Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 8 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #7

Jul 302012

Acadia

  • 67,502 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, the vehicle started skipping/catching while accelerating and the temperature gauge started to creep up. I entered a left turn lane in order to pull over. When traffic cleared I attempted to accelerate to make it into the parking lot. Warning bells started going off "shut off engine" "shut off A/C" "enging overheat" and the truck shut off. I had picked up enough momentum as I had begun my turn but it was still literally a coast into the parking lot, narrowly avoiding a T-bone situation with an oncoming mini van. It was so close the mini-van laid on the horn and slammed on her brakes. I coasted into the parking lot but was unable to make it into a spot. I took out my keys and opened my door to get out. The alarms continued even without keys in it. There was antifreeze pouring out from underneath the vehicle. I had to turn on and off the car no less than three times to stop the warning bells. I called a local shop and had it towed. They replaced the water pump and A/C belt. Got my vehicle back two days later. Drove to work in the morning with no issues, however coming home it started to catch/skip again. (I live only 5 miles away from work). I had my husband drive it back up to the shop to have it looked at. When he got into it he was unable to reverse it; reverse just simply stopped working. He had to turn around in our yard - on the way to the shop (6 miles away) the vehicle would not go over 30 mph and again shut off on him while trying to turn into the auto shop. The diagnosis now is that it needs a new transmission. Upon further online research I have found thousands of other owners of the same model/make and year with the exact same issues occurring roughly around the same mileage/time frame. There are three other Acadias alone at our local GM dealership waiting to be fixed with the exact same issues.

- Lexington Park, MD, USA

problem #6

Mar 012008

Acadia 4WD 8-cyl Diesel

  • 16,000 miles
03/01/2008 - 16,000 I wasn't able to steer, power steering is completely out on the middle of the road 12/01/2008 - 32,000 - misfire in the 2 engine cylinders and was making lot of noise, dealer took 5 weeks to fix the problem 06/01/2009 - 41,000 issue with the engine making noise at start, had to make multiple trips to the dealer 06/01/2011 - 66,000 water pump leaking 03/01/2012 - 72,000 brake control failure 06/29/2012 - 76,000 broken wave plates, evaporater solenoid, and transmission failure most of these issues are very common in this model, GMC need to recall and fix once for all rather than waiting on the issue to happen on each vehicle.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #5

Feb 012011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I have had several problems with this vehicle. The washer fluid light is always on, no matter how many times I have taken it for repair the power steering went out 8 months after the vehicle three months later at this present time. After having the vehicle for not even a year, the transmission has given out beyond repair. I have gotten several different people to look at it, its beyond repair (rebuild). I have done a lot of research and found that many people have had the same problems I really hope this helps, I don't think the customers should be responsible for the repair of this constant problem.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #4

Mar 302012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 125,141 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My family of 6 was leaving sw Florida this morning to drive back to Ohio. About an hour into our trip I began to pass a semi when the transmission on my '07 GMC Acadia locked up. The tach was pegged at 4500 but there was no response from the accelerator. Im very concerned about other drivers with this same issue due to the lack of any acceleration. I consider myself to be an experienced driver, but trying to steer a dying car through 4 lanes of 70mph traffic while simultaneously answering my wife and 4 kids questions about what was happening was quite scary. Please look into this soon. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Nashport, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 022011

Acadia

  • 45,000 miles
1- issue heating wiper fluid system-fix put in place 2-issue heating wiper fluid system-fix did not work had to be disabled 3- March 2011 fuel pump had to be replaced 4-Nov 2011- timing chains and catlyst coverter replaced 5-Dec 2011 new recall lighting system issue-had to contact GMC cause dealer ship could not do work case number GMC is [xxx] first owner of this car and bought it brand new in late Sept of 2007 and the above has been done to my car and feel I got a bad deal... dealer ship location burlington nc 27215, david wescott dealer ship. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burlington, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #2

Oct 282010

Acadia

  • 47,688 miles
I purchased a brand new 2007 GMC Acadia in Nov. Of 2007. Since new it has had a steering issue that can not be fixed. The rack and pinion has been replaced and the vehicle has burned up numerous powersteering pumps. The steering, while in a curve, will lock up and then release throwing the vehicle in the direction the wheel is turned. It has thrown the vehicle into the other lane of on coming traffic as well as throwing the vehicle of the road into a fence. Each time the dealership has picked the vehicle up replaced the steering pumps but the problem still remains. The vehicle currently has 47,000 miles on it. The transmission locked up and the shifting components were replaced, then the transmission locked up and was replaced. The steering issue is are main concern. It was taken in on 9/28/10 and received new transmission and powersteering pump. We received the vehicle on 10/25/2010. On, 10/28/10 the vehicle steering locked up again throwing my wife off the road into a fence. There is no way that GM has put three bad power steering pumps on the vehicle. The vehicle has a more serious problem that is binding the steering causing the pumps to burn up. The same problem has made the vehicle unsafe to drive due to the danger of it locking up and throwing the vehicle into on coming traffic. I have all service records reporting this issue. I will not allow my back in this vehicle and I am not comfortable trading it in for another family to be killed in it. I could not live with that. GM will doing nothing about as they have been contacted. Please help me get a replacement for this vehicle (same year model type and equally equipped) and get this vehicle off the road. I could trade it in as GM wants me too and they will give me $1600 off the trade. But could not sleep at night knowing I put someone else and their families in danger with this vehicle. My email is [xxx]phone # [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Trumann, AR, USA

problem #1

Nov 102007

Acadia

  • 0 miles
2007 GMC Acadia: When stepping on the gas to accelerate or pass the transmission does not immediately respond (several seconds delay) which causes you to continue pushing down the gas peddle until it engages which usually causes a 10,000 RPM surge. Makes it very scary when passing and the acceleration could cause issues when the road is wet or icy. GMC states that the issue is well documented and "normal" for the vehicle. After three attempts and discussion with the service manager who also drives this same model and states how scary it is when trying to pass in his Acadia I am looking for someone to force GMC to fix the transmission before someone gets killed. According to the dealership this is a very common complaint from customers and not getting attention from the manufacturer. Basically GMC states " here is the fix and now you live with it!" this is an actual quote. I have also spent time discussion with the so called GMC customer service rep. Who basically can't/won't get me in contact with anyone who can resolve.(tomeka monroe 1-866-790-5600-ex 31353) please help, brad barger

- Clackamas, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?