Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,617 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #114

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I received a letter during the summer (2016) saying that my automobile was now on a recall for the passenger airbag and that I should not allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat until the problem was fixed. The letter stated that I would receive a second letter giving further instructions, but no letter was ever received. It is very inconvenient as well as a little frightening having no recourse at this point. I would appreciate some feedback as to a time that a remedy will be being put in place. Thank you very much, karen wolfe

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #113

Aug 192016

Civic

  • 131,301 miles
Takata recall on August 19, 2016, we took our Honda to the dealer to have the airbag inflator replaced under the recall. Our dealer ran into a problem with a mounting bolt (apparently a bolt was cross-threaded and twisted off). A call to Honda America confirmed the entire air bag would then have to be replaced. Our dealer ordered the part that day. And has of this writing not yet received the air bag from Honda America. Our dealer gave us a loaner car for two months, but then took it back and gave us our car back, without a front passenger-side airbag, on October 31, with instructions to not put a passenger in the front seat. (in order to get my car back, I had to sign a statement on the work order saying I had refused a repair, but I was not offered a repair to refuse. I had to sign the work order or not get my car back.) just prior to the dealer calling and taking the loaner back, I wrote a letter to Honda America about the delay in delivering the replacement airbag. I have received no reply. So it has been four and one-half months my car has been waiting on a replacement air bag. As far as I can tell, this is a problem with Honda America; I believe my dealer has acted in good faith. Attachments: - original recall notice - work order from my dealer - my letter to Honda America

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #112

Dec 302016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall - first received notice of this recall in may of 2016. It is now coming up on January of 2017 (seven months latter) and I have not had any further communication about getting this defect corrected. When can I expect this to happen?

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #111

Jan 012006

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For some time, a warning notice was on my dashboard saying that the airbag on the passenger front seat of my car was turned off. In Jul 2016, I received NHTSA recall 16V-346 saying there was an airbag recall and I shouldn't have passengers sit in the front seat until the recall repair has been performed. The notice said the "remedy parts needed to conduct passenger frontal airbag inflator recalls will become available in late summer/fall of 2016." It's December. I haven't heard from Honda saying that parts of available. I checked safecar.gov, which said recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available. This is unacceptable. I'm afraid to drive my car.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #110

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall - passenger airbag inflator.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #109

May 272016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. Notified in May 2016 with an early summer late fall resolution with no further update. Wife and I use car to carpool to work, so "avoid the passenger seat" renders the car mostly useless unless one of plays chauffeur and the other sits in the back. Sitting in the back of a Honda Civic as an adult is a very overrated experience, moreso when it's done every day.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #108

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall"letter received July 2016 front passenger. "Honda suggest to avoid having passenger sit in the front seat." Honda notification inflator recalls will be available late summer/fall of 2016. I still have not received any updates from Honda regarding recall.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #107

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #106

Dec 082016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #105

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Athens, OH, USA

problem #104

Nov 262016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: I was notified by Honda in may/June of this year that there will be a remedy in the summer/fall of 2016, and I have not received any notification since then. This remedy is taken longer than expected, and it has become difficult as I am not allowed to have a passenger in the front seat with me.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #103

Apr 042016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. Suppoised to be ready first of "fall". still not ready 11/24/16. Still waiting. Any info?

- Tuscumbia, AL, USA

problem #102

Jul 292016

Civic

  • miles
Desde julio 29 2016 me comunique al Honda de oxnard para llevar mi carro a arreglar ya ke yo recibi una carta diciendo de los defectos de bolsa de aire de Honda tenia ke llevarlo ya a pasado mas de 60 dias Y el consesionario Honda no me a llamado para arreglar mi carro

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #101

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Honda has decided that a defect which relates to motor vehicle safety exists in certain 2006-2011 model year Civic vehicles. The propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over-aggressive combustion in the event the airbag is activated. This problem could lead to possibly causing injury to vehicle occupant. American Honda has or the dealer has failed or is unable to remedy the defect in my vehicle without charge, within a reasonable period of time (60-days from the date I was first contacted for repair appointment in July 2016).

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #100

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #99

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall recall notification letter dated July 2016. I called the dealership and was told would be a few months. No word yet!

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #98

Jul 082016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #97

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall -- 90 days has past with action from dealership

- Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #96

Oct 282016

Civic 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
Takata recall- I received a letter from Honda July 2016 about the passenger side airbag having a defect/being recalled and needing to be replaced (recall was issued May 23, 2016(https://vinrcl.safercar.gov/VIN/vinlookup)-so the notification about the recall took a few months alone). The solution given was to avoid having a passenger in the car. The letter stated that parts would be available late summer/fall of 2016. I called today, 10/28/2016 @ 09:06 est, speaking to a representative named [xxx] and was told they are still manufacturing parts and I would get a notice when they are available. As a family of 4, being told that there is something wrong with your car and recommended that you should not have a passenger in the front but they have no idea when your vehicle would be fixed is not acceptable. If they know there is an issue, they need to get it fixed in a timely fashion. If they have no idea when the parts are going to be made available then they need to provide an alternate vehicle until the recall can be fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Quarryville, PA, USA

problem #95

Oct 262016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The recall notification was originally sent in May 2016. The manufacturer still has no remedy available. The online information says the initial letter will be followed up with a second and that the remedy was expected in late summer/fall. No remedy is currently available, and I am driving around with a potentially dangerous airbag.

- Arlington, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?