Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,878 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 GMC Envoy electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 GMC Envoy:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 GMC Envoy Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #61

Apr 022012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


Engine stalls when you slow down and the air conditioner or widow defogger is on. I have also had power surging. I had to replace the map sensor twice and the bracket and it is still showing bad. I also replace the cam shaft position sensor and the thermostat. Also the wiper on the rear will not spray any water or washer.

- Wellsville, OH, USA

problem #60

Jun 012012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Fuel gauge varies wildly from empty to full. Bad place to run out of gas on I, 95 in the fast lane.

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #59

May 312012

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 164,403 miles
I have owned a GMC all my adult life. This Envoy has been nothing but the gauges seem to be all screwed up and after reading post from online..I will need to put more time and more money into this SUV. Nothing like driving late at night worried about what's happening now. I go from sitting at a red light and my car losing pressure and turning off, to now every time I get into it and leave my house I hear the door bell and all my panels symbols flash and shows no gas to no battery life.. I am not pleased and will never purchase a GM sad.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #58

Mar 202012


  • 132,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the fuel gauge would display an empty reading after refueling. In addition, all of the other gauges on the instrument panel failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and the dealer stated that the instrument panel needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 132,000.

- Denver, NC, USA

problem #57

Dec 192011


  • 68,000 miles
The speedometer and gas gauge in my 2004 Envoy do not work. Just like everyone else here the speedometer in mine sometimes reads over 100 mph when I might be doing 35mph. Most of the time it just stays at 0 so I don't know how fast I'm going. The gas gauge just doesn't work at all. I can't afford the repair and from all the other complaints I've seen GM should fix it for free anyway. How many people have to complain before the ntsb will get behind the car owners? one person here said that GM actually won a lawsuit and was compensated for the faulty parts but did not do the recall on the Envoy!

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #56

Oct 052010

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
First my speedometer stopped registering a speed followed by the gas gauge going out. My radio goes in and out (more out than in), my sunroof started opening and closing on its own when turning the car on and off, and the roof leaks around where the visor is when it rains hard. I have seen many other consumers with these same problems and would really like to have these problems addressed by someone at GMC.

- Richlands , NC, USA

problem #55

Apr 112007

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


Starting shortly after Envoy was bought I noticed that the fuel gauge would show quarter tank one, then after shutting off and starting again it was out of fuel and the light was on. In July 2011 the oil pressure gauge went high and it is now pegged and doesn't reset. I asked dealer about it and there was an outrageous price just to diagnose. Jan 2012 and now speedometer gauge does not reset, it is stuck at 30 mph and goes up to 85-90 when driving. After researching today I see a service bulletin about the instrument cluster, I never received the instrument cluster letter from GM, because Envoy wasn't included, but it is the same issues as other vehicle on the service bulletin. Please hold GM responsible for these defects.

- Greenfield , WI, USA

problem #54

May 202011


  • 65,300 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. The contact stated that the gauges on the instrument panel to include the fuel and the speedometer were not responding. The dealer diagnosed the failure and determined that the instrument cluster would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 65,300 and the current mileage was 65,600. Updated 07/12/11 updated 3/22/12

- Toomsuba, MS, USA

problem #53

Apr 032011

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Speedometer begin sticking above zero when car was turned off. Gradually, the speedo stuck higher and higher, until it remained pegged and ceased to function. Soon after, all instruments in the panel successive failed - including fuel gauge, tachometer, oil pressure, and battery level... it appears to be at this point a complete failure of the instrument cluster. Most worrisome, the speedometer and the fuel gauge read incorrectly at all times, if they read at all.

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #52

Jan 012011


  • 58,000 miles
This is a safety issue in terms of being able to read the instrumentation behind the steering wheel. It is also a fire hazard.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #51

Oct 052009

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles


The problem from what I can tell from researching is the instrument cluster and I have found many forums on the net that people are stating the same issues I am having. The speedometer gets stuck anywhere from 0-120 mph and though I have noticed that no fires or deaths have occurred is this what the NHTSA waiting for" someone to die from this happening" also, the tachometer, oil pressure gauge, and voltage indicator have recently been having issues as well. The issue with this is obviously not knowing how fast you are traveling (ie M.P.H.). I am being told this will be a $450 fix when in fact with as many people as I am reading are having these same issues it seems that GMC should be made to correct the problem themselves. Is it because the government has so much invested in GMC that the problem is not being resolved" how many people need to file a complaint before the NHTSA will react? do I need to start posting to all the forums I encounter and get people to sign up? if I am the 55th person with just the '04 GMC Envoy complaining about this issue then all the other years and models of GM and Chevy from '02 through at least '06 must filing complaints, too. In total there must be enough to at least look into the matter so why are you stalling? a person not knowing how fast they are driving must be a safety issue especially through school zones and residential areas would you not agree" for us the issue started about a year-and-A-half ago and seems to be getting worse by the week. We may go a day without any incident then it starts happening all over again; it use to be that is would start only on the freeway but now it happens even around town. I will wait for a response from the NHTSA before getting this repaired, but I thought I would have received something about this by now being that I have been seeing info on the net about it for some time now, but I figure I need to get involved before anything is going to change. Please respond immediately.

- Albany, OR, USA

problem #50

May 152008

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The cluster gauge quit working. First the gas gauge stopped reading the amount of gas in the tank. Second, the speedometer and tachometer quit reading. About a month later the oil pressure gauge stopped working. Currently out of the entire cluster gauge system the battery meter is the only gauge that works.

- Lima, OH, USA

problem #49

Apr 212011

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
The temp gauge does not read correctly when the engine is running in the correct temp range. The temp needle is either in the overheating position (red area) or totally past the max temp on the gauge, almost spinning like a compass. Because of this false reading I pulled my vehicle over on the shoulder of the interstate, thinking the engine needed to cool down. This was during rush hour traffic, and could have caused an accident on the highway. A search on the internet shows others with the same problem. GMC refuses to replace or fix the gauge if vehicle mileage is over 70,000. Gauges, oil, water temp, etc, are in vehicles to assist the driver with their driving and for safety reasons and should last a lot more than 6 years. Pulling over on a highway should only be done for an emergency, not because of a false reading, and may in the future, if it has not already cause an accident.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #48

Mar 012010


  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 GMC Envoy. While driving approximately 30 mph the speedometer stopped functioning and displayed zero. The oil gauge also stopped functioning beyond the eighty pressure mark and stayed in that position. The contact pulled the vehicle to the side of the road and checked the oil. The contact did not notice a problem. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated that the cluster panel needed to be repaired. The speedometer increased intermittently but it did not display the correct mileage. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #47

Dec 052010

Envoy 4WD 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
2004 GMC Envoy speedometer/instrument panel failure. The speedometer sticks and now has failed. This is a recurring issue with this vehicle that has had multiple law suits filed against the manufacturer in different states. Why has it not been addressed? and even more importantly, why is my vehicle (which is known by GM to have this problem) not included in the settlement (the settlement in included other GMC, Chevrolet and Cadillac vehicles)? it is a huge safety issue that should have been made known to me by the manufacturer before it happened. On this site alone there are more than 52 complaints just for this vehicle. Why is it not being addressed. Thank you.

- Bellefontaine, OH, USA

problem #46

Nov 202010


  • miles
Speedometer was kinda sticking/jumpy but now staying around 85 to 120.

- Beaver Dam, WI, USA

problem #45

Feb 052005

Envoy 4WD

  • miles
I have a 2004 Envoy sle 4X4 and I have been have the problem of it stalling and it won't start do to ignition problem.I called GM and they said that people have to call in so they could look into this problem that us people are have with the ignition and stalling at lights or just driving and will not start in driveway..please call in 1-800-263-3777 and tell them that your have ignition problems also, this is the only way that we can get something done so please call [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sudbury, 00, USA

problem #44

Jun 282010


  • 35,000 miles
1. 2004 GMC Envoy instrument cluster panel intermittently malfunctioning on and off. 2. ongoing since October 2008. All gauges in the instrument panel will suddenly stop/start functioning for varying lengths of time. The consequence is that the driver is unable to determine driving speed, gas fuel level, and battery status leading to obvious and potentially serious safety concerns. 3. owner currently seeking financial relief from GMC and us government for recall to have faulty instrument panel replaced at no cost to consumer.

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #43

Nov 172009


  • 75,000 miles
Instrument panel cluster issues in 2004 GMC Envoy, . headlights and instrument panel lights flicker dim to bright. Occurs while driving down the road very sporadic. Diagnostic stated faulty instrument panel cluster. Issue if not fixed, the vehicle could stall when driving and lose power. Mine has started loosing power and stalling. Faulty speedometer inaccurate, will go past 120mph or stay on zero, why no recall on these items GM is aware of this but as of today no action has been taken.

- New Kent, VA, USA

problem #42

May 182004

Envoy 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The speedometer on my 2004 GMC Envoy with 63,000mi. On it stopped working correctly. While driving it will bury the needle past 120mph or stay on zero. After doing some research I found that this is not an isolated problem. Having been a truck driver for over 20 yrs. And understanding the importance and safety of speed control, I can't understand why this is not a recall.

- Marlborough, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?