Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
30 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
36,168 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Dec 212009

Elantra

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Hyundai Elantra side airbag failed to deploy when T-boned by a van. Driver received whiplash, concussion, seven months later still in physical therapy, not returned to work, and suffering post concussive.

- Hillsdale, NY, USA

problem #39

Mar 042010

Elantra

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra.the contact stated that the airbags on his vehicle had not worked for years and the airbag light is on continually. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the airbags does work and the failure is due to the contact moving the seat excessively. The contact vehicle was recalled twice, once for the wiring harness, the vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that he would have to pay half of the expenses for the repairs. The second recall is for the front lower panel (rust) and the earliest date they have available for repair is 6/10/10 he does not want to drive the vehicle with the failures not being repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 138000.

- Sharon, MA, USA

problem #38

Nov 242009

Elantra

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. While the contact was attempting to back out of a parking spot the passenger side airbag had suddenly deployed without warning and without anyone sitting in the seat.three days prior the driver side airbag had deployed without warning after attempting to accelerate from a stop. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the cause of the failure could not be found. The current and failure mileages were 96000.

- Murray, UT, USA

problem #37

Sep 182009

Elantra

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was an airbag recall on my 2001 Hyundai Elantra. I got the recalled repaired by arrow Hyundai in milwaukee, wi. On January 5th, 2009. At the end of September, 2009 both of the side passenger airbags deployed within a week of each other. The first side air bag deployed while I was driving roughly 25mph. (week of September 18th.) the second side airbag deployed overnight while no one was even in the car. (the next week in September, deployed less than a week after the first) I had tried to schedule two different appointments with Hyundai to have my airbags and seats fixed but had to reschedule because they could not tell me how long they would have my car. Before I could go to the next appointment I made with arrow Hyundai, my front passenger airbag also deployed. (about a week and a half after my second side airbag deployed). The front passenger airbag (the one that deploys from the dashboard) deployed while I was about to pull out from being parked. I was going roughly 3mph if that. This airbag shattered my windshield, making the car impossible to drive. I contacted Hyundai usa the day after my front passenger airbag deployed and they began an "investigation". it has now been over three months since the third airbag deployed and I haven't heard anything about having my car repaired. I have called Hyundai usa at least every other week since this occurred and still have not received a real answer.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #36

Sep 182008

Elantra

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. When the contact started the engine, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and remained lit until the engine was turned off. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer for diagnostic testing and they stated that the air bag wiring failed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 08V532000 (air bags; frontal; sensor/control module) and was repaired. However, the remedy has not corrected the issue addressed in the safety defect. The air bag warning indicator continues to illuminate. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 120,000 and current mileage was 150,000.

- Alstead, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Oct 202007

Elantra

  • 71,159 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. After the vehicle had been detailed, the contact noticed that the air bag warning indicator was illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that the tran-sensor output failed. There was also srms internal failure. The repairs were made and the contact was informed that the air bags would deploy in the event of a crash. In December of 2008, the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V532000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module). The recall repairs were performed; however, the air bag warning indicator illuminated again. The dealer stated that it would cost over $3,000 to repair. The contact was concerned with the usage of the air bags and deployment in the event of a crash. The manufacturer refused to assist because the recall repairs were previously performed. The vehicle was no longer covered under warranty. The system would not accept the VIN provided by the contact. The failure mileage was 71,159 and current mileage was 81,704.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #34

May 012006

Elantra

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact spilled water on the air bag components and the sensor module failed. She filed a report with the manufacturer because she felt that if the vehicle were designed differently, the water would not have penetrated and damaged the air bag components. The manufacturer stated that it was the contact's fault; therefore, they would not assist with the repair. On November 29, 2008, the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V533000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). She took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the wiring harness connector clip instead of the sensor module. The vehicle failed inspection because the air bag indicator was illuminated. The manufacturer is reconsidering the previous report and will investigate if they will pay for the sensor module repair. The failure mileage was 55,000 and current mileage was 75,000.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #33

Dec 262007

Elantra

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The contact noticed that the air bag warning indicator was illuminated on the instrument control panel. The dealer stated that liquid entered the air bag wiring harness, which was mounted underneath the front seats, and caused the failure. The dealer also stated that the air bag module would need to be replaced at the cost of more than $400. As of December 27, 2008, the vehicle has not been repaired. The contact later received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 08V533000 (air bags:frontal:sensor/control module) and is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 25,000 and current mileage was 27,000.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #32

Mar 012001

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. The front passenger side window air bag was replaced in 2004. The day after the replacement, the air bag light illuminated again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they stated that they could not determine the cause of the failure. The contact discovered an air bag safety recall online, but the dealer stated that no recall was available. In 2004, the contact also informed the dealer that the weather stripping on the back door frame was too small. The vehicle was still under warranty. The dealer pushed the weather stripping back on the door. In 2005, the contact heard a strange noise coming from the engine compartment and the vehicle stalled in hot weather. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. While at the dealer, she was informed of a brake line recall and clips were applied. The following day, the vehicle began squeaking when she applied and released the brakes. The recall numbers were unknown. The current mileage was 84,448 and failure mileage was 1,000. Abl.pco

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #31

Jun 212007

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 50 mph, the contact was forced off the road and crashed into a steel pipe. The air bags failed to deploy and the seat belts failed to properly restrain. The driver sustained crack ribs and bruises to the chest. As of October 1, 2007, the dealer and manufacturer had not inspected the vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The current and failure mileages were 62,000. State of Michigan traffic report and photos of the defect. Updated 10/22/07

- Hastings, MI, USA

problem #30

Apr 102004

Elantra

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was recently in a crash where the brakes failed to work on my Elantra-my actual complaint though is the fact that I was doing 35 mph and did not slow down on impact. My air bags failed to deploy also. There was $2600 worth of damage to my front end, including a destroyed radiator, so there was obviously some serious impact.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #29

Oct 252005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles
2001 Hyundai Elantra 4door sedan my wife was involved in a crash, my wife's' bumper hit the vehicle in front of her approx. 35-40 mph. The airbag did not deploy nor did the seat belt lock causing my wife to hit the windshield with her head. Her chest hit the steering wheel.

- Inwood, WV, USA

problem #28

Mar 042004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 29,700 miles
Airbag light keeps turning on. On March 4, 2004 my car was serviced by Hyundai for this problem. The service rep. Told me that the wires that run under the seat have a tendency to become disconnected. This past week, I moved the seat forward to vaccum the interior and the aribag light is back on. I moved the seat back and the light turns off. Also, the same issue seems to be causing an electrical short circuit in the radio's wiring as the radio no longer works. Abl.pco

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 032005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Head on collision which resulted in fracture of C-spine. The driver air bag failed to deploy. This may have increased the severity of the injury. Vehicle is now under investigation by insurance companies and legal counsel.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #26

Dec 132004

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
Consumer was driving at 20 mph and the vehicle was struck by another vehicle at 45 mph, and the air bags did not deploy.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #25

Aug 212004

Elantra Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
After being involved in side collision and frontal crash the side and frontal air bags did not deploy. Recall number 00V32000.

- Muskego, WI, USA

problem #24

Jun 142004

Elantra

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving between 30 to 35 mph consumer was involved in a front end collision. Upon impact, air bags did not deploy. Consumer sustained minor injuries.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #23

Apr 192004

Elantra

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle was involved in a frontal collision while driving at 35 mph. Upon impact, none of the frontal airbags deployed. Driver sustained bruises to the breast.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #22

Nov 132003

Elantra

  • 70,000 miles
While driving at 35 mph consumer's vehicle was cut off by another vehicle, resulting in a collision. Upon impact, seat belts did not retract, and the air bags did not deploy. Police arrived on the scene and the other driver was cited for the collision. Consumer sustained bruises on chest/neck and back.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #21

Dec 062003

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,928 miles
While driving at 65 mph, the driver applied the brakes and the pedal went to the floor. This caused a rear end crash. Neither airbag deployed upon impact. The driver sustained back and neck injuries and was transported by ambulance to the hospital. The vehicle was totaled.

- Midland City, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?