Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: We're not used to seeing any major problems with Hyundai, which makes the early signs of trouble with the 2013 Elantra very surprising, in a bad way.

Early trends show problems with the steering wandering / pulling to one side along with premature tire wear. Elantra owners have tried sensor adjustments, wheel alignments, even replacing axles, most with no luck. Hyundai has made vehicle buybacks through arbitration, but that rarely works out well financially for owners in the end.

Also there is a pattern of complaints about the 2013 Elantra brakes grinding at very low mileage. It seems there was a bad batch of OEM pads & rotors, but so far Hyundai is not doing a recall. Instead Hyundai issued a TSB & dealers have been replacing pads & rotors on a per-complaint basis.

The final straw is that for several years in a row, Elantra owners report significantly lower gas mileage than the EPA estimates, & there's a small trend of engine problems.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Elantra wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Elantra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Elantra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #55

Aug 192016

Elantra

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My son 2013 Hyundai Elantra would not stop correctly while he was driving it causing it to turn in a semi circle and ultimately crashing into a shoulder on a freeway to stop. After which the wheels broke off on the right side of it.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #54

Aug 242016

Elantra

  • 56,000 miles
The ESC indicator/traction control activated while I was driving 50 mph. I lost complete control of the vehicle, the car headed straight for a cement guardrail on a bridge. The car decelerated, I was unable to steer and the tires screeched on the ground. I was able to push the ESC off button and recover control of the car, avoiding the crash. I knew about the off button only because we have had this problem since June and Hyundai was unable to fix it because it did not duplicate for them. Previously we were driving at a very slow rate of speed, this time it almost killed my daughter and me! my car has been with Hyundai auto-nation, columbus, ga since August 24, 2016 I called on August 25 but the car VIN # was not asked of me, the complaint ticket number is 1010763 the first time the ESC activated my husband was driving. The ESC turned on, while he was accelerating onto an on-ramp back in June 2016. We turned the car off, researched it on the side of the road, found the "off" button and brought to Hyundai the next day and they were unable to fix the problem! a week later the ESC turned on in a parking lot while I was driving, hit the ESC off button and the car behaved until Aug 24th. I called Hyundai to report, but since it didn't occur again, they said do not bring it in. On August 24th, the ESC came on while I was in a school zone, I hit the off button, I took the off button off, to see if it would activate again so I could bring it into Hyundai (they said it had to be malfunctioning at the time of visit to be fixed) it malfunctioned! almost killing my myself and my daughter! if I hadn't known about the ESC off button, I would definitely have crashed!

- Upatoi, GA, USA

problem #53

Jul 012016

Elantra

  • 10,000 miles
Owned car since new. Had to replace all 4 tires four times. Each time with a different brand. Each time with only 5000 to 15000 miles the tires will get sidewall bubbles.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #52

Jan 012016

Elantra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have 2013 Hyundai Elantra equipped with hankook optimo H426 tires, size: P205/55R16. I discovered bubbles on the sidewalls of the driver side tire. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The tire was the original equipment. The approximate failure mileage of the vehicle and tire was 20,000.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #51

Feb 252016

Elantra

  • 37,000 miles
Subject: 2013 Hyundai Elantra gls trouble with TPMS sensors comments: I understand you wanted these in all new cars. While that is great it's costing some consumer's way to much money and headaches including myself. They aren't regulate to fine spec's of manufacturing them aftermarket or oem. Along with tires included. I can buy aftermarket cheaper or tires cheaper online and should have that choice. I bought new sensors from Mr. Tire formally kost tire my bill is about $386 and they don't work been there 4-5 times trying to reset and to no avail. Told me to take to a dealer but that's another cost to me too. I'm not alone in this problem. I suggest get rid of them or get on the ball and figure it out. Costing me a low income person money and still costing. Do not make them part of an inspection till all bugs are out. Thank-you.

- Candor, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #50

Feb 042016

Elantra

  • 7,800 miles
I am the original owner of a 2013 Elantra GT. Around February 4, 2016 I hit a pothole, on Maryland route 175, due to road work combined with inclement weather. A disturbing sound on the right side of the vehicle occurred after contact with the pothole. Upon inspection of the tires and rims all seemed well. On February 24, 2016 (after being stationary since the incident), a large golf ball size bulge appeared on the right front tire and a smaller one on the rear right tire. The tires have only 7,815 miles on them. Due to the bulges in both right tires I fear a blowout could occur in one or both tires, losing control of the car, before safely being driving the 15 miles in city traffic to the dealership.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #49

Feb 172016

Elantra

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same issue as many others. The car rides very rough on normal road conditions. I have had one instance where the front left tire bulged and eventually went flat on christmas night. Turned out the rim was also dented. The second occasion was when my daughter ran over a pothole and the front right tire went flat and the rim bent. I filed a case with Hyundai and have an appointment with te dealer to see what can be done to resolve the issue. The car is for my new driver daughter but I feel it is very unsafe for her to use. Aside from the fact that there is no spare and jack. Just an inflator kit which didn't help in either of these situations. Would love to see if anyone has a solution for this issue.

- Sicklerville, NJ, USA

problem #48

Apr 012015

Elantra

  • 17,000 miles
Tires are damage and manufacturer nor Hyundai wants to replace them even though is a safety issue

- Quebradillas, PR, USA

problem #47

May 222015

Elantra

  • miles
No spare tire, no jack or tire iron.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #46

Oct 252015

Elantra

  • 6,000 miles
The dealership has consistently over-torqued the wheel lug nut/bolts and it seems that the situation is getting worse. The specification for the lug nuts is up tp 79 ft-lbs.. the last service by the dealership tighten them to 200-300 ft-lbs, or more. The manager at the dealership defended their work and didn't understand what a ft-lb was, not alone the elastic limit of the bolts, nuts and alloy wheels. They seem to think that the car is save to drive, but can't say why their over-torquing might even be considered a hazard. I pose that there is an systemic over-reliance on "torque sticks" on impact wrenches for tightening bolts. They do not use torque wrenches. You should watch for lug bolt failures because I believe that this is a systematic issue. Regards, george boskosh bsee. Msmine

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #45

Feb 272015

Elantra

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway or any roadway for that matter, if I hit any metal pieces that have been installed on the roadway, or if I go over any bumps on the road, my car seems to almost fishtail. You can briefly feel the back of it get thrown from side to side. This has made me extremely nervous, especially since we have such harsh winters. Can anything be done by Hyundai to correct this problem before someone gets hurt? I've read multiple complaints online for the same problem so I know it's not just my car!

- Osterville, MA, USA

problem #44

Dec 252013

Elantra

  • 12,000 miles
* first occurrence: Hit pot hole on highway, driver side front tire blows and rim bent. Replaced rim/tire at dealership. *second occurrence: Mid-year 2014 slow leak in front passenger tire, dealership sealed/plugged. *third occurrence June 2015 hit small dip in parking lot. Two days later tire sensor light came on. Added air. Two days later, tire sensor light came on again. I added air to this tire 5 times in 8 days. Also noticed bulge in front passenger tire. Took to dealership. Both tires need replaced and car has under 40,000 miles. The tires are hankook omni 60,000 mile tire.tires are 215/45R17. I have never had the issue with tires that I am having with this car which is 2 years and 9 months old. After reading several reviews for this size tire on this car at www.cargurus.com/cars/discussion-T35968_ds499866, many people have had same/similar problems with wheels/tires. The danger seems to be from a 17 inch rim on this car when it should be a 15 or 16 inch rim. I am concerned about the safety of driving this car after all the reviews and complaints I have read with this size wheel on this car. To change out the wheel/rim and add 4 new tires I am looking at well over $1200 in cost. I should still be driving with the original tires on this car and still have sufficient tread, not dealing with blowouts, bent wheels, leaking tires, and bulging tires. It is not the tire but the tire/wheel ratio that causes this road hazard with the wheels/tires and this is how the car is manufactured from Hyundai! many people have contacted them and complained about this issue but Hyundai says it is the tire manufacturer. It doesn't matter what brand of tire you put on this car the wheel/tire ratio is what causes the danger and problems. Hyundai needs to be held accountable for the manufacturing of the vehicle in this way.

- Fairfield Twp, OH, USA

problem #43

Feb 112015

Elantra

  • 21,000 miles
I purchased this car in July 2014. A. 2013 Hyundai Elantra and after 3 weeks the front passenger tire went out after barely hitting curb around by September 2014, the drivers tire was deflating replaced. On 2/10/2015 the tire in rear went out while driving on highway, the dealership says it could because a nail got into the tire and caused the problem. It just seems a bit unusual for 3 tires in less than a year of owning this vehicle, which was new purchased July 2014. 2013 Hyundai Elantra.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #42

Jan 172015

Elantra

  • 20,000 miles
I have bought this car brand new and have had to put it in the shop over three times this time I heard a thumping sound the sound started to get loud and when I geared to the right it would be even worse I called the dealership and they refused to check this issues saying that don't accept walk in when I asked to speak to management than they told me to bring it in I was not contacted until 1/20 saying it was my wheel bearings on my car with no other information I have taken my car in within the first 3 months for jerking and they also would not explain the reason the car was doing this.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #41

Nov 192014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have a 2013 Elantra GT and have had numerous issues with wheels and tires. In the winter of 2013-14, I had this car for only 4 month and started having issues with bubbles in sidewalls of the tires. The original tires were kumho 245/45R17 tires and bubbled or went flat after normal driving or upon encountering a bump or pothole. The tires were replaced with falken 245/45R17 tires in February of 2014. In November of 2014, another bubble appeared and a second on December 4, 2014. It is a concerning condition of unsafety and unreliability when a vehicles tires are so prone to damage. I was able to purchase the road hazard warranty with the replacement tires, but have learned that this will no longer be available and the 17" tires will be considered 'low profile' going forward and replacements will not be covered and will need to be paid out of pocket. Not only is this a scary situation, it is expensive and time consuming. Please look into this complaint and the many others that have been submitted for the same issue.

- Telford, PA, USA

problem #40

Dec 032013

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
I had just owned my brand new 2013 Hyundai Elantra limited for 6 months when I hit a small pothole while crossing a bridge and the passenger side front tire blew out and the rim got dented as well. I have owned it now for 1.5 years and have had 2 blown tires and 3 dented rims in total, all from minor potholes that had never given me any type of issue with any of my previous vehicles. I'm 39, never speed and a careful driver, I had never had this issue before. Dealership says it's because of bad New York city roads and that they are not aware of any problems but I think that the 17 inch rim and low profile tires that the Elantra limited comes with are not really compatible with the cars stiff suspension. I don't know what I'll do now, I might have to spend over 1,000. Dollars to buy new 16 inch rims and larger profile tires, I don't think this is fair after paying top dollar for a new vehicle.

- College Point, NY, USA

problem #39

May 012014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Our Elantra began making grinding noises when we pressed on the brake pedal that sounded like the brakes or rotor were defective. When the shop inspected the car, they said they could not duplicate the noise, and told us the car was in perfect shape. Over the next few months, the noise became louder when braking, plus it began making a whump-whump-whump noise that appeared to be directly related to the speed and rotation of the wheels. The sound would increase when we steered the car to the right, and would decrease when we steered left. The whumps were barely audible at 5 mph, but were overly loud at 40 mph. I thought it was plastic trim fluttering in the wind, but could not find anything loose. When we took it to the shop again, I think in August, I told them the car was not drivable that they needed to find out what was causing the whump noises and the grinding noises when we applied the brakes. This time they found the problem was caused by the bolt holding the left wheel coming unscrewed. They tightened the bolt under warranty repair service, and the car has not made the whump noise or had grinding brakes since the repair. I doubt this problem was limited to one car in the fleet, and I believe Hyundai should have issued an advisory to their shop managers to be watching for this problem so that it would have been found and corrected the first time that we took the car in.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #38

Oct 112014

Elantra

  • 6,700 miles
My daughter has a Hyundai Elantra 2013 with 6700 miles, she was driving at 60mph on a freeway and her passenger front tire blew out. She lost control and ran into the concrete barrier on the freeway. She has frame and body damage to her front end. Thank god she is ok except for her collar bone area being bruised from her seat belt. She did not hit anything before the blow out. She could have been seriously hurt. No tire with only 6700miles should have a blow out like this one did. The car has nexen CP671 tires. I am waiting on nexen tire company to call me back. Hyundai really has not offered any help.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #37

Oct 072014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
Second side wall tire blow out on Hyundai Elantra was driving on a pretty typical road (bumps etc) but no huge chuck holes and tire sidewall gave out.

- Twinsburg, OH, USA

problem #36

Sep 222014

Elantra 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Tires that came factory on the vehicle did not last as long as the tire was rated from the manufactures website. They are nearly bald, due to highway driving, and the manufacture and car company will not honor the tread life warranty. They said that there is not an owner warranty because I did not purchase the tires. This is confusing to me, only because I bought a $24,000 car! Continental was contacted by me to discuss this, and I've taken my vehicle to the dealer. Neither is willing to accept the fact that the tires did not last like they had advertised. Next vehicle I purchase I plan on removing anything with the name Continental on it.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?