn't happen at all in the dead of winter.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #91

Oct 122009

Windstar

  • 100,000 miles
The brake pressure differential deactivation switch located under the master cylinder developed a leak. My Ford dealer told me this will cause a short and a fire!!!!!!!!. from what I hear this leak causes brake fluid to wick down two wires to the ABS brake module. The fluid accumulates on the power connectors for the ABS brake system which are powered by fuses 101 and 102 and are both 40 amp. The fluid attracts moisture, road salt and leads to a fire when the fluid and moisture act as conductor between the hot leads and ground. Ford wants me to pay them $2000 to fix this. I hear you are looking into this fire issue.

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #90

Aug 232009

Windstar

  • 85,599 miles
ABS light and brake light on.

- Alton, IL, USA

problem #89

Oct 042009

Windstar

  • 105,000 miles
ABS warning light goes on intermittently on 2001 Ford Windstar. Light goes off and stays off if motor is shut off and then re-started. Sometimes it stays off after restarting van and other times it comes back on. I understand there are several complaints by concerned owners and that in some cases a fire hazard has been exposed or feared. Please add my vehicle to those others who have submitted complaints. I understand a recall may be in the works. I intend to have the car inspected by a reliable mechanic soon.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #88

Sep 262009

Windstar

  • 56,230 miles
The ABS brake light turns on my 2001 Ford Windstar after driving for at least 10 minutes. It stays on until I turn my engine off. When I turn the engine back on again, the light is off. It may or may not turn on again after I've driven the car for at least 10 minutes. This has just started happening about 10 days ago. I drive my car everyday but the light only came on, 4 occasions. One time about 10 days ago, and the last 3 times within these past 2 days. I am going to take the car to the repair shop to see what the problem is. The brakes seem to work fine. I had them replaced 2 years ago at a local Ford dealership, which is no longer there since it has been closed down. I do not do alot of driving and have low mileage on my car. It is a 2001 but I bought it brand new in 2003. It was a leftover with no miles and came with a full 3 year warranty, which expired in August 2006. My car currently has 56,230 miles. I am concerned since I have 2 small children.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

problem #87

Sep 222009

Windstar

  • miles
ABS and E-brake light come on after a minute or so of driving. Took it to my local mechanic, they erased error codes and changed my brake fluids and bled my brake system. Lights still come on.

- Coal Twp, PA, USA

problem #86

Jul 012006

Windstar

  • 50,000 miles
In my Ford Windstar 2001 the yellow ABS brake light and red brake light turns on after few minutes worm weather or after approximately 10 minutes in cold weather. Looks like the fault is related to thermal expansion in the ABS control module. The problem started in 2006 and is getting worse.

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #85

Sep 212009

Windstar

  • 111,000 miles
I have a 2001 Ford Windstar, the brake and ABS lights on intermittently. This Saturday (09-19-2009) I made a short trip to the market, the vehicle ran good, when I arrived back home the family got into the van to go a soccer game and we noticed an odor of smoke. I unloaded the family from the van and noticed smoke coming from under the hood. I couldn't find the source of the smoke. I drove the van out of the garage and parked it in the street, in that short time I saw more smoke coming from under the hood. Still could not see where it was coming from. After a few minutes the smoke went away. Monday morning I towed the vehicle to my local mechanic, after an hour or so of isolating he discovered my ABS module had caught fire and melted the connector and wire harness. I contacted Ford Motor Company today (09-21-2009), and was told there are no recalls or safety defects concerning the ABS module or any fire hazards. I have not done anything to correct this failure because I do not have $2000 to fix my van.

- Paramount, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?