Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
32 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #102

Jul 292016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Desde julio 29 2016 me comunique al Honda de oxnard para llevar mi carro a arreglar ya ke yo recibi una carta diciendo de los defectos de bolsa de aire de Honda tenia ke llevarlo ya a pasado mas de 60 dias Y el consesionario Honda no me a llamado para arreglar mi carro

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #101

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Honda has decided that a defect which relates to motor vehicle safety exists in certain 2006-2011 model year Civic vehicles. The propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over-aggressive combustion in the event the airbag is activated. This problem could lead to possibly causing injury to vehicle occupant. American Honda has or the dealer has failed or is unable to remedy the defect in my vehicle without charge, within a reasonable period of time (60-days from the date I was first contacted for repair appointment in July 2016).

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #100

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #99

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall recall notification letter dated July 2016. I called the dealership and was told would be a few months. No word yet!

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #98

Jul 082016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Olathe, KS, USA

problem #97

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall -- 90 days has past with action from dealership

- Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #96

Oct 282016

Civic

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall- I received a letter from Honda July 2016 about the passenger side airbag having a defect/being recalled and needing to be replaced (recall was issued May 23, 2016(https://vinrcl.safercar.gov/VIN/vinlookup)-so the notification about the recall took a few months alone). The solution given was to avoid having a passenger in the car. The letter stated that parts would be available late summer/fall of 2016. I called today, 10/28/2016 @ 09:06 est, speaking to a representative named jessica and was told they are still manufacturing parts and I would get a notice when they are available. As a family of 4, being told that there is something wrong with your car and recommended that you should not have a passenger in the front but they have no idea when your vehicle would be fixed is not acceptable. If they know there is an issue, they need to get it fixed in a timely fashion. If they have no idea when the parts are going to be made available then they need to provide an alternate vehicle until the recall can be fixed.

- Quarryville, PA, USA

problem #95

Oct 262016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The recall notification was originally sent in May 2016. The manufacturer still has no remedy available. The online information says the initial letter will be followed up with a second and that the remedy was expected in late summer/fall. No remedy is currently available, and I am driving around with a potentially dangerous airbag.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #94

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #93

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #92

May 232016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hawaiian Gardens, CA, USA

problem #91

Jul 222016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #90

Jun 012016

Civic

  • miles
I have been trying for months to determine if our Civic if part of this recall of takata airbags. The safe.gov site says our year and make are part if the recall, but the site also says recall is incomplete. We have heard nothing from Honda. I am concerned if this is part of the recall. How can we find out with certainty?

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #89

Jul 012016

Civic

  • 12,000 miles
Takata recall manufacturer has failed to remedy. I received a letter dated July 2016 stating that it would have the part by late summer/fall. That was the last communication I received. I am driving a potentially dangerous auto that may cause great liability or injury to me.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #88

Jun 302016

Civic

  • miles
I have been given the initial notice since last 3 months and yet no remedy is available. I was advised not to drive the car without providing me an alternative/rental mode of transportation. I travel 50 miles, everyday. This is the only car that I have and my fiance cannot even ride with me, without taking the danger of being killed by the faulty airbags. My car also shows sometimes the airbag light, for which dealers want $100 to diagnose.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #87

May 312016

Civic

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) was received in May. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #86

Sep 282016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jamestown, NC, USA

problem #85

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
I received a letter in July 2016 (official date May 23, 2016) detailing an important safety recall on my 2006 Honda Civic. The problem is that "the propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over-aggressive combustion in the event the airbag is activated." The letter goes on to explain that this could cause metal fragments to pass through the airbag cushion and harm the vehicle occupant. The only option given in the letter is to avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed. According to the letter, the parts were supposed to be available by now. I am concerned for my safety and other people's safety as they ride in my car. ** much time has passed, and I expect immediate repair free of charge.***

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #84

Sep 012015

Civic

  • 191,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was included in a recall for the air bags and repaired, but the air bag indicator remained illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the SRS module failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The recall details were not provided. The approximate failure mileage was 191,000.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #83

Sep 222016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?