Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,792 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #85

Sep 212013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,556 miles


The transmission on my Acadia has died. My wife went to pickup our son from a friend's house. The car drove fine on the way over. When they got back in the car, to leave, the car would not go into gear. She could move the shift lever into reverse but the car wouldn't go. The engine would just rev. She turned the car off to go ask for help. When she started it again, it would go into gear but the check engine light was on and it didn't sound right. When trying to drive the car, it would slip in and out of gear and had a whining sound. When reading the codes, I found the following: P0700 powertrain - transmission control system, P0752 shift solenoid "a" stuck on, & P0797 pressure control solenoid "C" stuck on. I haven't had it checked by a mechanic yet so I don't know the real problem. The tow truck is taking it to the shop tomorrow. I'll have to update once I get the diagnosis. 67K miles seems a little premature to be losing the transmission. Updated 1/10/2014

- Orem, UT, USA

problem #84

Jul 182013


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stopped shifting gears and began to jerk and lunge. The vehicle was taken to and independent mechanic for diagnosis where the contact was informed that the transmission would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was available. The failure and current mileage was 90,000.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #83

Feb 132012


  • miles
Vehicle would make very loud sound and the entire vehicle would jerk when going beyond 20 mph, I was terrified of putting my children in this car fearing that I would be entering the interstate of cars traveling 70 + mph and my car not shifting into gear!! after taking it in for a 3rd time. They kept telling me that no codes were coming up and refused to listen to me. After reading all of the blogs about this horrible car I went into the dealership insisted that the manager ride with me in the car to feel and hear what was going on in which he did. I told him that the wave plate was the problem with thousands of these cars so I was pretty sure this was the problem. He said don't believe everything you see on those blogs. Well a few days later they called me and said the wave plate was bad and they replaced it!!! this car needs to be recalled for several reasons, power steering is bad and needed replaced, and is making the same sound again that it was making the first time it went out, the water pump went out and was replaced. I am almost to the end of my extended warranty and I hold my breath every time I drive my car praying that my transmission doesn't go out again, horrible to have this feeling on such an expensive vehicle, I am asking you to please recall these 2007 Acadia's before someone looses their family's lives! thanks so much.

- Destrehan, LA, USA

problem #82

Sep 062013


  • 156,000 miles


It all started when attempting to accelerate the car to 30 mph from a stopeed speed and RPM's flew up to 3,000 and would not go down to a normal range while continued acceration or coasting. Then check engine light pops on and pull over to turn car off to figure out what to do. Turn car back on and there are no problems but the light is still on. Problem would show up randomly when driving but then would stop if car was turned off and turned back on almost like a reset. Then started having problems when going down the road where RPM's would go from 1500 to 3000 and would jerk car down to 2500 when foot was taken off the pedal. Would randomly go back a forth from 1500- 3000 during consistent speeds. Even while having these problems it was never an "every time we drove" thing. Then after a few weeks of having this problem a message pops up saying "transmission hot idle engine" that is when it really worried me. We took it to the dealership to pay $199.95 for a diagnostic test stating that the clutch was bad and other internal failures exsisted and we needed a new transmission. To rebuild would be $4900 or a new one $6200. With all the other complaints on here regarding transmissions on the 07 and 08 Acadia's it seems something needs to be done on GM's part. This is not a cheap fix and is frustrating to see all the other people dealing with the same problems. Thankfully we weren't stranded anywhere with our 2 small children. Safety should be a top priority for GM.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #81

Sep 032013


  • 88,000 miles
I was traveling on the interstate when I had loss of forward momentum and a check engine light. The wave plate in the transmission broke leaving me at freeway speeds with no way to accelerate. This sounds like a fairly common problem with this vehicle.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #80

Jul 052013


  • 55,000 miles
The transmission started slipping when I merged onto the highway. The engine RPM would spike to 4,000 or 5,000 even though the car was not accelerating. I drove the car right to the dealership which was only a mile away. The dealership later called back and stated that I need a new transmission. This is for a car with only 55,000 miles on it! these cars seem to have a common premature failure with a wave plate that is internal to the transmission. I had no choice but to purchase a new transmission.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #79

Aug 182013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles


We were driving down the interstate and my car completely shut down...I had no driving power. I pulled over to the side of the interstate, put my car in park, started it again, went about 30ft and it shut down again. It was towed to a GMC dealer and received a phone call that I would need a new transmission. It is very frustrating because I have read that many GMC Acadia's transmissions have gone out and they are not doing anything about it. There should be a recall on these. The should stand behind their 100,000 mile power train warranty! I have read that the 2007 and 2008 models have the defects and they fixed the defects in 2009.

- Blair, NE, USA

problem #78

Aug 172013


  • 58,950 miles
We were heading home from ft. Davis and while trying to accelerate the engine would just rev and it didn't seem like the gears were shifting. We were going at least 60 mph and trying to accelerate to the speed limit. I had contacted onstar while we were driving and the diagnostics confirmed that is was the transmission/power train. We eventually ended up in pecos, tx at a GMC dealership, who told me, and onstar, that there was nothing they could do because they were already closing for the day. We got there before noon and they still didn't want to run tests or anything, but they did say I could leave my vehicle and they could work on it come Monday. We had put transmission fluid in to see if that would help, but once we started the car we noticed that the car would not reverse. Needless to say my transmission needs to be rebuilt...we were able to get my car back home and two repair shops both confirmed that. The second guy even said that he's had to rebuild/replace at least 4 transmissions and I had missed the recall by one year. Funny thing is I don't even remember being notified of any transmission recall, but I have received others. I haven┐┐T even found any online. Obviously this is an ongoing and dangerous problem that needs to be addressed asap!

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #77

Feb 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The first issue was the water pump, replaced it and 2 months later out went the power steering pump. At that time of replacing the power steering pump the dealership also replaced the rack and pinion and timing chain. Now, it's the transmission. Going rounds with GM to get them to take care of the issue in its entirety. This vehicle doesn't even have 63K miles on it! this vehicle is defective in every which way. I'm worried about what will go out next. I was looking for something reliable and safe and this Acadia has been everything but that. I have several friends that are also experiencing the same issues. Let the game begin. I have never had a vehicle that I feel is so unsafe and unreliable. I am a hard working woman who drove the same car for 13 years and had none of the issues that I am having with this Acadia that I paid twice as much for! so, to anyone wanting to purchase an Acadia, do reconsider, even as dependable as you feel your dealership may will be a lemon in the long run. Be prepared to get your gloves on in the ring with GMC as I'm currently I'm driving a dealership loaner, for 2 days now...good luck!

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #76

Jul 022013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the check engine lamp illuminated as the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 75,749. Pdated 09/23/13 the consumer stated the first incident occurred on 07/2/2013. After adding a half quart of transmission fluid the vehicle ran normal until 08/12/2013.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #75

Jul 312013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 88,685 miles


My wife was driving the vehicle on a local highway at approximately 60 mph when she felt a jerk in the vehicle. She was approaching a stoplight that had turned red and therefore was applying the brake. When she attempted to accelerate the vehicle would not move. The highway is very busy at the time of the incident and she was in danger of being struck by another vehicle. She was finally able to get the vehicle in gear and turn onto a side road and phone for assistance. The vehicle was able to be driven home after sitting for a short time, however I attempted to move the vehicle out of my garage and could not get in gear.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #74

Aug 062013


  • 82,000 miles
I was driving about 35mp and I tried to accelerate but couldn't, it was if my gears were stuck and I was driving an automatic! the car was revving like crazy and driving very funny and all I could do was slow down and there were cars behind me honking and tailing me! there was no side of the road to pull off to so I prayed and was able to make it to a gas station parking lot and called my husband. He came to my rescue and we called Chevy dealership for help. The reverse went out in the Acadia and my husband had to push it in reverse so we could limp it down to the dealership (driving under 30mp) they said the transmission went out. We did purchase an extended warranty but that has since expired so we have to pay out of pocket. We keep up on maintaining the vehicle so we were shocked that the transmission went out when I was driving, there was no warning at all! I was scared that my girls and I would be hurt! we were quoted between $3,500 or $4,800 for either rebuilding or replacing transmission. Many reviews say that even though others have paid to re-do their transmissions on GMC Acadia that it eventually happens again. We can't afford to get rid of Acadia (many payments still) but I feel unsafe keeping it. Others should be aware of the problem in case it happens to them. I've never been so scared or felt so unsafe before.

- Wauna, WA, USA

problem #73

Aug 032013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 86,284 miles
While on a vacation trip with the family, my 2007 GMC Acadia started to hesitate and buck when accelerating from a stop. When I arrived at my destination and pulled into the parking lot, when the transmission completely stopped working with no forward or reverse gears. I had to have the car towed to a GMC dealer and have a broken 3/5/reverse (35R) waveplate replaced in the transmission. This sudden unannounced loss of power to the wheels, could be a potential catastrophic event for the car passengers and other vehicles, trucks and buses, if this were to happen on a highway traveling at 65 mph, as there may be no way avoid getting in an chain reaction accident with the following traffic moving at highway speeds. This could be especially hazardous in high volume rush hour traffic, at night or under weather impaired conditions (I.e, fog, rain or snow). After a little research, I was made aware that this is not an isolated incident and GM is quite knowledgeable of this waveplate transmission problem, in all models with the same drivetrain platform, but have done little to step up and remedy the problem. If you are out of warranty (5 years or 100,000 miles) you are going to be out several thousands of dollars for the repairs, suffer a great deal of inconvenience and are putting yourself and others on the road at great risk. I hope this will help bring this issue to head, as GM needs to recall and repair this waveplate transmission problem, as it present a serious exposure and liability to injure and harm the traveling public.

- Mount Laurel, NJ, USA

problem #72

Aug 052013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
While my wife and I were on our way to court to finalize the adoption of a baby girl the transmission in my 2007 GMC Acadia went out with no warning. We were driving down a 2 lane road going over a bridge when it went out. We now have it in the shop waiting to see how much it is going to cost to repair. I was looking on here to see if there were any recalls on the transmission since it went out without warning to find that this seems to be a common problem with this year model of the Acadia. I cant figure out why GM will not compensate all or part of the cost since this is an obvious problem with the year model. If there is any compensation available or recourse we can take please let us know.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #71

Jul 252013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
While driving at approximately 25 mph vehicle was shifting very hard. The vehicle continued to have issue shifting. At another time was driving vehicle and stopped at a traffic light. Upon light turning green pushed on the accelerator and the vehicle would not go, transmission would not shift into gear. Vehicle has 83,000 miles and now the transmission needs to be replace. Seems to be a frequent issue with this vehicle model. GM should recall this transmission!!

- Owosso , MI, USA

problem #70

Aug 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 93,800 miles
We purchased this Acadia used in April 2010 with about 40,000 miles. In early July 2012 the transmission went out. This has been repaired under our extended warranty as of July 15, 2012. On August 1, 2013, our transmission went out again. During the first year of owning this vehicle, we have had the windshield wipers operating erratically and the radio will not always shut off when the engine has been stopped and driver's door opened & closed (possible electrical problems). We've asked our GMC dealership to address the electric, but each time they say nothing shows any errors on their computer tests. With the recent issue in a little over a year on the transmission (again!) we have found numerous sites from other 2007 Acadia owners stating the same problems and that it is repetitive. If this has been a widespread and known problem, this was not shared by our dealership. Given our vehicle has less than 100K miles and will likely have a 3rd transmission in its 6 year age, this is not a vehicle I feel safe having my wife and 3 young children continue to ride in. Unfortunately, our options are very limited financially to find a vehicle allowing for the amount of space needed for 2 car seats in addition to our 9 year old booster seat (normally cannot seat them in one row side by side by side). At this point, we are researching all options to get out of this Acadia as we cannot sink money into this vehicle to keep it running safely and not know if the transmission will continue to go out.

- Bryant, AR, USA

problem #69

Jun 302011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 57,327 miles
When I purchased the vehicle there was a noticeable whine in the steering. I asked the salesman and he said that noise was typical with Acadia's and there was no issue with the car. When I took it in for an oil change at a different dealer right before we left on vacation, I was told the power steering pump was going out and needed to be replaced immediately. Did that even though we were delayed going on vacation and subsequently had it replaced two more times as well. Also have had leaks in the sunroof that continue to return, and have now messed up my power window controls to the point that I can not control any of the other windows from the drivers seat. Have had to replace the water pump, front struts, and now the solenoids are being replaced as well. When I purchased my car it had right at 54K miles on it and I had an extended warranty, that covered my power steering pump issues, but I have had to deal with the rest. I will have now put almost $3K into repairs that seem to be very typical with this car, based on what I have read on the internet.

- Point Pleasant, WV, USA

problem #68

Jul 262013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
We were 50 miles from home on a vacation with our twin 2 year olds and 7 year old when the transmission went out. First it said "transmission hot, leave engine on idle". so we sat for 10 minutes. It went away, thought we were ok, kept driving for about another 15 minutes and complete failure. We were stranded for 3 hours in the middle of nowhere (detoured road took us back roads). Couldn't get a tow. Hungry, hot and thirsty little boys. Cops got called on us because we ended up being on someone's property we shouldn't be. Total mess. Embraced, hot, irritated and so angry. $15,000 owed on a vehicle that we have to replace a $3600 transmission! seriously"!"! what would have happened if I was by myself and my husband wasn't with me. Or it caused a wreck with me and my children in the car. GMC won't help because we are passed warranty. Apparently after doing research this is a common problem. If I fix it I'm stuck with a car I don't trust and owe tooooo much money on for what it's worth and oh great put in the same [xxx] transmission that failed the first time and could happen again. Will never own another GMC- ridiculous and needs to be looked into. This happens far too much for there not to be a lawsuit or recall on this item. Absolutely ridiculous! plus obviously no vacation, our money got to go into a car we shouldn't have to put this much money into. Disappointed on so many levels. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Paola, KS, USA

problem #67

Jul 292013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I parked my car last night with no signs of transmission problems. This morning I get into to go to work and I notice that the vehicle will not shift out of first gear. Problem is diagnosed and found to be "transmission shift solenoid a". deal stated that they are not aware of any such problems with this make and model. After researching online I discover many many of the same exact issues with same make and model. Dealer is requiring $3000 the repair.

- Eastvale, CA, USA

problem #66

Jul 042013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 51,250 miles
As I was taking a family trip, I was traveling through some steeper grades when the vehicle rpms were registering very high and would not shift to lower gears even when my travel speed slowed down. On my display a warning came on saying to idle the vehicle transmission hotŁ I then pulled over in a very busy road and let the vehicle idle for 10 min it then shut off but had very weird driving characteristic the rest of the way. This included when shifting from second gear to third it felt like the clutch would pop and jerk the vehicle when it did shift. Thankfully as we got closer to a town the vehicle engine light came on and we immediately contact onstar and they gave us the codes all relating to the vehicle wave plate failure. I then had to take it to a dealer out in the town we were visiting at the time which was a major headache. This was very disappointing considering the vehicle barley had over 50,000 miles and GMC is supposed to be a upgrade for GM. Shame on them for not recalling all 2007-2009 models to repair this issue. Needless to say GM did offer to help with repair cost only cause they know it's a know issue which I appreciate but the fact is with that low of miles on the vehicle that should have never happened in the first place.

- 111222, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?