Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Feb 102011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Our 2007 Honda Civic ex 4dr began to experience mild shaking during driving with an increased shake the faster we drove. This resulted in almost total loss of control of the vehicle during slight slippery conditions on the highway during the winter because of a fishtailing effect that was being induced. The result is because of rear control arms on this vehicle being manufactured too small causing a negative camber of the rear wheels and causing premature and uneven tire wear of the inner half of the tires. This has been an issue for over 2 years now increasing over time and was never recalled by Honda but simply issued to dealerships under service bulletin 08-001 which was never carried out during regular service of the vehicle at the dealership. Only now when I complained of a shake and further research by myself have they decided to do anything about it. I have winter and summer tires now that have uneven wear on them and have experienced headache-inducing shakes at highway speeds. At the present moment Honda is repairing these rear control arms but I have to flip the bill for labor, an alignment, and 2 new sets of tires which are said to be covered under the service bulletin by Honda. This is completely irresponsible and should be addressed to the company and a recall be generated for these vehicles.

- Cobourg, 00, USA

problem #104

Dec 082010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 60,121 miles
My 2007 Honda Civic 2-door coupe had wrong rear suspension upper control arms installed at the factory. At the 30,000 service, the Honda dealer rotated tires and I had a severe shimmy in the steering wheel. The dealer rotated the tires back and told me I had defective tires--they had worn unevenly. Rear tires wear also very noisy, especially on smooth roads (load rumble and a "beat"). I had a blow out at 40,000 miles and replaced all 4 tires. At the 60,000 mile service the dealer rotated the tires and again I had a severe shimmy. Dealer said the tires were defective and to return to tire dealer. I went to tire dealer and was informed that my car had a rear suspension problem. Tire dealer also told me to look online as many Civics had rear suspension problems. Went back to Honda dealer, showed him a form from the tire dealer stating my car had a suspension problem. Honda dealer inspected rear suspension and found my Civic had the wrong upper control arms installed. After dealer and I contacted Honda with the complaint, Honda offered to cover all but $300 of the $800 repair. I had the repair done by the dealer and paid $300. Very disappointed that Honda is not volunteering to repair a problem that existed with my car from its assembly at the factory.

- Hernando, FL, USA

problem #103

Feb 152010


  • 50,000 miles
Shortly after the vehicle warranty expired, we began to notice a loud humming sound coming from the rear wheels which steadily got worse. Also, we experienced extreme lack of control over the car during icy conditions. We discovered that the humming sound was coming from rear tires that were severely cupped. It was necessary to purchase new back tires, get the front and back aligned, and purchase and have installed, a stabilizer bar. We understand that this is a common defect in this model and year of car.

- Barron, WI, USA

problem #102

Sep 082010


  • miles


Rear control arms defective causing flat spots in rear tires. Problem reported to dealer at 35, xxx miles. Control arms replaced under warranty. Tires were not covered due to mileage even though problem was caused by defective components.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #101

Oct 272010


  • 22,000 miles
September 2007 Honda Civic hybrid with only 37000km to date. I have noticed excessive vibration and today though out the rear. Driver wheel was out of line, leaning inwards at the top. I visited the dealer and was told the car needed a "rear suspension alignment". I'm an engineer and didn't buy this explanation. Researching on internet this evening I found many reports that there is a major defect with the rear suspension. It's not an alignment problem but a failure of the suspension arms. Has Honda put out a recall, in any case we have a 7 year extended warranty but no doubt an upcoming battle with the dealer unless Honda comes forward to honor their commitment to safety. Many report the condition is dangerous due to excessive rear tire wear. Updated 12/30/10 we are in Canada, can you advise to whom we should make our complaint. Updated 11/02/10 the consumer stated the dealership made the repairs to his vehicle at no charge. However, he did have to purchase new tires. Updated 01/10/11

- Long Sault, 00, USA

problem #100

Aug 152007


  • 29,000 miles
07 Honda Civic rear suspension control arm manufacture defective. Causes excessive tire wear, cupping eventual failure.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #99

Jun 182010


  • 94,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic LX. The contact stated that the rear upper control arm failed and caused uneven tire wear. All four tires had to be replaced and two alignments were performed. However, the failure continued. The dealer told the contact to call the manufacturer who offered no assistance as the warranty had expired. The failure mileage was approximately 94,000.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #98

Oct 132010


  • 114,000 miles
We bought a 2007 Honda Civic ex new. The tires wear out fast and I found out the wrong rear suspension parts are installed. The dealer wants over 300 dollars to install the correct rear control arms. I have googled this problem and found that there are hundreds of Civic owners that are facing the same problem and are getting nowhere with Honda. What does it take to get a car company to stand behind its product?

- Manhattan, IL, USA

problem #97

Sep 022010


  • miles
I also saw there is a tsb recall (Honda tsb 08-001) on the 2007 Civic but not on the si on replacing the rear arms. My 2007 Civic si has the same visible tire wear and tread cupping which would be fixed by the recall but my car is not included. The fix is a simple replacement of the rear chamber arms. I bought this car brand new and had it in on a recall for the 3rd gear. I'd like that same treatment and to be included on the recall to change my rear chamber arms. I'm annoyed that Honda will fix the problem on all the other trim lines but not the Civic si.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #96

Sep 062010


  • miles
Honda Civic - 2007 hybrid - needs new "control arms" as the tires are unsafe to drive - apparently this is happening a lot, I'm surprised there is not a recall yet. I've got 70K miles and finishing my 2nd set of rear tires already - they refuse to correct at no cost, even though they've even put out a "service bulletin".

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #95

Sep 012010


  • 30,000 miles


Honda Civic 2006-2007 have a defect of the rear stabilizer bar. This causes the tires to wear unevenly. It is not vi Sable unless you are under the car. The tire wear causes these cars to become unsafe. When I discovered this on a web-site I took my car back to the dealer and asked them to repair this defect. I was refused and at that time called american Honda. This was noted and referred to their review board. No response has been received from Honda although they are aware of the dangerous nature of this problem. They were informed of my concern regarding my safety and those on the road with me. The extreme cost of replacing these parts, a 4th set of new tires and realignment will not be covered as the warranty is expired. This is a defect that they know about, and have known about. Would it have been recalled when they realized the problem the cost would have been covered. Thank you

- Kouts, IN, USA

problem #94

Dec 182007


  • 75,000 miles
We noticed our 2007 Civic vibrating badly in late 07. On a long trip, the rear tire blistered and shredded; the tire was replaced. All in all, between December 2007 and June 2009, we had two alignments and put on 4 new rear tires due to uneven tread wear on the tires. After some research, we found out about the bad rear control arms on the vehicle. Many driver's are experiencing this problem. My husband took the car to a local Honda service center where we were told that it was not under warranty anymore due to mileage (it's a commuter car so we put on a lot of miles pretty quickly) and since it was not recalled for the control arm, just a service bulletin issued )service bulletin 08-001 issued in February 2008), that we would be financially responsible for everything regarding the repair. We have spent an estimated $1200 in repairs. This is a huge safety concern and should definitely be investigated further. Honda is not taking any responsibility for the faulty control arms that were installed on these vehicles.

- Lake Elsinore, CA, USA

problem #93

Aug 022010


  • 61,802 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the vehicle began to shake and vibrate abnormally. The contact found the driver side rear tire was worn completely through the tread. The passenger side rear tire was also worn prematurely. The contact replaced both tires. The contact stated that the rear upper control arms on both sides were fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 61,802.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #92

May 262010


  • 14,391 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic ex coupe. While driving 55 mph the contact noticed that the rear end of the vehicle began to vibrate excessively. When the vehicle was examined he noticed that the rear tires were worn on the inside. He contact the dealer and was advised that they would assist him with the cost of replacing the tires. He located a technical service bulletin that identified the rear tire failure was due to a defective rear suspension geometry. The vehicle will be repaired by the dealer. The manufacturer will be notified. The current mileage was 14,391. The failure mileage was 14,900.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #91

Jul 162010


  • 52,968 miles
Reference Honda tsb 08-001. Incorrect/defective upper rear control arms installed during manufacture of vehicle leading to excessive wear on rear tires. This leads to excessive noise/vibration from rear and also possibly affects control/handling of vehicle.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #90

Jul 142010


  • miles
I own a 07 Honda Civic that has a major factory problem with the rear control arm. The vehicle can't stay aligned and is a part the have to be replace. Honda had a service bulletin for this safety problem but we I took the car to the dealer, they do not cover it under warranty on a cpo vehicle. I checked on the internet and a lot of owners are having the same safety issue. Honda should do a recall and offer to replace this defective part. The vehicle bounce while you are driving and the noise is real bad. Hopefully other owners have contacted you with the same issue and concern.

- Vine Grove, KY, USA

problem #89

Jul 012008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the contact heard a rumbling sound coming from the rear of the vehicle. The dealer advised that the rear support arms as well and both rear tires would need to be replaced. The repair was performed at the contact's expense. The failure recurred within two years. The dealer performed an alignment and both rear tires were replaced. The failure recurred within six weeks. There had been no further repairs. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 100,000. Updated 1/19/2010 updated 04/20/11

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #88

Jun 252010


  • 36,000 miles
Excessive tire wear and loud noise from rear of vehicle. We have replaced two sets of tires, once at 11,000 miles and at 36,000 miles and they are again worn at 58,461 miles. We learned of a service bulletin, service bulletin number : 08-001 date of bulletin : Feb 08, 2008, issued by Honda and after much complaining since we were a few hundred miles past the 3 year 36,000 mile mark the dealer made the repairs and aligned the car. We have rotated the tires regularly and the loud noise is back as well as excessive tire wear. I find it ridiculous to have to replace tires like this because the tire warranty is void because the tread in one section is beyond the limit for replacement. The Honda dealer is claiming we have not rotated the tires enough/properly which seems to be a common excuse for others complaining about the problem to Honda.

- Baltimore, OH, USA

problem #87

Nov 172009


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While driving 50 mph the contact heard a loud noise in the rear end of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact had the rear upper control arms replaced on the vehicle. There were no prior warnings. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 50,000.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #86

Jun 252010


  • 21,351 miles
2007 Honda Civic hybrid very rapid inside edge tire wear. At 21K we need 3rd set of tires for loud excessive noise at 25-65 mph and even slow turning. Have had our Honda dealer install the new "C" marked control arms and alignment done also at 13K. Honda rep looked at car today with 21K said all is ok and is to Honda specs. This is not my idea of a car that is made correctly or in anyone's spec's anywhere in the real automotive world ! really 3 sets of tires in 21K miles "normal" that takes alot of ignorance on Honda's part. A stressful waiting game for the tire's to blow out, heaven knows you will not hear tires go with all the noise from them. Just hope were able to control car and no one gets hurt.

- Wood Dale, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?