Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,013 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Mar 212015

Elantra

  • 37,422 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has been an ongoing issue, when hitting any type of bump in the road, the rear of the car feels like it is going to fishtail, worse on wet roads. The ABS brakes work and then they don't, the steering will feel loose and then tight. I have noticed there is a lot of complaints about the car feeling like it is going to fishtail or has when hitting bumps and yet, no recall is forced on Hyundai. I guess it takes a fatality to get anything done. A car should never feel like it is going to fishtail when hitting bumps. The engine hesitates when going uphill or when accelerator is pressed quickly.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #52

Nov 252014

Elantra

  • 40,000 miles
As soon as I bought my car and drove it away, I noticed that it fish tails when it drives over uneven roads or potholes. My first time on the freeway with it was definitely a frightening experience. As soon as I hit about 60 mph I was fishtailing so bad that I had to death grip my steering wheel with both hands until I could exit off. I feared for my life, I seriously felt like I was going to lose control of my vehicle and crash. I try to avoid the freeway as much as I can. I don't know if the back end is too light weight or what, but this issue really needs to be investigated. The loss of control over a vehicle is a huge deal and can lead to fatalities.

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #51

Nov 212014

Elantra

  • 38,431 miles
While driving at highway speed if I hit a slight bump or irregularity in the road rear end of car jumps around.on wet or slick roads it is even worse.from the complaints I have read I am not the only one with this problem.Hyundai needs to recall these vehicles and fix this problem before someone loses their life.I may just trade it and get a car that handles the way it should.

- West Salem, OH, USA

problem #50

Jun 022014

Elantra

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall please !! I spent my life savings on this car and it is dangerous to drive. The car fish tails over small bumps and at low speeds. In winter driving its almost out of control and a separate set of snow tires is mandatory so you don't get killed. When it crosses railroad tracks it actually tends to turn on its own onto the direction of the tracks ! if you hit a dip in the road the car seems to lose control. And at highway speeds forget it - it sways across the lanes on its own as if it is constantly catching the wind. I cannot drive it on the highway - I am white knuckled by just a short trip trying to keep control of this car. This car is more of boat then an automobile. If I sell the car my losses will be huge. I got a wheel alignment, tires and took it into the dealer all to no avail and the problem is getting worse as the car is aging too. Basically the dealer said this is the way the car is built too bad so sad.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #49

Apr 172015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 35,600 miles
I recently purchased this vehicle used at a dealership. As I was driving to work on the interstate I ran over a part of the interstate that was pot holes but filled in. As I ran over the area, my back end started to fish tail. I took the car back to the dealership on 04/18/2015 and I was told that the tire pressure was wrong and that I needed to be aware that my car was considered a sports car and it would handle differently than a regular car and the back end being "loose" was normal. The tire pressure was adjusted but I am still having the same problem although not as bad and it is only on certain "bumps" in the road that the vehicle tries to fish tail.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #48

Jul 092014

Elantra

  • 12,000 miles
I feel very unsafe driving the 2013 Hyundai Elantra. I bought this vehicle brand new in Nov 2013. In July 2014 for the first time my tire pressure light went on. I have my car serviced at my Hyundai dealer regularly. Every service I mention this problem. As of April 1st the light has come on once a week. The tires get dangerously low (22lbs). Today Apr. 23 I brought my car in again for service and received the same run around about the tires. They rotated them and told me there was no signs that anything was wrong with them. Also the car does not seem solid when driving at highway speeds. It jumps and sways at every little bump. My brakes were also vibrating. Today the told me it was a pulsation and charged me $190 to supposedly remedy the problem which remains to be seen because and doesn't happen all the time. No parts were involved in this fix. The cost was labor. This vehicle currently has 27,000 miles on it. I feel the Hyundai people have very little regard for their consumers safety.

- Barnstable , MA, USA

problem #47

Apr 062015

Elantra

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra. When traveling over a bump in the road or unleveled land at various speeds, the rear of the vehicle swayed back and forth as if the suspension were unstable. The contact indicated that the failure progressed each time the vehicle was driven. The vehicle was not inspected or diagnosed. The vehicle was to be taken to an authorized dealer for further inspection and diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.....updated 07/22/15

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #46

Mar 302015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 22,124 miles
When going over any road defects or abnormalities, while driving the car, I have become aware of how the suspension is on this vehicle makes noises, fishtails, and seems to bottom out with any speed bump. Rear wheels seem to lose traction when hitting any type of small hole, crack, or drop in road flatness. Suspension also sways awkwardly with certain turns. Only getting more and more noticeable as the car continues to age.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #45

Nov 202014

Elantra

  • 39,000 miles
Since buying this car in November 2014, I noticed an issue with stability while driving on the highway and was unsure as to what was causing the car to feel like it was jumping after hitting small bumps. After doing some research I understand now that it is the suspension that is causing this instability. The bumps I hit on the highway are not major bumps, these are just the small ones that transition from section to section of the highway so I know it isn't the road I drive on, it is the car. This is actually the third Hyundai I have owned, and have never had any issues like this with their vehicles. I have always felt safe while driving them until this Hyundai Elantra 2013. Also while driving on the highway, anywhere from 45-65mph the driving stability feels unsafe and the vehicle wavers back and forth on the highway, having to always correct it. When it is windy it is extremely worse. I cannot believe Hyundai made a car this unsafe. Driving this winter I have only hoped that the jumping and wavering didn't cause an accident on the highway. That is completely unacceptable to feel that way in a newer vehicle. Please continue looking into and investigating this issue as the company should be made responsible for these issues.

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #44

Feb 282015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 6,700 miles
My 2013 Hyundai Elantra gls has the swerving problem. Any time I'm on an uneven patch of road or a bump, it's like I lose control of my car. You have to keep 2 hands on the wheel at all times to try & keep some control. I hope you agree that this is a safety issue. Please open an investigation. This safety defect exists in a group of cars please order a recall.

- Chicago , IL, USA

problem #43

Feb 112015

Elantra

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car in July 2014. A. 2013 Hyundai Elantra and after 3 weeks the front passenger tire went out after barely hitting curb around by September 2014, the drivers tire was deflating replaced. On 2/10/2015 the tire in rear went out while driving on highway, the dealership says it could because a nail got into the tire and caused the problem. It just seems a bit unusual for 3 tires in less than a year of owning this vehicle, which was new purchased July 2014. 2013 Hyundai Elantra.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 302014

Elantra

  • 33,000 miles
They car drives fine until you hit a any sort of bump or hole in the road. When that happens the back end wiggles and in the rain it is much worse. It is even worse on the highway going at a higher speed. I have read several other complaints online with drivers facing similar issues. I am worried that it will one day lose control. I do not feel like I am in control of the car, I've taken it to the dealer several times and they say everything is fine and that is just how the car drives.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #41

Jan 312014

Elantra 4WD 4-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Hitting a pothole at. Low speed destroyed my tire and bent the rim. This is the fourth tire lost under similar conditions. The impact seems to be borne by the rim which then crushes the tire. This complaint about the 2013 Elantra shows up in numerous reports on the cars.com website.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #40

Jan 122015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
My 2013 Elantra coupe fishtails when you hit a bump or uneven place in the road. This is a very scary feeling and will cause accidents. I am very shocked that Hyundai has not recalled these cars for safety reasons because there are many many complaints on here so it must have been brought to their attention. It is my hope that they recall this issue now before there are more accidents. I also have the problem with the truck popping open while inside a store.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #39

Dec 262014

Elantra

  • 46,000 miles
As others have mentioned, I have had both problems starting the vehicle (the car could not be started on two occasions so far, despite having adequate fuel and a charged battery), and with the rear of the car swinging out when traveling over a bump or on slippery road conditions (even at speeds as low as 35 mph, there is a noticeable kick from the rear of the vehicle, which has worsened with time). For both cases, the dealer was unable to find an issue, and/or said any kind problem was "within tolerance."

- Lakewood, OH, USA

problem #38

Jul 012013

Elantra

  • 300 miles
As noted from other complaints regarding this problem, I have also had this vehicle become almost uncontrollable at speed when hitting bumps or uneven pavement. The rear of the car wants to shift right or left and if not caught in time could cause one to side swipe another vehicle or just run off the road. Thankfully because of past road racing experience, I've been able to counter steer the vehicle before there is an accident. Its only my belief that there is tire/wheel/suspension issues creating this situation. You would think that with all the complaints filed, Hyundai might want to take a hard look at what is creating this stability issue.

- Fairfield, OH, USA

problem #37

Sep 042013

Elantra

  • 2,000 miles
At speeds greater than 35 mph on rough roads rear end of car will slide out to right causing vehicle to head towards incoming traffic. If brakes are applied when vehicle loses control ABS activates and car seems to leave ground. This continues to happen over and over. Car dealer repair says this is not happening. Notes this might be the first time I had this type of suspension. Car does not feel safe on interstate. I've tested the bump out in an empty lot. If not correct by hard steering car will depart lane.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #36

Jan 012013

Elantra

  • 30 miles
Upon hitting a bump or uneven roadway car( 25 mph and above)feels like it looses contact with roadway and becomes uncontrollable.by far the worst suspension in a vehicle I have ever owned.if on highway you better be double fisted and white knuckled holding on to steering wheel because car will be all over the place if you hit a ridge or unevenness in road.the car feels like it is out of control(very scary),so much so that any passengers in vehicle also feels it and grabs hold of something for stability.I have owned 3 new Hyundai, this is the first with this issue.have been hoping for a recall or admission of known problem but cannot wait any longer, very dangerous situation and I refuse to be first fatality before something is done about this.at some point someone is going to over correct when they feel this on highway and that will not end well.so I now have a vehicle that has 16,000 miles and is not safe enough where I will let my wife or children drive it.no more Hyundai for me!

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #35

Aug 162014

Elantra

  • 10,150 miles
My 2013 Hyundai Elantra limited has the swerving problem. Any time I'm on an uneven patch of road or a bump, it's like I lose control of my car. You have to keep 2 hands on the wheel at all times to try & keep some control. I do not feel safe doing my weekly drive from de to NY!!

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #34

Sep 122014

Elantra

  • 41,063 miles
I bought my 2013 Hyundai Elantra GT on September 12, 2014, it had 41053 miles on it. As I left the dealership it was raining very hard and I noticed that it was very difficult to keep the car in my lane; my car was pulling to the right, not only that, I hit a bump or manhole and the bad end of the car fishtailed so bad that I thought I was going to hit the car that was in the right lane. I was driving a few days later, I hit another pothole and the car did that same thing but this time the roads were dry. At this point, I realize that the first incident had nothing to do with the roads being wet, it was the suspension on the car that's causes the car to pull to one side and for it to fishtail the way it does. I did some research and I realized that Hyundai owners have complained about this problem for quite sometime but the Hyundai corporation fails to acknowledge this as a problem; this is a very dangerous problem. To be honest, I'm a little frighten to drive my car; Hyundai corporation needs to acknowledge that there is a suspension problem with the make and model and they need to do something to correct this problem asap before someone loses their life.

- Lawndale, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?