Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,098 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Sep 022011

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles


In 2011, our Acadia electrical system started to malfunction. First the driver's side headlight wiring burnt. We had that replaced. After the headlight, we started noticing the engine light was coming on and the air bag sensor was notifying us that the air bags will not deploy. None of the sounds where coming on in the car. For example, if you were not wearing your seatbelt the "dinging" did not happen. I took the Acadia in for service and they told me it was my cell phone that triggered the defect. I thank god I was not in an accident however if GMC knew of the defects why not be up front with us. My family and I travel plenty. Safety is the number one concern, we bought the Acadia faithfully and hopes GMC provides the best service possible.

- Roswell, NM, USA

problem #37

Dec 112013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
Airbag seat connectors and airbag replaced after service airbag light came on. This should have been included in the 2008 GMC Acadia recall #102606/GM #14030 and for some reason this particular vehicle was not. This recall needs to be expanded to all 2008 GMC Acadias!!

- West Lafayette, IN, USA

problem #36

Oct 242013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Intermittent "service airbag" light. Started coming on in late October of 2013. I purchased the vehicle used on October 17, 2013. For the last several months, the indicator light has been on every time I start the vehicle.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #35

Jan 152014


  • 97,000 miles


The service passenger airbag light comes on and off during driving.

- Lincoln , NE, USA

problem #34

May 302014


  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. The contact stated that the vehicle was recently repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V118000 (air bags). The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 84,000. Updated 08/19/14

- Greenbay, WI, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Dec 302008


  • 10,000 miles
In light of the all the safety recalls by GM for ignition switch failures, I believe that my wife's crash in our 2008 GMC Acadia was the direct cause of the ignition switch failing. Driving North bound on AZ route 89 in the area of prescott, AZ called the granite dells, the car proceeded straight where the road turns slightly to the right. The cat proceeded into and partially up a granite stone out cropping on the opposite side of the road. The car then went air borne landing up side down on its roof in the middle of route 89. I believe that this accident happened due to ignition switch failure which in turn shut off the engine, power steering, and the entire air bag system which in this accident fail to deploy. My wife was air lifted to northern Arizona medical center in flagstaff, AZ for sever head injure from which she has recovered. It is my belief that the ignition failures that have shown up on other GM cars is also a problem for the 2008 GMC Acadia and possibly other like models of GM vehicles. In my opinion it has to be ignition switch failure that shut down the engine, power steering and air bag system causing this accident.

- Chino Valley, AZ, USA

problem #32

May 052014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 82,560 miles


For several months, the front passenger air bag warning light would illuminate, and the message center would display 'check air bag'. two weeks ago, it became not intermittent, but constant. I took the car to my GMC dealer and was told $735 repair - air bag passenger pressure module needs replacing. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of the same problem reported on various internet site, blogs etc. GM has a supplier problem with this part, and it needs to be investigated. I purchased this vehicle new and have countless problems with this vehicle.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #31

Jun 092014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 81,199 miles
Started car air bag light on now it won't go off. GMC said my 2008 is not on the recall list. Rt rear spring also broke tire pressure light also stays on.

- Kinsman, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 222011


  • 56,000 miles
1. accelerator pedal stuck to floor at 60mph and continued to pick up speed until driver threw car to neutral as brakes would not engage 2. air bag system has not been functional 3. TPMS is inoperable light always on 4. seats are composed of polyurethane molded foam causing an array of health issues for myself and 2 children as car gets extremely hot 5. brakes engage during high speeds randomly causing car to slide 6. heavy metals/air plane parts found in many places of car 7. fumes inside constantly improperly routed fuel/emission system? 8. transmitters, ignition will not turn over unless fm transmitter in key is attached, should not be a hybrid or grid operated vehicle. Spray foam and welded metal composed much of vehicle. Medical white packing in much of gaps with a contaminated smell 9. lots of money trying to repair damage, owner filed bankruptcy lots of medical bills. Dealers and manufacturer do nothing, I have wrote letters and many phone calls. 10. microwave effect on anyone in car along with magnetic pulls. I myself have had this car since Feb 2011. I have lost some nerve function on left side of my body leaving me with multiple scars for life down left side of body and center forehead resembling radiation burns but I never underwent radiation. I lost my hair in 2012 along with joint damages. Please do something, I am not an experiment and never agreed to be one!

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #29

Mar 042014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 80,963 miles
Received 'service air bag' warning from the dashboard driver information center. Passenger air bag indicator on center console indicates 'off' when 160 lb person is seated in the passenger seat.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #28

Oct 012013


  • 82,000 miles


While sitting in the passenger seat, the passenger airbag light will come on, noting that the airbag is no longer activated. A message will also come up on the driver's messaging screen stating to service airbag. When the vehicle was brought in, I was told that I needed a new software module for my vehicle. I was told that there is a chance that if we were in an accident the passenger airbags would not deploy. I find it hard to believe that a 5-6 year old vehicle should already need its airbag module replaced.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #27

Nov 022013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Approximately the first of November 2013, I had picked up my mom to go shopping with me and I very seldom have a passenger with me and happen to look up and notice the light on the airbag light that says on or off was off !!! she weighs about 135# and so I noticed we went into the store and came out and it then registered on!!! so I watched this for the next few weeks and it continued!! sometimes on and sometimes off! so when I went in for an oil change at bergstroms I had them check it out and they said it could be corrosion on the plugs under the seat but that wasn't the problem! so they said with a big man in it registered like an infant sitting there! said it would cost $800 to replace it!!! this car is in like new condition and I do not have a daily passenger! I'm thinking that may have been defective since day one!!! thank god I didn't get in a collision and lose a loved one ! this would be a huge lawsuit!!!! I am gonna see if GMC will pay for this fix! any other questions call me at[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #26

Nov 012013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving the car, I felt water drip from overhead and heard sloshing noises. Shortly thereafter, water began leaking from airbag indicia. Though the vehicle was turned off and key removed, the engine continued to run. Imagine how unsafe to turn off a vehicle, remove the key and the engine to remain running. Before I could get to service, the temperature plummeted to below zero, and I could not get the defroster to work. I scraped the interior of the windows, but without heat, fogged again. Zero visibility. The dealer said there were multiple points where water was seeping into the car, wreaking havoc with the electrical system, including HVAC, defroster. Service tech said there was "blower mower" failure. After some research, I discovered my vehicle had same problems as GMC Acadia campaign 08207, with failure of sunroof part 25930220, which affected limited VIN numbers. We also discovered the airbags are not working from the water damage to the electrical system. The current status of this getting repaired is unknown -- obvious safety concerns! in addition, I had noticed floor mats being damp, but assumed a consequence of the snow and rain. I am convinced that the leak/damp floor mats is reason for the mildew/mold smell. Each of these problems are well documented in their tsbs. I was also shocked to find so many similar complaints! please, please review the correlation between tsbs electrical system failures and repairs to the leaking hose. Of course, GMC denies this is their problem, and says repairs will all be at my expense. Finally, I am not the first person to have this problem! surely, the fact that I (and many, many others) are having the exact leak problems as referenced in GMC campaign 08207 indicates that problem went beyond those VIN#S. they are hiding a big problem. Help!!

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #25

Sep 042013


  • 70,756 miles
Airbag passenger presence sensor failed despite limited seat use. Repair cost almost $800.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #24

Dec 062008


  • 6,000 miles
I have had problems with this car for the last 5 years. First the airbag light came on when we were going on vacation I took it to the dealer and was told it was fixed but it kept coming on and off took it again and same thing happened it kept doing that so I took it to the dealer and they said they had to reroute the airbag harness to fix the problem. Again it only lasted for a few weeks and it came back on. By that time the car was over 60,000 miles and it was past the extended warranty so I'm stuck with that problem. The transmission had to be repaired a few months ago and it needs to be repaired again but don't have money to fix it and GMC won't recall the 2007 and 2008 Acadias knowing that the Acadias of those 2 years were made with a faulty transmission and a lot of people are having problems with them. They fixed the problem for the 2009 and later models but won't do anything about the 2007 and 2008 models and a lot of people don't have money to pay for a very expensive repair that is GM's fault. My Acadia is sitting on my driveway because I don't have money to fix itand I'm stuck using a 16 year old car that is more reliable that our new car. I have had the following problems since a few months after I purchased what I thought it was a good and reliable family vehicle. Air bags light on and never got fixed suspension repaired about 3 years ago lighting problems a couple of times and now there is a recall for that transmission problems for the last 6 months the car has only 70,000 miles and it should not be having all this issues please look in to this I know there is a lot of people having the same problem and GM won't do anything to fix the problem. They knew they had a problem with the transmission's the 2007 and 2008 models that's why they fixed the problem for the 2009 and later models. Please do something about it. Thanks.

- Northlake, IL, USA

problem #23

Aug 172013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Started the vehicle and immediately there was an air bag message warning message on the dash. There have already been many complaints regarding air bags on the NHTSA website with the same or similar issues. Hopefully you can issue a recall to force GM to make it right since they will not take responsibility. There is also is an active recall on 2007 models so I believe it is a known issue and there should be a recall on 2008 models as well. This being a safety issue that many Acadia owners are experiencing it definitely should be a recall. Water also leaks from the roof. It comes in contact with electrical systems including wiring components for the air bag. I wonder if that has something to do with the airbag warning message. A lot of people also mentioned how the power steering makes a loud whining noise. I have that problem as well. You can even feel it in the steering wheel because the noise is so loud it creates a vibration. I believe like there is a lack of responsibility on GM's part for not correcting known issues.

- Maysville, WV, USA

problem #22

Jul 292013


  • miles
Problem #1 of 3: during heavy rains, water would leak in through the sun visors on both sides. Took it to the dealership several times. They said the drain tubes from the sunroof were clogged, they blew it out, when that didn't work, they charged me to put it longer tubes, when that didn't work, they said it was because they only replaced the front tubes, not the back. Problem #2 of 3: when driving through water puddles at low speed I lose power steering for a brief time (which is troublesome when turning). Problem #3 of 3: two warning lights for airbags come on everytime I start the vehicle. I can push a button each time to make the written warning go away, but the red light with a picture stays on. Not sure if the airbags would deploy or not.

- Savoy, IL, USA

problem #21

May 262013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Had to wait to give my daughter a ride. Sat in the pouring rain for about 40 minutes. Put the car in drive and began to pull forward and water poured down the windshield from the inside. Water also came in from the front left curtain airbag and the visor arm. Engine began to idle rough. Anti-lock brakes grab on low speed slow down. Our area of Texas is drought prone so no more significant rain until July 14-16. Water pours in the front windshield, both driver and passenger side. Water from curtain airbags and under the dash. Standing water in the floor board. Obd light is on and my parking break warning light turns on and off. Park assist goes on and off. The warning chime comes on while driving and won't turn off. No telling how much damage all of this will cause. I have one more payment until the thing is mine free and clear. No warranty and no recourse. It figures.

- Harker Heights, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 282013

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 86,355 miles
I had my vehicle checked for the airbag light that was consistently on in the 2008 GMC Acadia. It was found to defective and out of warranty. My concern is that the vehicle hasn't even been used for more than five years and the part is no longer effective. Shouldn't the part last longer than five years?

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #19

Jun 012013


  • 67,000 miles
1. transmission going out at 67K miles and appears to be very prevalent with this make and model of vehicle. Very dangerous as the car will not go into gear at any given time and basically leaves you stuck in neutral in the middle of a busy highway. 2. service air bag light stays on after dealership claims to have fixed the problem. If in a crash, have no idea if we will be protected. Not a comfortable feeling.

- Hoover, AL, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?