Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2001 Civic has transmission problems, transmission problems & more transmission problems. Did we mention transmission problems? And a dangerous defect with the front airbag that didn't get recalled for 10 years.

Although eventually the defective 2001 Civic airbag inflators were fixed under recalls in 2011 & 2013, that meant for 10 to 12 years airbags were activating with excessive force where metal fragments went shooting into passengers when the airbag deployed.

As for the 2001 Civic's transmission woes? Honda conducted a major transmission recall in 2004 & settled a class action lawsuit for defective transmissions in 2006. But, neither the recall or the lawsuit included the 2001 Civic.

Last thing to consider - the 2001 Civic is the most-recalled car ever, closely followed by the 2002 Civic & the 2001 Accord. The 2001 Civic is the 4th most-recalled vehicle overall, only a Ford truck & two Ford vans have more.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
56 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
61 / 4
Average Mileage:
49,901 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

Jun 262008

Civic

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was leaving my home and driving about 1 mile to my destination. My car had been functioning normally earlier in the day. I noticed that the transmission slipped as I went up a small hill. Within 1/4 mile the torque converter failed (transmission failure) and I had power to the engine but no forward power. I was stuck in the middle of the road and could only get to safety at the side of the road by coasting. Had I been on a more heavily traffic road, or on a steep hill of which there are many here, the outcome could have been many injured or deaths as I was a sitting duck in the road.

- Topanga, CA, USA

problem #76

May 232008

Civic

  • 85,190 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Civic. While driving approximately 25 mph through a stop sign and crashing into a vehicle the air bags did not deploy. There was damage to the passenger side front fender. There were 3 injuries. A police report is available. The contact's vehicle was totaled by the insurance company. The current and failure mileages were 85190.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #75

May 172007

Civic

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Civic. In 2006, the contact had her vehicle repaired according to a voluntary recall issued for the air bag system. One year later, while driving at an unknown speed, the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument control panel. This indicated that the air bags were inoperative. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the air bag system needed to be replaced at the cost of $800. The vehicle has not been repaired. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 89,000. Updated 7/3/08

- Chattanoga, TN, USA

problem #74

Oct 032007

Civic

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

SRS light continues to go on after being reset. Driving my car without airbags is unsafe and unacceptable. Honda should fix this for free.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #73

Nov 212007

Civic

  • miles
2001 Honda Civic SRS light stays on which means air bags wont deploy not covered by Honda this is a safety issue should be covered for life of the car Honda must not care about safety or law suits if my air bags don't work when they need to wont buy another Honda.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #72

Sep 252007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Honda Civic. While driving 5-10 mph, the driver side air bag deployed without warning. The driver suffered a sore arm and neck. The dealer refused to inspect the vehicle to determine the cause of failure. Approximately two days later, the passenger side air bag deployed without warning. The dealer inspected the vehicle, however, they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The current and failure mileages were 117,000. The consumer stated in May 2007 the recall work was completed on the SRS due to faulty opds on the passenger side. The dealer stated check rattle under front end, needs front struts. Updated 10/18/07

- Southgate, KY, USA

problem #71

Aug 012006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,009 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

SRS light came on out of the blue 8/06. I had an accident 2/05. Dealer "cleared codes". light came on again. This time the dealer blamed the accident. Had the insurance company pay $400 for replacement of the SRS unit. Light came on again one week later. Dealership claims that now it is a faulty seat belt buckle which would cost $305 to repair. This seems to be a major issue with Honda Civics. This seriously needs to be a recall issue.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #70

Feb 182004

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
My SRS light has been on, and the Honda dealership around me never gave me a definite answer to why this is an issue. They said they are going to charge me for something that is defective on Honda's end. Understanding that Honda built its reputation on reliability and assurance, but this problem happened to so many Honda that I demand a recall.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #69

Jul 012006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
: the contact stated there was an accident while driving 35 mph and none of the airbags deployed. The air bag light was not illuminated prior to the incident. The impact was to the front driver side. The contact was wearing a seat belt and sustained injuries. The vehicle was deemed totaled, and a police report was taken. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 12/01/06.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #68

Oct 042006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
My SRS indicator light comes on and stays on with an error code 15-3, which effectively turns off my air-bags on my 2001 Civic.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #67

Aug 152006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in an accident on 8/15/2006. My car (2001 Honda Civic) was badly damaged (front and back) and it was totaled. Surprisingly the air bags didn't come out. I like to complain to the appropriate authority.

- Pleasantville, NY, USA

problem #66

Jul 302003

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
In July 2004 my SRS light came on, my horn doesn't work now, my cruise control doesn't work. I have read bulletins on other web pages and I know my 2001 Honda Civic is not the only Civic with this problem. Is this a safety issue" will my airbags still work"

- West Point, CA, USA

problem #65

Sep 062006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 89,000 miles
The SRS light does not goes off during driving. The dealer told me that it will disable the airbag, and can cause serious problem to me. Just let other Honda owners with the same problem. I am really concerned about the safety of the car and hope Honda will do something about it.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #64

Aug 022006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles
On August 2, 2006 I was the driver of a vehicle that was involved in a head on collision with another vehicle at the rate of speed of approximately 30 mph. My air bags in my car didn't deploy causing my head to impact to front windshield. I am experiencing major headache. The police officers that responded to the accident scene also questioned why there was no airbag deployment in my vehicle. The inspector from Liberty mutual also questioned the malfunction of the airbags. The other vehicle involved in this accident had airbag deployment. The car was declared a total loss from my insurance company. Honda inspected the vehicle, however I never received a written report from them explaining the malfunction of their product. The car is still available for inspection as of this date. (9/13/06)

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #63

Mar 152003

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
I was rear ended by a Tacoma traveling 45 mph while I was at a complete stop. As a result, I hit a Mercedes that was stopped in front of me. My air bags did not deploy. Luckily, I sit far enough away from my steering wheel and was not injured. I spoke with beaudry Honda in tucson, Arizona and was ignored.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #62

Jan 012006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Honda Civic ex sedan SRS light comes on and stay on. This is the second time as the first time the indicator was just reset but now it just stayed on. I think Honda should have a recall on the SRS system as this is a safety issue as in the event of an accident the air bags would not go off. Also, the side airbag light would just flicker on and off. I think also that NHTSA should make Honda do a recall on the SRS system as many 2001 Honda Civic owners have complained.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #61

Jun 042006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
Svs red light came on indicating a failure of the air bag system.

- Aiea, HI, USA

problem #60

May 052006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2001 Honda Civic ex SRS light came up last week. This car had lot of issues since I bought in 2000 December 1. radio replaced 1 month after purchase. 2. right front side wheel bearing was replaced within 6 months under warranty. It failed again in 2005. I had it replaced again in 2005 for $500. 3. side airbag light reset within 2 years. It came back again in 2000. The dealer doesn't know what is causing the problem. Its going to cost me $600 to replace the sensor. 4. front side windows get stuck and don't roll up properly in cold weather. In 2003 dealer replaced the motor for $600 but still doesn't work. 5. replaced front struts in 2006 6. power steering pump failed in 2006 will cost me $500 to replace. 7. SRS light came up and stays on in 2006. Don't know what it will take to get this repaired. Overall I think 2001 Civic is a piece of junk.

- Springfield, NJ, USA

problem #59

May 012006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,100 miles
On my 2001 Honda Civic LX, the supplemental restraint system (SRS) light comes on and has remained on for the past several weeks, indicating failure of air bags and/or seat belt pretensioners. This is apparently a problem with many of these vehicles and the repair to reset the system or replace the failed sensors/computers is not always successful (I.e. light will eventually come back on). I have not repaired this as yet as I am waiting to see if Honda will issue a recall notice.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #58

Jan 112006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
SRS light in my Civic is on and the dealer is unable to properly fix it even though I have found it is extremely common.

- Allston, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?