10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,641 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #84

Jul 212016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall contacted dealer in late July. Still no remedy.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #83

May 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall, I have not been able to use the car for six months and no one will replace the air bag. This has caused a severe financial problem.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #82

Aug 012016

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available...updated 12/20/16 updated 12/21/16.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #81

Jul 102016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #80

Sep 302016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Flagstaff, AZ, USA

problem #79

Sep 292016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/20/16

- Saint Marys, PA, USA

problem #78

Jul 202016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice in July. I contacted Honda to have the recall performed. They told me they would contact me when the parts arrived. It is now almost October and I have received no response to date. The recall notice states that the defect should be remedied within 60 days from the date that the dealer was contacted for a repair appointment. It has been well past 60 days with no response. I contacted them again and left a voicemail today, September 28, 2016.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #77

Sep 262016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall I called the Honda dealership at central avenue in albany NY thinking they could address the dashboard light indicating a malfunction with the airbag knowing in the past there has been a recall on this yet they reported they cant help me other than me purchasing the part. This is a great dilemma for me considering I dont have the money for this and my car wont pass inspection as long as this light is on; the current sticker expires in three days!

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #76

Jul 142016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. Honda recall # KA5. Received notice of recall July 2016. Have not received any indication that remedy for recall is available. According to the website safercar.gov, the recall was made known in May 2016. I would like to know how to resolve this safety issue. This seems to be too much time to wait to have such a serious problem resolved.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #75

Jul 122016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #74

Jul 212016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #73

Jun 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the air bag warning light randomly illuminated. The dealer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Oceansprings, MS, USA

problem #72

May 242016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bruce, MS, USA

problem #71

Jul 102016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. I found out about the recall in July and called the local dealer and Honda, and was told the part was not yet available and I would be notified when it was. On 9/20, I checked with the dealer and was told that the part is available but they have to order the VIN-specific part, which takes up to 4 weeks. I then called Honda to see why I wasn't noticed that the part was available, and the rep said Honda changed its mind about sending the parts availability notice and apologized for the "miscommunication." The original recall notice advises me not to have a front-seat passenger, which is not always possible. The Honda rep was very polite but firm, essentially telling me too bad; I just need to wait and try not to use the passenger seat in the meantime. The dealer was also cavalier about the matter, suggesting I check back in case they don't contact me. Assuming the part is available in 4 weeks and the dealer fixes it quickly, that will still be 3 months of driving a car with a defect that has been lethal for people (should say since I knew I was driving a car with a potentially lethal defect). Doesn't Honda have any responsibility here?

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #70

Sep 092016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall efforts are not being completed in a timely manner. The recall date for my vehicle (May 23, 2016) was almost four months ago and I'm still told that parts are not available to correct the issue, yet still have to drive around in a vehicle that is potentially deadly. This is unacceptable.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #69

Sep 082016

Civic

  • miles
Your video looks like both airbags are defective. My recall letter only said passengers side" which is it? why dont you supply a rent a car? I have to drive my grandchildren to school, what about thier safety in back seat"

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #68

May 272016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rockingham, VA, USA

problem #67

Sep 062016

Civic

  • miles
Parts not available per company. Company ask us to contact dealers. Dealer on contacted transfers to company. Difficult to keep on wasting time on phone for hours and loose working hours and so reduced pay. Tired. Parts are not available since almost six or more months.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #66

Jul 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) was received. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/13/16

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #65

May 232016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall - months delay in getting part to replace, still have not been able schedule a repair.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?