Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Be aware that there's a significant trend of owners complaining that the Elantra's fuel economy is significantly less than the EPA estimates.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,971 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Hyundai Elantra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 102016


  • 29,000 miles


Front left coil spring broke after going over a pothole at very low speed (about 15mph). I've recently learned that many 2011 Elantras in salt belt states/areas had a recall on front coil springs after similar issues. I'm concerned that the front coil springs in my year make/model (2012 Elantra, also in a salt belt state) has the same issue and should be investigated for a recall.

- Wilmette, IL, USA

problem #21

Aug 202016


  • 97,000 miles
Big problem with the front coil spring. Mine broke and punctured the new tire I had installed this year. The spring broke in half. I was going over a speed bump leaving a baseball stadium when all this occurred.

- Jackson, WI, USA

problem #20

Dec 012012


  • miles
I purchased this car new from a Hyundai dealer in March 2012 problem 1. since early on, the car always exhibited a serious instability in the rear end. Specifically speaking, when driving on any small bump found on any normal road, the car rear suspension will not absorbe the bump like any normal car would but instead severely jumps and then 'darts or shifts' laterally. Even in dry pavement. Having lived in the ne and Illinois now, I am a very experienced driving in snowy conditions. Driving this car in even 1/2" of snow is downright terrifying. There is absolutely no rear end control and total instability no matter how careful you drive. I have found myself not knowing if I was going to make home without getting into an accident. The past two winters I had to use other vehicle even if the weather forecast call for snown flurries. I have never driven a car so unstable in my 45 years of driving. By the way, loading up the car with passengers or additional weight has zero impact reducing the severity of the problem. Problem 2 the rear tires wear out very fast. Even though I rotate them even 5K miles, they wear so badly that they produce a loud road noise from uneven wear. I am on my third set of tires and these need replacement now. I have taken the car to to Hyundai, they checked alignment and said there is nothing wrong and the problem must be the tires. After doing some research, I learned these cars have a solid, non-adjustable rear end with a fixed toe-in and camber. I am certain that both problems I listed are caused by Hyundai's rear end design. This is a major problem and Hyundai refuses to acknowledge it. It is a matter of time before accidents with loss of life will occur. What am I suppose to do this coming winter?.a neighbor with a 2013 Elantra complained about the same instability.

- Harvard, IL, USA

problem #19

May 272016


  • 42,000 miles


The driver's side coil broke and punctured the tire causing a blow out while driving 70 mph in the middle lane of a highway. Terrified because the the smoke and the inability to steer the car I was barely able to get across the right hand lane and park on the side of the road. The car was towed to the dealership where I had purchased my 2012 Hyundai Elantra. I am the original owner, and have always serviced my car at the dealership. The coil spring broke on May 27th and the dealership is having difficulty locating a replacement for the coil spring. I am told that they could possibly have one by June 8th. This fact alone tells me that my car is not the only one with this issue. I am insisting that they replace the passenger side as well because I am certain that it is just a matter of time before that coil also breaks. The dealership said that Hyundai will not cover the cost of replacing the second coil spring as there is nothing wrong with it. I have contacted Hyundai and started a good faith request and they are reviewing to see if they will cover the cost of replacing the passenger side. Hyundai had a coil spring recall on 2012 Elantra vehicles for all cars produced prior to 3/31/2011. My car was produced on 6/9/2011 just missing the recall cut off date. Obviously given what happened to my car they need to extend that cut off date. I am very lucky that my blow out did not cause an accident. My dealership has been very good during this ordeal and has provided me with a loaner car.

- East Killingly, CT, USA

problem #18

Jun 012016


  • miles
Due to the design of the 2012 Elantra suspension/rear end, the rear wheel tires are worn out well before expectation. Purchased the car new and after 20K miles discovered significant wear on the rear tires...especially the inside of the tire. Thought it was a tire problem. Replaced all tires, and after only 16K miles the rear tires again need replacement. Front tires look like new. The tires are less than 2 years old. Again, still thought it was a tire problem. Went to tire dealer and was told the problem was not the tires but the fact that the rear suspension cannot be adjusted for alignment. It is fixed by Hyundai at a -1.50 camber...which apparently causes the tires to ware out quickly. I now agree that it a car problem and contacted Hyundai customer service. The rep said they had never heard of this before (which I find difficult to believe) and refused any assistance pushing it back on the tire manufacturer. The local Hyundai dealer stated they were aware of this problem, but could nothing to resolve it. This appears to be a design flaw which Hyundai is not ready or willing to address.

- Leclaire, IA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

May 172014


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. While driving down a hill or making a turn at various speeds, there was an abnormal sound emitting from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on numerous occasions where it was diagnosed that the front driver side sway bar needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the front and rear rotors and pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #16

Apr 152016


  • 92,000 miles


Our vehicle is just outside of the production window that applies to Hyundai recall 133 regarding fractured coil springs. Our right front coil spring broke, resulting in the puncturing of the tire. Both us and the previous owner of the vehicle live and have used the vehicle in the defined snow/salt region. The vehicle impacted a pothole. Immediate inspection showed no damage to tire or wheel. Driver continued on to work, parked, and at the end of the workday began to drive home. After turning a corner, an audible "grinding" was noted, and driver stopped, looking under the vehicle for lodged debris. Second motorist stopped to assist, and an attempt to move the vehicle was made, at which point it was noted that the suspension was "off", and they believed a portion of the braking system was resting on the tire. Driver proceeded to attempt to remove the vehicle from the roadway, and the turning of the vehicle resulted in the fractured coil spring coming in contact with the right front tire, lacerating it. Recall 133 covers models manufactured through March 31, 2011. Our manufacture date is June 20, 2011.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #15

Apr 142016


  • 77,000 miles
Both original coil springs of this vehicle have snapped due to corrosion and cold weather climate within a year of the other. Hyundai will not include in the recall because it is 2012 vehicle. The issue is the same as the 2011 coil spring failures. This recall needs extended to the 2012 vehicles as well.

- Frostburg, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 012015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
I am terrified to drive my car on compacted snow or ice. The backend fishtails so bad I fear losing control. I have to slow down to 30 mph to control the car. I will not drive on any big highways because I can't go over 30 mph. Like other complaints I have lived in mn all my life and had many cars. I have never experienced what I am with this car. They back end has a mind of it's own. If you go to you will see what others are experiencing. There are lots of complaints on this issue. Look up the 2013's to understand what is going on. I love my car but now feel I have to get rid of it. In good conscience I can't sell this to a private party. I don't want to be responsible for their death. Only choice is thru a dealer and lose money. I suppose a Hyundai dealer is my only option because some of them are aware of this problem. One admitted it was a design flaw. Let the dealer ship car to a southern state where there is no snow and ice. Please help. Make Hyundai fix this problem before someone gets killed. I am disappointed with consumer report who recommended this car. They must not have tested it on winter roads. Thank you

- Becida, MN, USA

problem #13

Nov 212015


  • 68,129 miles
When driving over a speed bump at the mall I heard a noise from the front of the car. Looked at front of car, did not see anything wrong, proceeded to drive it and heard the noise again and the smell of burning rubber and smoke coming from drivers side front wheel compartment. Called tow truck and the mechanic said the front spring was broke.this happened on 11-21-15. Had it towed to a repair shop.

- Brookville, PA, USA

problem #12

Nov 212015


  • 66,158 miles


When driving over a speed bump in a mall.,I heard a noise from the front of car.looked at front of car did not see anything wrong and proceeded to drive it. It made a funny noise and you could smell burning rubber and smoke started to come from front drivers side wheel compartment.called a tow truck and the mechanic said looks like the front coil spring broke. I was wandering if you have had any complaints on this year as I know the 2011 had a fracturing problem with the front coil springs.this just happened today 11-21-15 and is at a repair facility to be looked at on Monday when they open for business.

- Brookville, PA, USA

problem #11

May 202015


  • 29,000 miles
Rear end fishtails severely when I hit a pothole, sewer lid or any bump in the road. I have come very close to hitting other cars beside me and head on from this problem. I am terrified to drive my own new car. I have taken it to two different Hyundai dealerships and their service department says there is nothing wrong with the car and it operates as designed, yet they have also told me that this is a very common complaint they did lower the pressure in the tires and suggested I put cases of water in my trunk to weigh down the back end of the car. I have added 70 pounds of weight in the trunk and still it does not help at all. I have read that in the snow the problem is ten times worse. I live in a state where we get plenty of snow and I dread the thought of having to drive that car during that time. I am so disappointed I don't even have the words to express how upset that I am.

- North Bend, OH, USA

problem #10

Dec 202014


  • 46,066 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving at any speed over a bump in the road, the vehicle veered to the left or right. In addition, the vehicle would jerk violently and there was an abnormal noise when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that either the front enlightenment needed to be repaired or the front tires needed to be replaced. The tires were replaced, but the failure recurred. The contact also stated that the vehicle was taken a second time to the dealer where they recalibrated the vehicle, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,066.

- Cobington, TN, USA

problem #9

May 102015


  • 71,000 miles
Periodically my car refuses to start. The battery is good, all lights on the dash are normal, headlights work, radio works, car is in parked position, yet when I turn the key it refuses to start. This is the second set of occurrences of the same issue. I experienced this issue last year (2014), at which time I had to take the car into service on more than three occasions before the figured it out. They eventually sorted out the issue in November of 2014. Now 6 months after, in May 2015, the same issue occurs only to find out that Hyundai will only warranty the part but not the labor costs. Today while at the dealership, there was at least one other Hyundai Elantra owner with the same issue. I'd hate that the car refuse to start in an emergency situation this is obviously something that Hyundai is aware of, yet refuse to take full responsibility and remedy the situation for myself and all other customers. I believe there should be a recall for this. I also have a second issue with this car, from the day of purchase. The car shakes at speeds between 40mph and 55mph. I have taken the car in on multiple occasions to two different Hyundai dealerships, yet they cannot figure out the issue. They have balanced the tires, aligned the wheels, rotated the tires, etc, yet none of their attempts have resulted in a solution. This issue make driving the car feel very unsafe, and very unpredictable in wet conditions

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #8

Dec 312011


  • 31 miles
After purchasing the car new with all of 31 miles on it I noticed on my 350 mile drive home from anchorage to fairbanks Alaska that the rear end of the car would skip around unpredictably when hitting a bump or when I hit an icy patch of road (and as a result of the skipping around, the rear tires wear/cup ridiculously fast, which may also be dangerous but is mostly annoying and expensive). Despite a few attempts by the dealer at repairing the steering column it still does it, 30K miles later. As far as speed, it happens at any speed above about 35 mph. It is bad enough in the summer to feel like the rear end is leaving the road, but it is extremely dangerous in the winter when traction is already tenuous at best. Sooner or later this is going to kill someone if it hasn't already.

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #7

Nov 132014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Last Oct. I noticed my tires on the rear of my car were bald.I took it to the dealership to have it looked at they would not do anything with it. So I talked to the owner he agreed to replace them. They checked the alignment said nothing was wrong. Put new tires on, now one year later tires are bald again. Dealer said they would not do anything for me. Hyundai said they will not do anything. The car has only 32000 miles on it. This is going to be the 2nd. Set of tires on the rear in 1 year.please let me know what I can do to resolve this problem. Thank you

- Braidwood, IL, USA

problem #6

Mar 142013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 35,492 miles
Driving on the highway, went over unevenness in road and rear end swayed left to right. Dealer said it was operating as designed. Scary,

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #5

May 012013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 hyundia Elantra. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle wheel alignment problems. The consumer stated the wheel alignment problem, was causing the rear tires to wear excessively, down to the tread. The consumer stated his daughter lost control of the vehicle in the rain, due to the lack of traction. The consumer was informed there was nothing that could be done, since there was no way to adjust the rear suspension.

- Moline, IL, USA

problem #4

Oct 012011


  • miles
I have the 2012 Elantra and from the day we bought it I noticed it was hard to drive in a straight line out on the highway thought it was just me because my wife never said anything about it then I started seeing complaints from other people online I agree it is a safety issue and hyundia needs to take care of the problem. Also lately when U try to restart the car after sitting sometimes it will not start unless U press on the gas pedal its been in the dealer shop two times (busted strut and was popping in frontend) and the can not find anything wrong with it as far as the steering I know its not the tires or the alignment just had new tires installed and realigned.

- Piketon, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 062012

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 6,996 miles
Clunking noise when going over bumps. Dealer replaced right rear shock. Same thing happened again December 14, 2012. Car had 17,059 miles. This time dealer replaced the right rear shock again, and also replaced the left rear shock. Could there be a defect in the suspension system of this model and year car?

- Lititz, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?