Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,217 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Hyundai Elantra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments

problem #6

Sep 032009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


I took my car into the dealership Sept 2008 for 30,000 mile service. I was told my rear brakes were worn and had to be replaced. I have had to have my rear brakes changed for the 4th time in 3 years and 35,000 miles. There has to be something wrong with the way the braking system is working but the dealership says they can't find a problem and it must just be from driving. I have had other cars and have driven the same route with those cars and have never had to replace my brake pads every 10,000 miles. I am concerned about the safety of my car. I have a 2005 Hyundai Elantra gts.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #5

Jun 102011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 83,300 miles
I have a similar problem to one I have seen several posts on here. I have a 2005 Hyundai Elantra gls with ABS brakes and have had a chronic problem with the brakes since April 2009 at 78,867 miles. The brake pedal becomes softer and softer and eventually goes to the floor with little or no braking capability. I have had the system bled several times, three master cylinders and all four calipers changed by my local mechanic, . the brakes are ok for a while but the problem returns. I took it to Hyundai last week 6/20/11 at 83,400 miles and they said there were no problems with the hydraulic system, no leaks, but alot of air in the system. They recommended new rotors and pads on all four wheels (said the old rotors were rotted and ridged, and the pads were grooved) flush out of the brake fluid and cleaning of the caliper brackets and slider pins which were impeding pad movement. They suggested that these conditions were causing the system to draw air. I had the repairs done but the pedal still feels a bit "soft" but the car is responding to braking. I am not confident that the problem is resolved but time will tell for sure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #4

Mar 152011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have replaced both front and rear brakes on a 2005 Elantra GT hatchback at Hyundai dealerships. I had a problem with the brake pedal feeling mushy and almost hitting the floor when I tried to stop. The dealership examined the problem and wanted to replace the master brake cylinder, rear brakes, rotors and calipers to the tune of $1150. I went to a small mechanic shop and I've now had the master brake cylinder replaced, new rear brakes put on a 2nd time [after 30 000 km] and yet it's been back twice for 'bleeding' numerous times in case air had gotten in to the system. Yet today [3 days after the last attempt to correct the brake pedal from nearly hitting the floor when I brake] it feels the same. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated. Has anyone heard of this problem with Elantras before?

- Etobicoke, 00, USA

problem #3

Mar 172011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles


I purchased my 2005 hyndai Elantra GT, new in October 2005. At 12,000miles the brake pedal went to the floor while braking. The brake master cylinder was replaced. Two weeks following this repair again the brake pedal went to the floor. The ABS module was replaced. In December 2009, at 68,000 miles again the brake pedal went to the floor while braking. The brake master cylinder was again replaced (at owner's expense since the car was then out of warranty). Now in March 2011 once again the brake pedal went to the floor while braking. The car is currently in the shop and is getting the fourth brake master cylinder and the third ABS module on a car that only has 89,000 miles. Each time the brake system failed it was sudden and without any warning any of these incidents could have caused a major accident. My concern is that hyndai has a malfunctioning brake system in their 2005 hyndai Elantra GT that is a major safety concern.

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 052010


  • miles
I have a 2005 Hyundai Elantra that I bought used with 28,000 miles. I took it in at 39,000 miles to have the rear brakes replaced. At 49,000 miles the rear brake pads were shot and had to be replaced again. I told the dealer that this is crazy, and they said they should not have worn that fast. I now have 60,000 miles and my rear brakes are shot again. Now the dealership says that maybe they see the rear brakes wear out more frequently in my car model, but they aren't saying it is normal. They want me to pay another $300 to replace the rear pads, and then look at them at 5,000 miles. Then they will try to determine if there is something wrong with the car that is causing the pads to wear excessively. I am afraid that my car is not safe, because my rear brakes are not wearing normally. I'm afraid that there is something wrong causing this problem, that the dealer doesn't want to take responsibility for.

- Fair Oaks, CA, USA

problem #1

Apr 242009

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Hyundai Elantra. On April 24, 2009 while driving at approximately 30 mph, the preceding vehicle braked unexpectedly. When the consumer applied her brake they failed to work and she crashed into the back of the vehicle. She experienced minor injuries, but her children who were passengers were unharmed. She has not had previous issues with the vehicle. She did however mention hearing a squeaking noise about twice prior to the crash, but was not sure if it was related to the brake failure. The current mileage was 47000. Updated 05/18/09. Updated 05/19/09.

- Kissimee, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?