10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,806 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda Civic seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

May 312016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, how long does Honda expect us to wait for them to replace the airbags" is 3 months long enough or 6 months " its a great hardship not allowing a passenger to sit in the front seat

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #38

Oct 042016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). However, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 01/11/2017

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #37

Jul 262016

Civic

  • miles
Honda has decided that a defect which relates to motor vehicles safefty exists in certain 2006 2011 model year vehicles the propellant wafers in some of the subject inflators may degrade over time, which could lead to over aggressive combustion in the event the air bag is activated. Overly aggressive combustion creates excessive internal pressure when the inflator is activated, which may cause the inflator body to rupture. In the event of an inflator rupture, metal fragments could pass through the air bag cushion material possibly causing injury to vehicle occupant. This is important safety recall I take mi Honda at dealer direct auto plaza on 7/26/16 and never recive notice regarding fix the problem only they say you need to wait today is 9/27/16 is very important Honda automobile division take responsability for this defect

- Brawley, CA, USA

problem #36

Jul 152016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #35

Mar 072016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall, for months I haven't been able to have anyone ride in the passenger seat. Due to a possible airbag malfunction. How do I get Honda to buy back my car since I can't use it as intended. Please advise

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #34

Jun 012016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall: This is taking far to long to resolve as the Honda web site says after entering the VIN # that: Recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available manufacturer notes: If the manufacturer has failed or is unable to remedy this safety recall for your vehicle in a timely manner, please contact the NHTSA vehicle safety hotline at: 1-888-327-4236 or tty: 1-800-424-9153 or file an online complaint with NHTSA. This recall data last refreshed: Aug 28, 2016 we received initial notice by mail: June 2016 we are not able to utilize the front seat and this limits the car to carrying 3/4 of its 4 passengers which is needed at least once a week.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #33

Jul 242016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall latter on Friday July 22, 2016. I called America Honda for repair, but I was told no parts available at the moment and to call Honda dealer for service, on Monday July 24, 2016 I called Honda dealer for service on the recall airbag, but they told me no parts available at this moment. Also they told me not have a passenger in the car. Because if in an incident and the airbag deploy they're not responsible for any damaged or injuries. I have not used my 2010 Honda Civic since July 24, 2010 due to unsafe reason and danger for my family. I still owe for my 2010 Honda Civic and don't understand why America Honda doesn't hurry up and repair the defected airbags (takata recall). I use my 2010 Honda Civic to take my family to school, park, store, doctors appointments, dental appointments, and visit families, and not to mention my work. This repair delay causing me stress, problem getting to work and places'. my wife and I stop attending cerritos college due to takata recall, because it's unsafe and dangerous for my family to use the passenger seat. My family should not pay the price for any defected parts or malfunction safety equipment. On top of that, why should I pay my 2010 Honda Civic monthly payment if I'm not using the vehicle, due to Honda unsafe and dangerous safety equipment ( takata recall).

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 192016

Civic

  • 63,009 miles
During long driving and vehicle in motion couple of times I have observed passenger air bag light going on and off. During driving on 8/19/2016 from Connecticut to Pennsylvania I have observed the issue and taken photo for evidence and attached herewith.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #31

Jul 222016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a letter in the mail from Honda that there is a recall on Honda Civics years 2006-2011. I researched the recall and it turns out its for the passenger's air bag. I reached out to the closest Honda dealer to me and they said they have to order the part because they didn't have it in store and they would get back to me. I gave them all my information and I reached out to them on July 22, 2016 and it now been over a month and I still have not received a call back from them. Therefore I'm filing this complaint. Please at your convenience reach back out to me. Thank you.

- Banning, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 082016

Civic

  • 45,000 miles
"takata recall" I received a letter on July from Honda saying that the air bags recall had been extended to include my car's passenger side air bag. They joyfully say that they will not have a replacement part until September or October, so they ask me in the meantime to avoid taking any passenger in my car. Are these guys high? if having this defective air bags is worse and more dangerous than not having one, what about have them (Honda) either deactivate or remove this faulty piece of equipment and let me use my car as I please and take all the passengers that I want without having them killed by their mistakes?

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 012016

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car horn to honk is not working. I replaced the fuse and it won't work. This is very dangerous!! I can't warn cars that are about to crash into me that I'm there. I can't prevent accidents without honking. Some cars don't see me in there blind spots. I feel like if someone crashes into me Honda will be part at fault bc the horn doesn't work. I received a recall letter from Honda saying the air bags are being recalled. I think the horn situation should be investigated bc the horn and the airbag are located in the same place. My horn malfunction before but it had gotten fixed by itself.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #28

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V0346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Alamo, TX, USA

problem #27

Jun 102010

Civic

  • miles
There is a defect in the passenger side air bag

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012016

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Honda Civic. Consumer requests name of vehicle airbags manufacturer. Consumer sent additional correspondence.

- Hackettstown, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 312016

Civic

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #24

Jul 252016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #23

Aug 012016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V34600 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #22

Aug 012016

Civic

  • miles
What may happen! a crash ! sally got a letter from Honda today. But they do not have the parts to fix the problem with the airbag. Can you tell me when I can take my car into dellaship in metairie, la. Sally brown

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #21

Jul 252016

Civic

  • 85,000 miles
Takata recall. Got notification last week that my car was recalled for passenger airbag possibly exploding. Called dealer. Dealer said they don't have parts. Haven't had parts "for months" and don't even know for sure if they'll get parts when Honda says they will in two months. Can explode at any time, even when not in crash. This is really unacceptable. So I'm not allowed to carry passengers until god knows when? you need to get on Honda and fine them until they make this right for everyone. Stalling and delaying on such serious repairs is not safe for anyone. It is ridiculous how long they are dragging this out when they knew the parts were defective almost from the beginning and continued to use them. They need to be held accountable.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #20

Jul 212016

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Foster City, CA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?