Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,346 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Jun 282016


  • miles


The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While driving 10 mph with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle independently accelerated and crashed into a concrete patio. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and bruises to the arms and legs. Medical attention was not required. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and repaired. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Independence, LA, USA

problem #22

Aug 132016


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 7 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and the brakes failed to respond. No warning indicators illuminated. As a result, the contact went over a curb and fractured the front driver side tire and axle. The contact had to shut the engine off in order to stop the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but had not been diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000. Updated 10/05/16

- Mount Dora, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 172016


  • 42,800 miles
Pulling into parking spot with foot on brake - car accelerated on its own-crashed into tree-airbags deployed. Hit another parked car. Car took control.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 132016


  • 28,026 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While making a left in the garage, the vehicle accelerated independently. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to operate. The vehicle stopped by crashing into the bushes. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 28,026.

- Haiku, HI, USA

problem #19

Feb 022016


  • 9,000 miles
I 2/2/2016when parking Hyundai Elantra 2013 it suddenly barreled forward completely out of control over the cement marker and slammed into a tree. Per insurance instructions car was towed to Hyundai dealer.after a very expensive front end repair the service dept "tested" the car and pronounced it in good condition-nothing wrong with this car.the manager at the dealership insists he does not know of any other 2013 Elantra having this problem. This car is a menace to me and to other motorists. Why won't Hyundai acknowledge this problem and inform their dealers of a number of similar situations

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 022016


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while attempting to park at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. As a result, the vehicle ran over a curb into the highway. The contact was able to avoid an accident. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #17

Dec 242015


  • 79,700 miles


2013 Hyundai Elantra on December 24, 2013, the vehicle was being operated on a road with a 35 mph speed limit. Without any deviation of the accelerator pedal, the vehicle jumped to 60 mph. While at the subsequent stop light, the vehicle's RPM's remained high (approximately over 5,500 RPM). The Elantra was then driven to a home depot parking lot. Upon restarting the vehicle, RPM's climbed to 5,000 (while in "park"). no other modules were being used at this time - including cruise control or "eco boost." The vehicle's RPM rate remained at around 2,500-3,000 once put into "drive", resulting in the speed reaching approximately 20-25 mph. This is without the foot on the accelerator and traveling over small hills and grade variants. Summary: While 2013 Elantra is in park, RPM's rest at 5,000. While in drive, RPM''s bottom out at 2,500-3,000, disallowing the ability to naturally stop. This issue appears to reside in the accelerator pedal and the components located therein. This is to be confirmed at a Hyundai service center.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #16

Jul 262015


  • 17,840 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. Upon starting the vehicle, the ignition was inactive and the vehicle would not start. The contact stated that roadside service was able to start the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle accelerated on its own. This was a recurring failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 17,840.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #15

Jun 232015


  • 23,790 miles
Pulling into the parking space at work less than 5mph car accelerated and hit the parking garage wall. Reported to my car insurance company, car was taken to dealership after body shop. Dealership couldn't find anything on diagnostic report.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 132015


  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. While the vehicle was in park with the emergency brake engaged, it started moving and accelerated without warning. The vehicle crashed into numerous vehicles while it continued to accelerate. The air bags deployed. The passenger sustained broken ribs, as well as head and legs injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 7,000.

- Lyons , OR, USA

problem #13

Mar 302015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 22,124 miles


When going over any road defects or abnormalities, while driving the car, I have become aware of how the suspension is on this vehicle makes noises, fishtails, and seems to bottom out with any speed bump. Rear wheels seem to lose traction when hitting any type of small hole, crack, or drop in road flatness. Suspension also sways awkwardly with certain turns. Only getting more and more noticeable as the car continues to age.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 272015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
2013 Hyundai Elantra had an accident due to unintended acceleration. Was pulling onto my parking spot, when the car just accelerated by itself, causing me to crash into my building.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 092015


  • 32,300 miles
I bought a used 2013 Hyundai Elantra with 29,802 miles on it on October 6, 2014. By February 2015 I started hearing a tapping noise from under the hood and a noise when I pressed the gas pedal which stopped when I took my foot off the gas pedal. I took it to a Hyundai dealership in February 2015 and it was determined I needed my engine replaced. Hyundai agreed to replace it under factory warranty. I had 32,500 I believe miles on it. The dealership had multiple cars sitting on their lot which needed their engines replaced. While I was waiting for a rental car business to come pick me up at the Hyundai dealership to get me a rental car to drive while my car was waiting to be fixed, I spoke to a couple who came in to drop off their rental car. Their 2012 Hyundai Elantra needed an engine replacement as well--at 23,000 miles. The dealership told me that these cars had engine problems more often in the northeast due to the more severe weather in the winter. I so regret ever buying my first ever Hyundai vehicle!

- Wiscasset, ME, USA

problem #10

Jan 122015


  • 10,000 miles
Driver was making a left turn into a parking space on 2nd floor of parking garage. As the left turn was made, the Elantra GT suddenly accelerated by itself into a wall, hitting a pole and the wall. Hyundai is investigating. Dealer is useless. Right now unsure how to proceed. Exterior can be fixed, but what about the problem?

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #9

Sep 112014


  • miles
2013 Hyundai Elantra had an accident due to unintended acceleration.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #8

Sep 152014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
While turning into a parking spot. My car suddenly jumped and accelerated and slammed into a concrete barrier. The air bag also did not deploy.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #7

Jul 252014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Pulling into a parking space at walgreens about a foot from a complete stop car suddenly accelerated up over a 6in curb across a 5ft sidewalk into a concrete wall of the store, causing severe bumper damage and breaking a shallow hole in the brick wall. A lot of acceleration. Had to tow car, what happens when car is fixed and have to drive it again?

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #6

Jan 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
The car was purchased late 12/2012. Between this date and late 11/2013 there have been 9 instances of unintended acceleration. 1.backing out of parking lot at store 1/1/2013car accelerated and jumped forward. 2/2013, entering our homes garage, while traveling about 2mph, the car suddenly accelerated and jumped forward. 5/2013, while backing out of garage when the car accelerated and jumped forward. 4.around 9/2013, we were moving slowly, żless than 10 mpg- and turning into a parking spot when the car accelerated and jumped forward. 5.around 10/6/2013 we were pulling into our sons driveway. We were moving slowly when the car accelerated and jumped forward. The vehicle stopped its forward movement when it hit a decorative stone column. Repairs were approx. $1750 to repair. 6.later in 10/2013, we were slowing down as we approached a stop sign the car unintentionally accelerated and jumped forward. 11/2013, we experienced a similar event as in #6 while approaching a stop sign. 8.later in 11/2013, we were backing out of garage when the car unintentionally accelerated and jumped forward. 9.again in 11/2013 we were accelerating as we were entering the interstate when the car accelerated very rapidly even after removing the driver's foot from the gas pedal. The dealership cannot replicate the problem. They have evaluated with engineers; driven with the main driver to insure it is being driven correctly.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 272013


  • 25,278 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, she attempted to park the vehicle when the vehicle accelerated unexpectedly. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle proceeded to crash into a pole. The air bags did deploy however, the contact sustained injuries to the right ankle, mid section and the spinal cord. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to an impound yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the acceleration failure. The failure mileage was 25,278.

- Farmington, NY, USA

problem #4

Jun 012013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 1,400 miles
Was about 2 tenths of a mile from a stop sign. As I was beginning to make my approach, the car accelerated, lurched forward and sped across a four lane highway before I could react. The car was T-boned on the passengers side. The impact straightened my vehicles trajectory from 90 degrees to about 30 to 45 degrees. I then impacted a guardrail with a somewhat nearly head-on angle. After I went through the guardrail I then impacted a tree head-on which brought the vehicle to a stop. My passenger's side curtain air bags deployed but the front (dash) air bags did not. My passenger received a broken collar bone, fractured rib, scalp lacerations (stitches), a concussion and multiple bruises from head to toe.

- Mount Carmel, TN, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?