Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
136,410 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Windstar suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Windstar Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #49

Jun 042014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 106,770 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear axle complete fracture separation on drivers side last night 6/4/14 on my Ford Windstar limited edition, 2002. Ford dealer did inspection 3 1/2 years ago as per recall 10S13. It passed inspection according to them (no cracks). 6 months later, they completed the recall procedure by reinforcing the axle in two places (according to manufacture's recommendation as per dealer). Vehicle was towed back to dealer who inspected it and sent photos to Ford manufacturer. Ford refuses to cover the cost (as per the dealer) because recall work was done and vehicle is too old. I called Ford manufacturer to object and ask for reconsideration. Rep who answered cannot go against decision. I asked to speak to a supervisor. He said one will contact me within 2 hours. I received no call as yet.

- Mt. Vernon, NY, USA

problem #48

Mar 162014

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 208,473 miles
After driving approximately 60 miles on rt 95 through boston MA to visit family - I noticed that the car was driving erratic, I wrongly attributed it to it being a windy day - when we arrived home we checked the car for possible problem - that is when my wife noticed that the rear tires were leaning inward - I slid under the rear of the car and noted that the rear axle had cracked - using my wife's car I went to the Ford garage and explained the problem - the service manager asked me to bring it in and they would evaluate the problem. After looking at the car they told me it was unsafe to drive as a result of a cracked axle - by this time I had done a little research on the internet and found that Ford had recalled that particular car for a cracked axle - I told the service manager about the recall - he stated that there was no such recall - I then returned home and emailed the service manager a copy of the Ford corporation recall safety notice 10S13 - they contacted me the next day and told me that the warranty (Windstar safety recall 10S13) would cover the part but not the labor because Ford corporation had already fixed my car under that particular recall - and they were doing a good will gesture by paying for the part. The bill for the labor was $450. Plus a loner car was refused as the car was being repaired. The last paragraph of the (Windstar safety recall 10S13) states - Ford dealers at no charge to customers will reinforce the axles of the affected vehicles as parts are available. If it is determined the axle can't be reinforced, it will be replaced as soon as parts are available. Ford will provide for rental vehicles for customers until the rear axle of their vehicle has been replaced. I don't know where else to turn - I was hoping your organization could send a notice to hampton Ford Hyundai in North hampton nh and ask them to honor the recall...updated 06/04/2014 the consumer stated the brackets were not installed properly. The manufacturer offered to pay for the axle and suggested the dealer pay for the labor. The dealer chose to bill the consumer for the labor cost. Updated 06/09/2014

- Hampton, NH, USA

problem #47

Mar 142014

Windstar

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, she hard a loud popping noise. The contact had the vehicle towed to the dealer, who stated that the axle was cracked and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,000.

- Kingston, PA, USA

problem #46

Dec 202012

Windstar

  • 178,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the steering seized. The failure was recurring. The vehicle also shook violently and became unstable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the rear axle needed to be replaced however, the part was not available to make the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V195000 (suspension). The approximate failure mileage was 178,000.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #45

Feb 132014

Windstar

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the odor of burning rubber was present. The contact discovered that the rear axle had fractured through the reinforcement bracket and damaged the rear driver's side tire. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer but not repaired. The contact stated that in October 2010 a reinforcement bracket was installed on the rear axle of the vehicle in response to NHTSA campaign number 12V195000(suspension) but the defect still occurred. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Worthington, PA, USA

problem #44

Mar 052014

Windstar

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the while traveling various speeds, the rear axle failed. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number 10V385000 (suspension). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Burlington, MA, USA

problem #43

Dec 272013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 113,249 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear axle beam cracked completely and fell to the ground causing me to lose control. I then moved it out of the flow of traffic and noticed the left rear tire was rubbing up against the inner well. Unfortunately I was 60 miles from home and had to have it towed back to my house. In lost a days work due to the damage. I have owned the vehicle since 11/2011 and I purchased it with 79006 miles.

- Hawthorne, NJ, USA

problem #42

Oct 062013

Windstar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V195000 (suspension). The contact was driving approximately 65 mph when the rear driver's side tire blew shortly after the recall repair. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis, who stated that the axle was fractured. The mechanic replaced the axle shaft, break hose lock clips, the wheel, rear brake hose and the rear shocks. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #41

Nov 292013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
Driven heard a snap stop and look it was rear axel cracked.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #40

Nov 062013

Windstar

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving at 50 mph, the rear or the vehicle collapsed. The contact also mentioned that the ABS warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who informed the contact that the rear axle had fractured due to rust and the ABS master relay sensor had malfunctioned. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 140,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Camdenton , MO, USA

problem #39

Sep 152013

Windstar

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 20 mph, she was alerted that both rear wheels were slightly turned inward. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer, who informed the contact that the rear axle was fractured. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number:12V195000 (suspension) in 2012. The remedy repair failed to correct the problem. The vehicle was not repaired for the recent failure. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stoneham , MA, USA

problem #38

Sep 032013

Windstar

  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, she heard a loud noise as the vehicle began to bounce and roll. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the axle would need to be replaced. Two years prior, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 10V385000 (suspension). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been recently repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 161,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #37

Sep 032013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
My parents had recall 11S16 performed on their Windstar on March 20th 2012. A vibration had been felt since Jan of 2013. They had new tires installed and balanced. Problem persisted. I removed both front rims and inspected suspension. Passenger side lower control arm nut missing from bolt. Grade 10.9 metric bolt loose and partially backed out, unbelievably, washer still sitting on frame. Inspected drivers side of vehicle and problem becomes apparent. Multiple washers are stacked under head of bolt and under nut making full thread engagement impossible. Multiple phone calls to Ford and dealership. The dealership is adamant that instructions stipulate "multiple shims" must be used, "up to six depending". a "gauge" is used during the install process. I request a copy of installation instructions but dealership says they don't have any. I request the same from corporate Ford but they don't have any"?!!?? how does Ford perform the repairs from "instructions stipulating" and use "up to six shims" and then "gauge" if they do not possess instructions??!!?? possible fixes: Remove washer from under the head of the bolt but still use the one under the nut, use a lower height nut, use a longer bolt. All possible fixes make the repair much safer. Ford refuses all suggestions and puts my family back on the road and at risk. Multiple photos of properly repaired control arm kits are on the internet and all show proper thread engagement of the nut on the bolt. To keep my family safe should I do the repairs myself or do I put myself at legal risk"

- Gosport, IN, USA

problem #36

Aug 172013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 184,741 miles
We were slowing to pull up to our home. We were driving about 10 mph. About 70 feet from our home. It sounded like there was a flat tire with rubbing and bumping noises. We parked on the street in front of our home. Upon inspecting the vehicle, the tires were intact. The tires are bowing in. We looked under the rear of the car. We saw a large crack of the rear axle closer to the driver's side of the car. Ford recalled the rear axle for this very reason 3 years ago due to corrosion caused by years of exposure to salted roads. Ford performed the recall work by placing a bracket on the axle. The brake on our axle occurred under the bracket. Ford is not assuming responsibility even though the supports they placed on the axle failed to do their job. There are other complaints this year for this same problem. The big difference between all the broken axles this year were the speed of the vehicles and type roads they were traveling on. I believe that there more out there that have had this same problem that have not been reported to this website yet. I also believe that more axles that have already received the recall fix are going to find their axles breaking in the near future as well. As for now the recall of these axles, Ford has closed the case until forced to reopen the recall. Ford should replace the entire axle on all the Windstar that were under the original recall.

- Chesterfield, MO, USA

problem #35

Jul 272013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
Rear axle broke in half as I was turning a corner at very low speed, causing to loose control of vehicle and run off road.

- Mason City, IL, USA

problem #34

Jul 132013

Windstar

  • miles
2002 Ford Windstar axle repair failed. Golf mill Ford in niles, il repaired my Ford Windstar in late 2010 after inspecting it. Golf mill decided to patch and not replace the axle. On July 6 the tire kicked out and started to slide in patch bracket. I called Ford and they instructed me to take to original dealer who done repaired and to keep all receipts for work done for possible reimbursement. Dealer looked at axle and said they have had similar field problems and Ford has been replacing the axle and repaired had internal code stating they axle repair did not "expire". when the repair request was submitted to Ford for authorization, Ford declined. The service manager was shocked and I was told that Ford said the program was declined for the program met its obligation and I was told to keep the receipt for it would be necessary for future reimbursements. Golf mill Ford in niles, il made the repair and "good deal" labor rate to assist in the bill and for this I thank them. However, I am shocked the Ford is aware of field failures in a poorly designed field fix and has chosen not to properly remedy the first attempt at a fix. I have pictures if necessary!

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #33

Jun 132013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 167,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle squeaked while completing a turn. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 167,000.

- Kansas City , KS, USA

problem #32

May 032013

Windstar

  • 204,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the rear axle fractured. The contact was able to move the vehicle onto the road shoulder and drove the vehicle into a ditch for safety. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer, who replaced the rear axle. The contact also stated that the fractured axle caused damage to the air conditioning line, speedometer and cruise control system. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 204,000. Kmj

- Pawpaw , MI, USA

problem #31

May 132013

Windstar 6-cyl

  • 223,080 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated his vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign number: 12V195000 (suspension). After the recall repair was performed, the rear driver's side tire was banging against the frame. Additionally, the steering wheel was difficult to control. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic. The mechanic noticed a crack in the bracket that was installed under the recall and the axle had shifted out of the bracket. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 223,080.

- Binghampton, NY, USA

problem #30

May 052013

Windstar

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he heard a loud bang. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed that both rear tires were tilted inward. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the axle had failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 133,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- South Lion, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?