Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,508 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Hyundai Elantra body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #10

Aug 062010


  • 56,157 miles


On 08/06/10 while driving my car in a residential area, I heard a loud "pop" sound come from the front passenger side of my vehicle. I immediately lost control of my car, but was able to pull into a parking lot. At that time, I discovered the front axle had actually broken (passenger side) and was dragging the ground. I called the dealership I bought my car from (a 2002 Hyundai Elantra- I contacted first team auto mall where I had bought it new), and advised the service personnel of what had just happened. They advised they would not be able to look at my car for several days, so I had it towed to another repair shop. I paid $632.89 to replace the lower control arm, including sway bar/link kit and re-alignment. On 09/28/10 I found a link online to a website detailing multiple recalls for 2002-2003 Hyundai Elantras- recalls had been recommended in several areas near me, but not in my particular state. The recall involved road salt causing corrosion to the lower control arm, which could contribute to breakage. The repair shop I took my car to that day could not tell me how the damage had occurred; they said they had never seen anything like that before. I also noticed on 09/28/10 a recall regarding leakage of brake fluid; I have had to refill the brake fluid in my car twice in the last 6 months (I had never had to do this before may of this year and I've had the car since 2002). I again called the dealership, who advised me there are no recalls associated with my particular vehicle. Obviously, the problems described in the recalls are happening/have happened to my car, and possibly other cars in the state of Virginia. I ask that you please re-evaluate the recall criteria and expand the recall to include any and all vehicles that could possibly be affected. If I had been on the interstate on the day my lower control arm broke, the damage would very likely have killed me and any other motorist unfortunate enough to be near me at the time.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 172010


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated the vehicle would not move as she attempted to accelerate from a traffic stop. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility. The mechanic advised that the lower a frame assembly was defective and would need to be replaced. The vehicle frame was replaced at the contacts expense. Later, she received notification of NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V125000 (suspension: Front: Control arm) and contact the manufacturer to advise the recall remedy was performed at her expense. The manufacturer advised she would be reimbursed for the repair but would need to submit all receipts and take the vehicle to the dealer for verification inspection. The dealer advised the front sub frame would need to be replaced. The contact advised the frame was already replaced. The contact was not reimbursed for the repair. No further repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 48,000 and the current mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Clarks Summit , PA, USA

problem #8

May 062010


  • 72,000 miles
Received recall notice 1 week ago from Hyundai..on Thursday night while driving home from work wheel "broke" off left front passenger side.. called a Hyundai dealership on fri. Morn and arranged a tow..vehicle arrived at dealership, dealership refused to take vehicle as there is a 4 week backorder. Called a second Hyundai dealership was told that if the car was down Hyundai has emergency stock to fix the have to pay for a second tow to this dealership and also have to wait 1-2 weeks to have this fixed.

- Raymond, NH, USA

problem #7

Jan 162010


  • miles


2002 Hyundai Elantra recall never received until 3/1/10. Wheel fell off and went in ditch. Had to have towed to garage and Hyundai refused payment of towing bill as towing was not included in recall. How was I supposed to get it to the garage. Thank goodness no one was hurt; it could have been a serious accident.

- Forest City, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 162010


  • 38,000 miles
I have a 2002 Hyundai Elantra with a recall of corrosion problem of the front lower control arm. I called one month ago for a appointment got a date of May 17 for inspection. April 16 my car broke down due to corrosion of the front lower control arm. I towed my car to Hyundai they inspected my car both lower control arms one already bad the other no good and also the front subframe has to be replaced. They tell me there is a national parts shortage and will take up to a month to repair my car. Meanwhile I have no car.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Mar 062010


  • 125,000 miles
Received safety recall notice regarding control arm & subframe on our 2002 Hyundai Elantra on wed. Mar 3,2010. Plan was to contact dealership on sat.(Mar 6,2010) to schedule appointment for the following week. Received a panic call from my wife that something had snapped as she was crossing the rhinecliff bridge. Fortunately this occurred just as she was exiting the toll booth. Booth operator assisted her in getting car out of main flow of traffic and calling a tow truck. Tow truck driver confirmed that control arm had snapped as did the hyunadi dealer (where car was purchased). Dealer also said there were numerous other recalls concerning this vehicle that they would also be repairing. We were never notified of any of these with the exception of the control arm issue and in that case it failed within a few days of our notice. My question is why is it that were only notified a few days ago regarding such as serious issue when the original recall notice was dated nearly 11 months ago. And never notified regarding other recalls. By the way the dealer had the nerve to charge my wife for a loaner vehicle and said parts will need to be ordered. Obviously I am very thankful that neither my wife or anyone else were injured. But I remain furious that this ever happened in the first place.

- Rhinebeck, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 072009


  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. While attempting to park the vehicle, the contact noticed that the frame shifted to the front tires. He also noticed that the control arm snapped when he attempted to stop the vehicle. Prior to the failures, the vehicle would shake whenever the brakes were be applied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the control arm and the subframe needed to be replaced. The current and failure mileages were 130,000.

- Binghambon, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 172009


  • 50,400 miles
I was driving in my town and I went to take a left turn and the next thing I knew my steering wheel jolted further to the left than I had turned it and I was in oncoming traffic. Luckily the oncoming car had enough time to stop and swerve out of the way to avoid a head on collision. At first I thought I had a flat tire, but upon closer inspection I noticed the bottom of the front right wheel was tilted inward on almost a 45 degree angle so that the hub cap was almost in contact with the pavement. I was about a mile from my house and was barely able to get the car back home with out swerving all over the road trying to steer. Upon inspection by a mechanic, who had to come to my home, there was a lot of rust underneath the car, especially on the lower control arms. I went online to research how much it might cost to fix and found that it had been a recall with Hyundai, however I never got the recall notice. When I called Hyundai Consumer Affairs to inquire, they claimed they didn't have my address and therefore I never received the recall. I bought the car used in 2004, it is now 2009, I do not believe there is any excuse as to why they should not have had my address and to why I did not receive a recall. Someone could have gotten seriously injured or killed. Hyundai will only cover the lower control arms and nothing else. None of the damage caused because of their negligence is covered and I can't even get a rental. I need new tires and new hub caps, there is a hole in my resonator from hitting the curb when I veered off the road, there are scratches on my rear and a cracked back headlight from the oncoming car brushing against my rear. Had I gotten the recall notice, none of this would have happened! the root cause is poor manufacturing, all other damages due to this should be reimbursed with out any hassle because Hyundai should be grateful they have not killed anyone yet.

- Ludlow, MA, USA

problem #2

May 202009


  • 55,523 miles
While driving at 30 mph, the front of my 2002 Hyundai Elantra collapsed. Transmission fluid everywhere, driver's front wheel at a right angle, and the subframe was broken completely in half. Lucky to be alive.

- Foxboro, MA, USA

problem #1

Oct 202008


  • 130,000 miles
10/2008, I was driving down a steep hill and began to downshift, while braking. My car jerked and skidded at the bottom. I was able to get it to the side of the road. A flatbed towed it and determined that the front drivers side wheel/tie rod had broken. The mechanic noted some corrosion, but repaired what needed to be done. March 2009, I had new front tires placed and balanced. Shortly afterwards, I got a flat tire, had the spare put on and brought it back for replacement. The front end seemed out of alignment, so it was brought back to the mechanic for realignment. It was then they saw that the entire subframe was corroded and "dangerous" to drive. The front arms were bent and subsequently collapsed. The repairs at this time would exceed the value of the car and I am reduced to "junking" my 7 year old vehicle.

- Rhinebeck, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?