10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #112

Apr 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. I received a letter about the recall sometime the beginning of 2016. They stated that the remedy would be ready late summer or early fall 2017. It advised me to not let anyone ride in the passenger seat until the recall is taken care of. It is now mid January 2017 and no word. It is very difficult, with a family of 5, for someone to not be in the passenger seat. It seems they need to make this a a higher priority and take care of this immediately. Still waiting for any information from them.

- Albertville, AL, USA

problem #111

Jul 152016

Civic

  • 140,000 miles
Takata recall. In July 2016, we received initial notification of the airbag recall. We called the dealer day, midlands Honda, to get it repaired. Midlands Honda, in lexington, SC told me they would call when the part was in. In October 2016, I called the midlands Honda, since we had not heard anything. They told me they couldn't even tell me if the part had been ordered. I called american Honda, and they said we had to go through the dealer. We have waited over 6 months to get this potentially life threatening recall repaired, and neither the local Honda dealer, nor american Honda, is doing anything to get this repaired. I'm not sure if I need to get an attorney involved, or not. We need to get this airbag recall repaired, before someone is injured or killed, due to Honda's lack of response, and apparent lack of interest in their customers well being. Please provide some assistance. Thank you.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #110

May 232016

Civic

  • 0 miles
VIN: 1hgfa16897L067815 year: 2007 make: Honda model: Civic sedan number of open recalls: 1 NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 16V-346 recall date: May 23, 2016 manufacturer recall number: KA5 summary: American Honda motor co., Inc. (Honda) is recalling certain model year 2006-2011 Honda Civic vehicles. According to the equipment defect notifications (16E-042 and 16E-043) filed by takata, the propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over-aggressive combustion in the event the airbag is activated. Overly aggressive combustion creates excessive internal pressure when the inflator is activated, which may cause the inflator body to rupture. Honda suggests that you avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed. Safety risk: In the event of an inflator rupture, metal fragments could pass through the airbag cushion material possibly causing injury to vehicle occupant. Remedy: The remedy parts needed to conduct passenger frontal airbag inflator recalls will become available in late summer/fall of 2016. Honda will notify owners in an initial letter with a second letter being mailed when parts are available. Owners may contact Honda automobile customer service at 1-888-234-2138. Honda's number for this recall is KA5. Recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #109

Jun 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) was received in June of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pembrook Pines, FL, USA

problem #108

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
"takata recall" important safety recall sent from Honda, but no resolution. "propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over-aggressive combustion in the event the airbag is activated. Overly aggressive combustion creates excessive internal pressure when the inflator is activated, which may cause the inflator body to rupture. In the event of inflator rupture, metal fragments could pass through the airbag cushion material possibly causing injury to the vehicle occupant." Honda has sent this "important safety recall information, " but has not had any resolution for the problem. Must drive car daily and driving in fear for possible mishap or injury.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #107

Jul 082016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #106

Dec 142016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall the recall of the passenger airbag was supposed to be availablr by late summer/fall of 2016. It's almost the end of the year and the Honda recall page still says recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available.

- Bronson, FL, USA

problem #105

Dec 142016

Civic

  • miles
Takata inflators -- airbag recall letter received July 2016 which said parts would be available in late summer/fall. Letter said "Honda will send you another letter when parts become available to repair your vehicle". it's mid December now and have not received a "parts available" letter from Honda. Very inconvenient to "avoid having passenger in front passenger seat". just called local dealership and they say they have had parts for quite some time. They don't know why Honda never sent the second letter. In the meantime, we have been at risk and inconvenienced. This is a big mistake on their part and there should be follow up.

- Cambria, CA, USA

problem #104

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall: We received our recall notice earlier this year for a defective airbag system. We were told replacement parts would be available by summer/early fall. It is December 14 and we are still waiting. In the meantime we have to drive our car, cannot use the passenger side, which is a major inconvenience, and are worried and fear for our safety with this vehicle while we wait. This is ridiculous and we are extremely fed up with the situation. Not only this, but we are classified as a high risk due to the part of the country we live in (Georgia) and are supposed to receive priority treatment due to our heat and high humidity, which are apparently a factor with the defective airbag(s). Every time we call our local dealership, they state they do not have parts available yet. Please help!

- Acworth, GA, USA

problem #103

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall notice received in July 2016. Parts for passenger parts were expected to become available late summer or fall of 2016. It is now winter, December 10, 2016 - there has been no new notification - "Honda recall lookup tool" tells me the fix is not available.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #102

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sent Honda signature card on July 25, 2016 regarding NHTSA recvall 16V-346 and have still not been contacted to have the recall item fixed. Not acceptable.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #101

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall it's been 5 months since recall issued.

- Boiling Springs, SC, USA

problem #100

Jun 222016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #99

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Alexander City, AL, USA

problem #98

Nov 252016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Queens, NY, USA

problem #97

May 242016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hamptonville, NC, USA

problem #96

May 162016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. I'm not sure what constitutes a timely recall or repair, but it's been 6 months since anybody has been able to sit in the front seat and I'm sick of looking like an uber driver. I'm also not convinced that the driver's side airbag is safe, and I'd rather not receive a molten hunk of metal through my neck for the sin of having a fender bender. All in all I am a very unhappy Honda owner.,

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #95

Jul 112016

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The interim notice did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17's the consumer stated the recall was completed on 12/6/16. Updated 01/05/17.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #94

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 16V-346 recall date: May 23, 2016 manufacturer recall number: KA5 recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available we have been waiting months for this defect to be corrected. The dealer has admitted that they get priority over recalls for cars they take in trade and then resell. Why is the consumer left to wait when this is a primary mode of transportation required to conduct our daily life. Waiting since may" why is the common consumer left in danger"

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #93

Jun 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?