Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,936 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Hyundai Elantra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Nov 092016

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light is

- Mission Hills, CA, USA

problem #28

Oct 132016

Elantra

  • 114,000 miles
Air bag light on / emmisions air bag all senors were swapped and now I'm being told the cushion should be replaced since the sensor swap didn't solve the problem. $1500 emissions/ pumping gas fuel pump was replaced. Gas pump kicks out after 2-3 seconds when putting in gas. Now I'm told I need to replace charcoal canister, canister close valve, purge control valve, and vent valve. If I don't I eventually won't be able to put gas in the tank. $1,100 they are both serious safety issues and Hyundai needs to back up their product. These are simple consumable pieces like fluids, values, hoses or filters.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #27

Dec 012015

Elantra

  • miles
Airbag light stay

- Fruitland Park, FL, USA

problem #26

Aug 062015

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Occupant classification system (OCS) should be reprogrammed. NHTSA tsb#0590003 and Hyundai tsb#06-90-010 cover the "passenger air bag off" light remains illuminated when smaller statured adult sits in front passenger seat, therefore the air bag will not deploy in an accident. Both of these tsbs are for the 2006 Hyundai Elantra.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #25

Jun 202015

Elantra

  • miles
Airbags lights stay

- Fort Lauderdale , FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Dec 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 206,000 miles
Prior to this date had issues with electrical such as back lighting of stereo and ash tray, cd player malfunctioning past few years, more recently odometer back light also does not light. Previous report of passenger side air bag lighting intermittently when nobody was sitting in seat, or if purse on seat, less than 10 lbs. Then at about 206,000 miles, my estimate driver instrument panel air bag light indicator on first some times, then shortly after on all the time. After reading numerous other complaints and seeing years prior and post my 2006 had recalls as did other similar cars and that airbags failed, I am very concerned. Hyundai seems to have excessive electrical problems reported and a spontaneous electrical fire is a main concern. I had my stop lamp switch replaced by dealership several years ago after a recall. The replacement should have been free however, I was told that it was only and advisory and not a recall and was made to pay $50 to replace the $7 stop lamp switch part. I later went online and discovered that indeed it was a recall and the dealership had scammed me by charging labor to replace the switch. I believe these vehicles are a danger, especially since there may also be issues with cruise control by stop lamp, and I am not certain with several years and miles driving that the replacement part is still functioning properly. I would strongly recommend immediate recall of 2006 & a design change with ample testing to prove these imports are not cutting corners again. I was considering another, such as a Toyota, however the recalls on Toyota and deaths have made me cautious of their quality as well. If airbags are mandated by you then their repair when obviously defective should rest on the manufacturers. Owned 2 2003 lancers 2.0L and were totaled, one rollover one front deer collision. Vehicle body safe but no airbags deployed either vehicle.

- Mount Olive, NC, USA

problem #23

Nov 172014

Elantra

  • 132,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

No accident occurred. Airbag light stays illuminated. Dealer says it is sensor in passenger side airbag. When dealer received part it would not fit because it is a three-prong design rather than a two prong design such as was originally installed. Dealer indicates that Hyundai switched to a three-prong design in mid-2006 model year. This necessitates the purchase of a seat cushion for the car that the three prong sensor can plug into. The sensor price with labor is about $300 and the seat cushion part price is $800. I believe that there have been other complaints about this problem and that Elantras from 2007 model year forward have been recalled for this same thing. I believed that a class action suit on this problem was filed in California alleging among many other things that Hyundai had prior knowledge of this problem with the 2006 Elantra and other Hyundai models. The dealer described the problem as a possibility that the airbag would not properly deploy for a smaller person. I believe that Hyundai should cover the cost of this repair.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #22

Jan 282013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
When an adult passenger (weight 125 lbs) is sitting in the front passenger seat, the "passenger airbag is disabled" indicator remains illuminated. In the event of a collision this could result in the passenger airbags remaining undeployed, possibly further resulting in injury or death.

- Wantagh , NY, USA

problem #21

Jul 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 123,200 miles
The airbag light goes on and stays on.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 282014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 80,363 miles
Regardless of whether or not a passenger is seated in the passenger seat, the 'air bag' light on the dashboard goes off - problem began upon initially starting car, and is not linked to any accident ever occurred. A recall should be issued by the department of transportation for the safety of passengers riding in these vehicles.

- Blacksburg, VA, USA

problem #19

Jan 212014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent problem where dash air bag light continues to go on and off, whether passenger seat is occupied or not. Problem started to occur shortly after rear end collision, and diagnosis from Hyundai dealer pointed to defective right front seat mat and sensor. Diagnosis and repair costs estimated to be $1500. Insurance carrier denies connection between rear end collision and air bag light/seat problem. We are concerned about our safety while using 2006 Hyundai Elantra with intermittent air bag light, and numerous other air bag related complaints for this particular make and model. Can manufacturer comment and help customers and address this unusual defect occurrence, and should recall be made due to numerous related air bag complaints in the system?

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

problem #18

Sep 132013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Hyundai Elantra. Consumer writes in regards to air bag malfunction. The consumer stated the air bag inadvertently deployed, as he was backing out of a parking space. He suffered injuries to his face and neck...updated 03/24/14 updated 06/03/14

- Royal, AR, USA

problem #17

Dec 032013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Air bag light randomly illuminates if a passenger is seated in the car. Hyundai dealership demands $100 just to look at the car with no work performed and says that the problem is probably a "lighter weight" person or someone sitting "incorrectly" in the seat. As this is not the case, and the problem occurs no matter who is seated in the passenger seat, there is grave concern that the airbags will fail if involved in an accident - or will deploy and cause an accident. Considering Hyundai's historical issues with air bags and recalls on model years surrounding the 2006 model and complaints found all over the internet related to airbag issues for this model year as well, it is without a doubt a manufacturing issue. We would like to see an investigation and official recall in place to resolve the safety issue.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 042012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Air bags description: Certain vehicles equipped with an advanced air bag system. The occupant classification system (OCS) installed in the right front seat of the vehicle may misclassify a child restraint seat (crs) as an adult. This may occur if the crs is installed after an adult has been seated in the right front seat. If there has not been a ┐┐key on┐┐ ┐┐ key off┐┐ cycle with the right front passenger seat empty prior to installation of the crs. Damage: The possibility of misclassification of a crs as an adult may allow the right front airbag or side impact airbag to deploy in a crash and could result in injury to the right front occupant.

- Groveland, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 262012

Elantra

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while traveling 35-45 mph, the air bag warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer confirmed that the front passenger air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 42,000.

- Howard Beach, NY, USA

problem #14

Sep 092011

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Passenger side air bag off- warning indicator would come on at inappropriate times.when it should be on, no rider in seat it would not be lit. When rider in passenger seat, the warning indicator would be on. It would function right sometimes and not at others. Now it no longer works at all. Air bag warning indicator in driver center gauge console is now on always. This leaves you wondering will the supplemental restraint system will work or not. The Hyundai's sister company Kia had a recall on their air bag system and this left me hope full Hyundai would right this problem.

- Mountain Home , AR, USA

problem #13

Jul 192012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 80,486 miles
Air bag light came on and stays on. Hyundai had recalls on 2005 and 2007-2009 years models. My car was built on 6/16/2006 and the recall for the 2007 was 7/14/2006. They have known issues with the air bags in a number of year models. The 2006 year model needs to be include in these recalls. Is it a safety issue and having a disabled wife riding with me makes me feel uncomfortable driving it. There are numerous reports of issues with this year model all over the internet.

- Winston Salen, NC, USA

problem #12

Nov 032011

Elantra

  • 34,850 miles
My airbag light stays on and I have been told that the sensor needs to be replaced. The passenger air bag will not deploy if I am in an accident. The repair cost is over $600. In my opinon this could be a possible recall issue.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 012010

Elantra

  • miles
Probable fire hazard: Problem with frequent burning out of fuses to cigarette lighter (charger), some dash lights (back light for digital radio channel indicator) either no longer work or come off and on (ash tray light), ac and fan knobs--used to have to tap on them to get them to light, acted almost like a dimmer switch, sometimes had to tap several times to get to turn on, and sometimes knob back lighting on, but dim, and had to tap to get full power to bulbs, cd player overheating and stopped working--gives error message, (had similar cd player overheating with a 2003 Mitsubishi lancer I owned in early to mid-2000S, but cd player continued to work--Elantra does not work more than a few seconds before ejecting cd.) headlights burning out too frequently (including last time, when headlight removed on passenger side, light went out on driver's side as well.) headlight had short and would come back on when I banged on lens with fist for several months, became more and more frequent until if finally burned out. Concerned of risk of electrical fire as engine area becomes hot. Note that clear-coat on hood over each headlight area and over fuse relay box area became yellow, then brittle, peeling off in past 6 months. Purchased vehicle in July 2008 or 2009? believe it had about 63,000 miles on it then--currently 138,000 miles. Airbag light says off when 200 lb. Husband seated on passenger side on occasion recently noticed in last year.

- Faison, NC, USA

problem #10

Aug 012011

Elantra

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that the air bag warning light had been illuminated on a consistent basis. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they stated that the front passenger air bag was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Newport News, VA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?