Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,149 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Aug 212013

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 1,550 miles


I was at a light, as I let go of the brake, I heard a loud clanking sound and the front of the car shook and the car immediately died. I tried to restart, made the same sound and died. Called roadside and had vehicle towed to dealership after an hour and a half being stuck at a light/intersection. I was told the next day that my car suffered a "catastrophic engine failure". no codes came up. They dropped the pan and said metal pieces fell out! I was livid! I've only had the car less than a month, only about 1500 miles and the engine went out! thank god, I just dropped the kids off to school and the road wasn't so busy as to cause an accident. I had no warnings from starting the car, no messages from blue link. Service manager at dealership states I would not have received any warning, because it happened quick which is why it is labeled as "catastrophic failure". what if this happened with my kids in the car, on the freeway, or traveling? so a replacement engine is being ordered from southern California. I don't trust it. I reported it to corporate, which sent to regional office. And I am awaiting a response. I originally requested a replacement vehicle but after reading the complaints on NHTSA, I want my money back. I don't trust this car anymore, I don't feel safe and I don't want the thought in the back of my mind that there could be a chance of something else happening! my husband is deployed right now, and what I deserve is some peace of mind and not put myself or my children at jeopardy of a possible repeat engine failure, cracked front axle, issues with acceleration or whatever else that can occur that I've read on this site. This is a definite safety issue and should not have to wait for more complaints to do something about it! please help me resolve this with getting my money back! a brand new car should not have suffered a catastrophic engine failure!

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 092013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
While driving our 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe sport 4cyl. On the mass. Turnpike, 200 miles from home, the engine suddenly started to run very rough. My son bought the car into the right hand lane and onto the shoulder of the road. The car was turned off as he investigated the problem. No damage was visible. As the car was restarted, the check engine light came on. The car continued to run very rough and shook. With the assistance of the mass. State police, the car was removed from the turnpike to await roadside assistance. The car was towed to a nearby Hyundai dealership. The following day the service manager called to say that the problem has been found. A spark plug in cylinder 2 had broken, with the broken piece missing. Therefore, the engine has to be dismantled and inspected for additional damage until the loose part is found. We are very disappointed in our recent purchase and wonder if the repair or replacement of the entire engine in a 3 1/2 month old car with less than 4,500 miles on it is a car that we will feel safe in again. There has been minimal contact with this dealership as they are still "working on it" our local dealer that we bought the car from has also been of very little help. Hyundai assistance states that they will paid for the repairs and cost of our rental car after we submit our receipts.

- Staatsburg, NY, USA

problem #8

Jul 292013

Santa Fe

  • 320 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Hyundai Santa Fe. The contact stated that while traveling at unknown speeds, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 320.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #7

Jan 022013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 1,018 miles


Below is the report sent to Hyundai on July 15, 2013 re: Hyundai Santa Fe SUV being probed for sudden power loss -- reported by associated press July 10, 2013. We purchased a Santa Fe sport at the end of November 2012. On January 2, 2013 with only 1018 miles on vehicle, our Santa Fe experienced essentially the same problem as described in the referenced article. A loud noise occurred (as if running over an obstacle), the engine lost all power and died. Upon restart, the vehicle would not move either forward or backward in reverse. After setting awhile, we were able to very slowly drive the car about 500 to 1000 feet to the dealership. Ruddell dealership was unable to repeat the experience. I now do not trust the vehicle and want it thoroughly inspected to determine if it too has a cracked axle as noted in the newspaper article. We have a road trip planned in early August and do not want to drive this car until it is thoroughly inspected. I took the car to ruddell auto on July 10 and showed them the associated press article but they did not offer to do anything about it. Ruddell said they would have to wait until Hyundai issued a campaign or recall but that is not satisfactory or acceptable. The car now has about 7400 miles on it. The dealership from which we bought the car is ruddell auto in port angeles, Washington 98362, usa. Please contact me and inform me what Hyundai intends to do regarding this serious issue. If I do not receive an acceptable reply from Hyundai, then I, too, will report it to NHTSA.

- Port Angeles, WA, USA

problem #6

Jul 142013

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 823 miles
I was coming off the highway on the off-ramp and coming to a stop at a stoplight. When the light turned green, the car wouldn't not accelerate pass 10 or 15 mph. It seemed like it wouldn't shift to a higher gear but would be stuck on 1st gear to accelerate. I had to pull off the side of the road and get it towed back to the dealership. Before getting a tow truck, I attempted to turn it off and on several time. The check engine light would come on and any attempts to restart and accelerate the car would produce the same results; the car wouldn't accelerate. Also, after turning off the car, the car would not come on without a lot of engine cranks. The car only as 823 miles on it. I've only had it for 2 weeks. Extremely disappointed with the car and the company. Will try to return it. Not worth the risk of it causing inuring to my family.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #5

Jun 102013

Santa Fe 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
6/10/13 while driving 45 mph with outside temp around 90 degrees my air conditioning stopped working. Tried turning off and on but would not work. Pulled to the side of the road turned the car off and restarted and the air conditioning worked again. I thought it was just a fluke. 6/28/13 while driving 65 mph on the interstate the car lurched and the rpms went up and down. I pulled to the side of the road but no lights were on and everything looked normal. I pulled back on the road and took the next exit. At about 35 mph the car started hesitating and then died. I coasted to the side of the road and it restarted on the first attempt. I was close to my destination so I drove there and called Hyundai assurance. They towed the car to the closest dealer and they have had the car for 3 business days and have not been able to duplicate the problem and the computer shows no errors. They said they would probably have to have a field engineer to come look at it. I don't know yet how long that will take. I loved the car until this happened. Now I don't think I will feel safe if they can't find the problem and fix it. Am I just supposed to keep driving it and hope this doesn't happen again and hope that no one is hurt next time.

- Trophy Club, TX, USA

problem #4

Apr 062013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 5,750 miles


I was driving my 2013 Santa Fe on the highway on April 6, 2013 and I was coming to a four way stop. I heard my engine start making a ticking sound. When I went through the intersection the noise was even louder. At that point I pulled off along side the road and called roadside assistance. My car was towed to the dealership and on April 8, 2013, the dealership called me and said that the engine had blown up. How does an engine blow up on a brand new car. This is the second incidence I have had with this car. Last month the axle broke on the vehicle. For me I don't feel it is save to drive anymore.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #3

Jan 272013

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 75 miles
What I am about to describe happens randomly. The only discernible pattern is that it happens when accelerating from rest or from slow speed. It has happened about 15 times in the first 800 miles of driving. When I begin to accelerate slowly forward from rest or from a slow forward roll there is no response. It feels like the engine has stalled, but hasn't. continuing to push down brings no result. After approximately a 2 to 5 second delay, the rpms begin to build up rapidly. The first two or three times it happened I suddenly surged forward in a very dangerous manner. The real problem, however, is that with following traffic expecting me to accelerate and continue to accelerate and I suddenly stop accelerating without having applied brakes, thus activating brake lights, there is a rear end collision waiting to happen. Here is an example from last night. I was rolling slowly in a left turn lane, foot off the gas, waiting for oncoming traffic to clear. It did and I begin the turn simultaneously pressing down on the pedal--no response. Let up and pressed down again--no response. I let up again, rpms came up, I pressed down again and proceed normally into a parking lot. I was perpendicular to 3 lanes of oncoming traffic and dead in the water for maybe 3 to 5 seconds. Essentially the same thing has happened while accelerating out of a U turn and also coming out of a slow right turn. It happened while accelerating slowly through an opening security gate. I have left the car with the dealer overnight so they could drive it and hook it up to their error code machines. They could not observe the issue or diagnose the problem. Nonetheless, it is real and very dangerous. It has been a matter of pure luck that no one has been close behind me during any of these power losses. I hope this report is useful. I would be happy to talk to anyone who might want more information.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 052012

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 52 miles
Vehicle will not fill past 3/4 tank. If you stay at pump and keep clicking it will overflow and eventually fill but, then engine light appears and must to return to dealer for service. Many parts have been installed in an attempt to fix but nothing works. Electronic steering exceptionally vague in any of three settings, trailer connector not functioning. Vehicle engine almost cuts off at times.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 072013

Santa Fe

  • miles
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe. Consumer states issues with hesitation and stalling when accelerating. The dealer informed the consumer the problem was caused by electronic fuel injection, which was common among several brands of automobiles and there was no fix for the problem. The hesitation at acceleration occurred at slow speeds while turning and the engine would momentarily stall.

- Houston, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?