Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,374 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 GMC Acadia steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jan 252011

Acadia

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel would lock and the vehicle would make a grinding noise when making turns. She also stated that the gas gauge fluctuates and does not display the accurate amount of gas left in the vehicle. An inspection was done by the dealer and they advised her that she needed to replace the rubber on the steering column and the gas gauge. The steering repair was completed but not the gas gauge. The failure mileage was approximately 33,000.

- Brockton, MA, USA

problem #20

Sep 152008

Acadia

  • 33,000 miles
Power steering makes loud humming noise. Issue discussed with service tech during initial warranty period and told noise was due to pressure in ps system. Owner told this is normal, but over the years the noise has gotten worse and annoying.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #19

Oct 252010

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
I own a 2007 GMC arcadia and sometimes when I go through water (if it's been a heavy rain) my power steering does not work and it's very difficult to steer the car which could be a very dangerous situation. It happened when we were on vacation and we stopped at a auto repair shop and the owner came out and opened the hood and showed my husband that the power steering serpentine belt slipped. There is no covering over the belt and when it gets wet, it can slip. When we explained what happened, that we lost the power steering, he knew exactly what the problem was as he had other people that had the same problem. If we had been on a major highway, doing 65 miles an hour it could have been a tragedy. It also happened again during the christmas holiday.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #18

Dec 202008

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the power steering would fail intermittently without warning and only when driving during inclement weather. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the wheel well shield was not properly designed to fit and when driving over puddles or wet roadways, water was entering the power steering compartment and causing the failure. The manufacturer was called who stated there was a retrofit for the front wheel well that would cost the contact $400 for installation. The failure was not under warranty and the manufacturer offered no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage was 88,000. Updated 02/09/11 the consumer stated the power steering failed three times. Updated 06/24/11

- Freeport, NY, USA

problem #17

Dec 192010

Acadia

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The power steering failed when it rained or whenever water was in the wheel well and made contact with the pulley. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. They stated that they could add a fender cover that would prevent water from splashing onto the power steering. The fender cover was not covered under the warranty and would cost the contact $200. The manufacturer was called and stated that they would contact the dealer to confirm the failure. The manufacturer also stated that they would call the contact with further details. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 282010

Acadia

  • 47,688 miles
I purchased a brand new 2007 GMC Acadia in Nov. Of 2007. Since new it has had a steering issue that can not be fixed. The rack and pinion has been replaced and the vehicle has burned up numerous powersteering pumps. The steering, while in a curve, will lock up and then release throwing the vehicle in the direction the wheel is turned. It has thrown the vehicle into the other lane of on coming traffic as well as throwing the vehicle of the road into a fence. Each time the dealership has picked the vehicle up replaced the steering pumps but the problem still remains. The vehicle currently has 47,000 miles on it. The transmission locked up and the shifting components were replaced, then the transmission locked up and was replaced. The steering issue is are main concern. It was taken in on 9/28/10 and received new transmission and powersteering pump. We received the vehicle on 10/25/2010. On, 10/28/10 the vehicle steering locked up again throwing my wife off the road into a fence. There is no way that GM has put three bad power steering pumps on the vehicle. The vehicle has a more serious problem that is binding the steering causing the pumps to burn up. The same problem has made the vehicle unsafe to drive due to the danger of it locking up and throwing the vehicle into on coming traffic. I have all service records reporting this issue. I will not allow my back in this vehicle and I am not comfortable trading it in for another family to be killed in it. I could not live with that. GM will doing nothing about as they have been contacted. Please help me get a replacement for this vehicle (same year model type and equally equipped) and get this vehicle off the road. I could trade it in as GM wants me too and they will give me $1600 off the trade. But could not sleep at night knowing I put someone else and their families in danger with this vehicle. My email is [xxx]phone # [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Trumann, AR, USA

problem #15

Oct 062010

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact was driving 35 mph and making a turn when the power steering failed and caused the steering wheel to become extremely difficult to turn. The contact was then able to drive the vehicle to a local dealer where they replaced the steering pump. After the repair was performed, the vehicle continued to exhibit the exact the same failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a total of three times yet the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 67,000. Updated 02/09/11 updated 11/29/2011

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 272010

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 53,117 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. The contact was driving 10 mph and attempting a turn when the power steering assist failed without warning. The contact stated there was an abnormal noise coming from the fan belt. The manufacturer advised the contact that they were aware of the failure and that the vehicle would need to be inspected by an authorized dealer. The contact stated the failure would only occur during rainy weather and when driving through standing water. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 53,117. Updated 12/23/10 updated 01/01/11

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #13

Jul 102010

Acadia

  • 53,378 miles
My family and I were traveling on I-20 back from columbia in my 2007 GMC Acadia. I noticed a whining noise, tighten in the steering, told my husband that we need to stop for gas and check the fluids. Yielding at the next exit I could not turn the steering wheel. I finally with all my strength turn the vehicle into a hess gas station. We check fluids and called onstar for a diagnostics report. The customer service rep told us that they did not see anything in the major parts but did try to call a GM dealership (king Cadillac). King was not open and would schedule an appt on Monday. My husband drove the vehicle to the dealership, which we left for early drop off. Received a call from technical on Monday pm, which stated it was the power steering pump. Asked him about if there was any complaint or recalls on the pump because the power steering pump was replace back at 14,000 miles. This would be the 3rd pump that has been put on this car. I have been researching and noticed that there was a technical service bulletin on Sept. 10, 2008 for this problem and many complaints since 2008.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #12

Feb 012010

Acadia

  • 21,000 miles
When turning steering wheel it makes whining and groaning noises. Dealer attempted fix which resolved problem for about 1 month and then sounds came back. Dealer refuses to fix now, stating that GMC has told them not to fix it and is "working on a fix" (which was 3 months ago). Still no fix being offered.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #11

Sep 102008

Acadia

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on I84 at 65 mph when I started a right bend when the steering froze up. The other time was when I almost crashed in to a hospital because the steering froze up. (just turn your car to acc. And try turning the wheel and thats the same problem I have at 65 mph. No steering. This is a very dangerous car and somebody is going to die or serious injurys will result. There are many complaints of this problem with this car on the internet. Please if you just check the car or I have it stuck in my driveway with the problem.

- North Salem, NY, USA

problem #10

Aug 142008

Acadia

  • 28,000 miles
Power steering whines and groans at above normal pitch and is erratic, sometimes turns easily, sometimes freezes momentarily while driving, have checked all fluids etc. And everything is at mfg recommended levels. Most prominent at lower speeds.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 182010

Acadia

  • 17,000 miles
Lost power steering and alternator stopped charging during more then one rain storm. The serpentine belt gets wet and slipped because it's exposed to the element from the right front wheel well.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 142009

Acadia

  • 22,645 miles
We were driving between jackson hole and thayne, Wyoming and got into a heavy rainstorm and started to experience a slight steering problem. It was not until we stopped and parked for a few minutes and then started up that we really experience a serious problem. The steering wheel began to shutter, making it extremely difficult to steer the vehicle to the point that we forced to park the vehicle until the next morning. After sitting over night and allowed to dry out, the steering improved, but there still remained a slight shutter as we start to move and attempt to steer either right or left. It has left us a little concerned over this matter, causing me to take it to our local GMC dealership (harmon's motor, provo, Utah). They checked the water shields and found them in tact so they chose to replace the serpentine belt. Otherwise, . there remains a slight lag or pause in the steering on start up when turning the steering wheel, which translates into a slight shutter. Once under way, the steering returns to normal.

- Provo, UT, USA

problem #7

Oct 152008

Acadia

  • 18,000 miles
Recurring problem with steering column replaced twice and steering pump replaced once. Still the problem is not resolved.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #6

Aug 132008

Acadia

  • 21,018 miles
I purchased a new 2007 GMC Acadia in March 2007. In August 2008 (21,000 miles) I brought the car in because the power steering would sometimes fail, especially in the rain. Dealer performed new liners per maintenance bulletin 07-02-32-010. Returned car for service of the same problem October 2008 (28,000 miles) - dealer stated that they could not duplicate the problem. Returned the car again in May 2009 (35,000 miles) for intermittent loss of power steering. Dealer replaced the steering rack. Brought the car back the next day because the problem still occurred. Dealer replaced the power steering pump (was putting out half the required pressure).

- Belle Terre, NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 202008

Acadia

  • miles
Bought a brand new 2007 Acadia in July 2007. After several times of having it in the shop for a leaky sunroof, I thought all was well. About a month ago I noticed a very loud whining, especially on turns. Turns out that the power steering pump is going out and dealership said I would have to have it fixed pronto! said it could be very dangerous to drive. So after paying over $36,000 for this automobile, I now have to pay $800 to replace a power steering pump on a new car that I have had for a year and a half. What?! the dealership said they could probably fix it soon. I hope since this is my only source of transportation for me and my family.

- Vancleave, MS, USA

problem #4

Sep 152007

Acadia

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 GMC Acadia. Whenever the contact attempts to turn the vehicle in either direction, the steering becomes very difficult. The contact noticed a clicking sound coming from the steering column. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was serviced for the power steering rack and pinion. The contact did not notice any differences prior to the failures. The failure still persists. The current mileage was 25,000 and failure mileage was 8,500.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 022008

Acadia

  • 13,500 miles
Loss of power steering while driving when it rains.

- Fairhaven, MA, USA

problem #2

Aug 142008

Acadia

  • 38,887 miles
1st there was a loud squeal, car had been sitting out while it was raining. Then another time my power steering went out when I (had no choice) drove through a puddle. Called a dealer because it's still new & they wanted to replace my power steering pump. Over $500 cost there. I took it to an independent repair shop and they said it absolutely shouldn't be the pump because of the age & mileage, probably just a belt. Checked it over and said the rain/water probably caused the belt to slip, which in turn caused me to lose power steering. He said some cars have shields to cover the belts for that reason and showed me where all this occurred. Made sense to me and saved me a lot of money. I live in nc and my kids and I were visiting family in oh, I feel dealer tried to take advantage of that fact...long drive home...don't want to lose it. Drove fine and still is now. Of course, we don't have much rain here to really check it out.

- Mocksville, NC, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?