If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,390 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jan 012014

Elantra

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes very rough and grinding

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #28

Sep 042013

Elantra

  • 2,000 miles
At speeds greater than 35 mph on rough roads rear end of car will slide out to right causing vehicle to head towards incoming traffic. If brakes are applied when vehicle loses control ABS activates and car seems to leave ground. This continues to happen over and over. Car dealer repair says this is not happening. Notes this might be the first time I had this type of suspension. Car does not feel safe on interstate. I've tested the bump out in an empty lot. If not correct by hard steering car will depart lane.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #27

May 012014

Elantra

  • 8,000 miles
Our Elantra began making grinding noises when we pressed on the brake pedal that sounded like the brakes or rotor were defective. When the shop inspected the car, they said they could not duplicate the noise, and told us the car was in perfect shape. Over the next few months, the noise became louder when braking, plus it began making a whump-whump-whump noise that appeared to be directly related to the speed and rotation of the wheels. The sound would increase when we steered the car to the right, and would decrease when we steered left. The whumps were barely audible at 5 mph, but were overly loud at 40 mph. I thought it was plastic trim fluttering in the wind, but could not find anything loose. When we took it to the shop again, I think in August, I told them the car was not drivable that they needed to find out what was causing the whump noises and the grinding noises when we applied the brakes. This time they found the problem was caused by the bolt holding the left wheel coming unscrewed. They tightened the bolt under warranty repair service, and the car has not made the whump noise or had grinding brakes since the repair. I doubt this problem was limited to one car in the fleet, and I believe Hyundai should have issued an advisory to their shop managers to be watching for this problem so that it would have been found and corrected the first time that we took the car in.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #26

Aug 202014

Elantra

  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Coming to the end of a passing lane at about 60 mph, cars got congested, braked hard and the brakes locked up causing me to lose control of my car, started to go into oncoming traffic. I let up on the brakes and braked again, brakes locked up as before. I thought anti-lock brakes prevented this from happening. This has happened two other times, just not this bad, plus when I go over railroad tracks of hit a pothole, I can't use the brakes. I noticed the other complaints about the factory hancock tires, they should be ban from new cars, I had two accidents in one day due to light snow.

- Green Forest, AR, USA

problem #25

Aug 212013

Elantra

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds the vehicle would become unstable after driving over a bump or pot hole in the road. The contact indicated that the vehicle was very difficult to drive in a straight line. Also, the brakes had malfunctioned on multiple occasions after driving over a bump or pot hole. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. After changing the coil springs and replacing the tires the vehicle continued to experience the failures. The manufacturer was notified of the failures but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 2,000.

- California, MD, USA

problem #24

Dec 022013

Elantra

  • 10,000 miles
Driving on freeway at speed of approx. 65-70, hit off level pavement on right side on road while braking to slow (for traffic) and brake pedal hardened (pedal hard to press for few seconds) while making clicking sound, but then functioned properly. Felt like front pass wheel. Figured nothing. Months passed, driving in shopping center and going over speed bump at about 5 mph and front wheel made clicking again while braking to slow further and brake pedal hardened again (difficult to press for few seconds) then functioned properly. Took car to dealer for regular maintenance and informed dealer of situation and service rep claimed it was how the ABS system worked and that was all it was, the ABS system working. Told him this problem does not happen when the left wheel is involved hitting or going over bump. First time owned vehicle with ABS but I think the brake pedal is not suppose to harden up while ABS system is functioning as this would limit any braking capacity. Feels like there is a bigger problem and dealer is not taking it seriously. Original owner since 7/31/13, this problem has happed at least 4 times and all seemed to only involve the front passenger wheel.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 212014

Elantra

  • 4,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was taking trash to the dump, 1 person's worth, going 5 mph 1/ of mile from my home, car veered to right edge of pavement, and where a bulldozer had drug road edges and broke pavement off, caused me to hit a tree at a very slow speed. I reversed car, backed up 50 ft. And car shut itself off & windshield got extremely hot, and I got out of vehicle, smoke coming from hood area, left my purse, and walked across road to ask for fire extinguisher. Man had just got up, hadn't had coffee, and invited me in. I went back outside and saw car was burning, so I stayed on his porch, then front yard. I knew trash may have aerosol canisters, and not worth my life to try to go through fire to save my purse. Cops came (9:45-10:15 am, and said I looked funny and arrested me accusing me of being under the influence of medication. I was not on any medicine and definitely not drinking. Car was a total loss after explosion and I have not had another for over 8 months. I am on disability for fibromyalgia, neuralgia, & osteoporosis, and hollow bones. I fall quite often (one leg is shorter than other). Officer himself drew my blood in a public place, and refused to let me see my attorney 3 times. I never got to use a phone in 2 days. But vehicle was problematic from day 1, battery would not hold a charge, jump a riding lawn mower, and would just cut off while I was going down the road. Steering was also a problem from day one, like tires were never aligned.

- Lagrange, NC, USA

problem #22

Jul 072014

Elantra

  • 4,260 miles
Bought this car new as a closeout on May 30th 2014. I was on interstate 57 going South about 60 miles out of paducah ky driving the posted speed limit with the cruise control on. With no warning the car went to the left across 3 lanes and then back to the right 3 lanes and again to the left 3 lanes before I could regain control. The semi behind me just about jack knifed trying to avoid hitting me. It was only because the traffic was very light and the semi and I were the only ones on the road in that area at the time this happened, or there would have been a major accident. I took the car to the dealer in paducah they said it was my brakes, they cut the routers. I could not drive the car even after the repair over 55 mph as it would wander to the left and to the right. When I returned to my home state I took the car back to the dealer and told them to return it to Hyundai. I was told by the dealer that they never heard of this ever happening to anyone else. I have seen reports of others having the same problem so this is a cover up by Hyundai. The steering on the Hyundai is bad! there needs to be a major recall on this electronic steering. The complaints are from sonata owners also.

- Piedmont, AL, USA

problem #21

Jul 132014

Elantra

  • 7,860 miles
On 06/19/14, I purchased a 2013 model car at rick case dealership, lauderhill, Florida. Odometer showed 7413 miles. Supposedly certified and with 10 yrs warrantee, etc. I drive some 7000 miles/yr so vehicle stays in driveway most of the time. Very seldom do I take it our on the highway. At about 7715 or so miles of slow, street driving, I take it on the highway and notice a loud racket, banging noise. I take it in the dealer. Dealer says they found "a couple of loose bolts" which they tightened and that was it. They returned the vehicle to me. About a week later, [around 7850 miles] I take it again on the road. It took about 15 miles or so of 70+ M/H driving for the racket to show itself again. I take it once more to the dealer. This time I pointed our that I had noticed something unusual with the alignment of the rear, left shock absorber. Upon inspection the dealer tells me the car has been in a serious accident of some sort as the undercarriage is all banged up, the absorber is misaligned, the brake line is hanging precariously close to the tire, etc and that I must have caused this problem. [their gall and audacity is amazing!], as a result, I have to assume all costs!. they clearly want to take advantage of me, the customer. Sales manager says that I "should have inspected" the car before I bought it..again, the gall of this man! I saw no proof that the car had been "thoroughly inspected" as he claims. I swear under penalty of perjury that this car was like that when I bought it. I contend that the dealer had full knowledge of this and willingly and wantonly sold it to me in the hope that I do not notice maybe?. finally, when I told the service manager the danger involved in driving this car, his solution was to "keep it in the garage" until I'm able to pay for the fix...again, the gall of these guys!. I made them write everything

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 232013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 9,740 miles
At first on occasion the front passenger side brake made a metal to metal grinding sound under all braking conditions. The dealership said they could not duplicate customer concern. Today is June 5th 2013 and the brake is grinding constantly at 14000 miles. I documented a complaint with Hyundai corporation on June 3rd 2014 and my case # is [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Millsboro, DE, USA

problem #19

Apr 302014

Elantra

  • 5,006 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was in the far left lane of interstate 255 in southern Illinois. A tractor trailer was in the process of cutting my off when I honked and he proceed back into his lane. I had brake quickly and with both hands on the wheel when the car lost control and I was swerving within the lane for around 2 minutes before I could regain control of the car. I almost clipped another car as well as the median, but barley missed both. I had both hands on the wheel, I did not stomp on the brakes, and yet I still lost control of the car. It also constantly sways to one side as well as the brakes lose grip if you run over any bump at all. You guys need to recall these cars, they are not safe and I am not paying almost 400 dollars a month for a car that could easily injure me in an accident.

- Godfrey, IL, USA

problem #18

Apr 012013

Elantra

  • 15,000 miles
Brakes grind (sounds like metal on metal contact) if applied going over 20mph in all weather conditions however it is worse when the brakes are applied on a bumpy road. Dealer has not made any serious attempts to fix issue except telling me it was the humidity and putting lube on brakes which did not work.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #17

Aug 252013

Elantra

  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 35 mph, the brakes failed to immediately respond and the rear end the vehicle veered to the side. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician stated that was the way the vehicle was designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 600 and the current mileage was 12,000.

- California , MD, USA

problem #16

Feb 172014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles
I purchased the 2013 Hyundai Elantra gls with 13461 miles on 2/15/14. The first few days I drove the vehicle locally everything seemed ok. A few days later once the vehicle was driven on bumpy uneven roadways the rear end of the vehicle appears to not stay in line with the front of the vehicle. When driving over uneven surfaces or bumps at speeds of 30mph and up the rear end seems to be out of control making the vehicle veer into another lane. The suspension on the vehicle for such low miles is also very noisy and rattles over the slightest imperfections on the road. The vehicle was serviced on 3/12/14 and the Hyundai service advisor stated that a Hyundai tech test drove the vehicle and stated that the vehicle is operating as designed. Also they found that the rotors had rust on them and had to be resurfaced/machined. Rotors should not go bad with a vehicle that has low miles. I purchased this car for the safety of my family and now am stuck with years of payments. I am not a happy Hyundai consumer. I have seen numerous complains for the same issue. A recall needs to be done on this vehicle for the suspension problem.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jan 232014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
During merge onto a major dallas tollway, traffic became stopped in the right lane and upon applying a hard brake of my car, the anti-lock brakes failed to engage, the seatbelt did not lock, my car felt as though it was accelerating even though I was pressing the brake pad hard. I hit the car in front of me once and then again before my car stopped, still running. My car sustained $8500 in damage to the front end, but the air bag did not even deploy. I have owned it for 15 months and have not had an issue of this nature in the past, however I am now concerned of the safety of this vehicle.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #14

Dec 102013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
It was the first snow storm in NJ. I was driving, got a red light and was slowing down the car. There were a couple of cars stopping at red light. My car was almost stopped also but the last moment, the brake wouldn't work and just helplessly slid and hit the car in front of me. I was the first time I got an accident and there were so many small accidents around so I thought it was my mistake somehow. But afterwards, I get similar issues and I don't feel safe any more. My car is just one year old. I have been driving for 10 years, never had this kind of issue before.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #13

Dec 022013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
I have rust on my 2013 Hyundai Elantra rotors and it makes noise when I brake. I had to get new pads in December because of a loud noise while braking.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #12

Jan 152013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
The brakes make horrible creaking and grinding noises when wet. Sometimes it will even cause the car to shake. I have contacted Hyundai several times and they do not take this serious. I have taken it to the dealership several times and they have not been able to fix it. I just took it in last week and they even tried to get me to pay 100 for a cleaning of the brake components, I feel I should not have to pay to fix a problem we have had since we bought the car new and have had it in several times and they have not been able to fix it. I am not confident driving the car now and clearly no one would want it buy it off us when it makes such horrible noises. I also believe it cannot be safe and will cause premature failure of the brake calipers and / or possible the ball joints or front steering suspension. I think they have a faulty design in the brake hydraulics and the differential pressures between the front and rear brakes are not right.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #11

Nov 142013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
I was on my way to work, when I noticed there was a new warning on my dashboard and so when looking up what it means in my book, it pertains to my brakes!! when I called the dealer to schedule an appt about another issue I am having with the car, I told her about this one too. She said we need to get you in asap to have it looked at. I could tell by her tone, this was not a good thing. I expressed to her that I have a (19 mo old), of which I cannot have any major defaults with my car, especially when driving with her in it- which is all the time! I asked her if this was in conjunction with my brakes making a grinding noise and she said she didn't know. I told her I have only had the (new off the lot) for a year or more and have had a string of issues. I am not impressed to say the least!! this is minor in comparison to some, but the upholstery on my side on the right (floor board) has completely torn apart. It almost looks like someone had cut it, like when I brought my car in the last time to get worked on from this dealer. She assured me they would never cut the floor and I said what happened to it then and she said a poor job when made by Hyundai. Granted, they are going to replace it, but now I have a more important issue to attend to- my brakes. Bad upholstery is not going to put me or my daughter in danger, but bad brakes will! when I asked the dealer if any of my current and past issues with this car is normal, she said to be honest- no it is not! if I have to contact Hyundai, I will and I will not give up until my issues have been resolved.

- Central Point, OR, USA

problem #10

Jun 062013

Elantra

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 40 mph, the contact attempted to decelerate but the brakes failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 17,000.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?