Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,443 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Feb 012011

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While having the tires replaced by an authorized dealer the contact was told that rear passenger side wheel hub needed to be replaced. The contact was also told that the failure caused excessive tread wear on the tires. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileages were unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Kittrell, NC, USA

problem #12

Mar 152011

Civic

  • 38,000 miles
Driving into the parking log going around 7 mph the support arm for the rear right wheel shock/suspension snapped in the middle and my wheel was basically dragging for around 20 feet so I could park and wait for the tow truck. This car is used as a commute car since I live in the country I drive around 70 miles a day combined mostly at 70 mph on cruise control on decent highways. I don't jump off ramps or drive crazy this is clearly poor manufacturing, workmanship, or design. I'm glad it happened when I was parking and not on the highway.

- Yoakum, TX, USA

problem #11

Jan 222011

Civic 4-cyl

  • 68,200 miles
2007 Honda hybrid, purchased new on 05/26/2007 at ed morse Honda in riviera beach Florida. Listing of auto problems dealer made aware of since purchase:/27/2007 left front window regulator failed: Under warranty/replaced/01/2009 ima (hybrid battery) indicator begins to drop to on bar, acceleration feels rough. Inspected but found no problems, yet auto still had same problems until it failed./10/2010 ima(hybrid battery) and engine light on, battery drops to no indication bars. Dealer reprogrammed internal software, under warranty/27/2010 left front window fell in, unable to operate, out of use until repaired (had to replace window and regulator, but window not broken, dealer insisted had to replace both). Charge $431.68, dealer states no longer under warranty, yet same window had failed on 12/27/2007./26/2010 ima (hybrid battery) software updated again, had been done 07/10/2010. Still under warranty./09/2010 ima failed (hybrid battery) and engine light on. Dealer replaced ima battery, under warranty. First reported concern to dealer 05/01/2009. Two updates to software attempts unsuccessful. Recall documented by Honda.//18/2010 left front wheel bearing failure. Charged $48.69 to diagnose. Dealer asking about $400 to repair. Unable to afford dealer cost, repaired elsewhere. Have learned there may be a recall on same issue NHTSA #: 07V399000./15/2011 gas cap door lever failed. Unable to open gas cap door to pump gas. Mechanism broke that has cable traveling from driver's seat to gas cap door. Had to dismantle component from within the trunk to open. I was at a gas station when this happened at night. Dealer is not open at this time. Very concerned with car's multiple function failures. Non of which have been caused by driver. As can be noted, the items that have failed could all lead to emergency situations. Have all receipts to verify the above. Need help. Please.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 132007

Civic

  • 5,622 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car rear end moves from side to side in adverse conditions such as ice and snow even driving at what should be a safe speed. Even on dry tar or concrete I notice something is not right. The tires wear unevenly on the rear. The 1st time I brought the car in on 12-13-07 at 5,622 miles the rear tires were shot and Honda blamed it on me. Bulletin # 08-011 (rear upper control arm kit) was performed on 1-24-08 and seemed to help some. That didn't solve the problem because on 2-12-09 at 14,489 miles the tires were shot. After that tire replacement the car was aligned all around and so I thought maybe that would solve the problem. Since then I still noticed the rear end was still unstable and went in several times to get the problem resolved and each time they either blamed it on me or said there was no problem. Then on 1-12-2011 at 38,359 miles and another week at the Honda shop I come to find out the tires are again worn badly on both rear inside edges. The only offer Honda cooperation has made is to replace the tires with them only paying some of the cost but no permanent solution. The 3rd set of tires I put on were the best cooper tires and still had the problem so I know replacing the tires again will not solve the problem. I and my family feel unsafe in this car especially under certain conditions. More important to me then anything is the safety of my family and I hope Honda will understand this and find a permanent solution before an accident happens at a result of this. Honda suggested trading the car in for something else but I can not pass this safety hazard on to another person and feel good about it.

- Springfield, MN, USA

problem #9

Jun 102010

Civic

  • 43,200 miles
My 2007 Honda Civic began having a loud sound coming from the drivers rear wheel. Upon looking on the internet I found a safety recall notice from Honda - service bulletin # 07-055 for rear ABS wheel speed sensor and O-ring inspection. It stated that some sensors were not installed properly and water may enter the hub assembly damaging the wheel bearings. In areas where road salt is used, the wheel bearings may corrode, which may result in the wheel falling off. I live in an area where road salt is used. My vehicle VIN number was listed within the range of potentially effected vehicles on the recall, but I never received a recall notice. I contacted Honda customer service, explained that my car has the wheel bearing issue as stated in the recall. They stated that my vehicle was not effected and only certain vehicles in the notice were effected, not all vins listed. They stated my vehicle would not be covered under the recall even if my vehicle has the defect. I took my vehicle to a service repair center which confirmed that my rear wheel bearing was bad and corroded. The car is only 3 years old and this should not have occurred. I had the exact problem as stated in the recall and feel that Honda should expand the recall to include all the vehicles they have listed in the recall notice. It's obvious more vehicles are effected than they thought. If they list a range of VIN numbers than they should check all on the list, not just pick and choose which ones they think might have the problem.

- Moyock, NC, USA

problem #8

Dec 162009

Civic

  • 83,000 miles
Front left wheel bearing and left rear wheel bearing need to be replaced after 80,000 miles on these 2007 Honda Civics.

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #7

Jul 012009

Civic

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both of my rear wheel bearings failed on my 2007 Honda Civic.

- Hooper, UT, USA

problem #6

Oct 072009

Civic

  • 28,000 miles
I have a 2007 Honda Civic LX. Today I took it to meinike to get my oil change and tires rotated. There was no tread left on the inner tires. I've rotated my tires every 6K miles and now I'm at 28K miles. The mechanic said I don't even know how you made it here. He didn't want to put them back on because their worn to the core. There is also no tread left. I didn't even know, but when I did a google search I found there was a recall on it. Honda said they wouldn't pay to have the tires fixed from their defect.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #5

Apr 052007

Civic

  • miles
My 2007 Honda Civic hybrid has uneven and irregular wear on the tires due to an extension arm problem in the rear. Honda issues a recall "fix" which did not fix the problem. The problem causes cupping which creates an extremely noisy, unstable ride. I have had to have my tires replaced four times. Honda has said they are aware of the problem and understand my "concern" but they will no longer replace my tires. I think it is unacceptable that I would have pay for rear tires more than twice a year because of their engineering problem. I noticed the problem about a month after purchasing the vehicle and it has been a constant battle! the car becomes really unstable and in Minnesota winters, it handles terrible in winter conditions. I have slid in the ditch when others were traveling much faster than myself based on the road conditions. This is a nuisance and safety issue.

- Windom, MN, USA

problem #4

Jul 012008

Civic

  • 30,000 miles
Honda civi 2007 LX coupe; noise coming from wheels/tires. Took to dealer they said tires. Went to tire dealer, they said not tires but rims. Noise gets really bad around 70. This has been ongoing for a few months. Getting expensive, frustrated.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #3

May 222008

Civic 4-cyl

  • 27,974 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Small vibration heard in the rear of the car. Took car in for routine maintenance, told them of sound coming from the rear of car. They informed us that there was a service bulletin on the car, advising them to replace the upper control arms and tires. Parts were on back order. Reported on 5/22, today is 6/9, part still not replaced. Honda refusing to replace tires, even though defective part caused rear tire to ware unevenly and rapidly. Fear this is a safety issue and am concerned about driving on the highway.

- Hebron , KY, USA

problem #2

Oct 052007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,644 miles
2007 Honda Civic LX sedan has exhibited chassis vibration and wheel noise at highway speeds. Passenger side rear tire is cupping. Three visits to two Honda dealership service facilities has not corrected this chronic problem.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #1

Jul 222007

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Civic. While approaching an exit ramp at 60 mph, the contact discovered that the ramp was full and tried to maneuver the vehicle to remain on the highway. He slammed on the brakes, but the vehicle did not decelerate or stop. He lost control of the vehicle and struck the guard rail. The contact sustained minor injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle sustained major damages. Honda was not notified because the cause of the failure was unknown. He received a recall letter (Q56) regarding the wheels on October 1, 2007. The current and failure mileages were 7,000.

- New Carrolton , MD, USA

Not what you are looking for?