Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,902 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda Element windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda Element:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda Element Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

May 212004

Element 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.small pebblew hit windshield 2.windshield mostly chips, except for chips at edge of windshield which cracks propergate quickly. 3.windshield was replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #116

Jul 042004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2003 Honda Element windshield has been broken 3 times. It was hit by rocks all 3 times. I watched the 2nd crack splinter up the windshield as I drove to the dealer. It was not covered by the warranty and had to pay $400 to replace. I'm 52 and have had many, many cars and haven't had 3 broken windshields in the lot. I feel there is a design flaw or sub-standard glass is used.

- Sparta, NJ, USA

problem #115

Jun 172004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,517 miles
During the first 10 months of ownership, the windshield on my Honda Element 2003 (purchased new on 8/28/03)) has been pitted three times and has beginning N 6/17/04 developed a hairline crack beginning onthe passenger side and extending fifteen inches towards the driver's side. As of 7/2/04, I have made contact witrh the dealer (baron Honda in patchogue, NY) and american Honda Motors by phone and certified mail. The condition is still being disputed by the manufacturer as to whether or not the warranty applies.

- Montauk, NY, USA

problem #114

Jun 262004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda Element windshield cracked for no apparent reason. The crack is about 7 inches long coming up from the lower corner on the passenger side front windshield and curving to the side. The dealership tried to tell me that a rock had to have hit the windshield because "these windshields don't crack." They said that there was a place where the rock hit just below the windshield wiper that, while you can't see it, you can feel if your run a pen along the crack. The dealership service dept (that I've had a prior bad experience with) said the warranty wouldn't cover it but my insurance should. I learned via the internet that Honda has a service bulletin out on this problem. I purchased a full extended warrantee, and Honda should be fixing this problem.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #113

Jun 202004

Element

  • miles
2003 Honda Element experience a second windshield failure at ~15000 miles. First failure was reported under complaint 10078841. Similar to the first failure, the dealer identified a small rock strike and denied coverage under the vehicle warranty. The crack is 12 inches long, running diagonally from the passenger side upper corner toward the driver side corner. The fragility of the windshield in the Honda Element is unusual and abnormal. Honda motor co. Is in denial and is costing consumers and insurance companies. In 30 yrs of driving I have never experienced windshield failures like this. The body of this vehicle is quite flexible. Warranty work has been required on the body to eliminate squeaks caused by a rubbing at a welded seam under the windshield cowling. The dealer spread the seam (between each weld point) with a screwdriver and filled the cavity with a flexible compound. The squeaks stopped, but, there appears to be a bigger problem. Is this windshield going to withstand airbag deployment and keep the bag in the vehicle to cushion occupants? considering the large number of complaints seen in forums, Honda motor co. Needs to come out of denial and start addressing the design flaw in this vehicle that causes windshields to fracture under normal use.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #112

Sep 302003

Element 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2003 Honda Element windshield cracked in the middle. Crack appeared after a loud pop with ~4,000 miles. The Honda dealer examined the crack and found a small chip from the surface of the glass. The service manager informed me that Honda has issued a service bulletin to its dealers, instructing them to roll a ball point pen along the crack searching for indentations. If one is found, a rock strike is deemed to have caused the crack. The service manager said Honda will not warranty windshields that have evidence of a rock strike (no matter how minor). Honda will fix windshields that meet tsb03-028 which addresses cracks in the lower corners. The fragility of the windshield in the Honda Element is unusual and abnormal. Honda motor co. Is in denial and is costing consumers and insurance companies. In 30 yrs of driving I have never experienced windshield failures like this. The body of this vehicle is quite flexible. Warranty work has been required on the body to eliminate squeaks caused by a rubbing at a welded seam under the windshield cowling. The dealer spread the seam (between each weld point) with a screwdriver and filled the cavity with a flexible compound. The squeaks stopped, but, there appears to be a bigger problem. Is this windshield going to withstand airbag deployment and keep the bag in the vehicle to cushion occupants? considering the large number of complaints seen in forums, Honda motor co. Needs to come out of denial and start addressing the design flaw in this vehicle that causes windshields to fracture under normal use.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #111

Apr 122004

Element

  • 420 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A crack appeared on the front windshield, at the top driver side. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #110

Mar 162004

Element

  • 3,000 miles
Less than three thousand miles into owning the vehicle consumer noticed a crack in the windshield. Dealer insisted that the crack came from a rock, and the insurance company could not confirm the allegation. Dealer replaced the windshield, but the new windshield had a crack also.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #109

Apr 172004

Element

  • miles
Windshield cracked. I don't know how this happen because the day it happen I had been in my car all day long. I never heard anything hit the windshield or anything. When I discovered the crack, I was totally surprise because there was nothing I could pinpoint that cause it to crack. I have not repaired it yet B/C I am hoping Honda will do a recall of these windshields!!

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #108

May 312004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,147 miles
1) under normal driving windshield in vehicle cracked..impact questionable...looks stress related 2) caused visibility problem while driving 3) Honda has not offered to remedy the problem as of yet.

- West Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #107

Aug 182003

Element 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Within the first few weeks of getting my brand new 2003 Honda Element, I had a crack and star chip in the vehicle's windshield. Within the next month, it acquired yet another chip. As a result of the Element's windshield's unprecedented vulnerability, I question its safety. At the very least, it represents inferior quality of materials and/or design, which is costing drivers and insurance companies significant amounts of money for repair costs. So far, american Honda and the dealership insist that there is no inherent flaw in materials, design, or installation, and want to attribute the chips and crack to bad luck. However, Honda owners are documenting this problem in droves on www.hondaelement.org, and on www.epinions. com. Honda must acknowledge the problem, replace the defective windshields at their cost, and re-spec the Element's windshield.

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #106

Jun 152003

Element 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,000 miles
I have had my Element less than 1 year, at 1000 mi I developed a stress crack in the windshield that dealer said was from a "rock", but there was no evidence to support it - they did after protest replace it "one" time. At 10000 mi I now have another crack in almost the same place that seemed to come on with out any impact - we are in the negotiating stages.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #105

Jan 062004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The windshield chips very easily. We incurred three chips in just one day, one of which quickly turned into a twelve inch crack.

- Beaverton , OR, USA

problem #104

Apr 212004

Element

  • miles
I bought a 2003 Honda Element in December of 2003. A few days after picking up the brand new car, I discovered a 4" crack on my windshield. The cracked started from a very small pinpoint speck on the right side of the windshield in the black area. I contacted the dealer, but they said it's not covered by warranty since the crack was caused by road debris, regardless of how small that debris may be. Two months after that, I discovered a 3" crack on the left side of the windshield. Again, the cracked started with a pinpoint on the black area of the windshield. I called the windshield experts in my area, who informed me that they've been replacing an overwhelming number of windshields on Honda Elements. Armed with this information, I contacted Honda customer relations. The representative denied any issues with windshields on the Elements and refused to provide information on whether they have received similar complaints. The most she could do was submit a complaint on my behalf (complaint number N012004-04-2100773). Windshields are expensive to replace and Honda needs to own up to this prevalent problem with the windshields on the Elements. They need to provide a solution.

- Fairfax, VT, USA

problem #103

Apr 162004

Element 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,050 miles
Stress crack appeared after nothing hit the windshield. Crack starts below the drivers side winshield wiper and curves towards the center of the windshield, stopping about 15" later. Service manager at Honda calls a hole the size of a pin head just above the wiper a "point of impact." How can a rock ever hit there?

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #102

Apr 092004

(reported on)

Element

  • 12,000 miles
Consumer complained about a windshield problem. There was a crack on the lower passenger side of the windshield. Consumer stated there was no impact mark on the windshield. However, dealer claimed there was an impact mark, and refused to repair it.

- Twin Peaks, CA, USA

problem #101

Feb 262004

Element

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Windshield crack number 2.

- Purdys, NY, USA

problem #100

Mar 202004

Element 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 6,901 miles
Windshield cracked at 6901 miles when there were no other automobiles on the interstate highway when it occurred. Now at 7101 miles we have a 12 inch crack starting from the side of the windscreen on the passenger side. Appears to be due to the windshield design and stress on the glass.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #99

Feb 152004

Element 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
Starting back in February 2004, my windshield has been cracking for no apparent reason. On 4/3/04, I had my 5th windshield installed due to a microscopic 'impact' right underneath the wiper blade. Four cracks in the exact same location is far more then coincidence.

- Kingston, MA, USA

problem #98

Feb 142003

Element 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
2003 Honda Element windshield cracked three times within 12,000 miles. First crack appeared on the passenger's side, starting from the lower edge approximately centered with the wiper blade straight up six inches with a sharp turn outwards to the right. Went to dealer for replacement (metro Honda, johnston ri) representative said crack was caused by stone or foreign object and was not covered by the warranty. There was no sign of impact. Representative, under very close inspection found the smallest speck within crack. It is tiny, I'd say the size of a grain of salt. About three weeks later the second crack appeared on the driver's side from the lower edge centered within the wiper blade. After close inspection, I found an identical salt grain size spec within the crack. This was not caused by impact! I knew this windshield was defected and researched the problem on the internet. There are thousands of Element owners describing the same problem. The third crack appeared about two weeks after the second, this time it appears a rock did cause the crack. Located on the driver's side left edge eye level continuing across about 18 inches. The impact was slight, leaving a round mark the size of a pea. I read hundreds of complaints, there all the same. This is a huge problem and something must be done. Does Honda expect me to replace my windshield with every oil change? please look into this as soon as possible. It's wrong and Honda needs to not only acknowledge the problem, but rectify it. Everyone who is experiencing this problem should file a complaint, not just read about it.

- Foster, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?