Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,744 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Element seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Element:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Element Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Jul 012016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #35

May 232016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Tega Cay, SC, USA

problem #34

Sep 052016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall hello, after taking my vehicle for the takata recall for the third time on 9/3. the SRS sensor light came on and it is still on. Honda refuses to take a look at the vehicle without charging me first. My main concern is how do I know if the airbags are fully functional after Honda fixed the recall and now the SRS light is on. Honda also refuses to test the vehicle to make sure airbags and seat belts are fully functional.

- Dania Beach, FL, USA

problem #33

May 132005

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V344000 (air bags) and 05E035000 (equipment). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 012016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #31

Jul 012016

Element

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts to do repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 222016

Element

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 052016

Element 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/27/16 updated 09/29/16.

- Panama Beach City, FL, USA

problem #28

Jul 052016

Element

  • miles
I received a recall notice from Honda, NHTSA recall 16V-344. Dated June 2016 I called hendrick Honda in bradenton, Florida, I was told they have no information on the recall nor the parts to repair the car.

- Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #27

May 262016

Element

  • 124,150 miles
Driving down a straight major hi way, moving 60 mph, driver seat airbag deploys for no reason. Vehicle was not involved in accident, hit anything in road, or have any other vehicles near. Loud bang occurred with airbag hitting left arm. Vehicle went to Honda dealership next day, diagnosed from computer as air bag deployed to unknown reason an replacement of airbag an control panel need replacement at owners expense. Auto insurance will be notified as soon as possible, memorial day weekend closed.

- University Place, WA, USA

problem #26

Apr 092014

Element

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passager side (right side of seat) air bag deployed itself while driving around 15-20 mph on city street

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #25

Jan 092016

Element

  • miles
While waiting for over 9 months for the parts for my airbag to be fixed, the airbag light came on. I was told by Honda this would be fixed when the airbag was replaced. The dealer told me the light sensor was a separate issue and not covered under warranty. I do not have $800 dollars to fix this issue. I was told the airbag will not work as long as the light is on. What was the point in fixing my airbag if it does not work anyways. Is this not a safety issue?

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #24

Apr 012015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) however, the part needed for recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #23

May 112015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not was not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cloverdale, CA, USA

problem #22

May 042015

Element 4-cyl

  • miles
Air bags: Recall 2005 Honda Element, announced: June 20 2014 Honda: A message to our customers about takata airbags 10/28/2014 revised 02/11/2015 on Tuesday, April 28, 2015, NHTSA convened a one-day workshop. Appearing on behalf of Honda was [xxx] smith, senior vice president, parts, service and technical division. Following is smith'"?S statement. Getting to 100% recall completion rates: Incentives and innovative ideas "due to the size of the campaigns to replace takata inflators, we also worked to increase the supply of replacement parts, and succeeded in securing three additional suppliers -- TRW, [xxx] and autoliv -- that are now supplying us with inflators. This will help accelerate the pace of repairs in the coming months." I received my recall notice in April 2015. The dealership set an appointment 3 weeks later, May 4, 2015. I received three emails, and one voicemail, to remind me of the appointment. 43 minutes after I brought the car, the dealer told me that they did not have the new airbag. I got them to provide me with a rental car. They offered no time-frame for when the part will arrive or when I will get my Element back. [xxx], how can you get to 100% recall completion rates if you cannot provide the replacement part? to quote you from the above statement, "completion rates of about 33 percent in the 9th and 10th year of ownership. To amplify this point, let me explain that we have enlisted a special investigative firm as part of our effort to contact hard-to-reach owners of older model vehicles affected by the takata airbag inflator recall. On a number of occasions, the investigators succeeded in locating the owner, but despite best efforts to persuade them, the customer refused to bring in their car for repair." I brought you my car seven months after the start of recall. Now what" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #21

May 052015

Element

  • 215,000 miles
While I was turning into a parking lot I cut the turn too short and went over the curb. The airbag deployed. No damage. I didn't hit anything. Just went over the curb and the airbag deployed. I think this is a defect. This should be a recall item. I don't feel the airbag should deploy just for going over a curb. My arm was injured. Something needs to be done about this. I sent it to the dealer for repair and they said I was in an accident. Of course I knew they wouldn't say it's a common problem that the airbag deploys for no good reason.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jun 202014

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wasco, CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 052015

Element

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Element. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #18

Nov 032014

Element

  • 164,000 miles
We brought our 2005 Element into the dealer on Nov 3D in ukiah cal for replacement of the airbags per the recall of October 28th, 2014. The dealer replaced the driver takata airbag but told us the passenger airbag was not made by takata and therefore they would not replace it under the recall, but would charge us. I entered the VIN in the Honda recall web site. It did gave no information on line about the recall but told me to call them at 800 999 1009. Was a recall issued on the 28th of Oct that also applies to the passenger side?

- Mendocino, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 132013

Element 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Driver seat belt buckle switch for SRS air bag system shuts off SRS system - red warning light comes on. This has happened several times after resetting, system may work okay for several weeks. Repair shop says common problem seen may times. Cost to fix $350+.

- Monticello, NY, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?