Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,347 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Mar 012011

Civic

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The red dashboard "warning light" for my airbags stays on almost all the time. Once in awhile it goes off, but then goes on again, for no reason I can see. My mechanic has tried to "reset" it after routine maintenance and cannot. I bought this car as a "certified" used Honda vehicle. It was three years old and had about 25,000 miles when I bought it. It has had this problem for the entire time I have had the vehicle. I took it into Honda to have it repaired soon after I bought it and was told they would have to do a "diagnostic" first which would cost me about $ 200. That would only tell them what was wrong and would not necessarily fix the problem. Since the light sometimes went off, I figured it was just a problem with the light and not with the system itself and just ignored it. Last week I heard a news story on television and then saw an article in the L.a. times which stated that NHTSA is now investigating the exact same problem in 2008 Honda Accord. NHTSA has received 19 complaints, including a consumer who was in a 50 mph accident where the airbag did not deploy. The article states that this is thought to be a defect with the "air bag control computer model". the defect causes the air bag status indicator lamp to illuminate and the air bag system is disabled until it is repaired. The estimated cost to replace the Accord unit it $ 455. I am sure my 2008 Honda Civic has the same problem. I did not know until I read this article that my air bag is not operable if the status light is on. I request that 2008 Honda Civics be investigated along with 2008 Honda Accord for this problem, for possible recall.

- Altadena, CA, USA

problem #33

Aug 132015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 131,013 miles
My son was driving my 2008 Honda Civic to college on highway 44 heading West at approximately 2:10 pm toward joplin mo. While driving West on 44, the driver side airbag suddenly deployed. My son said he heard a loud bang and his head was pushed back into the headrest. When the airbag deployed he immediately slammed on the brakes and ended off the road on the left side in the median. He was shocked and over whelmed that this occurred because he did not hit anything. A helpful person stopped and helped remove the deployed airbag. Soon afterward, state police arrived after another motorist called and confirmed no damage occurred to the car to warrant deployment of an airbag. My son then continued on to joplin. The following day, my son took the car to the Honda dealership in joplin. After inspection, the dealership claimed that a small hole in the front fender cause the airbag to deploy...they found grass and debris from the highway median around the damaged area. They were very uncooperative and more willing to blame the cause on my son rather than a defective airbag system that is known to be a problem in several other models. Indeed, while they are concerned about the cause and looking for other reasons. Meanwhile, we are more concerned and lucky that my son did not get killed in this incident! what about other sons, daughters and loved ones driving these time bombs...are they going to be this lucky" the car suffered no collision and yet the airbag deployed which is the fact the Honda dealership is ignoring. I am more inclined to believe the airbag system is defective considering the history of the airbag systems. What more will it take for this issue to be resolved, more airbag deployments and more deaths" sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Smithton, IL, USA

problem #32

Jan 152015

Civic

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Honda Civic. While driving 25 mph and making a left turn, the contact crashed into another vehicle and the air bags deployed. The powder from the air bags entered the contact's mouth and the metal from the air bags entered her eyes. As a result, the contact sustained a fractured nose, jaw, knee, and back injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000. Updated 04/07/16

- Madera, CA, USA

problem #31

Apr 052015

Civic

  • 102,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling out of a walmart parking lot through a 4 way intersection onto center of new england boulevard (coventry, ri). This is a strip road used for accessing the developed shopping area but not a main road. I was increasing speed from a stopped position and turning left, did not exceed 10mph and was already through the turn aiming straight when my passenger airbag exploded without incident. I did not call police because there was no incident to warrant their arrival and I was on my way to an international flight at boston logan airport so my insurance loophole claims I have to file a claim within 7 days to validate a claim. My international trip was 18 days in vietnam and I didn't try to file an insurance claim until my return; more than 7 days after the incident. No prior accidents, damage claims etc on the vehicle.

- Hopkinton, RI, USA

problem #30

May 192015

Civic

  • miles
On 5/19/2015 the driver air bag light came lit up on my cluster and my seat belt light comes on and beeps even though I have my seat belt on the correct way.

- San Bernardino , CA, USA

problem #29

Dec 182014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was driving to work on 12/18/14 between 5 and 5:30. The airbags deployed on the passenger side of my car. Sending my car on the curb popping the drivers side front tire and bending both rims on the drivers side.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 022015

Civic

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that another vehicle crashed into the rear of his vehicle causing it to crash into the rear of another vehicle. During the incident, the front end became severely damaged but the air bags did not deploy. The driver suffered bruises to the upper torso and the front passenger suffered injuries to both knees and the right hand. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,000.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #27

Dec 052014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 81,656 miles
The air bag indicator light on the car's dash panel came "on" without any event triggering it. My local repair shop, playa West automotive (310-822-9115) investigated & received a "32-10" open circuit indication for the passenger side air bag, showing that the passenger side air bag deployment system was de-activated. This explains the light coming "on". their investigation found a frayed wiring harness under the passenger seat. The shop called the local Honda dealer & was told that there was a repair advisory about this issue, but the Honda dealer refused to do any repair to fix it B/C the car is no longer under warranty. This repair is going to cost me over $700 for parts & labor B/C the passenger seat has to be removed to access the wiring. Can you please investigate whether or not a safety recall is warranted for this hazard. The only thing that might be different about my car is that I have a manual transmission. Otherwise, it is in good condition, with relatively low mileage. I rarely carry a passenger in the front seat. Thank you & happy holidays.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Oct 272014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 111,950 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 15 mph, there was a loud noise and the driver side air bag exploded with force impacting the driver. The air bag exploded emitting a substance in the interior of the vehicle. The driver was able to merge to the side of the road near the contact's residence. The driver sustained major injuries to the hands, face, a broken wrist, clavicle and a herniated disk. The contact sustained abrasions and cuts. The contact and the driver both received medical attention. A police report was not filed. The insurance adjustor had the vehicle taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection and diagnosis of the air bag failure. The contact was also waiting for a response from the manufacturer to inspect and diagnose the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,950...updated 12/30/14 updated 01/06/15...updated 01/14/15 updated 05/20/2015

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #25

Nov 202014

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I heard over the television and radio that the airbags on my car are unsafe if there is an accident - that unsafe particles are released in the car causing health problems.

- Evanston, IL, USA

problem #24

Oct 042014

Civic

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving at a unknown speed, the vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained unknown injuries that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Charolette, NC, USA

problem #23

Aug 192014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
SRS light stays on. Local Honda dealer service dept. Analyzed (9/16/14) fault vehicle codes 32-10, 71-10, 85-61. Service man: "tests indicate bad crimp when installed at factory, not due to wear & tear." Called America Honda (800-999-1009), case number N012014-09-2900377, but would not cover estimated $1122 to repair. It is understood that in this condition, the air bags are deactivated and will not deploy. Since it is indicated that this is a factory issue, it is felt this should be covered by the manufacturer. Thank you for you review of this...updated 12/02/14

- Lincoln, AL, USA

problem #22

Aug 282014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 46,463 miles
(driver only in car; no passengers.) secured driver's side seat belt, started car and placed car in reverse. No lights displayed on dash. While checking my mirrors to reverse, the side airbag off indicator light illuminates on dash for a few seconds and then goes out. I looked around the vehicle and checked the seat belt, all ok. After 5 miles and upon entering the interstate at about 30 mph the side airbag off indicator light illuminates on the dash for a few seconds and then goes out (just as noted above). The car was taken straight to the dealer to have the codes pulled but nothing appeared on the bus or in memory. The dealer cannot address the problem because it is intermittent but warned me that my airbag safety system may not work correctly. This exact problem has been report online by hundreds of Honda drivers but Honda states they cannot address the issue because it is intermittent and/or no recall has been issued for my specific vehicle. This known problem has to be addressed in light of all the airbag issues with various Honda makes and model years.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #21

May 192014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Collided with truck and damaged front and right quarter panel (approx. $6400 damage) collision threw me from driver's seat to passenger door. I was wearing seat belt as prescribed. The seat belt was completely stretched across both seats but did not restrain me from crossing to opposite side of car. Nor did any air bags deploy (nether side or front). SRS system showed activation.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #20

Mar 232014

Civic

  • 110,000 miles
The steering wheel began to pull my car to the left side. The steering wheel did not respond to the direction right and felt as if it had gone "limp". the front of the car hit the left center median guardrail. I suffered herniated discs and lumbar back injury. The drivers airbag never deployed resulting in my head hitting the steering wheel. I suffered a concussion and cervical neck injury. There were no other cars involved and no weather conditions. Also I was going below the speed limit. I called Honda and they said they could not explain nor help me with the airbag not deploying and the concussion I suffered. They also could not help me regarding the steering wheel pulling left then "going limp". I am still seeing a neurologist and physical therapist for my lumbar and cervical injuries, and neurological signs and symptoms.

- Goshen, NY, USA

problem #19

May 082014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The SRS light turned on intermittently for a few months but last Monday the SRS airbag indicator stayed on. Took the car to the dealer and they found out that the SRS floor wire harness needs to be replaced. The dealer is telling me that this issue is not covered under warranty and that I have to pay over $1000 to fix it. A wire harness related to SRS airbag, the biggest safety concern for any car manufacturer has a wire harness defect and it is not covered. This grave issue is clearly a defect in many of Honda's models and they refuse to cover the cost of repairing it?

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #18

Dec 282013

Civic

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph the contact made a left turn and the front and rear air bags deployed. The vehicle was maneuvered to the side of the road; however, the contact was able to drive the vehicle to her residence. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic could not diagnose failure and determine why the air bags deployed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000.

- Bloomington , CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 242014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 62,905 miles
While entering an on ramp at speed less than 30 mph to a parkway the drivers side, side curtain airbag deployed by itself. The seatbelt also engaged and was we were not able to use the seatbelt after the incident. Injuries included a very bruised arm and shoulder and a ringing in the ear that lasted more than 12 hours.

- Ponte Vedra, FL, USA

problem #16

Dec 182013

Civic 4-cyl

  • 121,301 miles
The air bag light (SRS light) has been coming on and off for about a month. The Honda dealer said it was a code 32-10, an open in the front passenger' side airbag inflator. Need to replace the floor wiring harness per sb 10-001, the SRS portion of the floor harness has a poor crimp in it. That is on the dealer work order. The Honda dealer said the car is out of warranty, and the repair is about $1300. This is not a wear item, wiring harness should not fail and cause a safety issue, inoperative air bag. Thank you for reviewing. I believe Honda has a ongoing problem that needs addressing. Also, I've requested the faulty wiring harness. If you would like to see it, please contact me.

- Smryna, GA, USA

problem #15

Oct 262012

Civic 4-cyl

  • 54,900 miles
Car was on I95 North, volusia county, Florida. It was raining. 2008 Honda Civic hydroplaned and flipped three times. None of the airbags deployed.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?