Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2011 Sonata has a seriously defective engine that seizes without warning. It was awarded the dubious honor of being the first CarTalk / CarComplaints Turd of the Week in late September 2015.

A class action lawsuit was filed in May 2015 against Hyundai that claims the 2.4L Sonata engine is defective. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,500 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Hyundai Sonata electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #109

Mar 032014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 78,728 miles


In February 2014 we started having issues with the car not starting at all. We would put our foot on the brake and press the button and it just sits there. I have been stranded at many locations until it decided to crank. I called rick case in roswell ga and was told to bring it in if it does it again. Now the next thing that started to happen was the transmission lights P, R, N and D would start flashing and go blank as we were driving then you could feel the car loose power. I was told by the dealership to pull over and restart the car so this went on for a bit until it finally quit starting and sat in the garage for the tow truck who had to use a screw driver and it slipped into R easily because it wont start. Went to the dealership they could not get it started and kept it for many days saying everything is fine we think the starter was going and we had bought an extended warranty and they told us it does not cover that so we had to come up with $552,77. I am not working now due to cushing disease so we are down to one car. My husband had to get rides to work daily. I also found it very odd that the manager made us sign a form stating we would not bring this car back with the same issue again. The car is still acting up so we are not sure what to do. We do like the car and would trade it in but we are upside down and the payments would be so much. We feel we do need to get our money back because I truly believe it was not the starter.please advise on what to do with a car we are now scared to drive. My son is 16 and this would be his car but not know. Thank you they gave me case#[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #108

Apr 252014


  • 57,000 miles
When driving 45 miles per hour or 25 mph, the cars RPM's rev really high and the car gets stuck, I could not accelerate and was almost hit from behind. It has done this several times. I was going 75 miles per hour on the highway, the RPM"S revved really high and I could not accelerate or move. Then the D on the dashboard dropped from D to 4 to 3 to 2...... I had to wait for it to shift back into gear on its own and then it went back into drive and I could move. However it continued to do that 4 times later in the same day. I have had the vehicle in several times for this issue and they keep saying there isn't anything wrong. This is very dangerous and I have 3 small children so I am very concerned about this issue as it is continuing to do it. Getting stuck in gear is not safe nor is having the RPM's rev that high and being stuck on a highway!

- Maple Grove , MN, USA

problem #107

Feb 112014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the key had to be removed from the ignition by turning the steering wheel several times. The dealer inspected the ignition switch however the failure did not duplicate. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,000. Updated 09/05/14 updated 12/4/2014

- Rancho Cordova , CA, USA

problem #106

Jul 262014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 91,735 miles


I was driving my wife's car home from work and stopped by a gas station for a drink. I came back to the car and started it up. As I was engaging in gear, I noticed the shift indicator on the instrument panel and the shifter was missing. I put the car back in park, killed the motor and restarted. It reappeared, but briefly. As I put it in drive, I felt a violent jerking motion from the gearbox; then the dreaded check engine light reared its ugly head. I drove to the nearest auto parts store to have a guy pull the code(s) for me. It was a failing PCM (powertrain control module) that was giving me drivetrain issues. In regards to electrical, whenever my wife (or anyone else) ride in the passenger side, the interior lights turn on whenever I make hard left turns. Interesting :-/.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #105

Jun 272014


  • 59,431 miles
Incident details: On Friday, June 27th, around 7:15 a.M., I was in my car with my 18 month old son getting ready to leave my garage. I put my car in reverse; however, I noticed the gear readout on the dashboard was non-functional. I looked down at the gear shift and the indicator light was also non-functional. I decided I should run into the house and get my husband to have him look at the car. I put the car back into park, took my foot off the brake, and turned to tell my son I would be right back. I opened the door and started step out of the car. I felt the car jerk violently and then it started to roll backwards. I was knocked off my feet and dragged down my driveway until my car hit my neighbor's tree (approx.. 70? from where the car started inside the garage), where it stopped. The event caught the attention of my neighbor who ran over to my house to alert my husband. He ran out to the car, which was rested against the tree. He attempted to put the car in "park", however the gear selector was in its absolute forward position. He then pulled the gear selector back into the drive position (gear indicators still non-functional) and the car made an audible "snap? and lurched forward. My husband drove the car approx. 20" where he parked it. My husband, made a phone call to the gurnee, il Hyundai dealership, they advised him to call the Hyundai customer care number (1-800-633-5151). He was connected with a case manager by the name of merrieta. She took notes of the incident and advised him to have the car sent to the nearest Hyundai dealership for an investigation. The car was picked up by tow truck June 27th around 11am and delivered to the gurnee Hyundai dealership.

- Round Lake, IL, USA

problem #104

Jul 122014


  • 32,909 miles
While driving around 10 mph on the expressway with traffic all the lights on dash board lit up and the car just turned off. I was able to safety pull car over to the right and then a strong odor of fire entered the vehicle. Then smoke started coming from the hood. No flames just smoke. What's extremely disturbing is I just got and oil change from the dealership 3 days prior, I requested a check of the engine because the car shut off 3 times one week prior to incident. The dealership stated they check the engine and test drove vehicle and car was ok to drive. This car has had issues from the very first week of purchasing. And what makes me very upset at the time of this almost catastrophic incident is my wife and 10 month old child were in the car during this incident. This car is absolutely the worst car I have ever owned. And it's unbelievable to me how these are still on the road. Recalling only seems to put a band aid on the problem. What's needed is full cash refunds to all owners of 2011 Sonatas. I believe the 2011 Sonata must hold the record in a vehicles with most problems ever recorded.

- Brinx, NY, USA

problem #103

Feb 242014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles


On multiple occasions, my car would not start with the keyless key fob. The car stated they key was not detected although the key was in the car. I could not unlock the car, could not open the trunk or use the buttons on the key fob in any way. This has happened increasingly in the past month.

- Cleveland, WI, USA

problem #102

Feb 252012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
While entering a parking spot to a diner, the car unintended accelerated crashing into the side of the diner. Minor damage to the side of the diner as I was no more than 3 feet from the bldg. My foot was on the brake pedal when this acceleration occurred without warning. I was entering the parking spot at no more than 5 mph planning to put the car in park and exit for lunch. My leg hit the hood latch and I obtained a nasty cut on my shin. The consumer stated other components were replaced, such as the tires and transmission. The consumer also stated, when she turned the ignition, there was an odor of smoke and rubber burning. Updated 11/16/15.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #101

Apr 112012

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 55,946 miles
I have purchase my vehicle in March-2011 as a certified pre-owned vehicle. There are several complaints I have on this vehicle since purchased, but I will stick with a recurring issue. 4/11/12 I took my vehicle in because a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. They determined that upon inspection found an open circuit due to blown right front bulb. It was "corrected." 06/07/12 took my vehicle once again for the drivers side headlight that went out. Installed bulb 5/2/13 took my vehicle for a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. "undetermined." 2/5/14 took my vehicle for a blown passenger low beam headlight that went out. "undetermined updated 04/17/14

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #100

Jan 102014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 40,275 miles
The car would not start and all the electrical component lights came on (emergency lights blinking, turn indicators, electronic stability control, battery light indicator, etc.). the horn was blaring also and the key was in my pocket. I thought I hit the emergency button by accident so I pulled out the key and hit the button off. It would not stop. I tried starting the car, but it would not. It went off finally. So, I tried starting the car and all the stuff started again. So, I came home while I could. This is totally unacceptable and dangerous.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #99

Nov 302013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 28,159 miles


Hyundai Sonata 2011 push button start. I am the original owner of the vehicle. Yesterday I went into my car and proceeded to start my car. I had to push the start button three times before it actually started up. This happened twice within 2 hours. 5 days prior my vehicle had been to the Hyundai dealership for the recall on the stop lamp switch. An existing recall (NHTSA campaign number: 13V113000) indicates that for the 2011 Hyundai Sonata the stop lamp switch may not function correctly. They, the dealership, performed the service and replaced the stoplamp switch. As result my car is experiencing intermittent switch point contact with the push-button start. This is crazy.

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #98

Aug 052013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving to work my instrument panel and gauges started flashing, my speedometer and RPM odometer would "jump" from 0 RPM and 0 mph to 2500 RPM and 70 mph "bouncing" between those readings. There had been a recall on the stop lamp so I took my car in to get this replaced explaining what my car as doing. The Hyundai dealer "confirmed" that this issue was the cause. After having the stop lamp replaced it did not do it again for a few months. On 10/29/2013, 10/30/2013 and 11/01/2013 it began to do the exact same thing. When I took it back in they ran a diagnostic costing me $100 dollars, which they then "informed" me that it was the instrument cluster. So I spent $1377 to replace it (of course I was 2,000 miles outside of the warranty at this point as my husband did not think it necessary to get the extended one when we purchased it), I finally got my car back on Wednesday 11/13/2013 and it seemed fine until today 11/17/2013 when it started doing it again. Not only did I have to deal with a complete lack of professionalism from the dealership but my car is still not fixed.

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #97

Oct 152013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 29,715 miles
Complaintant walked out of home to vehicle. Upon approaching vehicle, complaintant noticed that the left rear brake light housing (driver's side) was detached, and sticking out about 1 inch from the vehicle. Complaintant carefully slid the housing back into its cavity, where it stayed. Complaintant then departed. About 3 days later, complaintant noticed that the housing was again detached from the vehicle, and again slid it back into place. Over time, the complaintant repeated returning the housing into the cavity three (3) additional times. When the complaintant was confronted with a 5th event of the housing detaching from the vehicle, complaintant shined a flashlight down into the cavity, and saw that the housing mounting sockets were fractured/shattered, and none of the several mounting studs/bolts were attached. But, the studs/bolts were still attached to the vehicle shell. The only thing holding the housing assembly onto the car, were the wires to the brake light, back-up light, and turn signal light. No surface scratches, nor body damage experienced. After inspecting the defective housing, complaintant surmised that Hyundai tail light housing is made of hard, brittle plastic, which shatters when overly tightened at factory, or due to the vibration of this overly hard riding vehicle. Additionally, complaintant noticed when vehicle was purchased new, that the driver's side tail light was not flush with the rear trunk gate, and was extended outward about 1/4 inch. The light assembly on the right/passenger side was flush with the trunk gate, and has not produced a similar issue, yet. Complaintant secured housing to the vehicle cavity by using duct tape. Complaintant scheduled vehicle repair with Hyundai dealership for tomorrow. Update to follow.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #96

Sep 232013


  • miles
Last night, I was told, I had left a dome light on. After several attempts trying to get it off. Thought I had it off, locked car all lights were off when I left it. Come out this morning to head to work and it would not start. This is not my first incident. If I leave the keys in the car it kills it" I use to do this with my BMW and no problems at all. Why does it suck the life out of my battery? this morning, tho I dont understand. I had all the lights off, ,,I thought. Do not know what drained it. Is the battery a cheap battery? do I need to change it out? its just a 2011, thought should last longer. Any other issues with dead battery"

- Rexburg, ID, USA

problem #95

Aug 052013


  • 22,000 miles
While traveling, the car suddenly stop in traffic. We had to move to a safe point. Car eventually was towed to the nearest dealer. They pinpointed the problem as the fuel pump. Told us no gas in the car, not so, gas was nearly full. Called and told us car was ready to be picked up. Went to dealer, told to put gas in car. Notice fuel guage not working and full panel was blinking. Droved about 1/2 mile to closest gas station, got gas, headed back to get rental car at dealer, car suddenly stopped again. This has been going on for nearly a monthly. Finally had car towed to another dealer, and behold, this time, said, it was an eletrical problem and wanted $2600 to repair, said not covered by warranty. Manufacturer got involved and agreed to repair at their expenses. Talked with another owner of same model and year, she too is experiencing sudden stops. Major safety problems, and it needs to be recalled, and this time making sure that some kind of compensation for rental is included in the recall.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #94

Aug 302013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 26,300 miles
Started engine in order to pull out of parking space. All red lights on dashboard lit up, ac failed to start blowing cold air, "park (P)" lit although gear was in "drive (D)" mode. Immediately turned engine off. Repeated procedure for two more times. Eventually ac kicked in, "D" lit up and all but air bag light went off. Passengers seat belt light kept and keeps flashing continuously and driver's side air bag light stays on. Called dealer from where vehicle was purchased and was told repair should fall under warranty and any dealer can take care of my issue. Stopped by at dealership close to home and was told that diagnostic test needs to be performed to determine if this repair will fall under warranty. Second dealership requested that I leave the car with them an entire day for diagnostic tests, which will cost me about $90 (+) in order to determine if this is a warranty issue or not.

- Sinking Spring, PA, USA

problem #93

Aug 012012


  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after pressing the push-to-start button. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer who stated that they could not find a defect with the ignition. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Oxford, NC, USA

problem #92

Jul 262013


  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V113000 (exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic). After the repairs, the vehicle would sporadically fail to start. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 53,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Corinth, VT, USA

problem #91

Aug 262011

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 10,174 miles
The constant recurring problem is my car will not start. I have been stranded several times and have each one documented. I also have problems with the steering wheel locking and the brakes are unable to press. I have contacted an attorney regarding the lemon law and she has notified the Hyundai motor America. My car is currently in the repair shop again and this has gone on for the 2 1/2 years I have owned it. There are over 598,000 complaints against this model of car and the problems are very serious and can cause deadly accidents. My car will not click out of the cruise control feature so I cannot use that feature. The brake lights do not always work and I have been stopped by cars behind me to tell me I have no lights and they almost hit me. What does it take to get this model of car recalled before many deaths occur. The internet has this problem documented and a recall was issued to replace that switch. I have taken my car in to have the brake light sensor replaced twice and it still occurs. I have to continue to pay payments on this car while I drive a rental car. I basically do not have a safe car to drive so I can't go anywhere in fear of being stranded. Can you please look into this and safe lives before it is too late?

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #90

Jun 032013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 25,956 miles
The key will not come out of the ignition. Replaced shifter assembly then replaced lock cylinder. Today, 7/21/13 I have the same problem.

- Scranton, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?