Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jul 092014


  • 12,000 miles


I feel very unsafe driving the 2013 Hyundai Elantra. I bought this vehicle brand new in Nov 2013. In July 2014 for the first time my tire pressure light went on. I have my car serviced at my Hyundai dealer regularly. Every service I mention this problem. As of April 1st the light has come on once a week. The tires get dangerously low (22lbs). Today Apr. 23 I brought my car in again for service and received the same run around about the tires. They rotated them and told me there was no signs that anything was wrong with them. Also the car does not seem solid when driving at highway speeds. It jumps and sways at every little bump. My brakes were also vibrating. Today the told me it was a pulsation and charged me $190 to supposedly remedy the problem which remains to be seen because and doesn't happen all the time. No parts were involved in this fix. The cost was labor. This vehicle currently has 27,000 miles on it. I feel the Hyundai people have very little regard for their consumers safety.

- Barnstable , MA, USA

problem #37

Apr 122015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • miles
Since I brought the car brand new in June of 2012 I have been having problems with the front tire on the passenger side. I have brought new tires and the tire pressure light comes on all the time. Pohanka replace the valve stem back in August. No they are telling me I have to replace the sensor 3 and register the tmps sensors for $220 and I also have been replacing the headlights and tail lights more then I like too. Very unhappy customer. I previously owned an 2002 Hyundai Elantra brought it brand new I had it for 10 years and didn't this must problem and had 262,000 miles on that car. I love the new model but shouldn't be having this many problems.

- Fredericksburg , VA, USA

problem #36

Mar 152015


  • miles
With just under 30,000 miles on a 2013 Elantra GT, bought new, I have had to replace 4 tires after driving over bad road conditions. 1 flat tire and 3 bubbles in the sidewalls. Hyundai replaced the tires with the same model as factory original, because I bought their road hazard coverage. 2 tires in one week this past March 2015 and previous tire Jan 2014 and June 2014.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #35

Mar 262014


  • miles


Sidewall failure 2 front tires!! nexen cp 671 - dot = 8eok macl 3812 - size = P215/45R17 87H M+S - tires came on 2013 Elantra from dealership. Dealership has performed all maintenance since purchase. On 3-26-2015 dealership service dept noticed a large crack in the sidewalls which went all the way around on both sides of the tires. Tread wear is minimal. Simply a sidewall failure. Fortunately it was discovered prior to a front tire blowout.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #34

Jan 232015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 14,536 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra equipped with hankook tire line: Optimo H426 and tire size: P215/45/R17. The contact discovered a bubble in the front driver's side tire. The tire was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,536.....updated 04/23/15

- Elmont , NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Jan 312015

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 29,701 miles
I am the original owner of a 2013 Hyundai Elantra gl with hankook optima model 426 205/55R/16 tires. I did all rotations at 6000 miles and alignments once a year as the car manufacturer specfies. This vehicle is also equipped with a tire pressure monitoring system (tps). Which never indicated any problems with proper inflation. Even with full tread these tires had almost zero traction in any weather conditions were there was any accumulation of rain or snow. These are stated as all season radials and they do not perform as such. My tires were down to the wear bars 3/32' tread left with 29791 miles on the odometer.the manufacturer lists these as 50,000 mile rated tires. When I questioned Hyundai they referred me to hankook telling me the manufacturer knows all about the problems with the tire and is handling all complaints I contacted hankook customer service at 800-426-5665 and spoke with [xxx] at ext. 616 I was first told all I needed to do was have a one of their local tire distributors verify tread depth.I had the tires replaced at town fair tires. Then I asked the manager at town fair tires to call them to verify. Which he was happy to do.the story changed two days later the manager called and was told they didn't know what he was talking about, he called me I called them and then they remembered the conversation and said" they would call him back". then he was told they needed pictures emailed to them of the tires. An hour later I was told by hankook they need the actual tire skins. Since it had been three days since I had the tires replaced the distributor's recyclers had already picked up the tires and they were no longer available. All I was looking for was the industry standard tire allowance for lack of performance. Which now they are refusing to do for me without the tires. Can you help me? these are dangerous products on our roads and need to be removed.

- Windsor, CT, USA

problem #32

Jun 152014


  • 7,492 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra equipped with nexen tires, tire line: CP671, and tire size: P205/55/R16. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the low pressure warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was confirmed that a nail punctured the front passenger tire. The tire was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where it was confirmed that a screw punctured the front passenger tire. The tire was replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage of the tire and the vehicle was 7,492.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #31

Oct 202014


  • 16,300 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Elantra equipped with hankook optimo H426 tires, size: P205/55R16. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the contact could feel a vibration in the tires. The vehicle was driven to a dealer where the tires were replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate vehicle and tire failure mileage was 16,300. The dot was not available.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #30

Nov 222014


  • 29,000 miles
My Hyundai Elantra GT came with hankook optimo H426 215R45 17 tires. These original tires had less than 29,000 miles on them at the time the defect was noticed. The front driver side tire had developed a serious defect/bulge in the sidewall and had to be replaced immediately as the tire could fail and cause vehicle loss of control and potentially an accident that could cause injury.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #29

Nov 192014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2013 Elantra GT and have had numerous issues with wheels and tires. In the winter of 2013-14, I had this car for only 4 month and started having issues with bubbles in sidewalls of the tires. The original tires were kumho 245/45R17 tires and bubbled or went flat after normal driving or upon encountering a bump or pothole. The tires were replaced with falken 245/45R17 tires in February of 2014. In November of 2014, another bubble appeared and a second on December 4, 2014. It is a concerning condition of unsafety and unreliability when a vehicles tires are so prone to damage. I was able to purchase the road hazard warranty with the replacement tires, but have learned that this will no longer be available and the 17" tires will be considered 'low profile' going forward and replacements will not be covered and will need to be paid out of pocket. Not only is this a scary situation, it is expensive and time consuming. Please look into this complaint and the many others that have been submitted for the same issue.

- Telford, PA, USA

problem #28

Oct 112014


  • 6,700 miles


My daughter has a Hyundai Elantra 2013 with 6700 miles, she was driving at 60mph on a freeway and her passenger front tire blew out. She lost control and ran into the concrete barrier on the freeway. She has frame and body damage to her front end. Thank god she is ok except for her collar bone area being bruised from her seat belt. She did not hit anything before the blow out. She could have been seriously hurt. No tire with only 6700miles should have a blow out like this one did. The car has nexen CP671 tires. I am waiting on nexen tire company to call me back. Hyundai really has not offered any help.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 072014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Second side wall tire blow out on Hyundai Elantra was driving on a pretty typical road (bumps etc) but no huge chuck holes and tire sidewall gave out.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #26

Sep 222014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Tires that came factory on the vehicle did not last as long as the tire was rated from the manufactures website. They are nearly bald, due to highway driving, and the manufacture and car company will not honor the tread life warranty. They said that there is not an owner warranty because I did not purchase the tires. This is confusing to me, only because I bought a $24,000 car! Continental was contacted by me to discuss this, and I've taken my vehicle to the dealer. Neither is willing to accept the fact that the tires did not last like they had advertised. Next vehicle I purchase I plan on removing anything with the name Continental on it.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 282014


  • 8,044 miles
The tires that came with my Elantra ((hankook H426 215/45 17) had to be replaced in less than 18 months as the side wall was bulging dangerously. My son who has a 2010 Elantra with hankook tires had a blow-out while driving. I think these hankook tires are dangerously unreliable. Thank you.

- Glencoe , IL, USA

problem #24

Jul 232014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 25,100 miles
Car purchased new (limited trim) in December 2012. During winter 2013 (Dec/Jan timefrime), I hit a significant pothole ona local highway on-ramp blowing out the front passenger-side tire. After being towed to a local repair shop (no spare tire supplied), tire was replaced with a new identical tire. Service station called asking for authorization to replace D/S front tire also since it had a side-wall bubble. I declined permission and when I picked up the car brought it to advantage Hyundai for the second tire. On July 11, 2014, I found another sidewall bubble on the D/S front tire and had the same dealer again sell me a new tire. Today 10 days later, another front D/S tire sidewall bubble. No abnormal potholes encountered. Including the blowout, this is four tire failures in 19 months and 25,000 miles. Tires are 17" low profiles and rubber is from hankook. Situation is unsettling. This is a dangerous situation for anyone driving in this vehicle.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #23

Apr 092013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Nothing "happened" just noticed one day that there was a bubble on sidewall of front driver's side tire.

- Lindenwold, NJ, USA

problem #22

Jun 152014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
Purchased 2013 Elantra less than a year ago with hankook tires. Driver side tire blew out on 6/15/14 at 11K miles. Thank god it happened going around a corner at slower speed than highway driving. Another tire on the rear was also blistered and ready to pop - we had to change before driving to avoid bending another rim should tire blow. Anyway, to make a long story short, neither dealer or tire manufacturer would take responsibility for this defect and cover under it their warranty. Out of pocket expenses currently at $1600. Had to purchase 4 good year tires (including rim, alignment, strut, etc) since no one is safe driving with tires that came with vehicle (18 yr old daughter is primary driver).

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

problem #21

Feb 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Every few months one of the tires on our 2013 Elantra limited fails while driving. Our car currently has just 11,000 miles and is less than 1 year old and since we bought the car we have had 2 tires blow holes in the sidewall (months apart from each other) and a third developed a large blister. My dealer referred me to Hyundai cust svc, Hyundai customer service told me that they do not cover the tires at all and it is not their problem. Continental tire customer service told me that they manufactured the tire specifically for Hyundai and to their specifications and if there is an issue with design then I would have to pursue it through Hyundai because they do not warrant against "road hazards." I do not feel that this is a safe vehicle for my wife to continue to drive unless this situation is addressed. Currently we have had 2 tires blow out while driving leaving my wife stranded and without a spare (vehicle does not come with a spare!) the car then needs to be towed. Oem tire brand is Continental contiprocontact radial - 215/45R17 87H.

- Thornville, OH, USA

problem #20

Jun 092014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 699 miles
Purchased new 2013 from dealer. Mileage at pick up - 212. I picked the car up, approximately 2 wks after signing paperwork, because my mom was hospitalized. I drove the car for a couple of wks - to work, the hospital. I'm 48 yrs old, I drive cautiously. It's my first new car in 17 years. I'm parking far from all cars + being very careful with the car. The car has been having some problems so I gave it a really close inspection + discovered the front tire had a small bubble, the size of a quarter, in the outer wall. At that point mileage was under 700 miles. I returned to the dealer, salesman implied they would fix it - not the case. The dealer said not our product and sent me to a tire company who they said deals w/ nexen warranty paperwork - not the case. I called nexen on June 12th (mileage was approximately 726 miles) + reported it. I gave them tons of information + told them the name of the dealership manager I've been dealing with on the multiple car issues. They said they would call the dealership + see if they could get them to cooperate with them. They also said they were going to see about replacing the tire on a 1 time basis. To date I have heard nothing. The tires are written about extensively online - many people have trouble with this tire on this car. Some think it could be the combination of the tire size 17" + the car, speculating the car might not be able to handle this size. It's a huge safety issue. Bubbles equal blow outs, endangering the lives of those in the car + those driving or walking in close proximity. Hyundai is also misrepresenting the car and so are the sales people at mirak. I told them I did not want low profile tires. They told me they were not low profile tires. And they told me to look at the sticker. The sticker does not say low profile tires. But the tire pros say - they absolutely are low profile tires.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #19

Jun 172014


  • 22,000 miles
Flat tire. Brand new from the dealer only 22000 miles on the tire. Not past warranty. No work was ever done on the tire. Found out that it was purchased brand new with a plug in it.

- Cordova, TN, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?