Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,815 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 6 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Oct 152007

Civic 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive wear to rear tires on a 2006 Honda Civic hybrid. Tires lasted 26,000 before having to be replaced. Tires rotated at 3,000 mile intervals.

- Silverthorne, CO, USA

problem #14

Jun 292007

Civic 4-cyl

  • 30,126 miles
We took our 2006 Honda Civic in for service and we were told the tires needed to be rotated. When we left and got to highway speed the steering wheel shook violently and we didn't know what was going on. We kept the speed down and made it to another Honda dealer. We were told this was normal and it would correct itself in about 500 or 600 miles. We left there and went to a tire shop where they took off the front tires (that were rotated from the back) and noticed they both had flat spots on them that were worn down to the cords. We rotated the tires back to get us by. The next day we replaced all 4 tires. The new tires were fine but when we had the brakes replaced we noticed the flat spots had come back with less than 16,000 miles on the tires. We took our Honda in for an oil change and asked about the tires and if they could look at it, the dealer told us about service bulletin 08-001. Service bulletin 08-001 is to correct the tire wear issue by replacing the upper controller arms on the rear suspension. We left the car, and soon got a call from the dealer telling us they could not perform the service because our car was out of warranty (even though it will wear the tires out). Fortunately there was a Honda representative there that day that approved the repair. We still had to pay for the alignment, even though it clearly states in the service bulletin that the alignment is included and even though we bought the extended warranty at the time of purchase. We also got no compensation for tires even though there is a table for prorating the tires in the service bulletin. We had to replace the back tires again because of the flat spots. These were not down to the cords, but there was no tread left on the flat spots. I don't want my wife and young daughter to be stranded on the road or worse because of an engineering flaw by Honda.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #13

Mar 152008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Uneven tire wear. Excessive noise from rear. I've had the vehicle 2 years and have had the wheels aligned several times and have the tires rotated as necessary by Honda or Firestone.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 072008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The 2006 Honda Civic has a rear suspension defect that causes extreme and dangerous rear tire wear. My new Civic was showing steel belts on the rear tires at 19,000 miles - detectable only by the extreme noise and kneeling to see the tire surface and the protruding steel belts. Honda, and its dealers, had consistently maintained that there was no issue with the 2006 Civic rear suspension, even though I'd spent almost 100 hours of my time, including multiple trips to the dealer. They blamed everyone involved except themselves - my aggressive driving, the oem Bridgestone tires, lack of rotation, the phase of the moon, you. Only when threatened with my lawsuit did they admit that there was a problem, and tell me that I could have my rear end modified by my dealer at Honda's expense to solve my problem. Having said this - they have announced no general recall or notification actions, nor has the NHTSA - to whom I'd complained a year ago. Only if you have the tenacity and determination to take on Honda and threaten to sue them do they acknowledge the problem and offer a fix. The complicity of Honda and the NHTSA on this matter is immoral, if not criminal.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 072007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for the service brakes, hydraulic: Anti-lock: Wheel speed sensor and took the vehicle to his local dealer. The dealer stated that the vehicle was working properly. Four months later, the rear wheel bearings failed. The dealer identified the failure as relating to the recall and charged the contact $150 for the repair. The contact would like to be reimbursed, but the dealer refuses. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 52,000 and current mileage was 68,000. Updated 4/23/08 the consumer stated in October he informed johnson city Honda about the wheel bearings making noise but the complaint was never confirmed and 5 months later he discovered the rear wheel was about to fall of the vehicle. Updated 04/23/08

- Fall Branch, TN, USA

problem #10

Mar 162008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Honda Civic new. At 18 months it started making a roaring noise from the rear end. It also started vibrating badly at 65mph. When I got the oil changed in it, I asked the Honda motorwerks dealer in la crosse, wi to check the tires for rotation. I was told the tires were fine. Two months later at 37,800 miles I am taking the car back for louder roaring and more vibration. My search on the internet revealed that Honda issued a technical service bulletin on 8feb08 stating that the rear control on all 2006 and 2007 Honda Civics were effected and need to be repaired. I contacted american Honda and was told that each case would be handled by the dealer on a case by case basis. I asked about the tires that were ruined by the defective control arms, and I was told that I they were covered under the tire manufacturer warranty. I said that the tires were not defective, rather they were prematurely worn because of a Honda defect. She gave me the same answer again. If this defect applies to all 2006 and 2007N Civics, then it applies to several hundred thousand vehicles. I feel Honda should recall all of the Civics and not wait until the owners complain or get hurt because the tires wear out early and cause a crash.

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #9

Jun 102006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very rapid rear tire wear due to unadjustable negative camber. Within months of purchase, the tires were severely worn and unsafe (hydroplaning and poor traction). Now, on 4th set of rear tires with 40K on the vehicle and reports of accidents at websites such as ( townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F0F75F0/16 ). Honda has finally issued a service bulletin in Canada for new upper rear control arms but burden of proof is high and not retroactive; appears 2006 and 2007 Civics are affected.

- Canandaigua, NY, USA

problem #8

Jan 292008

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,120 miles
Rear camber could not be adjusted to zero. Tires were wearing out early on inside edge. After market part allows camber to be adjusted to zero. Firestone dealer said this is a problem with Civics and the after market part is available for several model years. Similar statement was made by previous tire dealer in 2006 (30K miles) but unable to order parts at that time.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #7

Dec 272007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The rear tires on my 2006 Honda Civic ex are rapidly cup, worn and uneven, and making a loud humming noise. The rear suspension cannot be aligned by the dealer because of a manufacture rear suspension design defect. I notice the noise around 3,000 miles.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #6

Nov 092007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The suspension on my 2006 Honda Civic cannot be aligned due to incorrect manufacturing. This is a problem that effects all 2006 Honda Civics. The problem is not only with excessive tire wear but the handling of the car is not as it should be. What would happen if I tried evasive action while the suspension is not aligned correctly. There is a very big adjustment required to bring the car back into spec (over 2 degrees in the rear suspension). I was told that Honda was aware of the problem but was waiting for enough complaints to be filed to justify a recall. I would have never know that my suspension was so out of alignment had I not gone to a Honda dealer for repairs..

- Youngsville, NC, USA

problem #5

Aug 012006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took delivery of a 2006 Honda Civic si on 1 Jan, 2006. I purchased the car with the optional 18" hfp alloys. At around 10K mi, I took the car in for its scheduled maintenance. My servicing dealer at that time rotated the tires along with the regular scheduled maint. When I picked up the car I noticed a very loud humming noise coming from the front of the car. I immediately took the car back to the dealer to have them check what the problem might be. The Honda tech told me that the tires( originally on the front, now on the rear) were cupped and also said that I should take the car back to the purchasing dealer for what he said was "misaligned rear suspension". before leaving the dealer, I had the Honda tech put the tires back the way they were to get rid of the humming sound. I then took the car back to the purchasing dealer and they said that there was not much they could do and put 2 new rear tires on the car and sent me on my way. Now I had a car with 10K miles on the front and 0 miles on the rear. Fast forward a couple thousand miles and there I was needing new tires for the front because I was never able to rotate them as advised. At now 27K the car is going on its 3rd set of tires. I still cannot rotate the tires and the rear is still toed in and Honda has no "fix-action" for this. Also the car cannot be aligned, hasn't since the day I drove it off the showroom floor. I love Honda's but I do feel this car may be a lemon and is by far a safety hazard on wheels. I have since parked it in the garage until myself and american Honda come to terms.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #4

Nov 122007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
2006 Honda Civic has a design defect which causes the rear tires to rapidly cup and wear on the inside edges in as little at 10,000 miles.

- Vinton, IA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012007

Civic

  • miles
The car had excessive road noise after 8,000 miles. Checking the rear tires I found that both ha numerous flat spots. Took it to the Honda dealer and got the same response that other complaints I have read. I was asked if I pulled the emergency brake while driving. I was told it was a tire issue and to talk to a Bridgestone dealer. The tire dealer told me that the tires that come on the car aren't the best quality and I should replace them with a better pair. There was nothing they could do because they said it due to lack of tire rotation. I have never had an issue with tires wearing like this even after not rotating tires on other vehicles. I have replaced the tires with new michelins at my expense. I will have them rotated at each oil change. I would like to think that Honda and it's tire suppliers would address this issue. This is my 5th Honda since 1990 and will be my last and the last time I buy bridgestones.

- Smethport, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 152007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
I bought a new 2006 Honda Civic and took delivery in July 2006. From the time of delivery of the vehicle, it was noticeable that the rear end or rear tires of the Honda Civic were very noisy. Lacking sufficient time, I did not investigate the noise until our trip to Arizona in early March, 2007. When we arrived in Arizona, I got down on my knees for the first time to examine the rear tires. To my amazement, they were worn out at 21,000 miles - to the point where steel belts were protruding from the tires. I took the car to a authorized Honda dealer in tucson. After extensive tests, they claimed that the car had no defect - I had two defective rear tires. I told them that it was highly unlikely that both rear tires on this vehicle would wear so badly, while the front tires on the front-wheel drive car were in excellent conditon for 21,000 miles. I was able to locate a service bulletion from Acura - a division of Honda. The service bulletin 05-076 dated January 19, 2007 stated that the Acura 2004 & 2005 had an issue with "premature rear tire wear". the problem was described as: "the rear tires are wearing prematurely (unevenly across the tread). Probable cause: The rear toe increases when the vehicle is loaded" the description and pictures of tire wear in this service bulletin exactly match what I found in my 2006 Honda Civic. I had just checked the air pressure in all four tires. Due to the design of the Honda Civic, the rear tires are difficult to seen without kneeling. When I found that the rear tires had been worn so severely that steel belts were showing, it was clear to me that such premature wear constitutes a definite safety hazard.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #1

Jul 302006

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I purchased 2006 Honda Civic 4-dr. The rear of the car is lower on the drivers side by approximately 1/2" to 3/4". this is very noticeable and I am worried it may be a safety hazard. I have seen other model vehicles that look like they have the same problem. I have also seen the same complaints online. Took to dealership and they said they could not find a problem. Also took back a 2nd time with no positive response.

- Bellflower, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?