Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,684 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 7 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #111

Nov 092013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,500 miles


Vehicle RPM's would start going up and down. Then there would be hesitation when you accelerated. I pulled out from doctor's office and it would not move in reverse or forward. Car had to be towed to a local mechanic.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #110

Nov 052013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 76,607 miles
While merging onto the highway the vehicle was revving up, but not speeding up. I would take my foot off the accelerator for a second and then try to accelerate again. The gear would sometimes "catch" and sometimes not "catch". the mechanic discovered that the one cooling line was corroded and another was "sweating". the transmission, torque converter, and cooling lines all had to be replaced. I think its a premature time for my vehicle to need a new transmission with only 76K miles as the vehicle is well maintained.

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #109

Nov 142013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 55,600 miles
I was driving home when my transmission suddenly started to lurch and hunt for gears, then hesitate. My car then wouldn't move forward nor would it go into reverse. Two codes showed up when I had the vehicle scanned, P2715 and P0700. After doing research I concluded the wave plate in my transmission had failed. My vehicle is no longer drivable. Thankfully I wasn't on the freeway when this incident happened because once the transmission quit the vehicle came to a stop rather quickly. In reading reports online it appears transmission failure of this particular model is highly probable and that GM knows it's an issue but has refused to recall the vehicle.

- Oakdale, CA, USA

problem #108

Nov 142013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 59,000...updated 12-30-13 updated 1/22/2014

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #107

Nov 132013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 99,728 miles
I purchased a used 2008 GMC Acadia in December 2012. At time of purchase, the vehicle car fax report was clean and indicated one previous owner. The vehicle mileage at the time of purchase was approximately 81,000 miles. My personal mechanic inspected the vehicle prior to purchase and also gave the vehicle a clean report. For the first 11 months of ownership, this vehicle ran like a champ. Today, at 99,728 miles (mostly highway mileage on my behalf) I find that I am having to replace the entire transmission (rebuild) at an out-of-pocket expense of $4,300. I called the GMC dealer where I purchased this vehicle and they advised that there were no recalls/warranties available on the transmission. They also advised that in the event the entire transmission needed replaced, that the cost would be in the vicinity of $4,500 and they were able to provide this estimate with certainty because "they had just completed a rebuild on another '08 Acadia last week". I find it highly disturbing that at only 99,728 miles, and 5 years of age, a transmission completely gives out. I am also disturbed that with the number of complaints out there on various internet chat forums regarding this vehicle and specific model, that GMC, to date, has yet to issue any recalls or extended warranties. I felt it necessary to report this matter as soon as possible. I will be getting in touch with a class action lawsuit attorney to look into this matter further because I genuinely am concerned that GMC should be held accountable if the number of people out there with the same issue have found there checkbooks much lighter as a result of this.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #106

Nov 082013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
I just had my transmission fail on me yesterday. Luckily it still had 1st & 2nd gear, unfortunately I'm 5yr-8months into it at 58xxx miles. Sounds like I'll be paying for this one. If there is any info out there on recalls. From what I've been reading online, it seems there is a real problem with this transmission (6T70) in the early years. I imagine as more and more '07 - '09 Acadias (traverse, enclaves & vues) get into the 50K+ mile range the transmission problems are really going to start spiking up. It would be a real shame if GM chooses to ignore the obvious and push this problem back on to their customers.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #105

Nov 112013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 67,358 miles


I was driving on a major highway. The car would not change gears to accelerate. When I got home the car would barely move when I tried to back into my driveway. The engine revved as if the car was in neutral. This transmission failure could have caused a serious or fatal accident, as the speed limit was 55 and I had no warning that the car would not accelerate when expected.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #104

Jul 212013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
3/5/R wave plate transmission failure - I was traveling out of state and my 2008 GMC Acadia stopped in it's tracks without any warning. Vehicle was running, but it would not move. I was stranded on the side of the road, at night with 3 young children, over 5 hours away from home. Vehicle was towed to the dealership the next morning and 3/5/R wave plate failure was determined, new transmission required. Less than a week prior to the cross country trip, vehicle was at dealership having oil change and other preventative maintenance completed, no issues noted at that time. Major safety issue that needs to be investigated.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #103

Nov 022013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 91,687 miles
I was turning left at stop light. The transmission failed to shift and stalled causing me to be struck. This could have been a fatality if traffic were heavier. I have since researched and found that GM has had thousands of complaints regarding the transmission problems. This could have been prevented had GM recalled a defective valve located in the side box (according to mechanic at GM dealer this is why I stalled out). I am seeking an attorney for a class action lawsuit.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #102

Nov 032013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,250 miles
Transmission went out while driving on the interstate. We were able to pull-over and get out of the way of the high speed traffic. No accident occurred, but it could have been a serious situation that caused several accidents.

- Sheridan, WY, USA

problem #101

Oct 262013


  • 99,000 miles


I was driving by myself with my 3 children when my transmission went out. I have kept up with all maintenance and even had a transmission flush done 4 months ago, just to have the transmission go anyway. GMC customer service will not help (the car is only 5 years old) but said it was in service in 2007, so no warranty coverage. There are several hundred complaints on the same issue with no one willing to do the decent or right thing. There should be a recall. We have had several issues with this vehicle. We have four children so we need this car. We cannot afford to pay thousands of dollars to have something fixed that is an obvious ongoing issue with these vehicles. Please consider investigating this. This truly is an issue that GMC should be accountable for.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #100

Oct 222013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 78,551 miles
I noticed that the gears felt like they were slipping. Rpms would go up by 1000-1500, then the vehicle would engage in gear. I noticed this very sporadically a few days before I took the car in, but it steadily got worse. I called the dealer and parked the car until my service appointment even though there were no warning lights on the car. After making the service appointment, I researched Acadia transmission issues on the web, and found lots of complaints about the 35R wave plate. Turned out this was the source of my issue as well. Transmission had to be completely dis-assembled to clean out the debris. Totally unacceptable for a 5.5 year old car with less than 80K miles to need its transmission rebuilt. Given the number of complaints about the 35R wave plate, please open an investigation for a recall.

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #99

Sep 202013

Acadia 6-cyl Diesel

  • 57,000 miles
Transmission stopped working and wont let the vehicle move. This vehicle only has about 57,000 miles! by reading on the internet it seems I'm not the only one with this issue. GM has not issued a recall on this yet.

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #98

Oct 222013


  • 66,751 miles
Had a complaint with the transmission not downshifting adequately on 10-25-2010 and courtesy GMC reprogrammed it... under warranty. For about a week prior to 10-22-13 the car was not driving right with the shifting acting up so I brought it in and as I was in the process of getting my car to a service car center it would quit running, but I got it in the shop in time before it stopped for a third time. It acted up on highway 90 while doing 57mph and again at doing 45mph and when I slowed down to turn into the service center. The service center (dave's), after checking it out, brought it in to A-abal transmission for me since I was afraid to drive it in case it didn't make it. My transmission had to be completely rebuilt ($4205) at my expense (had multiple broken parts) since my warranty was up in March. Calls were made to GMC with no aid in helping me with this problem. Upon research I found out that the Acadia's transmissions have been known to breakdown between 50,000-70,000 miles in cars purchased in the following years... '07, '08 and '09 (a problem they knew about). The complaint list is long. I don't understand why GMC has not stood behind their product since it has placed consumers in dangerous situations (read multiple complaints).

- St. Martinville, LA, USA

problem #97

Oct 262013


  • 78,500 miles
Wave plate transmission failure 2 months after purchase and 5 months after warranty. So disgusted!!!

- Pipestone, MN, USA

problem #96

Sep 232003

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
GMC Acadia, catastrophic engine failure, and steering system. 23 Sept 2013, while driving my GMC Acadia, and the vehicle shut off after a loud nose came from the engine, Tuesday 24, 2013, SUV towed to private repair shop. After attempting to start the vehicle and checking the SUV out, I was told that they would not go further because they believe the vehicle needs a new engine, I call GMC and talked with [xxx] a problem specialist, arrangements for vehicle to be check out at ?hennessey GMC. Poc, [xxx], I have met with before in regards to a recall, and told him on multiple occasions that I heard some sounds coming from the engine, I was told they did not hear anything. 25 Sept 2013 SUV left at shop, [xxx]would call me that day. I didn't hear from him, 1 Oct 2013 I stop by hennessey, on the SUV's problem, spoke to [xxx], I stated that I been waiting for his call, they were still checking it out, but GMC only paying for one hour, to open up the engine, it may cost $500 to $ 600 dollars. I can not afford to purchase another vehicle. Army motor sergeant/ master mechanic, responsible for (aoap), army oil analysts program, this uses labs that analyze the oil pull from "engines, transmissions, of vehicles such as GMC, Ford, Chrysler, and other manufactures. 3,000 miles or bi-annually vehicles I.e. hummve. The military learn decades ago that vehicle manufactures will delivery vehicles with defected parts, such as engines, transmissions, that can be out of tolerance. The army started pulling oil samples, and sending them to the labs for test, for water, metal, and any other foreign matter, this help to identify issues in the engine before the "warranties expired. So the suggested failure that manufactures placed on vehicles that covered their bottom line. $2,000 credit to purchase a new vehicle from them is a insult, I have this in writing. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #95

Oct 042013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 95,500 miles
We bought vehicle from hendrick Toyota on 6/15/2013. My wife began driving to work when it completely stopped in the middle of the road. She was frantic because of the busy street and thankfully, our kids were not in the vehicle. Car was towed to hendrick where it was determined that transmission failed. It was told to me that the wave plate in these vehicles was known to fail and after research and a technicians affirmation, apparently GMC never tempered this particular part and have known about the issue for quite some time. Again, after researching, I've seen countless complaints/issues of people with the same thing happening and that GM and their service and customer satisfaction departments quite simply explain it away as "well, there's nothing we can do" despite, what appears to be, clear evidence that this major power train problem has been completely ignored. Now, I'm looking at a bill of $3000+ (dealer cost) to repair and from what I've seen, others are having the vehicles fixed at least the $4000. I will do whatever I can to recoup any repair costs that this major issue has caused. It is beyond frustrating that I only had the vehicle for about 100 days and not even 3000 miles on it (after the 90 day/3000 mile warranty had expired) to only fork out thousands of dollars for an issue that a major automobile company should have recalled. I can tell you that through this experience, I will never purchase another GM vehicle again because of their incredible lack of consideration to make this right with all that have had this issue. I hope to hear from someone very soon in regards to this matter. It's unfortunate that many people have suffered a great financial loss because of a clear decision by GM to avoid correcting this powertrain problem. I appreciate your time and efforts.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #94

Oct 202013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I was driving during daylight hours on the highway and I pressed on the gas to accelerate because there was a slight incline on the route I was traveling. When I pressed on the gas pedal, there was no acceleration and I got nervous that it might be the alternator. However, I was still able to drive the vehicle although it did not want to pick up speed. I exited the highway and noticed that the vehicle was having difficulty shifting gears and was making what sounded like a whirring noise from under the hood. I drove the vehicle straight to my mechanic's shop. He was surprised to find out that it was the transmission as the vehicle is routinely serviced. It appears that the wave plate failed and there was debris inside the transmission.

- Lynchburg, VA, USA

problem #93

Feb 112012

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Hundreds of complaints about the transmission problems I am complexed that there is no recall at this time. February 2012 my GMC lost power as I was driving. The car was towed to GMC and I was told something was wrong with the transmission (on top of all the other major problems I have had) this luckily was covered under the warranty. Fast forward one year later February 2013 transmission fluid leaking went to the dealer where they put in a dye to trace the leaks as they said they did not believe it was the transmission, they wanted to charge for this but agreed to do this for free. I was also told the transmission that they fixed was only covered for 12 months or 12,000 miles. At this point it was a lost cause dealing with the dealer as they were not covering any of their work and said these issues did not fall under warranty even though it was still under the 5 year/100,000 mile warranty period. After driving it for a while we noticed more fluid leaking from the car so my husband brought the car to GMC in early October 2013 to discuss the issue of the transmission, he was told the 5 years period ended 9/27/13. On October 15 I was driving on the high way and the check engine light came on and the car would not go faster than 40 mph. I drove the car to my mechanic as GMC was clear this car was no longer warrantied. I am now told that my car is in need of a new transmission costing over $4,000. Calls into the dealer went unanswered for over a week and complaints to GMC corporate were useless. This is not normal wear and tear of a car and if you look at all the complaints made on the transmission of this car there needs to be a recall as this is a huge safety issue with transmissions failing more than once. If you look at the Buick enclave and Saturn outlook yas these "triplets" all have the same issues it is enough to justify a recall or class action law suit.

- Monroe, CT, USA

problem #92

Oct 172013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
My Acadia (which I just bought in March) began shifting harshly between the 3rd and 5th gears and my check engine light came on. The next day I took it to an auto repair shop where I had the codes read and was told I had a problem with the 35R waveplate and the transmission control module. I was told I would have to pay $600 just to have my transmission taken apart to diagnose the extent of the damage. I was told that a drum came apart causing "extensive damage" and that I would either need a complete transmission rebuild for $3600 or a brand new transmission for $4000. This car has less than 100,000 miles on it (although I know that is high for the year, a brand new transmission for a fairly new car is extreme). I was told by the mechanic that this is extremely common for the 08 Acadias and it was not uncommon for this particular car to go through several transmissions before reaching the 100,000 mile mark. This is a joke. GMC needs to recall the car and pay the costs of the many owners who are having to pay thousands of dollars to repair a part that should not have been put in the car in the first place!

- Lexington, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?