Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,443 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Mar 312009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have to replace the tires every 30000 miles due to uneven tire wear. I guess there is a known problem with a faulty rear arms that Honda keeps ignoring after so many complaints. Sure way to lose customers when you pride your self in quality but not delivering.

- Romeoville, IL, USA

problem #32

May 312013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 56,956 miles
Excessive noise from rear end of vehicle unrelated to normal higher noise from all season tires. The noise is so bad that passengers cannot converse in the car with the windows closed. Excessive unusual wear on tires requiring frequent replacement. Honda put out a service bulletin 08-001 Feb 5, 2009 about this problem but has not issued a recall. I think that Honda should do a recall or offer to pay something toward the corrective action they mention in their service bulletin. A rear upper control arm kit, new tires, alignment and labor charges are needed to be done and parts will need to be shipped to me from the us so I can have the repairs done where I am stationed here in germany. I'm frightened to take the care out on the autobahn. Thanks.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #31

Apr 102010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
When I originally purchased this vehicle at $14,000 miles I immediately started to hear noise from the tires at highway speed but it wasn't until my failed inspection that I noticed the severity of the uneven wear/ear on mainly the back tires. Due to a control arm recall, I went to Honda in order to get this fixed and purchased my own tires at the time since they wouldn't cover it. Unfortunately, about 19,000 miles later, again my inspection failed due to the tires. I had replaced it again but at this time Honda would not do anything and told me that it is past the warranty point and if I bring it in and they find that there's something wrong, I would have to pay for it as its not covered under my general warranty. I don't get this because clearly it is a manufactures recall and I shouldn't have to pay for this plus my tires every 19,000 miles. I purposely chose to buy a Honda because they are known to be economical and reliable. None of which my '07 Honda Civic ex has been. I tried taking it out with new tires during the snow; biggest mistake. Even driving in the rain is a hazard. This should be a huge warning for those who are in the market for a Honda Civic. These cars are not worth the price if the tires are not reliable. Tires are an important sector of a car. This is really disappointing and I would not think twice about taking this matter to court.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #30

Nov 012011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive and uneven tire wear....cupping. Honda will not do anything since the car is out of warranty even though they issued a service bulletin regarding the rear control arms being faulty.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #29

Sep 102010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 23,444 miles
My 2007 Honda Civic wear out rear tires extremely fast, causing loud vibrations and safety concerns.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #28

Feb 022013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Rear tires have abnormal wear which is causing vibration and noise due to a faulty rear control arm. This may cause safety problems.

- South Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #27

Aug 202008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am on my 3rd set of tires on a car that has 58,000 miles. Research shows that this is a common problem on Honda Civics for 2006-2007. There seems to be a problem/defect in the design of the car and Honda is not standing behind their product. We need help.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 122012

Civic

  • 86,000 miles
The rear wheels had excessive and uneven tire wear on the inside of both tires, because of the rear upper control arm being too short, causing the camber to be out. This in turn, caused misalignment and excessive tire wear. I had no warning of how fast my tires were wearing out, and they almost wore to the steel belt, which could have caused an accident. I regularly service my Honda Civic at the Honda dealer for each oil change and inspection, but was not notified of any problems at the last service appointment. I believe this is a known manufacturer problem, that needs to be addressed and recalled to be fixed.

- Greenwood, AR, USA

problem #25

Nov 302007

Civic

  • 35,000 miles
I have purchased, in the last 5 years, 5 different sets of tires because of cuppingŁ of my rear tires due to a defect in the rear suspension. I was told on 2 occasions by 2 different Honda dealers that the problem in my rear suspension had been solved. The last service was 10 months ago; I purchased my fifth set of tires and now have to replace them again.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #24

Mar 022012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The rear tires wear out unevenly due to defective rear control arms.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 142009

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a slightly used Civic from a dealer in January of 2009 and began to drive it on icy roads in Ontario winter. My wife who usually drives the car complained she was scared to drive it if there was any ice on the road surface because the car would suddenly shift position sideways in the lane. I found the rear tires worn out very fast on the inside of both wheels. I did some research and found out Honda had issued a service bulletin to replace the rear upper struts with a longer unit. The dealer did not disclose this information when I bought the car but after I brought it up volunteered to replace them and negotiated with me for half the replacement cost of the tires. I thought this would solve the problem. The next set of rear tires also wore prematurely on the inside in about 25000 miles. When I called the Honda dealer he told me I needed an alignment. I paid for an alignment at an independent garage and was told the real wheels could not B adjusted to correct the negative camber. I went back to the dealer who told me that Honda did not recognize this defect and the warranty would not cover any remedy. He did a free realignment for me with difficulty and said to rotate my tires more often. I tried that and my next set of tires wore out on the inside just the same. The dealer did say there was an aftermarket part that may correct the problem but I would have to pay for the installation ($600). I have about 180000 kilometers on the vehicle.the vehicle makes rear noise and the vibration cannot be good for the vehicle. This could be a safety issue.

- Fort Frances, MN, USA

problem #22

Aug 252012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Wheel bearing type noise coming from rear wheels. After pulling to side of road and checking things out, I noticed extreme tire wear on inside portion of road tread on both rear wheels.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #21

Mar 172010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The rear suspension and the rear upper control arm cause excessive and premature wear on tires requiring replacement of premium tires after only 20,000 miles or less. My car has about 80K miles and is in need of its 4th set of tires. Needles to say the wear create unsafe conditions while driving faster than 50mph making driving on the interstate a risky endeavor.

- Lakewood Ranch, FL, USA

problem #20

Jun 092012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Excessive rear tire noise and wear. I have been informed there is a service bulletin on my rear upper control arms - they are not marked with a "C". (but see conditions under which I was informed, below.) I am having the new control arms installed on 9/2/12. (I had new rear tires put on, and an alignment performed, 8/28/12.) I spent approximately $500 on the tires/alignment. The estimate for the new control arms is approximately $350. I don't understand why I have to pay for this repair. I've noticed there are multiple complaints about excessive rear tire noise and wear (and subsequent need for rear upper control arm replacement) on Honda Civics of this vintage (2007). Why is this only being treated as a "service bulletin" rather than a "recall". by the way, I wouldn't have even known about the problem if my husband wasn't concerned that the noise was a wheel bearing that was failing. I took it to Honda to have them check out the wheel bearing and they blamed the noise on a broken tire belt. When I got home from the dealer I noticed the information on my invoice about the "service bulletin". they hadn't even mentioned it to me themselves! I have been a loyal Honda driver for approximately 15 years. As a result of this issue, plus other things about the Civic I'm just not crazy about, I will never again buy a Honda product!

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #19

Jul 252011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,317 miles
Approximately a week after buying lifetime alignment and 4 new Bridgestone potenza tires in July 2011 at Firestone, el paso, tx, my car started to vibrate in the road while driving at speeds 50mph through 60mph. After many research and diagnosis from Honda parts and service shop, different Firestone locations and local mechanics, the conclusion is that the upper/rear control arms, front and rear camber arm and bolts are defective as per Honda manufacturers. My tires are excessively and unevenly wearing. I have already bought 6 sets of new tires in the last 12 months because of this Honda issue, which they admit it is a defect made by the manufacturers. They released a service bulletin (service bulletin 08-001 dated April 11, 2008) that informs Honda dealer shop of this issue/defect, but they refuse to take responsibility of repairing it free of charge. I believe that it is not fair that customers buying Honda have to pay for defective parts made by the manufacturers. I would like these defect to be solved and paid by them and I would like refund for at least the last set of tires that I recently bought and are already unevenly worn out (this makes it a useless tire). In case it is needed I have all the paper work that can be a clear evidence to this complaint. Like me, there are other Honda owners with the same issue.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #18

Jun 222012

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving heard loud humming noise and the ride was rough. Brought vehicle to Honda dealership in burlington. They said the tires were badly cupped. Needed to replace tires and get an alignment. Brought vehicle for a second opinion. Mechanic told me Honda had technical bulletin in 2008 for uneven wear in rear tires. The rear camber assembly needed to be replaced. Cost $250. Honda won't pay for it even though they were aware of the problem and never said anything. Add four new tires and wheel alignment and your looking close to $1000. If you don't get it fixed the tires will wear down regardless if you get tire rotations and blow out. Luckily no one has dies from this but this shouldn't be the reason for not having a recall. Look at the blogs, etc. Honda just tells everyone to replace tires and get an alignment. People do and keep coming back to replace tires. Honda has hid from this problem. I haven't replaced my tires but if I listened to Honda I would have replaced tires and been back again in 20,000-30,000 miles to replace tires. I should not have to pay for a serious problem that Honda hid from it's owners. Please help.

- Elon, NC, USA

problem #17

Feb 162012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Rear tires are cupping and they've become very noisy after 5,000 miles. Problem first noticed: November 2011. The rear tires were always slippery in tight curves at normal speed. Went to route 23 Honda, NJ for a check up on 02/16/12. They blamed my new tires (10000 miles old). Charged me $96.25 for a 4 wheel alignment, no problem found with the rear wheels. I have asked them about service bulletin 08-001 (uneven or rapid rear tire wear) but they did not admit any fault. They've said my car does not need a repair as per sb 08-001 mentioned above. I have contacted (opened account with) american Honda motor co. They did not call back.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 112010

Civic 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have less than 65,000 miles on my car. It has received regular scheduled maintenance from the Honda dealership. After replacing the 4 original Michelin tires @ 38,000 miles I have had to replace the rear tires 3 additional times. The car has an extremely loud "humming" noise coming from the rear end. It eats up the rear tires quickly, which cause the car to mishandle. Each new set of rear tires wears out more quickly than the previous ones. I just bought the 4th new set of rear tires on 12/18/2011, drove down to the los angeles area from sacramento. When I returned, I went to the tire store where I purchased the new tires, to gage/check out any possible wear that may have occurred on the trip. At less than 1000 miles (850 of these being highway miles), the new rear tires were already down to 8/32. The humming noise is so loud you can not have a normal conversation in the car, or hear a siren for that matter and the steering appears to be/feel loose. I am afraid to drive this car any short/long distance.

- Loomis, CA, USA

problem #15

Sep 182009

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,634 miles
Rapid tire wear occurred on the inner portions of both rear tires. The problem was discovered after noticing much road noise and having the tires rotated. Two new tires were purchased and the rear upper control arms were replaced. The problem still exists to this day after consulting two different Honda garages they both confirmed that the rear control arms were installed correctly and are within spec. Both garages recommended replacing the tires again, but this is becoming very costly. The ride of the car over the last year has gotten significantly worse and now I'm noticing braking problems. The car hops in the back when applying the brakes at highway speeds. Honda is denying the problem and has offered no compensation.

- Lancaster, NY, USA

problem #14

May 012008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
Rear tire wear to the belts. No adjustment of camber possible. Owner has no way to prevent this dangerous and expensive wear. These vehicle should all be recalled and rear camber adjustable components installed regardless of vehicle miles. Wear happens very quickly and is not shown at all on the front tires which have a fully adjustable suspension.

- Waterford, WI, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?