Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,692 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Hyundai Elantra fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #19

Mar 092012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles


As I attempt to pump gas, the pump continuously stops as if my tank is full even when the gas gage reads empty. It takes 20 minutes to pump a full tank of gas.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #18

Mar 182008

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 53,489 miles
The engine would die and not restart while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle would then be coasting down the road with no power brakes or steering. This made controlling and stopping the vehicle very difficult and dangerous. Numerous visits to the Hyundai dealership, thousands of dollars, and many replaced parts later, the Hyundai dealership finally determined that an apparent defect to the charcoal canister assembly and canister close valve in the fuel system were causing the issue.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 012011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Each time I am going to fill up the gasoline tank, the machine stops and it acts as if the gasoline tank is full. I have to put one dollar at a time until the tank is full.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #16

Apr 302011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 96,188 miles


When pumping gas, there seems to be a blockage of some sort. The gas pump keeps kicking off as if the tank were full. It takes a very long time to put a few gallons of gas in the tank. This happens at all service stations, every time gas is pumped.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #15

Jan 032011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
2002 Hyundai Elantra. Fuel shoots out of tank soaking owners with gas during fill up. Condition occurs regardless of fuel tank level. A venting issue is determined. Evap. Canister has ruptured clogging vents and vacuum lines with charcoal pellets. Condition causes no mechanical or performance issues. Slow, sputtering fill is only symptom. Possibility of fire at pumps. I fill person is exposed to fuel at time of fire injury highly likely.

- Graham, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Mar 152010


  • miles
We own a 2002 Elantra and when pumping gas, it constantly shuts off after about 50 cents worth of gas and it takes forever to fill up the tank. Pretty aggravating to say the least.

- Summervile, SC, USA

problem #13

Mar 202010


  • 130,000 miles


We have a 2002 Elantra and whenever you try to fill the tank up with gas, it constantly stops after just 25 cents or so and then you keep trying to fill it up and it stops every few seconds. It takes forever to pump a tank or even a half a tank of gas. Very frustrating to say the least. *"TR

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #12

Jul 282010


  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the fuel tank will not fill up with fuel and the fuel pump will shut off after 5 seconds of less. The dealer was informed about the failure and they stated that the vapor canister must be clogged with gravel. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic, who stated that it must be a design flaw. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 33000 and the current mileage was 33796.

- Iowa City , IA, USA

problem #11

May 152010


  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The contact was putting gas into the vehicle when the fuel shut off as if the vehicle was full with fuel, although the tank was not full. In addition, the gasoline would intermittently spill back out from the filler tube. The contact was informed by three different dealers, without performing a diagnostic, that the vehicle would need a closed valve and charcoal canister at her expense. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not accepted. The failure mileage was 58,000 and current mileage was 60,000. Updated 08/13/10. The consumer was unable to put gas in the vehicle unless it was at a very slow rate and gas would shoot out of the vehicle. Updated 08/23/10

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 152009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 64,630 miles
While driving vehicle about 25 mph, the engine lights come on, power steering is removed and the engine turns off. While trying to restart the vehicle, the driver must press on the accelerator once which allows engine power to return and regain forward movement, however the RPM gauge fluctuates from below 500 to above 2000 and the engine shuts off again. The engine shutdown occurs every time the automobile is re-fueled. Once the vehicle has started running and comes to a complete stop, fuel leaks out of the safety canister at an alarming rate. This problem occurs due to the tank's inability to alert the gas station fuel gun of the fuel level inside of the tank. In other words, the tank accepts more fuel than it is designed to assume (approximately 2 gallons) during every refuel. This is not only a safety or fire hazard for the current driver and passengers, but it affects any other vehicle or object surrounding the fuel spill. The fuel vapor is also an environmental and safety issue. The scent in the vehicle alone has caused nausea on several occasions. Hyundai has replaced both oil valve cover gaskets, oil seal, exhaust manifold and gasket and various other warranty recall items...however the problem still exists and Hyundai has stated that "I have to continue driving with this problem". they will not cover any further replacements (including a faulty fuel tank which their customer service representative in duluth claims is the irritant) even though I have purchased a 10yr/100,000mi plan B warranty to cover such items while purchasing my new 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The vehicle is 8 yrs old with less than 70,000 miles.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #9

Sep 032008


  • 55,663 miles


My Elantra's issue is with the gas tank getting over-filled at the gas pump due to a system failure that allows the pump to fill the car until the gas reaches the fuel spigot and then shutting off. Not only does this result in gasoline pouring out of the filler cap, but it also floods the entire gas tank evaporation system. As a result of this, after the car has sat for several hours gas starts draining from the emission canister, leaving a 1 to 2 gallon fuel spill and causing the car to stall or run rough. The entire system, including the canister, sensor, and solenoid was replaced in August 2008. On September 3 2008 I filled the car up with fuel and the car repeated the same symptoms. The dealership is replacing the parts but insist that the problem is filling the car with fuel too quickly. I strongly feel that this is a serious design flaw if the car cannot handle getting fuel at a pump without causing serious and expensive damage, and is an extreme safety hazard to allow these cars to be driven with the likelihood of a sizable flammable spill in spite of having all maintenance done on schedule by the dealership. I contacted Hyundai's corporate office and they consider this a previously unreported issue.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #8

May 102008


  • 42,537 miles
I believe my vehicle should be eligible for a campaign acknowledged by Hyundai to correct a defective fuel valve assembly. NHTSA campaign number: 04V178000 manufacturer Hyundai motor company recall date: Apr 06, 2004 potential number of units affected: 263968 description fuel system, gasoline:storage:tank assembly summary some passenger vehicles contain a fuel tank assembly valve that may not close properly. If a vehicle with a fuel tank assembly valve that is not properly closed were to roll over, fuel spillage may occur. Consequence fuel spillage in the presence of an ignition source may result in a fire. Remedy dealers will install an additional fuel tank assembly valve. Owner notification began on June 30, 2004. Owners should contact Hyundai at 1-800-633-5151 I took my 2002 Elantra to the Hyundai dealer to get my fuel valve assembly fixed however the dealer stated that my VIN did not show up in the recall. My car has not rolled over and caught on fire yet but it does take me about 30 mins to fill my fuel tank from empty to full due to a defective fuel assembly valve. No matter what gas station I choose I can only put 1/2 gal of fuel at a time and the pump shuts off as if the tank is full. So I sit there forever filling my tank a little at a time.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #7

May 282008


  • 53,761 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. While placing fuel in the vehicle, gasoline began spewing back out. The contact continued to fill up the tank. A local mechanic performed a bumper-to-bumper inspection of the vehicle and confirmed that gasoline shoots back out of the tank. The mechanic identified it as a possible recall failure and advised the contact to call the dealer; however, she called NHTSA first to verify the recall. The recall number was unknown. The failure mileage was 53,761.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 212007

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Hyundai Elantra. The fuel rail is leaking gas onto the engine and the check engine light remains illuminated. The dealer stated that this was a common failure and was caused by a manufacturer defect. The dealer performed a diagnostic, which showed that two sensors failed. The dealer stated that this was a very serious issue that could result in a fire. The contact was not allowed to take her vehicle home due to the risk of fire and the severity of the gas leak. Hyundai stated that nothing more could be done because the part was out of warranty. The contact stated that they were not even interested in looking at the part. The vehicle has a 100,000 mile powertrain warranty; however, the manufacturer stated that this particular incident was not covered for that warranty. As a result, other components, such as the gasket, have blown. The manufacturer stated that there was no recall for this particular defect; however, there were recalls listed for similar fuel defects of the same presence of fuel leakage. Those NHTSA campaign id numbers are 04V369000 and 04V178000. The failure and current mileages were 86,000.

- Mahwah, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jul 192005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,860 miles
(1) events leading up to the failure fuel tank was filled at local station the afternoon of 7/18/05. Temperature was 102 F. (2) failure and its consequences, and car was at work between 7 am and 3 pm on 7/19/05 where it sat all day in the parking lot of my work location. Temperature was 107 F. I noticed the back left rear corner leaking fuel at a fast drip rate. It appeared the fuel had been dripping for some time since the spill was around 1 foot in diameter. Car was taken to local dealership after leak noticed. (3) what was done to correct the failure; I.e, parts repaired or replaced (and if old part is available) dealership told me the tank was overfilled and fuel had flooded a chorcoal canister that filters emissions from the gasoline. The canister required replacement. The tank had not been overfilled the day prior since the nozzle was left with the trigger locked back and clicked off when tank was full. I have used the same station and refill station for months now and this has never been an issue before.

- Azusa, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 252005

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 100,883 miles
My 2002 Hyundai Elantra GT developed a fuel leak which dripped just behind the left rear wheel. Associsted with this problem the engine began to stall and die. I took the car to my local dealer to have the problem investigated. The service department said that the leak could have been a result of my overfilling the fuel tank. I had just refuled the car but did not "top-off" the tank during the process. Since I am the original owner and the car has over 100,000 miles, I feel that I know how to put gas in it by now. The following Hyundai part#S were replaced: 31420, 31430, 31453, 31135, 31155, 31190 (basically all of the fuel valves/canisters in the system). When I spoke to the service manager, after calling Hyundai customer affairs, he informed me that the valves were replaced due to fuel saturation and as a prevenative measure. He also informed me, during our conversation, that overfilling of the fuel tank can and has resulted in similar failures in the past. I feel this damage to a fuel system as a result of normal fueling or component failure is a extreme fire hazard and safety concern.

- Torringtion, CT, USA

problem #3

Feb 182004

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,128 miles
The vehicle's fuel pressure regulator failed and as a result fuel leaked into the engine compartment.

- Anoka, MN, USA

problem #2

Nov 122002

Elantra 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is a terrible howling noise coming from the front end of the vehicle while driving on the highway. The rim's on the car are so flimsy that I have had to rims bent in the last 3 months. They can not handle non paved roads. Th front seat belt does not retract properly causing the seal on the door to be torn when the door is shut. The gas mileage is terrible. Supposed to be upwards of 35+ mpg on the highway and I only get approximately 24 - 26 mpg. The insurance on this vehicle is ridiculous!! you think that I had an Audi. The cost of the insurance is the same. I have brought up my concerns with the dealer that I purchased the car from and they don't seem to think that there is a problem with the howling since they couldn't get it to do it while they were driving the car. The gas mileage they said would improve when the engine was broke in at about 20,000 miles. Well I am past the 20,000 and the mileage has not improved. I am not at all happy with this car. I would get rid of it in a minute if I could get out from under the payments.

- Sand Lake, MI, USA

problem #1

Nov 012002


  • miles
While traveling on the highway without prior warning. There was a oil smelll coming inside of the vents please provide additional information dealer is aware of the problem.

- St Albans, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?