10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,641 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

Aug 022016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hillsboro, IL, USA

problem #63

Mar 232016

Civic

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. While driving 35 mph, the driver side air bag inadvertently deployed. As a result, the contact became unconscious and crashed into a pole. The contact sustained a whiplash that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Petaluma, CA, USA

problem #62

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
I received a recall notice in may, 2016 and called dealer in June and was told part would not be available for 2 months. I called again 8/16/16 and was told the part would not be available until October or November. I live in Texas and school is starting and I pickup my grandchildren from school several times a week. I am very concerned for their safety in my car. I am angry and disgusted by my dealer's nonchalant attitude regarding the recall replacement. I would like to sell this car, but I could not in good concious, while this condition remains. It is disturbing that Honda is this unprepared in addressing this problem, one that has been going on for years.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #61

Jan 012012

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The paint is cracking and chipping the oil bracket nut is leaking and weak (can cause fire to burn faster than normal) the air bag on left is defective

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #60

Aug 112016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- York, PA, USA

problem #59

Aug 052016

Civic

  • 121,000 miles
Takata recall. While driving approximately 10 mph, the air bag ruptured without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who stated that they would repair it at the contact's expense. The failure was not due to the open recall and was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that it was different from the deployment versus a rupture; therefore, it would not be remedied. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The failure mileage was approximately 121,000.

- Martinsburg, VA, USA

problem #58

Aug 052016

Civic

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. While driving 10 mph, the front passenger side air bag deployed inadvertently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 121,000.

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #57

Jul 072016

Civic 4-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
I received a letter in July stating the recall for the air bags propellant wafers being defected. I have called american Honda for the past week everyday trying to talk with a case manager about my specific needs of alternative transportation. I currently work for neuro community care who is contracted by wounded warriors. We currently serve over 500 warriors who have brain injuries across the us. My daily job is to Transport warriors with brain injuries to medical appointments, stores, and community outings. To many it is their only source of getting out of the house. For many suffer from ptsd. This job is my only source of income and not having a safe vehicle to use for my work is unacceptable. I have been told every time I call that a case manager has to call me back, but after a week I have heard nothing. My clients and my employment are suffering. I need your help in helping me getting hold of a case manager from american Honda who can authorize the rental of a safe vehicle while I wait for my Honda to get fixed. I have contacted my local Honda dealer (leith Honda in raleigh) and their response was they thinks the parts will be in within 2-3 weeks, but it is just a estimate. Please, please, please help me! I am afraid of the injuries for my clients as well as my family. My email is ([xxx] and my phone number is [xxx] sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #56

Aug 042016

Civic

  • 130,000 miles
Takata recall: I purchased this car to Transport myself, spouse and 3 children. Since being notified of the recall, I can only Transport 4 of us, since by Honda's own instructions on the recall, "Honda suggests you should avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed." I requested a loaner car from Honda on 7/23/16 at 1-888-234-2138 and was told it would be forwarded to the "case management dept". no contact from Honda. I called again on 8/4/16 and was told by Kia that there is no direct phone # to case management, that I have no assigned case # for the loaner request and that she could not tell me when I would be contacted by the case management department. This unsafe car and lack of response by Honda is creating a burden for my family. I notified Kia that I would be making a complaint to NHTSA.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #55

Aug 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The contact called two dealers who were unable to provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #54

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact mentioned that the dmv prohibited the renewal of the driver's license due to the takata recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #53

Oct 292013

Civic

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. While the contact's vehicle was idling at a traffic light, another vehicle crashed into the front end. The frontal air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic and repaired for the body damage. The SRS warning indicator illuminated after the repairs were performed. The independent mechanic referred the contact to the dealer. The dealer wanted to charge the contact for the diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #52

Jul 282016

Civic

  • 138,000 miles
Takata inflators: The following is concerning my 2008 Honda Civic and Honda's failure in their recall campaign: 23 May 2016: Honda issues recall concerning vehicles in my model year and suggest I check my VIN against their database of recalled vehicles to see if my specific vehicle is affected. 27 May 2016: I contact Honda with VIN to see if my vehicle is affected. I am told that it is not. 27 July 2016: Receive letter in mail saying a recall was issued on my vehicle on 23 May. 28 July 2016: I contact Honda again and they confirm that there is a recall on my vehicle. I was told that their system had not updated the new information when I called 4 days after the recall was issued. In the days immediately following a recall issue is most likely when consumers are to check to see if their product is affected. If databases are not updated to reflect current information, many consumers, like myself, may have been driving around for the past two months with dangerous air bags even though they did their do diligence to research their vehicles. Honda's suggestion to check your VIN against their recall database was an insufficient solution to the airbag issue. Honda's failure to update recall databases (until sometime after 27 May 2016) following the issue of their recall on 23 May 2016 was dangerously negligent.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #51

Jul 212016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #50

Jul 262016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. I have to wait on parts to be available. In the meantime I must drive my car and I am taking a chance of having metal pieces fly in my face even as the driver. We drove cars without airbags long ago-I should have the choice at least of dismantling the airbags until they can be fixed. This is crap!

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #49

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles
I received a safety recall NHTSA recall 16V-346 on Saturday 7-23-2016, passenger frontal air bag, metal fragment could pass airbag cushion. Today 7/25/2016 the Honda dealer and Honda automobile customer service does not and will not offer a rental car for this recall, they state no one should sit in the passenger seat. Customer service stated it will late summer early fall before the parts will be in. If an accident would occur and the bag deployed the driver (me) would not be in a safe environment. Honda does not seemed to be concerned about the customers safety or convenience.

- Elizabeth, PA, USA

problem #48

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #47

Jul 222016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/22/16

- Jackson Center, PA, USA

problem #46

Jul 052016

Civic

  • 120,000 miles
Takata recall - heard the airbag might be on recall about a month ago. Daughter drives this car to college. Looked up Civic online and it met the recall for takata airbag. Took to dealership but they said they have no part for replacement until fall. This is unacceptable. Our 4 seat car is now a 'limo' as no one can sit in the front passenger seat. Also my daughter must return to college without the repair completed as the parts are not expected until after she must return. Her college is over 6 hours away. This is beyond inconvenient. And very unsafe. You need to supply the repair much sooner.

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #45

Jul 152016

Civic

  • 105,000 miles
Takata recall - I searched my VIN number to determine any potential recalls on my vehicle to find that mine is included on the airbag recall. I called my local dealership, and they informed me that they would order the part and it would take roughly a week to ship in; it would take about 45 minutes to fix once the part was in. I was utterly shocked that she wasn't surprised or even wanting to verify any information on my vehicle. I never received any notice as to the issue on my vehicle, and only found out from being proactive. This recall has been out since may of 2016, and its July and I still have yet to receive any information from Honda" this seems like gross negligence should something have happened if I was in an accident; I wouldn't have known that my passenger and possibly myself could be killed due to metal fragments being released when the airbag ruptures. Is it not required that this information be made aware to the owners of the vehicles by the manufacturers? why did I have to go out of my way to find out that there is a problem that is of their doing? where are the repercussions against the company for failing to be proactive" I have other issues with my vehicle that I will file under other reports. Honda isn't getting off clean anymore, not when they're quality has dropped and negatively impacted the safety of others.

- Renfrew, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?